PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe - Kalamazoo, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 02:13 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Kalamazoo > Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 84.8 / 100
355 East Kalamazoo Avenue
Kalamazoo, MI 49007
United States
(269) 382-2332
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Kalamazoo, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bell's Brewery / Eccentric Cafe
108 Reviews / 12 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 70:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:30PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:30AM
Sat 10:0AM - 12:30AM

alternatives
(13 within 5 miles)
1) Olde Peninsula Brewpub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) London Grill
(0 mile)

3) Shakespeare's Pub
(0 mile)

4) Monaco Bay Piano Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

5) The Union
(0 mile)

6) Old Burdick's Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

7) Kraftbrau Brewery Incorporated
(0 mile)

8) Kalamazoo Beer Exchange
(0 mile)

9) Pilsen Klub / Waldo's Campus Tavern
(2 miles)

10) Bilbo's Pizza and Brewing Company
(2 miles)

11) Corner Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

12) Gallagher's Eatery and Pub
(3 miles)

13) O'Duffy's Pub
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Hall House Bed & Breakfast
2) Henderson Castle Bed/Breakfast
3) Kalamazoo House Bed & Brkfst
4) Stuart Avenue Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN HOSPITALITY INN
2) CLARION HOTEL KALAMAZOO
3) COMFORT INN KALAMAZOO
4) COUNTRY INN SUITES KALAMAZOO
5) DAYS INN KALAMAZOO AIRPORT
6) INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
7) LEES INN & SUITES KALAMAZOO
8) RADISSON PLAZA KALAMAZOO CENTR
9) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO EAST
10) RED ROOF KALAMAZOO WEST
11) SUPER 8 KALAMAZOO MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appeldorn, Peter B., House
2) Bronson Park Historic District
3) Brown, Isaac, House
4) Desenberg Building
5) Engine House No. 3
6) Gibbs, John, House
7) Gilbert, Henry, House
8) Haymarket Historic District
9) Illinois Envelope Co. Building
10) Kalamazoo State Hospital Water Tower
11) Ladies Library Association Building
12) Lawrence and Chapin Building
13) Lilienfeld, David, House
14) Marlborough, The
15) Masonic Temple Building
16) Michigan Central Depot
17) Montague, Henry, House
18) Oaklands, The
19) Old Central High School
20) Old Fire House No. 4
21) Portage Street Fire Station
22) Prentice, Alonzo T., House
23) Rickman Hotel
24) Roberts, Martin W., House
25) Rose Place Historic District
26) Shaffer, Enoch, House
27) South Street Historic District
28) State Hospital Gatehouse
29) Stevens, Andrew J., House
30) Stuart, Charles E., House
31) Welsh, William L., Terrace
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) AAA-Mc Donald's Er Road Svc
2) Argo Inn & Sports Lounge
3) Aries London Grill Singapore
4) Aries London Grill Singapore
5) Bagels' & Panini
6) Bar-B-Q-Pit
7) Barbq Pit
8) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
9) Bell's Eccentric Cafe
10) Big Joe's Deli Eatery
11) Big Joes Pizza & Deli
12) Big Moe's Catering & Deli
13) Billie Bob's Corn Beef Deli
14) Bimbo's Pizza
15) Bimbo's Pizza
16) Bin Three Hundred Fifty-Nine
17) Blimpie Subs & Salads
18) Blue Dolphin
19) Blue Dolphine
20) Bogie's Cafe
21) Burdick's
22) Burger King
23) Burger King
24) Caffe Casa
25) Centershot Lounge
26) Chicago Subs & Grill
27) Chicago Subs & Grill
28) Chicken Coop Inc
29) City Subs & More
30) Club Soda
31) Coffee Shop
32) Coney Island
33) Coney Island
34) Cosmo's Cucina
35) Cues & Brews
36) Dan's Fish & Bar B Que Shanty
37) District 211
38) District 211
39) Domino's Pizza
40) Dragon Inn
41) Dragon Inn
42) Dragon River Restaurant
43) El Grande Fiesta
44) Epic Bistro
45) Epic Bistro & Bin 359
46) Fandango Tapas Bistro
47) Fish Island
48) Fishel's Deli
49) Flame Restaurant
50) Food Dance Cafe
51) Food Dance Cafe
52) Fourth Coast Cafe
53) Francois' Macaroni Factory
54) Francois's Seafood & Steak Hse
55) Geno's Pizza
56) Golden Chopsticks
57) Harvey's On The Mall
58) Holly's Family Restaurant
59) Home Bar
60) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
61) Java Lounge
62) Jimmy John's
63) Josephine's
64) Just Good Food
65) Just Good Food
66) Kfc
67) King's Table
68) Klein's Deli & Bagel Factory
69) Kozy Inn
70) Larry's Bar & Grill
71) Lee's Famous Recipe Chicken
72) Lee's Garden Restaurant
73) Little Caesars Pizza
74) Louie's Restaurant
75) Louie's Restaurant
76) Main Street Cafe
77) Main Street Cafe
78) Mc Donald's
79) Mc Donald's
80) Mc Donald's
81) Mc Nally's Kitchen
82) Monaco Bay
83) Nagle's Top Dog & Malt Shoppe
84) Nick's Tavern & Grill
85) Nina's Cafe & Carousel
86) O'duffy's Pub
87) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
88) Old Burdick's Bar & Grill
89) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
90) Olde Peninsula Brew Pub
91) Papa's Italian Sausage
92) Petra's Cocina
93) Pizza Hut
94) Plaza Cafe
95) Plaza Cafe
96) Poor Richards Cafe
97) Ravenwood Coffee
98) Rib Tip
99) Rice Kitchen
100) Rice Kitchen
101) Root Beer Stand
102) Rugger's Up & Under
103) Sammy's
104) Sandwich Express
105) Sandwich Express
106) Scooters D's
107) Shakespeare's Pub
108) Sojo's Fish & More
109) Soup Kettle
110) South China Restaurant
111) State Grill
112) Subs-N-More
113) Subs-N-More
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Taco Bob's
117) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
118) Theo & Stacy's Restaurant
119) Tradewinds Lounge
120) Union Cabaret & Grill
121) University Road House
122) Water Street Coffee Joint
123) Webster's
124) Websters Fine Dining
125) Wendy's
126) Zazios
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
What happened to paying higher prices and keeping the good beer. Porter, Best Brown, Scotch Ale, all watered down and tasteless. Could hardly tell them apart. See you at OP.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Kalamazoo, MI
(10/09/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Just want to add my kudos for Bell's to all the previous ones. Their beer is great. I love Oberon! I buy it my by the case. I haven't been to their pub for a few years, so i can't review that. I am a homebrewer and their new homebrewer shop is great, they have everything you'll need to start brewing yourself, and there is always someone nearby who knows what they are talking about if you need advice. this is a must visit if you are in West Michigan.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Town Greg Town, Prattsville, NY
(12/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by during a recent beer tour through the great beer state of Michigan. Place was hopping with lots of eager Bell's fans, but service was great from the sole bartender on duty. Highlights of this visit included Consecrator Dopplebock; way too smooth and drinkable at 10% and Dog Days IPA which had a good clean finish; a keeper. The best brew this stop was Double Brown--barrel-aged, but not overbearing. At 10%, it had a nice balance and would have merited another if time only was on my side. They've also recently opened a new store for carry out, Bell's gear, and brewing supplies.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Whoo hoo!

Bell's is coming back to Illinois.

http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/chi-ap-mi-bellsbeer-chicag,0,1143004.story

Now we can get all the "Uberon" we need. lol

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(08/03/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
If you don't ever go to another beer place in the world...GO HERE! The beer is absolutely spectacular with several taps that you cannot buy by the bottle. Uberon...is the absolute best. Listen to music, sit in he patio or just wonder around. Just go here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(07/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
Bell's has some the best beer in the east. The space is interesting and inviting. The two hearted is a nicely balanced IPA. The Belgium abbey was strong and flavorful and the porter, while robust, was well proportioned. The food was blander than expected.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(05/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
GREAT live music, GREAT beer, and non-smoking! Summertime they have a amazing beer garden in the back with live music continuing throughout the seasons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Linsey Linsey, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/30/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bell's may have a temporary solution for their problems in Illinois.

Check out the story.

http://drinkcraftbeer.com/tag/bells_brewing.html

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(01/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This place is awesome!!!! BELL IS TRUE GREATNESS! Check this out- http://www.myspace.com/twoheartedale

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tvneik Tvneik, St. Clair Shores, MI
(01/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bruce,

Where in Chicago are you buying Bell's? You must be crossing the Wisconsin border.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
We were there just for the beer, and the bartender knew it. He was proud of what they make, and took care of us very well. The beer garden is great! (Yeah, it was a few months ago. So I'm slow.)I can get most of their stuff here (Chicago), but it's so much nicer drinking it at their home instead of ours. Met some great people from Arbor Brewing while we were there, just enjoying themselves on a Sunday afternoon. They were cool enough that I want to hit their place next time I'm in the Detroit area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Bruce, Palatine, IL
(12/01/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good So So Awesome!
I'm a longtime fan of Bell's. I just could pass this w/o responding to the suggestion that you should eat at Old Peninsula. Actually, you should eat one door east of Old Penninsula, at the London Grill. Ten taps, extensive bottle selection (disclaimer: I manage it, and I've developed the beer selection), and fabulous food. I was a longtime customer before I started work here, and it isn't about who signs my check.

Now, back to Bells: Eccentric day (a no-miss party, a holy day of recreation) is a week early this year, on December 8th. Also, plan a summer visit to check out the beer garden.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Kalamazoo, MI
(11/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Second trip here, and again no disappointment in the beer available. Big Two Hearted IPA astounding as always! Third Coast Beer enjoyable too. Alas, no Double Cream Stout on tap, but these things happen. Drank here first before eating at the Old Peninsula, see my review there. Keep on Keepin on Larry!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul Jaeger paul Jaeger, Pembroke Pines, FL
(10/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The best in Kalamazoo. It's a must-stop if you're in the area. I haven't had the food in forever b/c it takes up valuable space reserved for beer. Two-Hearted ale is underrated and is a must-try for beer afficianados. The key to great service is to be a regular. If the guy behind the bar knows you're there for the beer you'll be fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Polskahaus Polskahaus, Phoenix, AZ
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Oberon is always great, better out of the tap. The Belgian Tripel (Hell Hath No Fury)was interesting, not what I was expecting. HHNF was pretty dark, caramelized with Anise flavors. Food was OK, coconut chicken sandwich was pretty good. Service was slow, but the many regulars seemed happy. May have hit it on an off night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(08/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Was passing through the area and knew I had to at least make a brief stop. Wedding Ale was an unfiltered honey wheat, slightly spicy with fruit (peach? apricot?) notes as well. The porter is just a very nice beer, smooth and roasty, just the way I like it. The chicken/shrimp/wild rice soup was fantastic! Reminded me of a gumbo, but with a chicken base. Picked up some supplies for friends back home, especially the Double Cream Stout--yum!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Good Great
Was passing through the area, and even though I couldn't stay for very long, I knew I needed to stop and have a least a few beers. Wedding Ale was and unfiltered honey wheat, slightly spicy with fruit (peach? apricot?) throughout. Needed something from the dark side also, so I tried a porter. Pretty damn good! Smooth and roasty, full flavored. Had some of their chicken/shrimp/wild rice soup which was fantastic! Kind of like a gumbo, but not quite. Picked up some product for friends back home--still one of Michigan's best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
To the guy that says the porter in not enough choclatey for him. well my friend, it is not a choclatey porter, it is a porter. FRO. Not Friends right on

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Weidler Bruce Weidler, Kalamazoo, MI, MI
(04/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So
Being born, raised and schooled (WMU) in Kalamazoo, I'll always have a soft spot for Bells. I lived in California for a while and would always cram my suitcase full of Bells to take back with me following a family visit. However, I have noticed a little drop in quality in the past few years. The winter beer is, frankly, terrible. The last couple of six packs of Best Brown (which I've always liked) have been very disappointing. As for the pub itself well, it's legendary (or infamous) for it's lousy service. I think they have slightly let their guard down and are being surpased in quality by smaller Michigan brewers such as Dark Horse, Michigan Brewing Co., and Arcadia. Still, they are Bells and each pint puts a smile on my face!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Casey Casey, Ferndale, MI
(03/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I've never been to the cafe. I live in Grand Rapids. But I bought a six pack of the porter. and it is not good for a porter. It's more like a brown ale. It's good for beer, but for a porter it was pretty poor. They should retry their recipe. Most porters are more choclatey or mocha tasting this was not. But again it was good for a beer. Better than any other domestic beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Christensen Patrick Christensen, Grand Rapids, MI
(01/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great
If you love beer this is a must stop! Extensive draft selection almost to the point of being overwhelming. Very good quality and diversity of styles. No growlers though????? My only dislikes were the lack of bar seating and general cleanliness of the bar area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I am a longtime fan of Bells. Tonight I tried a Winter White Ale. Absotutely delicious. But, it is an odd winter beer. To me, it tastes exactly like a summer wheat beer. As much as I like Oberon, I would be more apt to grab one of these on a hot summer afternoon. Seriously tasty though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've been a true Bell's Oberon fan for years now.. so, had to have it straight from the source! My husband & I took a roadtrip and loved the atmosphere of the brewery & along with sampling a few different Bell's & a beer garden too.. AWESOME!! We will be back!! (Oh yeah, the Manhattan Clam Chowder from the Eccentric Cafe was the best!!.. Haven't found any that compare to that.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shelley Shelley, Waterford, MI
(11/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I was able to enjoy the Pale Ale, Amber and the outstanding Two-Hearted Ale. The Amber was freshly brewed and very good. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Norman James Norman, Zion, IL
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
A visit here is a must to any true beer geek! Living on the East Coas, I can only wistfully dream of putting my hands around a pint of a Bell's - and what beer! During my short (alas) visit here, I lost count of all the styles offered - although, I did count at least 6 different stout. What a place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(10/07/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.214 seconds) 14:13:53 54.83.227.6, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS