PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hilltop Brewing Company and Restaurant - Virginia Beach, VA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 22, 2014 @ 09:58 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VA > Virginia Beach > Hilltop Brewing Company and Restaurant
Hilltop Brewing Company and Restaurant Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hilltop Brewing Company and Restaurant
Overall: Great    Score: 70.2 / 100
[Closed]
1556 Laskin Road
Virginia Beach, VA 23451
United States
(757) 422-5652
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: July 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Virginia Beach, VA
Beer Guide for Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hilltop Brewing Company and Restaurant
78 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Tap House Brewery
(0 mile)

2) Phil's Grill
(0 mile)

3) Mahi Mah's
(0 mile)

4) Cogan's Pizza
(0 mile)

5) 11th Street Taphouse Bar and Grille
(0 mile)

6) No Frill Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Angie's Guest Cottage
2) Barclay Cottage
3) Victorian Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALAMAR RESORT INN
2) BEST WESTERN BEACH QUARTERS IN
3) BEST WESTERN OCEANFRONT
4) BOARDWALK RESORT HTL N VILLAS
5) CLARION RSRT AND CONFERENCE CTR
6) COLONIAL INN VIRGINIA BEACH
7) COMFORT INN OCEANFRONT
8) COMFORT INN VIRGINIA BEACH
9) DAYS INN AT THE BEACH
10) DAYS INN OCEANFRONT
11) DOLPHIN INN ON THE OCEAN
12) DOUBLETREE VIRGINIA BEACH
13) ECONO LODGE OCEANFRONT
14) ECONO LODGE ON THE OCEAN
15) OAKWOOD SHORE DRIVE
16) OCEANFRONT SOUTH
17) QUALITY INN PAVILION
18) QUALITY INN VIRGINIA BEACH
19) RAMADA INN ON THE BEACH
20) RAMADA LTD ATLANTIC AVENUE
21) RAMADA PLAZA RESORT OCEANFRONT
22) RODEWAY INN VIRGINIA BEACH
23) SUNDIAL INN
24) SUPER 8 VA BCH NOT BCHFRONT VA
25) SURFSIDE INN
26) THUNDERBIRD MOTOR LODGE
27) TROPICANA RESORT HOTEL
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) CApe Henry (Second Tower) Light Station
2) Cape Henry Lighthouse
3) de Witt Cottage
4) Miller--Masury, Dr. John, House
5) Shirley Hall
6) U.S. Coast Guard Station
7) Upper Wolfsnare
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 11th Street Ocean Front Cafe
2) 18th St Cafe & Grill
3) 22nd Street Raw Bar & Grill
4) 40th Street Bistro
5) 5 Dollar Grill
6) Abbey Road Restaurant
7) Aj Gators Sports Bar & Grill
8) Albie's Pizza
9) Angelo's Full Svc Catering
10) Apollo Cafe
11) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
12) Arby's
13) Asia Garden Buffet & Sushi Bar
14) At Your Svc
15) Atlantic Bistro
16) Ba Da Bing Restaurant & Sports
17) Baga Cantina
18) Bahama Grill Inc
19) Baker's Crust Bread Market
20) Bamboo Hut
21) Bangkok Garden House
22) Banquet & Catering
23) BBQ Grill
24) Beach Bay Grill
25) Beach Bully Open Pit Bar B Que
26) Beach Pizza Delivery
27) Beach Pub
28) Beale Street Restaurant
29) Bei Jing Express
30) Bella Monte Intl Market Place
31) Bella Pizza
32) Belvedere Coffee Shop
33) Ben & Jerry's
34) Ben & Jerry's
35) Ben Frank's
36) Big Cahuna's
37) Blue Heaven Cafe
38) Blue Moon Cafe
39) Boardwalk Pizza & Ice Cream
40) Bone Shakers Saloon
41) Breezeway Cafe
42) Brusters Ice Cream Store
43) Bubba's Marina
44) Burger King
45) Burger King
46) C P Shuckers Cafe & Raw Bar
47) Cabo Cafe
48) Cal'z Pizza
49) Cape Henry Coffee
50) Captain John's Crab House
51) Cary's Restaurant
52) Catering Concepts
53) Chanello's Pizza
54) Chicho's Pizza Express
55) Chicho's Restaurant
56) Chick-Fil-A
57) China Harbor
58) Cici's Pizza
59) Ciola Cafe
60) Cities By The Ocean
61) Cobalt Grille
62) Cold Stone Creamery
63) Columbian Club Inc
64) Coney Island Eats
65) Confetti's
66) Corner Pizza
67) Coyote Cafe Cantina
68) Crazy Charlie's
69) Cripro Inc
70) Croc's
71) Cuisine & Co
72) Dairy Queen
73) Dairy Queen
74) Dairy Queen
75) Daruma Japanese Restaurant
76) Desperado's Restaurant & Bar
77) Dippin' Dots
78) Dirty Dick's Crabhouse
79) Domino's Pizza
80) Donuts & Cones
81) Double L Lounge
82) Dough Boy's California Pizza
83) Dough Boy's California Pizza
84) Dough Boy's California Pizza
85) Edge
86) El Azteca Mexican Restaurant
87) Ellingtons Restaurant
88) Emilio's Seafood Buffet
89) Excellent Restaurant
90) Famous Uncle Al's
91) Feather-N-Fin Chicken
92) Finehost Corp
93) Finehost Corp
94) First Colony Coffee House
95) Fish Bones Restaurant Inc
96) Five O1 City Grill
97) Foons Take Out Chinese Rstrnt
98) Four Bays Seafood Restaurant
99) Frankie's Place For Ribs
100) Fresh Fare Cafe
101) G F Keagan's
102) Galley Restaurant
103) Giovanni's Pizza
104) Golden Griddle Pancake House
105) Gourmet Gang
106) Great China Restaurant
107) Gringo's Taqueria
108) Guacalajara Mexican Restaurant
109) Guadalajara Mexican Restaurant
110) Gus' Mariner Restaurant
111) H20 Restaurant & Bar
112) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
113) Haagen-Dazs Ice Cream
114) Habits
115) Hammerhead's Surf Bar & Grill
116) Happy Crab Restaurant & Raw
117) Hardee's
118) Harpoon Larry's Oyster Bar
119) Heritage Natural Foods Deli
120) Hilltop Bar-B-Q Grill
121) Hilltop Brewing Co
122) Hilltop Smoothie Inc
123) Honeybee Pancake House
124) Hubey's Carribean Restaurant
125) Humvees Subs & Sandwiches
126) Hunt Room
127) Ice Cream Shop
128) Ice House Restaurant
129) Il Giardino Ristorante
130) International House-Pancakes
131) Island Republic Sea Grille
132) Isle Of Capri
133) Jade Garden Restaurant
134) Jewish Mother
135) Jonah's
136) Kabbany Adel
137) Keifer's
138) Kfc
139) King Of The Sea Restaurant
140) Kitchen's Kitchen
141) Knife 'n Fork Cafeteria
142) Kosmic Koffee
143) La Bella Italia
144) La Caravelle Restaurant
145) LA Marinella Pizzeria
146) LA Pizzeria
147) Lagoon Seafood Restaurant
148) Le Buffet
149) Lesner Inn Catering Club
150) Lighthouse
151) Lite N'Fresh Grille
152) Little Feet's Cafe
153) Log Cabin
154) Log Cabin
155) Long John Silver's
156) Luna Sea
157) Lynnhaven Pub
158) M & B Catering Inc
159) Machismo Burrito Bar
160) Mahalo Cafe Inc
161) Maheshwari Corp Subway
162) Malbon's BBQ & Catering
163) Maple Tree Pancake House
164) Mary's Restaurant
165) Mayflower Cafe Inc
166) Mc Donald's
167) Mc Donald's
168) Mc Donald's
169) Mc Donald's
170) Mckinney's Restaurant & Sports
171) Mei Zhen Chinese Restaurant
172) Melting Pot
173) Mi Char Industries Inc
174) Mps Restaurant
175) Murphy's Of Virginia Beach
176) N Y Pizza
177) Nats Sports Bar
178) Nawab Indian Cuisine
179) Nick's Hospitality Restaurant
180) North End Pizza
181) North End Steakhouse
182) Number 1 Buffet
183) O'learys Irish Beach Bar
184) Ocean 17
185) Ocean Ice's
186) Oceanfront Diner
187) Off Shore Bar & Grill
188) Off Shore Drilling Co
189) Olympic Pancake House
190) Orion's Restaurant
191) Osaka Japanese Restaurant
192) Osaka Japanese Restaurant
193) Otani Restaurant
194) Outback Steakhouse
195) P J Baggan
196) Pagoda Gardens
197) Panera Bread
198) Papa John's Pizza
199) Pasta E Pani
200) Pastavita Italian Restaurant
201) Peabody's Nightclub
202) Pelon's Baja Grill
203) Peppers Beach Tavern
204) Perfect Affair Catering
205) Pete & George's Steak House
206) Phil's Grill
207) Pierce's Pit Barbecue
208) Pizza Hut
209) Pizza Hut
210) Pizza Hut
211) Pizzeria
212) Planet Pizza
213) Pocahontas Pancake House
214) Pocohantas Dining Room
215) Poppies
216) Pourhouse
217) Prime Restaurant
218) Promenade
219) Purple Cow Restaurant
220) R U Steamin Oceanfront
221) Raven Restaurant
222) Rice King
223) Rick's Cafe
224) Rigatoni's Italian Kitchen
225) Rock Bottom Grill
226) Sakura Japanese Restaurant
227) Salsa's Mexican Restaurant
228) Sand Dollar Restaurant
229) Sandbar Pizza & Grill
230) Sandy's Hot Dogs
231) Schlotzsky's Deli
232) Sea Rays Lounge
233) Seafood Harbor
234) Seashore Management
235) Seaside Raw Bar
236) Shadow Lawn Grill
237) Shogun Japanese Steak House
238) Shoney's Restaurant
239) Shrimpboat Restaurant
240) Smokehouse Deli
241) Snappers
242) South Beach Grill
243) Starbucks
244) Starbucks
245) Stepping Out
246) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
247) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
248) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
249) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
250) Summers Restaurant
251) Taco Bell
252) Tad's Deli
253) Taste Unlimited
254) Taste Unlimited
255) Tatum's Seafood Hse & Raw Bar
256) Tautogs Restaurant
257) Tee-Bones Bar & Grill
258) Timbuktu Restaurant
259) Tropical Smoothie Cafe
260) Tropical Smoothie Cafe
261) Tropicana Restaurant & Lounge
262) Twisted Fish
263) Upper Deck
264) Venice Italian Restorante
265) Victoria's Cook A Doodle Doo
266) Virginia Beach Seafood Market
267) Virginia Steak House
268) Vivo Cucina
269) Waffle Co
270) Waffle N' Things
271) Wendy's
272) Wendy's
273) Whitecap Restaurant
274) Worrell Brothers
275) Yacht Club
276) Yellow Tail Restaurant
277) Yorgo's Bageldashery
278) Z Grill Inc
279) Zero's Mr Submarine
280) Zero's Subs
281) Zero's Subs
282) Zoes Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Went there 6/22/06 Closed and out of business. Signs off the building

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Spang Mark Spang, Cary, NC
(06/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
We got word from the bartender that the place was closing in a few weeks - that was 2 weeks ago. We went for lunch today, but the "Closed" sign was up and the owner, who we saw walking around inside, wouldn't come to the door.

Supposedly, there is a new brewpub opening soon in the Town Center across from Pembroke Mall. There's also a brewpub opening on High Street in Portsmouth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phill Phill, Virginia Beach, VA
(06/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy
first review didnt take for some reason so i'll try again. Bartender was very bad but waitress was very good, quite friendly and attentive. Hopefully she will get a job some place better than this. The beer was lacked carbonation and body. It seemed like the brewing vessels were for show and the beer was made with water and syrups

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ashton Stymus Ashton Stymus, Norwich, NY
(02/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
Before going to Hilltop after a morning of site-seeing around VaBeach, I had read the reviews and the health report. I decided to visit, despite the comments.

The place was great. I got a sampler to start and a nice appetizer. The sampler included: Stout, Dunkle, IPA, American Pale Ale, Brown Ale, Hefeweizen and Kolsch. Each was really good, the Kolsch and the American Pale Ale were my least favorite. The brewer's style for those two was not in synch with my preference. I had a pint of stout with my sandwich. I ended up taking home two growlers (the last two bottles in the store for the moment) - one stout and one IPA.

The place looks and feels like a sports bar that happens to have a brewery. But it is nice, the staff is great, the food is good and the beers are really worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chip Potter Chip Potter, Richmond, VA
(07/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
Might want to consider reviewing the department of health report from June 2005 before ordering food.

http://www.healthspace.ca/Clients/VDH/VBeach/VBeach_Website.nsf

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leonardtown, MD
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Rich, you need spelling and grammar lessons

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Jack, Lippy, VA
(10/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Chris, you were right, this place is a$$.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Jack, Lippy, VA
(10/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good
hey cris get a life, there are plenty of places to drink and eat. hilltop does need some help, but ship is not going down. 2/3 of the watering holes in hampton roads have the same amount of crowds. unless your a meat market kind-of-person. dont take your self so serously and stay home and drink you dont sound like much fun any way. HAVE A HAPPY DAY!! Rich Sens

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Sens Rich Sens, Va.Beach, VA
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Alas, poor Jack...

Do you often feel lonely when going to Hilltop, like you are the only person there? Well, look around the next time you visit the place, because you probably are.

Next ask yourself "why is nobody else here" as you gaze wistfully into you cardboard-colored Hilltop Hefeweizen.

Take a sip, a drag, and a bite, and realize that most people have long since abandoned this hovel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Sweeney Chris Sweeney, Hampton, VA
(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Listen Jacka** I have dined at the finer establishments in Hampton Roads; Macaroni Grill, Ruby Tuesday's who by the way one best salad in on the beach so I feel I'm completely qualified to generate a true and honest opinion. Hilltop has opened me up to a different kind of beer opposed to Bud and Miller and the food the food what can I say about that. So why don't you get a clue and try some of the classy places above before you bash this place. Peace

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Jack, Lippy, VA
(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I respect your opinion, Jack, from Lippy, but you might consider setting the bar a little higher for your future culinary and zymurgistic excursions. Hilltop Brewery is a substandard establishment that, judging from the continued bad ratings, refuses to acknowledge their shortcomings and improve.

Do yourself a favor and try other beers and brewpubs, for the ones offered by Hilltop do not represent quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Sweeney Chris Sweeney, Hampton, VA
(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
This place was great. The food was 5 star (I never had such fancy food before) the beers were amazing they should franchise. Kudos the exceptional staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Jack, Lippy, VA
(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
Beer: Horrible. Across the board, beers were flat, astringent, and lacking in character. Try this, open a Budweiser, pour it in a glass, place in your refrigerator overnight, then drink. Do that and you get the same results as actually going to the pub, but you save a bunch of money.

Selection: Average. Are there any brewpubs that try to break from the norm anymore? Wait...maybe these guys shoud stick to figuring out the basics before a venture beyond their current selections.

Food: Pedestrian at best. Hospitalizing at worst. Advice: grab a bite to eat *before* you arrive here.

Service: I really should select N/A or N/E for "Non-existent".

Overall: Not a pleasant experience at all. Would not recommend this establishment to anybody. Virginia Beach needs a real brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Sweeney Chris Sweeney, Hampton, VA
(10/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good N/A
Just a note to pass on the fact that I Mike Pensinger am not responsible for any beers brewed past September 30th, 2004. I was unceremoniously let go and not even told about it. The locks were changed over the fact that I had exception with the waitress assigned for my retirement reception. Due to the fact that I was an independent contractor, all recepies for the Brown ale, Pale ale, IPA, Irish red, E.S.B., Over the Top IPA, and any other non-Wheat beers/Frog Grog depart with me. These were developed off site by me for my personnal use and adapted to the brewpub. I appreciate the chance Kurt gave me to brew professionally but feel that I did a lot more on my side of the bargain than he did on his.

Mike Pensinger, www,homebrewusa.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Pensinger Mike Pensinger, Norfolk, VA
(10/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Very Good place to drink a beer and eat dinner. Some of the beers were oustanding others were mediocre- that's life. Too bad the amateur beer judges listed below can't find real competitions to try out their rapier like wit and wisdom. Perhaps a long day on the Bud grocery store route will do that to you. I hope the owners and brewers keep plugging along. VA Beach needs a brew-pub

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, jacksonville, NC
(09/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Hilltop has been through some growing pains over the years. It started out a higher-end eatery/brewery catering to a yuppie crowd and now it is more of a hometown sports bar that happens to brew some fabulous beer and serve above average bar food.

Throughout its changes, the quality and variety of beer has not faltered. Last visit I tried the Over-the-Top IPA-- it was so hoppy I felt like I could have chewed it. If you're a hop-head like me, give it a try... I guarantee you'll like it.

I no longer live in the Hampton Roads area but Hilltop is always on my list when I make my semiannual visits. I am always happy to see they are still in business. Where else can you get a cask beer in this area? Nowhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Elizabeth Elizabeth, Annapolis, MD
(07/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Ok so the beer was so-so at first- but they have turned a corner I believe. Their wiezenbock and barleywine were pretty darn good. The food remains pretty non descript. The service is so so, except when megan is working the bar.. god bless her and her beirfrauness.. Despite what people might say about Hilltop - it has been in business for almost 7 years-- which was 6 longer than people thought it would last when it first opened. And for all those that wanns trash this place-- name a better place to drink in Va beach?? NONE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jurgy jurgy, va beach, VA
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
I was just in the Hampton Roads area on TDY with the Navy. My friends and I wanted to check out the local micro scene, and we were sorely disappointed with the offerings at Hilltop. Atmosphere is better suited to a mall-pub, beers were absolutely atrocious, and the service was terrible. Do not patronize this pub for their own beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Meyers Don Meyers, Bangor, ME
(12/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I think the beer, food, service and overall atmosphere of this place are terrific. I don't understand the fuss. My girlfriends and I go back time and again, for two reasons -- the beer, and the men! The brewers are hunks! If only they can clean a house...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jill E. Beene Jill E. Beene, Virginia Beach, VA
(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
All the anonynous malcontents who don't have the balls to list their last names should just shut up. Dale is gone...get over it. Now the place relies on a nunber of guys with very well developed ideas about what makes a brewpub's products good. This place has improved steadily for years. So either put your REAL full names on your bitchy posts or just shut your cowardly mouths.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Redmond Don Redmond, Virginia Beach, VA
(12/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A So So Good
Had the sampler, beers ranged from urine-like to drinkable. Service was poor but attractive. Overall not a bad place I would look beyond their house brews, they do have an assortment of quality imports and micros.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill bill, virginia beach, CA
(10/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
Mike,

You know, with a chef that cooked for the Shah, your friend the beer-champion, and you, the brewer with 7 years experience...you'd think all three of you would get together and figure out how, with the information given by your reviewers, it would be possible to actually improve your product. I don't know, just sounds like a good business move to me.

Heh, but, what do we know....we're only your lousy customers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Messner Brian Messner, Virginia Beach, VA
(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Thank you all for your comments and reviews. While I appreciate them I would like to address one:

Well "David with no last name" You will notice that I will put my name on my comments. Seems to me that the fact that the Owner cooked for the Shah should tell you something about his skills. If I was one of the richest men around (at the time) figure the odds that I would be eating crappy food.

Additionally I take exception to the "no brewmaster" comment. Tell me what are the requirments to be a brewmaster? I have over 7 years of brewing experience. I control the recipes I brew. I get paid to brew. If that doesn't cover it thhen I would very much like to know your definition. Oh and please don't tell me that school is required. I have a personnal friend who is the youngest brewer ever to medal in the World Beer CUp and he has a high school education.

I am sure that most rational people saw your post for what it is, a disgruntled attack on the owner and the establishment. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss this man to man. I am in the book.

Mike Pensinger Brewer, Hilltop Brewing Company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Pensinger Mike Pensinger, Virginia Beach, VA
(08/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
My favorite watering hole in Va Beach. As you can see by the exchanges from other reviewers, the quality of their microbrews is kind of hit-and-miss, but the overall quality is very good for a small operation. Very good selection of bottled brews. The BEST Philly cheesesteak in Hampton Roads, IMHO. I didn't say "most authentic", as my Philly-raised wife will hasten to point out that it is not, just really really tasty. A fine place to hang out, have a sandwich and a brew and watch the game.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Andy, Norfolk, VA
(07/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I just moved back into the area and it was nice to find this place. I thought it had a comfortable atmosphere with an enjoyable beer selection. I'm not a professional beer taster by a means, but I know what I like. I give The Irish Red and IPA "Thumbs Up". I also enjoyed the live music. I'll be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, San Diego, CA
(06/22/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.982 seconds) 09:58:17 54.167.10.244, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS