PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Four Sons Brewery - Titusville, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 29, 2014 @ 12:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Titusville > Four Sons Brewery
Four Sons Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Four Sons Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 78.6 / 100
[Closed - January 2007]
113 South Franklin Street
Titusville, PA 16354
United States
(814) 827-1141
Listed Since: February 2004
Last Updated: January 2007
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Titusville, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania



Read our BLOG:
Four Sons Brewery in Titusville Pennsylvania to Reopen
User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Four Sons Brewery
32 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 80:0PM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Blue Canoe Brewery
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Knapping Knapp Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN TITUSVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bridge in Cherrytree Township
2) Bridge in Oil Creek Township
3) Drake Oil Well
4) Titusville City Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Boonies Sports Bar
2) Bunyan's
3) City Limits Ice Cream
4) Four Sons Brewery Restaurant
5) Fox's Pizza Den
6) Gionti's Catering
7) Little Caesars Pizza
8) Maria's Italian Restaurant
9) Marion's Family Restaurant
10) Mill Restaurant & Lounge
11) Oaks
12) Perk Place Cafe
13) Playhouse
14) Susie's Homemade Ice Cream
1) Boonies Sports Bar
2) Bunyan's
3) City Limits Ice Cream
4) Four Sons Brewery Restaurant
5) Fox's Pizza Den
6) Gionti's Catering
7) Little Caesars Pizza
8) Maria's Italian Restaurant
9) Marion's Family Restaurant
10) Mill Restaurant & Lounge
11) Oaks
12) Perk Place Cafe
13) Playhouse
14) Susie's Homemade Ice Cream
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Great
The name of this pub is now called the Blue Canoe and it has new owners.....the food is good and the atmosphere is dandy............they have live music on Sat. nites............good times, suitable for families or just friends hanging out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Faye, Newport News, Va., VA
(12/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Four Sons is currently closed with no posting or word of when it will reopen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James James, titusville, PA
(01/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The Dead Tony's Triple was awesome! However, the Heavy K used to be one of my all time favorites - but it tasted very bland this time - and kind of thin. That's very surprising indeed.

The food was good and the service was better than average. I still love this place but I know it's for sale and I'm wondering how much longer it will be in business? I hope Thom finds a buyer that want to keep this going and maybe add some marketing and PR to it. I also wonder if Thom's big issue is that he needs someone really good to help him manage it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
James,

Apparently, there was a problem with a disagreement with the PA LCB for this festival and that's why it was canceled. Of course, we do live in the "tight ass quaker state" so I'm not surprised. If I recall, they had to cancel it either last year or the year before too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Lousy
Sorry did not write sooner computer down. But last Tues called to see if they still had tickets for Beer Fest on Wed drove over to buy six more tickets. Come around front of place and sign saying that the Beer Fest was canceled. Four days before the even! Would sure like to know what HAPPEN and how soon did they tell vendors that they where not going to have the event.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james horton james horton, cambridge springs, PA
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good Awesome! Good
I came in with my family on April 17. The bartender, Melissa, waited on us. There were ten of us altogether, plus another table and several people at the bar. She was there by herself with no other servers to help. She got all of our orders correct, was very attentive, and also very friendly. We enjoyed oursevles immensely because of her. Thank you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Proper Richard Proper, Newportnews, VA
(04/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
I Was pleased with this visit. The Hop to you drop IPA reminded me of Dogfish Head 90 min IPA. The Poor Richards was another good seasonal beer on tap. The service has improved over the last two visits I had here. I still believe the beers offered here are some of the best. I still would suggest some upgrades and addtiions to the food menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(04/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Lousy Awesome! Great
prices so high. the barkeep and the wait staff (some of the wait staff) are all good at what they do, but the food is over priced for tasting like crap. THE BEER ROCKS

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review titusville PA, PA
(04/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Lousy So So
Overall the brews were good, if your taste leans toward the malt flavors, and away from hops. The titusville lager was an enjoyable lighter beer, and the plissken ale was the only one of the seven on tap brews that I could taste any hops in at all. The service was lacking, our server seemed to disappear for extended periods. Our group heard apologies more than anything else from the waitstaff in general. The onion soup was very good, the bruchetta had too many conflicting flavors in it, but other than those the food was not noteworthy in either direction.

Four Sons is a good try for a small town. If they can improve their service, and add some hops to the brews I might make the 90 minute trek to try it again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Johnson Dave Johnson, Sharpsville, PA
(03/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Very attractive and upscale yet blue collar friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Terry K. Terry K., Youngsville, PA
(01/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
While I agree with the previous review as to the service at Four Sons (apathetic, disinterested would both be accurate, could this be an "only game in town" problem?), I was not as blown away with the beers. Don't get me wrong, they're good overall, but that's it--good. For me the Heavy K was too sweet, and the Hefe was way heavy on the banana/clove deal, but that's just me. Arthur's Brilliant Stout was nice, if a mild stout is your preference. My favorite on a visit a while back was the dark Rebecca's Revenge. This was my second visit and I had similar service observations each time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Great
There are very few brew pubs that top to bottom have great beer - this is one. I travel almost 2 hours several times a year to go to Four Sons. The last time, I walked out with a growler of Dead Tony's Trippel and Heavy K. However, the service has gown down hill the last few times. In October, my check was wrong and it took several times to get it right. The last time Thanksgiving weekend (we travleled in some rought conditions to get there) , the server was about as apathetic as any I've encountered. There were issues with my kids food order although I don't know if she was to blame. However, the best she could do was shrug her shoulders. The menus keep changing and I understand that to a point, but if you have kids it really narrows down things that kids generally eat. I hear from others they've know of other patrons having service issues when they've gone too, The beer is too good to let this place falter from less than average service. I e-mailed Four Sons - never got a response.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill caraway bill caraway, pittsburgh, PA
(01/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
The atmosphere in the establishment is welcoming and unique. It is located in a quaint little town, with friendly local people. We thought the food was excellent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Monroeville, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Was in for dinner on 11/12/05 beer,food and service was great. Had the Dead Tony's Tripel. After dinner order a growler to go. When I received my bill was charged ten dollars for the growler. I do not mind paying the price but on your menu it is printed that refills are seven dollars. When I asked about this was told that the Dead Tony's was three dollars more to fill a growler. Now I have been to many differnt brew pubs at this is the first time that I was charged more. I recommend to the waitress that in the future that they let one know of the price change.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james Horton james Horton, cambridge spirngs, PA
(11/13/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The beer was great and the food good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Ashley David Ashley, Winston Salem, NC
(06/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Very nice building with lots of activity on the Saturday night. There were 7 of their beers on tap. They were all very good and tasty. I liked the Scottish the best. The owner/manager/brewer took the time to talk to us and was extremely friendly. Would highly recommend this pub as a go to place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(04/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Lousy Good
When the Four Sons opened last year it was like Nirvana coming to our backyard (well worth the 25 mile drive)....the beer, the food, the atmosphere were all tremendous. The beer is still right up there with the best and the brewmaster is usually around to talk to and does a great job, taking input and talking about beer. However, the restaurant part of the business is going downhill....they have revamped the menu every couple months since they opened and each time you find that good dishes leave to be replaced with dishes that are more suited (especially price wise) to the Four Seasons. Most of the better casual and reasonably priced dishes have left the menu, heck you cant even get onion rings there anymore (by they way they used to be awesome). Previously, you couldn't get a table there on Friday or Saturday night, but last week, empty tables were to be found. I think that they didnt realize that they had it right to begin with are either trying hard to be more than a brewpub or maximize profits. On top of that the service has drastically gone downhill. Outside of the couple regulars there behind the bar (Walt is the greatest) the wait staff is terrible. I blame this in part on the owner who does not allow for customer service. The wait staff cannot correct tabs and I got a gift certificate for Christmas and I couldn't use the value of it to tip the wait staff (no wonder they cant keep good people). I hope the owner reads this as I havent seen him in the place the last 4 or 5 times I've been there, and maybe that is part of the problem too. So I will still go for the beer, an occasional meal (when I have extra money and patience) and enjoy the atomosphere, hoping that they figure it out before they go out of buisness like Barkers did in New York.

Jeff - Saegertown

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Saegertown, PA
(03/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
A welcome establishment! Great beer quality with food to match. Seasonal beers are worth planning ahead for. Belgain varieties, hefeweizen, and many others have been wonerful. The Billie Vanillie thing needs work though. Worth the trip, I've gone farther for less.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Meadville, PA
(02/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Being from the area I watched them remodel this place for what seemed like forever (almost a year), from an old clothing store that had been closed for many years into a Brewpub. I would pass by looking in the window like a kid waiting for a candy store to open, when they did open I was there within the first couple of days, and have been back many times. The food is very good but to me it's all about the beer, they have seven, four full time and three seasonal of which I think I have tried most or all and only had one I didn't care for, all others were excellent, most recently they have added a vanilla porter named Billie Vanillie that may be the best beer I have ever tasted, and I have tasted a lot. I plan to taste it several more times (just to be sure) if your in the area it is well worth a stop, or well worth a trip if your not.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Paul, Franklin, PA
(01/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
Located in a neat old corner building in Titusville. (Check out the photos of the renovation!) Lots of brick and stone inside, large, arched windows as well. I arrived right at opening and while there were several employees milling about, I still waited 5-8 minutes for a bartender. A waitress eventually got me a sampler instead of the (late) bartender. The beers were varied, with the Left Coast Lager (California Common) as my favorite. They also had a schwarzbier and a scotch ale which were tasty. The Big Tony Trippel was very smooth, and at 10.5%, dangerously drinkable. Insofar as the food, I asked for a salad instead of fries and no tomato on my sandwich, and both were screwed up. Very disappointing indeed. I hope the service can catch up to the beer's quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(11/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hello I am Matt Allyn Brewmaster and Manager of Four Sons. I would like to tell James I appreciate your patience. It's tough to get things right when your new with a small workforce to pick from. We try as hard we can to be open 7 days a week, and that is very tough and alot of hours. We do it for the folks willing to drive in from out of town on a Sunday such as yourself. I intend for your stay to be the best. I have addresses your issue and thank you for being honest and understanding. If anyone has an issue please contact me at my e-mail brewer@foursonsbrewery.com

Thank You, We keep trying in Titusville

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Allyn Matt Allyn, Titusville, PA
(11/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy So So
On this trip was very disappointed with the service and the fact that they only had a decaf tea to offer. This was on a Sunday afternoon with only about 12 people in the place. We sat in the Bar area and the bartender was very busy. It tooks us 35 minutes before we could place our order. It would have been nice to see the wait staff help out the bartender in the bar area. Like the place very much as I have said in other review but as I said at the beginning this time the service was lousy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james horton james horton, cambridge springs, PA
(10/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Been there three differnt times now, Aug, Sept. and Oct 2004. Had great beers and food on each occasion. Waitstaff was always very friendly and helpful. Also very nice decor and atmosphere. Would fit as well in the downtown area of any major city as it does in Titusville. Well worth going out of your way for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beermark Beermark, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I just can't believe something this good is to be found in Titusville, Pennsylvania!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Gurney Eric Gurney, Stow, OH
(08/12/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
I was station in Iraq when the pub opened. A few high school friends let me know that the beer was excellent. I'm originally from Titusville but we needed something like this. although the time had came for me to go ack to the midle east. we can't get a hold of beer over here so I've had Growlers (half gallon) sent over here. To my suprise it still had a good tase when they arrived in iraq.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, titusville, PA
(08/02/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.363 seconds) 00:29:11 54.90.19.30, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS