PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro - Hastings, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 23, 2014 @ 03:39 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Hastings > Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro
Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.8 / 100
105 East State Street
Hastings, MI 49058
United States
(269) 945-4400
Listed Since: September 2006
Last Updated: February 2008
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hastings, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Walldorff Brewpub and Bistro
16 Reviews / 6 Photos
hours of operation
Sun CLOSED
Mon 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adrounie House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Barry County Courthouse Complex
2) Shriner--Ketcham House
3) Striker, Daniel, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Algonquin Lake Association
2) Algonquin Lake Community Assn
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
5) Arby's
6) Arby's
7) Back Door Deli
8) Back Door Deli
9) Beijing Restaurant
10) Beijing Restaurant
11) Blarney Stone Bar
12) Blimpie Subs & Salads
13) Bob's Big Boy
14) Bob's Big Boy
15) Bob's Grill & Restaurant
16) Burger King
17) Burger King
18) County Seat Lounge
19) County Seat Lounge
20) Dairy Queen
21) Dairy Queen
22) Double A Cookie Co
23) Dynasty Chinese Buffet
24) Dynasty Chinese Buffet
25) Fall Creek Restaurant
26) Fall Creek Restaurant
27) Get Em N Go
28) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
29) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
30) Kathy's Kitchen
31) KFC
32) Kfc
33) Little Caesars Pizza
34) Little Caesars Pizza
35) Mancino's Pizza Grinders
36) Mc Donald's
37) Mc Donald's
38) Mexican Connexion Restaurante
39) Mexican Connexion Restaurante
40) Mills Landing
41) Mills Landing Restaurant
42) Northside Pizza Market
43) Northside Pizza Market
44) Olde Towne Tavern
45) Pizza Hut
46) Pizza Hut
47) Ponderosa Steakhouse
48) Ponderosa Steakhouse
49) Richie's Koffee Shop
50) Richie's Koffee Shop Office
51) Ron & Mary's Tick Tock
52) Ron & Mary's Tick Tock
53) Schondelmayer Bar-B-Q
54) State Grounds Coffee House
55) Stefano's Pizza
56) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
57) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
58) Taco Bell
59) Taco Bell
60) Vitales Pizza
61) Vitales Pizza
62) Wendy's
63) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I had the Philly Cheese sandwich and it was possibly the best food I've eaten in my 54 years. The beer I had was very tasty as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Battle Creek, MI
(01/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hello all my name is Samuel Adam Sherwood I am the head brewer at the Walldorff brewpub and would like to say THANK YOU to all who have supported us over the past few years. Stop on in and check out our 9 beers on tap. We are working on bottling up some 22oz bottles for your DRINKING PLEASURE. Curently on tap we have Bistro Blond, Padawand Pale ale, Hopnoxxxious IPA, Bee Sting Honey Rye, Amber Waves, State St. Stout, Sundancer Summer wheat, Century Pilsner, and Jack Black's Rye. If you don't find me at the pub I'm probably out disc golf'n. So sit back and enjoy a pint and soak in the beautiful brass bar and just know my heart and soul are with every brew I make.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Samuel Samuel , Saranac, MI
(04/22/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Wood fired pizza's, fresh local ingredients. Slow roasted brisket and pulled pork. Great atmosphere with equally great food and beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Portage, MI
(03/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is top notch. After spending an entire Saturday evening there I tried several of the offerings including a nitro stout, a nitro bock, an amber, a rye, a maple and the IPA. Great beers each good for their own style. After reading some of the earlier reviews of this place what no one has bothered to mention is they got a new Brewer about a year ago so any reviews before then about the beer don't count. The new Brewer just brought back a fist full of 1st and 2nd place medals from recent competition a few months ago.

I tasted several of the menu items including an appetizer which was pita bread with some seasoned goat cheese, the Pesto Pizza and a huge hamburger with a special olive dressing. everything I tasted was great with lots of BIG FLAVORS. As far as the service it too was top notch.

As I live in Holland and have the New Holland Brewing Company in my back yard, my measuring stick is pretty high, this place stacks up well. This place is a must stop for anyone even close to the area.

It is places like this that make the quest for finding the prefect pint of REAL BEER so enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Holland, MI
(06/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
My son brought 2 growlers of the IPA yesterday. Great taste and balance. Plenty of hops, not s beer for the NASCAR crowd. If the rest of their offerings are as good as this I am looking forward to stopping there to try the rest.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Holland, MI
(05/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is Shawn, Bartender at the Walldorff i just wanted to thank all of you Pubcrawlers for reviewing our establishment.Beers are always changing so i hope you stop by and see me for a pint.

If you like Stout we have Old Woody Imperial Stout, It's to die for.

Also, Check out our booth at the Third Annual Winter Beer Fest in Grand Rapids. It's our first festival for the Walldorff, I hope to see you there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shawn Hill Shawn Hill, Hastings, MI
(02/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
The beesting is good... the hopnoxious is excellent, stout is improving, and Brenda SUCKS!!!! You must be crazy for calling her a "beer goddess" I'm thinking she wrote this review.... I'm a friggin' pub club member here and waited 17 minutes for her to fill 2 growlers around lunchtime (there were 4 patrons at the bar). Several other 'regulars' have commented on how she is SLOWER THAN MOLASSES and they AVOID going in while she's working... Not only that but she has the personality of a doorknob-- but at least a doorknob moves. Sean and Shannon ROCK!! And Charles TOO! If the owner had half a brain he'd oust your "beer goddess". (maybe they're related or something and he can't...) the wings are good and the pizzas are EXCELLENT... good salads- and the burger is the best in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hastings, MI
(12/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is our favorite stop over spot when traveling north. Quaint restaurant/micro brew using one of the old downtown buildings. Beer menu is somewhat limited but have good beers. Again, my favorite is the Hobnoxious IPA, excellent bitterness and hoppy, the way I like it. Their amber is good too. Superb menu with a variety of entrees presented very well. Not a typical hamburg/sandwich joint. Great place to relax.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Allen Tom Allen, Battle Creek, MI
(10/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I absolutely love the Bee Sting! They just finished a new fall brew called Cherry Popper...TO DIE FOR!! Smooth with a fruity finish!! YUM. Brenda (the beer goddess) is the woman. Your best to get there when she is there for lunch. She will take right care of ya! Food is good, the salads are great and the soup is homemade. If you are in a hurry, this isn't the place for you...everything is homemade.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hastings, MI
(08/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great Good
I had the summer wheat, which I swear was something else. The wheat beer was bitter/hoppy/??? Anyway, I also tried the red and it wasn't anything special, I didn't even finish it. The place was getting busy with people waiting in the bar area and I noticed quite a few people drinking bottled beer from several of the Big Brews. Yep, they also sell bottled beers from the Big Brew houses, like a gag-on-a-lite-of-your-choice. Anyway, it can't be a good sign if the customers aren't drinking your own beer in the brew pub. I had the pulled pork sandwich, not bad, but not great. The BBQ sauce is mustard based, but not very spicy. The sandwich came with a two small sides of BBQ beans and cole slaw. Again, not bad, but not great. It's great that Hastings has it's own brew pub, I only hope that the beer gets better or the locals will be missing out on the quality beer that a craft brewery could deliver. Their website indicates that a new brew master will be helping out. With that in mind, and thinking positively, I'll be back to check up on the brew status in couple months. Maybe a new seasonal, like an Octoberfest style, will be avaiable?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from justa beerguy justa beerguy, West Michigan, MI
(07/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
I was not very impressed by the beers here. The beer really lacks character and finish. The summer wheat showed a little promise, but nothing else really hit the mark. The Pale and the Red tasted very similar, with a funky bitter taste, not a good sign. The building is nice, staff was cool, and we didnt try the expensive food. I cant really recommend this one to you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(07/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This place by far has raised the standards for all surrounding restaurants, the idea and brains that go into that operation are world class. This place is not some commercialized micro brewery that popped out in your major city. The Walldorff delivers soo much more with its original atmosphere, and its highly sought after kitchen staff. My guess is that Mike the owner of this place is heading big time with his ideas, and you could see this place on being discovered on TV soon. Also, I heard the rumor about adding rooftop seating in the next 4yrs, and that could have some potential if done right.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Flint, MI
(02/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy Good
I visited this place on Aug. 5 shortly after they opened. It has a great atmosphere, and I was impressed that there is such a nice brewpub in small town like Hastings. The pale ale was good, but most of the beers on the list looked like very low alcohol, lighter versions of beers you'd normally find in brewpubs. The menu looked good, but the service was absolutely horrible. It took about 20 minutes for the server to get me a beer, after reminding him a couple of times. Then it took about an hour for our food to arrive--and it was just soup and salad!! A number of other tables around us were also getting fed up with the horrible service. I hope they work out that problem soon, or they won't be around very long. Also, please brew more robust beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(11/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Spent a few hours on a Saturday afternoon at the Walldorf Brewpub during a rainy camping weekend. Beer selection was great and most were very good. The Beesting or Killer Bee or whatever the heck it was called was FANTASTIC! Porter was good too. Was pretty quiet in there but the bar staff didn't take the time to be warm and fuzzy like you have at most pubs. We had a couple different appetizers and they were fantastic. Looking foward to going back for a full meal and of course, full beers ;-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deb Deb, Schoolcraft, MI
(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Housed in a historic brick retail space in downtown Hastings.

Standard micro-brew selections in a great old bulding. Very tasty food, all of which is homemade (as opposed to Sysco or GFS frozen crap); Gumbo, pulled pork, ribs, pizzas, salads (no Waldorf though) and sandwiches. Brewer Rob was at the bar happy to discuss the current selections and ideas for upcoming brews. The highlights of my trip were the BBQ chicken pizza with peppers, red onion, gouda and a spicy BBQ sauce that made for a crisp, chewy pie. The Bee Sting Honey Rye was a high-test Blonde with a bite (7.1 abv.). As I sat there Rob discounted several of his beers for the happy hour crowd. Definite revisit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(09/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Lousy Great
This place was only a couple of weeks old when we visited on Aug. 5. It looked like a really cool place in a renovated old building. I tried their pale ale, which was very good. But the other beers on their list looked far too light for me. For example, I think their stout was around 3.5% alcohol, and that was typical of several of their other beers. Sounds quite close to water to me!

The food was good, but nothing outstanding. The service was extremely slow!! It took about 15 minutes to get my beer after ordering it, mainly because the server forgot it at the bar. It took about 45 minutes for our soup and salad to get to our table! Yes, I said soup and salad (which should take about 5 minutes or less). Unbelievable!

If you're stuck in Hastings with nothing better to do, have a pale ale at the bar. But don't go out of your way to visit this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(08/07/2006)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.392 seconds) 03:39:05 23.20.43.165, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS