PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Salem Beer Works - Salem, MA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 03:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MA > Salem > Salem Beer Works
Salem Beer Works Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Salem Beer Works
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 85.6 / 100
278 Derby Street
Salem, MA 01970
United States
(978) 741-7088
Listed Since: November 1997
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Salem, MA
Beer Guide for Massachusetts

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
53 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Amelia Payson Guest House
2) Bishop's Bed & Breakfast
3) Brimblecomb Hill B & B
4) Cap'n Jack's Waterfront Inn
5) Coach House Inn
6) Darci's Parkside Inn
7) Diamond District B & B
8) Flying Cloud Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN SALEM WATERFRONT
2) COMFORT INN NORTH SHORE
3) DANVERS COURTYARD
4) DANVERS RESIDENCE INN
5) DAYS INN BOSTON/SALEM
6) EXTENDEDSTAY BOSTON DANVERS
7) HAMPTON INN BOSTON PEABODY
8) HAWTHORNE HOTEL
9) HOMEWOOD SUITE PEABODY
10) PEABODY MARRIOTT
11) PEABODY SPRINGHILL SUITES
12) SALEM INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abbot Hall
2) Balch, John, House
3) Beverly Grammar School
4) Bowditch, Nathaniel, House
5) Bowker Place
6) Cabot, Capt. John, House
7) Capitol Diner
8) Charter Street Historic District
9) Choate, Rufus, House
10) City Hall
11) Colonial Beacon Gas Station
12) Conant, Exercise, House
13) Corning, Samuel, House
14) Crombie Street District
15) Derby Summerhouse
16) Derby Wharf Light Station
17) Essex County Court Buildings
18) Essex Insitiute Historic District
19) Fabens Building
20) First Unitarian Church
21) First Universalist Church
22) Fort Pickering
23) Fort Sewall
24) Foster, Gen. Gideon, House
25) Fowler House
26) Fowler, Rea Putnam, House
27) Fox Hill School
28) G.A.R. Hall and Museum
29) Gardiner-Pingree House
30) Gedney and Cox Houses
31) Glover, Gen. John, House
32) Hale, Reverend John, House
33) Hale, Reverend John, House
34) Hamilton Hall
35) Harris Farm
36) Hickey--Osborne Block
37) Hooper, Robert "King", Mansion
38) Hose House No. 2
39) Hospital Point Light Station
40) House of Seven Gables Historic District
41) Humphreys, Sir John, House
42) Lee, Jeremiah, House
43) Livermore, William, House
44) Lovejoy, Charles, House
45) Lynn Bank Block
46) Lynn Masonic Hall
47) Lynn Public Library
48) Lynn Realty Company Building No. 2
49) Lynn, Armory
50) Monroe, Bessie, House
51) Moore--Hill House
52) Mowers' Block
53) Munroe Street Historic District
54) Murray, William, House
55) Newhall, Lucian, House
56) Odd Fellows' Hall
57) Old Post Office Building
58) Old Town Hall Historic District
59) Old Town House
60) Osborne, Prince, House
61) Peabody Central Fire Station
62) Peabody City Hall
63) Peabody Institute
64) Peabody Institute Library
65) Peabody Museum of Salem
66) Peabody, George, House
67) Peabody, John P., House
68) Peirce-Nichols House
69) Proctor, John, House
70) Putnam, Gen. Israel, House
71) Putnam, James, Jr., House
72) Rea-Proctor Homestead
73) Salem Diner
74) Salem Landry
75) Second O'Shea Building
76) Shepard Block
77) Smith, Hazadiah, House
78) Southwick House
79) Sprague House
80) St. Michael's Church
81) St. Nicholas Orthodox Church and Rectory
82) St. Stephen's Memorial Church
83) Story Grammar School
84) Story, Joseph, House
85) Sutton Block
86) Swampscott Fish House
87) Tapley Building
88) Thomson, Elihu, House
89) Thorndike, Capt. John, House
90) United Shoe Machinery Corporation Clubhouse
91) US Post Office--Beverly Main
92) US Post Office--Lynn Main
93) Vamp Building
94) Ward, John, House
95) Ward, Joshua, House
96) Wesley Methodist Church
97) West Cogswell House
98) Woodbridge, Thomas March, House
99) Woodbury, Peter, House
100) YMCA
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 99 Restaurant & Pub
2) Ally's On The Green
3) Anthonys Pier Four Inc
4) Asahi
5) Asahi Restaurant
6) Bailey's Bar & Grill
7) Bangkok Paradise Inc
8) Bay Bridge Restaurant & Bar
9) Bella Luna Cafe
10) Bella Verona
11) Bella's Pizza & Subs
12) Ben & Jerry's Scoop Shop
13) Bertini's Inc
14) Bickford's Family Restaurant
15) Big Fred's Roast Beef
16) Bill & Bob's Roast Beef
17) Bill & Bob's Roast Beef
18) Bite Restaurant
19) Bob's Famous Fried Clams
20) Boston Hot Dog Co
21) Boston Street House Of Pizza
22) Bowman's Bakery
23) Boxcar Cafe
24) Brisas Del Caribe
25) Brodie's Pub
26) Brother George Place
27) Brothers Restaurant & Deli
28) Buff's Roastbeef
29) Burger King
30) Cafe Espresso
31) Cafe Jefferson
32) Cafe Kushco
33) Caffe Graziani
34) Captain Dusty's Ice Cream
35) Captain's Waterfront Grill
36) Carmine's Pizza
37) Castillo Tipico Restaurant
38) Champions Pub
39) Chase House Inc
40) China Corner
41) Christina's Pizza
42) Cilantro Inc
43) Colonial Hall
44) Country Club Caterers
45) Court House Deli
46) Crusty's Pizza Etc
47) Damatas Pizza
48) Deb's Diner
49) Deleo's Pizza
50) Derby Fish & Lobster Corp
51) Dina's Roast Beef & Seafood
52) Doc Ryans Pub
53) Dodge Street Bar & Grill
54) Domino's Pizza
55) Dotty & Ray's Lunch
56) Dube's
57) Dunkin Donuts
58) Dunkin Donuts
59) Dunkin Donuts
60) Edgewater Cafe & Catering
61) Effortless Edibles
62) Engine House Restaurant Pizza
63) Essex Pizza
64) Fantasy Island
65) Finz Seafood Restaurant
66) Fire Bull Restaurant
67) Fortune Palace
68) Foster Street Diner
69) Fountain Place
70) Front Street Coffeehouse
71) Fuel Coffee & Juice Bar
72) Fuentes Mexican Food
73) Gavel Corp
74) Genghis Chinese Food
75) Georgio's Pizza
76) Giovanni's Pizza
77) Go Fish Gallery
78) Grape Vine
79) Ground Round
80) Hamilton Hall
81) Happy House
82) Hawthorne Catering Co
83) Hawthorne Hotel
84) Hing Wah Garden
85) Hong Kong King
86) Hong's Palace
87) Ice Cream Alley
88) Ilbocca Italiana
89) In A Pigs Eye Restaurant
90) Jesse's Bar & Grill
91) Kalifornia Cafe
92) Kfc
93) Kiki's Chinese Food
94) King's Famous Roast Beef
95) Kitchen Table
96) Lena's Original Sandwich Shop
97) Lena's Original Sub & Pizza
98) Leslie's Retreat
99) Lobster Shanty
100) Lyceum Restaurant
101) Major Mag Leashes
102) Mak's Roastbeef
103) Mandarin Super Buffet
104) Mandee's Pizza
105) Maria's Place
106) Mc Donald's
107) Mc Donald's
108) Mc Donald's
109) Mc Swiggin's Irish Pub-Rstrnt
110) Nathaniel's
111) Nicholas Famous Roast Beef
112) Nicks Firehouse Coffee Shop
113) Nikos Pizza & Roast Beef
114) Nona's Cafe
115) O'neills Pub & Restaurant
116) Ocean View House Of Pizza
117) Ofado's Lounge
118) Omega Pizza
119) Papa Gino's
120) Papa John's Pizza
121) Passage To India
122) Peabody Deli & Restaurant
123) Periwinkles Food Shoppe
124) Pizza Hut
125) Polonus European Deli
126) Pop's Piece O'pizza
127) Puleo's Dairy Bar & Restaurant
128) Red Raven
129) Red's Sandwich Shop
130) Roasted Peppers
131) Rockmore Dry Dock
132) Roosevelt's Inc
133) Roosevelt's Restaurant & Sln
134) Salem Diner
135) Salem House Of Pizza
136) Salem Jade Restaurant
137) Salem Super Sub
138) Sandwiches Pizza & More-Vinnin
139) Sidelines Sportsbar & Grill
140) Stacia's Place
141) Starbucks
142) Strega Restaurant & Lounge
143) Stromberg's Restaurant
144) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
145) T B Restaurant Management
146) Taco Bell
147) Tasty Foods
148) Tasty Foods II
149) Thai Place Restaurant
150) Tin Whistle
151) Tony Lena's Sandwich Shop
152) Tropicafe 119
153) Universal Coffee House
154) V Bar
155) Victoria Station
156) Warren Lunch
157) Wendy's
158) Wendy's
159) Willowtree Restaurant
160) Witch's Brew Cafe
161) Witch's Kettle
162) Z Crepe Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
One of several Beer Works. Have a large variety of beer. Enjoyed most all I tried. Food was fairly good. Some outdoor seating available at this location

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Louis, MO
(09/20/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Visited 6/16. Make this an unofficial stop on the Salem walking tour. Dozen house brews to choose from and an extensive food menu. Had the Victory Red, 9 Alarm Amber and Black Cat Stout. All great! Nice open atmosphere. Plenty of TV's. My fish'n'chips wasn't the best but a plate of nachos next to me was to die for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(06/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Went here with my after we got married. Good beer but not enough IPA's for my taste

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, Seattle, WA
(11/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Best beer on the planet. Tall Blueberry or Tall Watermelon in the summer are great. In the fall a Tall Pumkin is the way to go...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jannel Jannel, Peabody, MA
(08/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
-rack of ribs: smoky, tender, succulent -chicken parm sandwich: good red sauce, toasted roll. BEERS: I did the sampler. 1. Witch City Red: coppery brown, hoppy, full mouth feel, a nice beer to accompany a spicy meal. 23/25. 2. Cask conditioned Essex: sweet, minimal hops, a good beer for the non-dark beer fancier to start with. 18/25. 3. Porter: a deep red if you catch the light just right at the bottom of the glass, smoky aroma, coffee/bitter-chocolate overtones, full mouth-feel, and long, long finish. 24/25. 4. Stout: black. heavy, tangy, smoother than the porter, to my surprise (i.e., less bitter.) Nice finish, another excellent beer. 22/25.

When in the neighborhood, I'll definitely come back, and my non-beer-drinking wench will happily come and nosh!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from david david, old orchard beach, ME
(06/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Salem, known for its Puritan strong sense of guilt and sin, has nothing to be guilty about at this brew pub. The locals treated out party well. The beer was fresh and well crafted. I had the salmon plate. The salmon was great and it came to the bar stool I was sitting on, fast. Try the Porter! Avoid the traffic jams of Boston and their special "Left" turns, by coming to this pub in Salem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Serafin Neil Serafin, Bailey, CO
(03/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Great
The cheese nacos are to die for. Best I've found and we travel all over the country. Loads of real cheddar, not the normal "cheese whiz" that covers only the top few nacho chips at most restaurants. The whole thing has to weigh 3lbs. Great place to eat...and have a beer or two!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review orlando, FL
(01/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Awesome says it all. The beer was great, and the food was to die for. Recommend the Green Monster sandwich, cubed chicken tossed in pesto sauce, then tossed in parmasian, then covered in melted mozzerella, OH MY! The pumpkinhead ale is the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moe Moe, Cleveland, OH
(06/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Stopped in for lunch while visiting Salem and I didn't want to leave! The food was great and the Blueberry Ale was fantastic!!!! I only wish they had the watermelon ale on tap when I was there. That would be something I'd really love to try!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dana Dana, Norristown, PA
(03/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Darn good beer, more than a dozen varieties of house brew on tap. Hercules strong ale was a great barleywine, flagship red ale was also very good. Head brewer also has interests in vintage race cars and BBQ. Was this my twin, separated at birth? A great place, great beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(01/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The pumpkin and the witches ale were awesome, but I gotta tell ya people......the blueberry was the most fowl beer!!!!! It just should not be allowed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Rochester, NY
(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
upset I could not get the black bat stout to go in a growler jug, but great food and great beer selection!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Beacon Falls, CT
(11/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great Selection of well crafted beers. Had many of them. Fun decor and art work great atmosphere and food. A must visit when in Salem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan Alan, Puyallup, WA
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from sean hawkes sean hawkes, parsonsfield, ME
(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Visited in August for my third time in 3 visits to Salem. Each time the food was excellent and the beer even better. The Watermelon Ale was the reason we travelled to Salem. MY favorite pub anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from packmule packmule, Lancasterp, PA
(08/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Came down from Ontario Canada, we were delighted with the food and atmosphere. The portions were a little more than we could handle and ended up having half of our dinner the next day for lunch!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heather Cunning Heather Cunning, Cambridge, ON
(08/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
My husband and I had the best meal. I am not a beer drinker but found the watermelon beer to be outragous! My husband (big beer drinker) tried a few, loved them all! We wanted to take a gallon home but didn't have a cooler for our 4 hr ride home. I strongly reccommend it. Wish we had one in our neighborhood!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Angela Angela, Hicksville, NY
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Disappointed in the change you made to the pizza. 1998 and 1999 it was so good. Absolutely love your garlicky shrimp fettucine. Out of this world! Your samplers are so much fun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sue Clancey Sue Clancey, Gloucester, MA
(06/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy
The waitress didn't bring out our appetizer and then was going to take it back when our food came. The french fries are too salty. The pop a.k.a. soda was watered down. We did not receive ketchup/crackers with our meal. The fish was not fresh, it was frozen. I hope they really didn't expect a good tip!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Merrimack, NH
(03/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the first place my husband and I ate when we were visiting New England and deciding whether to move here from Florida (we did). I think the beers as SBW helped us make our decision. This has been our favorite place ever since. LOVE the Pumpkinhead Ale and the Blueberry. We even bought the T-shirts! I will be back to this place again and again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Heather Gollnick, Methuen, MA
(03/15/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
The reason we visited Salem (not the witches). Everything we expected & more! What a fantastic selection!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ryan Peck, Hamden, CT
(03/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We just returned from Salem and loved the food and beer at your establishment. Sorry we had to return to Long Island. Loved Salem and your food and great beer. We're enjoying 3 of your growlers right now with friends. Blueberry has a nice bitey taste and the pumpkin has a smooth taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tori, Sea Cliff, NY
(02/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
All of the beers are truly great. Great stouts as well as the light stuff. Northshore light is crisp and refreshing. Blueberry Ale is tasty. Plus the best thing is all of the waitresses are very cute!....Mike Bass from Winthrop

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Bass Michael Bass, Winthrop, MA
(12/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great atmosphere, great people, and the by far the BEST beer you'll ever have, Pumkinhead is my favorite witht he Blueberry coming in second!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Laura Laura, North Reading, MA
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from anonymous anonymous, marlton, NJ
(09/20/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.7 seconds) 03:14:48 54.211.137.77, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS