PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Smoky Mountain Brewery - Gatlinburg, TN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 19, 2014 @ 11:48 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TN > Gatlinburg > Smoky Mountain Brewery
Smoky Mountain Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Smoky Mountain Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.7 / 100
1004 Parkway
Suite 501
Gatlinburg, TN 37738
United States
(423) 436-4200
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: October 1999
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Gatlinburg, TN
Beer Guide for Tennessee

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
61 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Stool Pigeons
(0 mile)

2) Fox and Parrot Tavern
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Brevard Inn
2) Laurel Springs Lodge
3) Olde English Tudor Inn
4) Tennessee Ridge B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN FABULOUS CHALET
2) BEST WESTERN TWIN ISLANDS
3) BEST WESTERN ZODERS INN
4) BON AIR LODGE
5) BW CROSSROADS INN
6) CLARION INN AND SUITES
7) COMFORT INN ON RIVER GATLINBU
8) ECONO LODGE GATLINBURG
9) EDGEWATER HOTEL
10) FAMILY INNS OF AMERICA
11) GATLINBURG DAYS INN SUITES
12) GUESTHOUSE INTL GATLINBURG
13) HOLIDAY INN SUNSPREE
14) HOWARD JOHNSON GATLINBURG TN
15) MCKAY'S INN DOWNTOWN
16) MICROTEL INN
17) MOUNTAIN LOFT RESORT
18) PARK VISTA GATLINBURG RESORT
19) QUALITY INN CREEKSIDE
20) RAMADA INN
21) RODEWAY INN SKYLAND GATLINBURG
22) SIDNEY JAMES MOUNTAIN LODGE
23) SLEEP INN & SUITES
24) SUPER 8 GATLINBURG TN
25) TRAVELODGE GATLINBURG PIGEON FO
26) VILLAS OF GATLINBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Cole, Alex, Cabin
2) Ownby, John, Cabin
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Anthony's Diner
2) Aunt B's Pancake House & Grill
3) Baskin-Robbins
4) Baskin-Robbins
5) Ben & Jerry's
6) Best Dining Inc
7) Brooklyn Pizza & Pasta
8) Capeli's Pizza
9) Capelli's Pizza & Sub
10) Cobbly Nob Pizza & Video
11) Coffee Loft
12) Damon's Grill
13) Domino's Pizza
14) Fair Perk Coffee House
15) Fermata Cafe
16) Fermeta Cafe
17) Fox & Parrott Tavern
18) Gatlinburg Convention Ctr
19) Gondolier Italian Rstrnt & Pzz
20) Hog's & Honey's Saloon & Grill
21) Julian's Pizza
22) Little Ricky's
23) Mayfield Dairy Farms Inc
24) New York Pizza & Pasta
25) Open Hearth Rstrnt Downtown
26) Pancake Cabin
27) Pancake E Cabin
28) Panera Bread
29) Parton's Deli
30) Party Hut
31) Pear Tree Cafe
32) Quiznos Sub
33) River Road Pancake House
34) Soda Fountain
35) Steak Factory
36) Texas Roadhouse
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Brewmaster's pizza is excellent! I go here whenever I'm in Pigeon Forge. This time, learned that Tuesday is half-price day for 12" & 16" pizza. Yum!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robin Robin, Roebuck, SC
(04/25/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good
This is the type of brewery you would expect to find in a tourist trap. High ceilings, lots of wood, shiny tanks. Two things surprised me. First the beer is very good and everything is true to style. I tried them all and liked them all which is rare. But our trip was ruined by the outrageous price we were charged for two double Bailey's. $26! Yes, $13 per drink. We had serious sticker shock. When we asked the bar manager and rest. manager about this, we were treated very rudely and it ruined what would have otherwise been a great time as our waiter was fantastic. The food is good not great. Do yourself a favor. Drink the beer and then go someplace else for food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Palsbrew Palsbrew, Sun Prairie, WI
(09/16/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
My wife and I travel to Gatlinburg twice a year. Each time we have been to this brewhaus the service, food, and the beer have been very good. I highly recommend this brewery to anyone that loves good beer and food in a fun and friendly atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Raymond O. Raymond O., Nashville , TN
(04/29/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
JUST WANTED TO LET EVERYONE KNOW THAT MY WIFE AND I STOP AT THE BREWERY EVERY TIME WE ARE IN GATLINBURG ,THIS IS THE PLACE TO BE ON NEW YEARS (WHAT A BLAST !!!).THE FOOD ITS ALWAYS GREAT.THIS PLACE HAS TO HAVE THE BEST PIZZA I HAVE EVER HAD ,I CAN JUST TASTE THE MUSHROOMS,GARLIC ROASTED TOMATOES,PEPPERONI,BLACK OLIVES,AND THE BEST CHEESE ON EARTH.THE TERIYAKI WINGS ARE A MUST ALSO.MY BEER OF CHOICE IS THE MOUNTAIN LIGHT.ANYWAY WE ALWAYS HAVE A GREAT TIME AND ENJOY THE LIVE BANDS AND ENTERTAINMENT.WE STOP BY ABOUT 4 TIMES A YEAR AND HAVE DONE SO FOR THE PAST 6 YEARS ..KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK GUYS.THANKS

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BARRY CRAWFORD BARRY CRAWFORD, PICKENS, SC
(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
I visited this brewpub on 10/22/06 and had the following brews; Thunder Road, Mountain Light, Cherokee Red, Velas Helles, Tuckaleechee Porter, Black Bear, Harvest Fest & Appalachian Ale. This brewpub is part of the Calhoun's chain. I visted three locations for this chain today in Knoxville, Pigeon Forge, and here in Gatlinburg. Their brews were so consistent that I would guess that they were made in the same brewery. Each place had it's own equipment but it leaves one to wonder. Marty Velas is the brewmaster for all three locations so I guess it is possible. Of the three in the chain that I visited, this one would be my place to return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(11/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This brewery is part of the Calhoun complex. We ate in Calhoun's and tried their beer. The Brew Pub was in a separate building and served pizza and calzones. The food(we had ribs and Mtn. trout) was excellent. We particulatly liked the Black Bear Ale although the Cherokee Red was also good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry Nydeen Terry Nydeen, Albany, MN
(07/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
I visited here while taking a class at Arrowmont Arts and Crafts school. This place is great, but couldn't get any of my classmates to walk the length of town (less than a mile) to come here, they much prefered to cross the street to a place with Mexican corn-water.

I ordered the sampler, and liked most of them. I just don't appreciate the Helles or the Light so I guess they were good, just not to my taste. The (India?) Pale Ale and the dark Stout were great.

Dinner was just a bit about average, I had the steak, cooked medium though I ordered medium-rare. It was good but not outstanding. The wait-staff was not very knowledgable about the hops used in the Pale Ale, otherwise they were all great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Columbia, MD
(04/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
I believe that the telephone number has changed to 865-436-4200.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(03/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Pretty good beer, though nothing that really stood out. Nice selection and pretty good food. We always enjoy it while on vacation and usually go in a couple times during that week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, New Orleans, LA
(01/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
very nice location....great beer and food....love Gatlinburg

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Charley Brandon Charley Brandon, Kingsport, TN
(11/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I have nevr visited this brewpub, but I tried their beers at the Great American Beer Festivel this year in Denver CO. I appreciate good German Lagers and I have to say that the brewer here is the King of Lagers. His Bock, Helles, and German Pilsner were all outstanding! I will make it a point to stop here next time I am in TN.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Medina, OH
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great N/A
The Thunder Road was fantastic. Great place for beer and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Olney, MD
(05/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
We want to thank the "brew monkey" for his hospitality. They have pretty good food. I love their porter and my husband enjoyed the black bear ale, the winter warmer and their newer pale ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Helling Shannon Helling, Tampa, FL
(02/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
The brwery in Severville outshines this one altogether

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry W. Milewski Henry W. Milewski, Panama City, FL
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
Pretty good beers at a good price. Tried the sampler, and everything was good. What kept the beers from being great was that some of them were a little 'thin' tasting -- I expect ales and porters to have a heavier mouthfeel than their beers did. But the seasonal pumpkin ale was outstanding. The food was also quite good, for standard brewpub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Skokie, IL
(11/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Marty's beers are consistently superb, and his seasonals are usually well worth the wait. Since the closure of Rocky River Brewing Company in early 2004, Smoky Mountain Brewery is now Sevier County's only source for alternative beers. Two locations, in Gatlinburg and Pigeon Forge, each serve killer buffalo wings and excellent pizza, along with a full menu of sandwiches and grilled entrees. Full service is available all the time at the bar, the bartenders are great, and it's much closer to the taps!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Gore Jim Gore, Pigeon Forge, TN
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
It's been awhile since I was in the Smokies, and it was only once that I visited the brewpub. I did have a good time at Smoky Mountain, friendly atmosphere, live music, and VERY LARGE MUGS OF BEER. The brew is refreshing and they have pretty standard pub grub, but it can be a little greasy. WATCH OUT, too much beer and self-indulgent greasy food made for a great night, but a horrible morning after(I found out the hard way). Still, a good time was had by all. Stop by if your in the area, it's a fun place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
If you read the descriptions of their beers on their Web site, you'll get a pretty good idea of what you'll find here. Mostly light brews with little flavor or hops. The porter was good, but even that was a bit light for my taste. I had the Brew-B-Que chicken, and that was good. Overall, not a bad place, but not a place to seek out if you want a serious beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
If it wasn't for this place I'd hardly ever spend a dime in this tourist hell. But the beer is as true to the German style as you'll find outside of Milwaukee or PA. If you're a hophead, you may be disappointed. These beers are malty and well balanced. The helles is a personal favorite, but the Cherokee Red is also nice, even though I'm not a fan of the style. Come winter, the bock is warm and sublimely malty. There is ample use of speacialty malts in these beers that while some have claimed they are clones of majors..they obviously need to try a side-by-side. The beers here are first rate. My only complaints are the lack of selection and lack of experimentation, and that is probably due to management and catering to the touristas.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mr. Weekend Mr. Weekend, Middleton, WI
(03/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Yes, Gatlinburg is for tourists, but we love this place! Great selection of beer, friendly service, fabulous pizza and the best pretzels and beer cheese dip you'll ever taste. you can't beat the atmosphere. A must-see when in the Smokies!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from L. Barker L. Barker, Abingdon, VA
(10/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
In town for the weekend and, after reading the good reviews, we stopped in for beer and pizza our first night. We were not disappointed. We had the Black Bear Ale, an English Style Brown Ale and the Tuckaleechee Porter, a dark ale with a caramel taste. (With such an unusual name for the Porter, I asked the bartender where they got that name. She mentioned it is named after a local cavern.) Although both beers are excellent, I especially favored the Porter. They had 7 home brews on tap. The other 5 beers on tap were ThunderRoad (a Pilsner), Mountain Light (guess what? a Light!), their Seasonal (of course, an Octoberfest right now), Cherokee Red Ale (a decent amber), and Velas Helles (a light German style lager). We returned the next night with a large group we were with. I had the sampler to be sure the Porter remained my favorite. Again, there are some wonderful beers here, but I still like the Porter best! Quite a few of the others in our party tried the Porter and agreed with my opinion! The pizza here is excellent, also. Made with white cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. The Brewery can be a little hard to find at first. The sign is hard to see from the road. However, it is on the main road through Gatlinburg (Parkway which is also U.S. 441). Coming from the Smokies, it’s on the right between Traffic Lights #9 and #10 (they number them here – good idea!). It’s in a “mini” strip mall called Calhoun’s Village, right past the Clarion Hotel. Easy to find, of course, once you are there the first time. This place appears to do things right – many locals frequent the Brewery and many people were enjoying beer, pizza, (other good foods on the menu, too), and the football/baseball games on the many TVs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Berta Pettis Berta Pettis, Roswell, OTHER
(10/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Had a wonderful time at this brewpub two nights in a row. Great beer! Excellent Service and a super waitress, Jayna. I recommend this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Conklin Jeff Conklin, Columbus, GA
(09/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Good Awesome!
Enjoyed the summer wheat beer served with a lemon wedge. It was very refreshing. The pizza was awesome!!! Make it a stop while you are in town! We will be back someday....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris and Kiley Sahr Chris and Kiley Sahr, Portage, WI
(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I have been coming to the Smokies for years and the one thing I look forward to the most is stopping in for a cold brew. The beers are always what you need after a day of hiking. The staff is excellent, the pizza tremendous, and the Griffin Brothers - Beth, will you marry me? See you next year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, cincinnati, OH
(08/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Had the best birthday experience!! Got to meet all the staff and management and tried the samplers (couldnt choose my favorite!!) Narrowed it down to the Black Bear Ale!) Marti, I been to some of the brew pubs in Denver and have found myself quite homesick for your variety! Kim, Strobel, Jeff, Jeff, Bean, Kara, Karmella, Kya, Dave,Bill,Makaila,Kurt, THE GRIFFINS!!, Jake, Ray, and of course, "THE DON". Thanks for making my birthday awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marie Marie, Denver, CO
(08/23/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.275 seconds) 23:48:45 54.161.202.106, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS