PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Great Northern Restaurant and Brewery - Fargo, ND
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 26, 2014 @ 07:24 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ND > Fargo > Great Northern Restaurant and Brewery
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Great Northern Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 77 / 100
425 Broadway
Fargo, ND 58102
United States
(701) 365-8238
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: January 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Fargo, ND
Beer Guide for North Dakota

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
17 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Sidestreet Grille and Pub was Downtowner's Pub
(0 mile)

2) Old Broadway
(0 mile)

3) Granite City Food and Brewery
(5 miles)

4) The Winery
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bohlig's Bed & Breakfast
2) Chez Suzanne
3) Chez Suzanne
4) LA Maison Des Papillons
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICINN OF FARGO
2) BW FARGO DOUBLEWOOD INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Cass County Court House, Jail, and Sheriff's House
2) Cole Hotel
3) DeLendrecie's Department Store
4) Dibley House
5) Fargo Theatre Building
6) Grand Lodge of North Dakota, Ancient Order of United Workmen
7) Great Northern Freight Warehouse
8) Holes, James, House
9) Knerr Block, Floyd Block, McHench Building and Webster and Cole Building
10) Lewis House
11) Masonic Block
12) Northern Pacific Railway Depot
13) Pence Automobile Company Warehouse
14) Powers Hotel
15) Smith, Chesebro, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alumni Center
2) Barbara's First & Deli
3) Bismarck Tavern
4) Brenda's Shack
5) Broadway Classic Subs
6) C & M Investments
7) Cafeteria Systems LLC
8) Domino's Pizza
9) Domino's Pizza
10) Ever-Green Conference Ctr
11) Glacial Lakes Coffee LLC
12) Gloria Jeans Coffee's
13) Godfather's Pizza
14) Grand Junction Grilled Subs
15) Hodo Lounge
16) Isabella's Ristorante
17) J P Snack Ctr
18) Juano's Mexican Restaurant
19) Lighthouse Catering & Cafe
20) Monte's Downtown
21) Nestor Casino
22) North Town Grill
23) O B Diner
24) Old Broadway Restaurant
25) One On One Pro Catering
26) P D's On First
27) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
28) Quiznos Sub
29) Red Carpet Carwash
30) Rooters Bar Inc
31) Sports Bar
32) Tomacelli's Pizza & Pasta
33) Untitled Restaurant
34) Yummy Chinese Kitchen
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Great Northern has been closed for some time and the equipment hasbeen sold and moved out. This is the end of the Great Northern in Fargo.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Dick, Fargo, ND
(03/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Report from Fargo, ND newspaper says the brewpub shut down the week of Oct. 2 over an electric bill dispute that resulted in the power being cut off. Unknown at this time if the brewery will survive/reopen. I recommend checking the website.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(10/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
When I complained to the waitress that they were out of hoopy beer the brewer came out with 2 free pitchers of beer from the serving tank. He was very apologetic and took the time to visit with us. The food was outstanding. Try the grilled salmon. The CPA was a dead ringer to Sierra Nevada Pale ale. The brown ale was incredible. Take the time to visit this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from aleman3319 aleman3319, Huron, SD
(05/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I tend to go to this BrewPub on nearly a weekly basis and have found the beer and food to be very good. An another female in the brewing community I am not sure where the previous reveiw is coming from as I have never seen the brewer of this Brewpub show disrespect to anyone - Male or Female. The owners of this Brewpub seem only interested in running a quality establishment and keeping their customers happy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Susan Susan, Harwood, ND
(01/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I must assume this is in reference to me, as the other owner who works here (General Manager) is a woman.

I don't know who "Cath" is or what I did to make her mad. I don't know what I could possibly have done to make her think that I have no respect for women (in the brewing industry or otherwise), but this is not the case. I know many women in the brewing industry, consider many of them my friends, and don't think any of them would say that about me.

As for talking "smack", I have no intention of doing that either before or after completing my Ph.D.

Paul (Brewer, GNRB)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Fargo, ND
(01/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
OK at best. Too bad one of the owners has absolutely no respect for women. Especially women in the brewing industry. Finish your PhD, then you can talk some smack.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cath Cath, Fargo, ND
(12/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Where 10 is best: Hefeweizen 8/10; fish & chips dinner 7/10. They now have souvenirs for sale such as embossed growlers, T-shirts, long-sleeved shirts.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rand Rand, Sioux Falls, SD
(11/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
Reopened under new management. Huge improvement! The beer, the food, the waitstaff, and the atmosphere, are all excellent. It's easily the best brewpub for 200 miles in any direction.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul paul, elk grove, IL
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
First time at the Great Northern was back in 1999. Went back in 2002, it was closed. Now reopened and under what appears to be better management, things are looking great for the Great Nothern Brewing Company. I had the Hefe Wiezen and the seasonal beer, Saison. The Hefe was nice and cloudy as it should be. Great taste and smooth going down. The Saison was good, had some bitterness but not too overpowering. The burgers were awesome, a bit skimpy on the fries for my taste. The rueben was also great. Tasty corned beef, with a nicely done baked potato. Ate outside, as inside was a too loud for the size room Blues band. Seems that weekend nights are live entertainment nights at the great northern. That's fine with me, but watch the volume when the room is small and not packed with people. Overall, we had a great experience at the Great Northern. I would recommend anyone in the area to check it out!

Didn't see any brewery items for sale. Note to brewery, maybe in the future you might consider selling shirts, pint glasses and grwolers. The railroad theme would make a great logo for same.

Welcome back Great Northern Brewing Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Lake in the Hills, IL
(08/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Awesome!
The GN just reopened the beginning of July and so only have 5 beers on tap so far but from the sounds of it they are planning on lots of seasonals. The beers that were on tap were exceptional tho and the food was excellent. It has only been open for a few weeks tho so time will tell.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Harwood, ND
(07/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Great Northern Restaurant & Brewery plans to reopen during July of 2004! Add this establishment back to the active list!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Taylor Ray Taylor, Fargo, ND
(05/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
DROP THIS ONE FROM YOUR LIST - IT IS STILL CLOSED

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from halada halada, milwaukee, WI
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This brew pub is closed. The sign on the door said something about needing someone to take over the business.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from D.L. Emrick D.L. Emrick, Plover, WI
(06/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A N/A So So
A nice physical plant, but when the bartender told us that their beers weren't bitter like the competitions on the other side of the river, I was concerned. And I should have been! Bitter is better, so get a life!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Buteyn Phil Buteyn, Beaver Dam, WI
(04/01/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Recently revisited this place. My general impressions were the same. Once again, I had to walk to the bar to find out what beers were available. That's bad service. I tried the California Common beer. A little hoppy, but a great beer. The Octoberfest was great also. IPA is still my favorite. I'm not sure what Mr. Burnett "expects" in North Dakota, but I expect my neighbors to be just as interested in learning about good beer as people in New Jersey. It's the responsibility of Brew Pub staff to contribute to their community's knowledge about beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Magill Stephen Magill, Jamestown, ND
(10/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Old train station. True, Kim at the bar didn't know much about beer, but she was friendly. Catering to the local crowd and I wouldn't expect much knowledge about beer. That's what we have!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Glenn Burnett Glenn Burnett, Cedar Knolls, NJ
(09/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
This place IS open. The waitress didn't know jack about the beers. She called them the "Microbrews" but didn't even know what was available. Turns out there were six available, I tried three. The IPA was the best. Nice and bitter without much maltiness. The American Pale ale had the requisit cascade hop taste and was quite nice. The stout wasn't stout enough and had too much hop bitterness. If the Stout had been better, I would have rated the beers great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Magill Stephen Magill, Jamestown, ND
(08/31/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.644 seconds) 07:24:30 54.91.163.224, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS