PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Spoetzl Brewery - Shiner, TX
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 16, 2014 @ 08:18 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > TX > Shiner > Spoetzl Brewery
Spoetzl Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Spoetzl Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 76.7 / 100
603 East Brewery Street
Shiner, TX 77984
United States
(361) 594-3383
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: September 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Shiner, TX
Beer Guide for Texas

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Spoetzl Brewery
24 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

Recent News
Texas celebrates Shiner Beer’s 100th anniversary


bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Kasper House Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Sts. Cyril and Methodius Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Andy's Catering
2) Country Corner Cafe/Crafts
3) Frank's Bbq
4) Friday's Fried Chicken
5) Gaslight Theatre
6) Home Plate
7) J & D Tacos
8) Ponderossa Lounge
9) Shiner Diner
10) Simple Simon Pizza
11) Tenth Inning
12) Werner's Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
I visited the brewery yesterday. It's been about 20 years since my last visit. The last time I was there it was a very small brewery which was just about to go into bankruptcy. There were no tours but the tasting room was set up so you could try as much of their beer as you wanted. It was all free and there was a really funky cool little gift shop which sold all sorts of stuff, mostly not related to the brewery.

Now the brewery is huge with lovely copper kettles and a very impressive bottling set-up. The beers were all good and true to style.

They do have tours now. Twice a day. As someone mentioned they seemed very scripted. They do not allow photos taken on the tour. The lady actually said "take no photos if you value your equipment". Seemed a bit harsh to me. She might have said "please take no photos". She knew her script and did a good job of giving us the history and the brewing procedure but when I asked her technical questions about the brewing techniques or the ingredients she just made up bogus answers.

When you get to the gift shop (now located in the brewery and not in the building next door) you get three wooden tokens which you can trade for 3 Dixie cups of the beers of your choice. That's a far cry from the old days. You shouldn't just give away as much free beer as someone can drink, but they seemed to have gone a bit overboard on the conservative side.

Overall I would rate my experience as a good one and will probably go back the next time I'm in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Kirk Jim Kirk, Indianapolis, IN
(11/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Whenever I visit Speotzl brewery, I have a positive experience. The beer selection is outstanding, and the whole staff is doing a great job to welcome every visitor. Thanks and keep up the good job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nashville, TN
(04/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
I visited this brewery on March 15, 2005. The brewery was understaffed for the influx of spring breakers visiting. They were very child unfriendly to the point of being dangerous to take a child on the tour, even though the tour only consisted of visiting two rooms in the brewery. I am not sure what technology that they are trying to protect by their no pictures policy which seems to be a litte extreme for the average tour goer. They had 4 brews available; Shiner, Shiner Light, Shiner Blonde & their Hefeweizen. Their souvenir shop is well stocked with a variety of items. It is too bad that I had a very unfriendly Shiner welcome.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. L. Averill G. L. Averill, Lakeway, TX
(04/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The eating places and the beer are excellant . But the people could be alot friendlier though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pam Holster Pam Holster, Sweet Home, TX
(04/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A N/A Great Great
Unlike my fellow reviewer Cozy D I don't drink urine so I can't make that comparison butI found all the Shiner brand beers to be very good. Our tour guide was bright and funny and informative.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R.F. R.F., Grand Prairie, TX
(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
Decent tour, somehwat scripted as others have mentioned, but overall I think it was informative & certainly a worthwhile experience. I personally am not a huge fan of Shiner's offerings, I think they are consistent, but pretty basic & not overly memorable. There were 5 beers on tap in the hospitality room, Bock, Blonde, Summer Stock, Hefe, & Shiner Light. The only one that seemed a little odd was the Hefeweizen...just doesn't seem to fit the style at all. That said, the staff is friendly & helpful, and I think the brewery is worth a visit if you find yourself in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allen, TX
(06/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Toured the brewery a few days prior to Bocktoberfest in October 2003. Great tour. Beautiful copper brewing kettles. Too bad they do not allow photos to be taken. If in the area between San Antonio and Houton, be sure to stop by and take the tour and enjoy the samples. Spoetzl Brewery makes quite a few other selections than Shiner Bock.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Mertie Scott Mertie, Nashville, TN
(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good N/A Great
I have never toured the Brewery, but have been to several Bocktoberfests and they are a blast. I'm looking foward to going back in 2003.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Bobby Hinds, San Antonio, TX
(04/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A
BEST BEER EVER IM LUCKY TO BE ABLE TO GET HERE IN EAST TENNESSEE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neal Smith Neal Smith, knoxville, Tn
(02/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A N/A N/A
this beer is brown urine It looks promiseing when poured but it just goes to show that nothing good comes from texas however since texas sucks at everything this beer is definetly one of the better in the area and that doesnt say much other than dont go to texas gor anything .

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cozy D cozy D, chicago, IL
(01/27/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
The Spoetzl Brewery (rhymes with "pretzel") tours are available Monday through Friday (check the website for hours) and start at the gift shop in a small house in front of the brewery. The tour focuses on the history of the brewery, which was established in 1909, and offers a good visit to the brewhouse and a view of the bottling line. A newly enlarged hospitality room offers samples (yes, they are a bit small) of the four available Shiner beers - Shiner Bock, Shiner Blonde, the fairly new unfiltered Hefeweizen, and either Shiner Summer Stock (a kolsch) in March through September or Shiner Winter Ale (a dunkelweizen) from October through February. Shiner Bock and Shiner Winter Ale have earned medals at the Great American Beer Fest in both 2001 and 2002, and the Hefeweizen and Summer Stock were medal winners at the 2002 World Beer Cup. By far, my favorite is the Winter Ale, a rich tasting dark ale that even had a bit of a smoky taste on tap at the hospitality room. The brewery is about 20 miles south of the Flatonia exit on I-10 between Houston and San Antonio.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(11/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A N/A So So
Their beer isn't bad, but it's not great either, reminding me of beer one might drink after mowing the lawn in summer. They were stingy with the beer samples.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph C Topping III Joseph C Topping III, Austin, TX
(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Didn't go to the brewery. I think Shiner Bock is the state beer, you can get it anywhere. It's a nice refreshing beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(10/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A So So So So
A nice tour, but more for the novice than the knowledgable. A too-scripted presentation. Located on US 95 on the north edge of town. Only three samples (it used to be two), and only four taps (and one was out). Shiner Honey Wheat Hefeweizen: pleasant light-yellow ale, but "hefe" my butt! Shiner Bock: a nice marzen, but not exciting; Dos Equis is similar but better. Shiner Winter Ale: a fine full-bodied, strong-flavored ale, first available that day (October 1). Why no picture-taking on the tour? "Might distract the employees" ('Can I take a picture with you?'); might pose on the copper kettles, or climb on for that perfect angle (I can see that); and, they want to control what images are sold to magazines (completey bogus).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul E. Milligan Paul E. Milligan, Columbia, MD
(10/09/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Good
Enjoyed stopping in on a hot summer day. Lady at the bar was friendly enough. Person at the souvenir shop could have been more cordial.But who cares? The beer was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Guidry Ray Guidry, Lake Charles, LA
(09/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A So So So So
What happened to the little Brewery I visited 8 years ago. It looked like Anhauser Busch Came in there and changed the Beer, the place and the people. Where's the little old man that served the Beer!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Austin, TX
(07/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy Good
Shiner Bock is my stand-by when micros are unavailable. Only 2 complaints from the brewery tour. First, the canned speech from the tour guide. Anyone with a good memory could have lead the tour. Second, the prohibition of photos in the brewery. What do they think we'll do, steal copper tank placement secrets?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Miller Steve Miller, Baytown, TX
(11/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Wilson Sean Wilson, Arlington, TX
(10/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
All I can say is "Shiner Bock Rules"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Ogle Don Ogle, Irving, TX
(09/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Shiner Bock is a classic in Texas. New seasonal "Summer Stock" is a Kolsch of the highest quality. The Honey Wheat is one of the few Weizens I care for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron DeFord Ron DeFord, Austin, TX
(06/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Great beer, friendly people, and a town full of history.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Denver Mills Denver Mills, Spokane, WA
(03/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Our trip to Shiner started on a whim in the Summer of '97- three of us heading out from work early in Del's borrowed Lexus and a thirst for experience. After a couple of hours and unanticipated detours, our co-pilot Todd announced our arrival (he recognized the plant from the picture on the label). We took the tour (Shiner comes in cans?!?), drank their beer, and relaxed. Whether it is a tolerance of strangers (Bocktoberfest= +20,000 people in a town of 3,000 annually), a total lack of traffic (I think they have one traffic light), or just plain good natured-ness, the community of Shiner is overwhelmingly friendly in a quiet, leisurely way. Shiner and the Spoetzl Brewery is well worth a trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ray Rodrquez, San Antonio, TX
(12/30/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Awesome! Great
Honestly, the beer brewed by Shiner is truly no better than the average mass produced Budweiser-like product. None of the beers are exceptional. But that matters not at all. This brewery has a panache that can't be described by those who don't feel its unique attraction. Spoetzl is simply a mecca for beer enthusiasts who respect small scale, family oriented operations which care about their product and the community in which they operate. Like myself, people routinely travel from all over the U.S. to come to this brewery in the middle of nowhere. There's just something about the Shiner mystique. The folks at the brewpub are extremely friendly and make you feel like part of the family. Every year the brewery sponsors the Bocktoberfest which attracts 20,000+ people to a town with a permanent population of less than 3,000. That's the type of drawing power this brewery has. And I do plan to return someday...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Loew Brian Loew, Riverside, CA
(10/22/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Great place to Czech out the brew of Central Texas!!! Great tour, friendly staff and fantastic Honey Wheat! Worth the detour of I-10 between San Antonio and Houston! Texas at its best!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James E. Miculka James E. Miculka, New Orleans, LOUISIANA
(09/28/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.509 seconds) 08:18:05 54.205.205.47, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS