PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Hilton Head Brewing Company - Hilton Head Island, SC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 02, 2014 @ 05:49 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > SC > Hilton Head Island > Hilton Head Brewing Company
Hilton Head Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Hilton Head Brewing Company
Overall: Good    Score: 68.4 / 100
7C Greenwood Drive
Hilton Head Island, SC 29928
United States
(843) 785-2739
Listed Since: September 1996
Last Updated: August 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Hilton Head Island, SC
Beer Guide for South Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Hilton Head Brewing Company
46 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Mellow Mushroom
(0 mile)

2) Wild Wing Cafe
(0 mile)

3) Bomboras Grille
(0 mile)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN HILTON HEAD ISLAND
2) DAUFUSKIE ISLAND RESORT BREAT
3) DISNEY HILTON HEAD ISL RST
4) FAIRFIELD INN & SUITES
5) HAMPTON INN
6) HARBOURSIDE I I I
7) HILTON HEAD ISLAND HILTON RSRT
8) HILTON HEAD ISLND BCH TNNS RST
9) INN AT HARBOUR TOWN
10) MAIN STREET INN
11) MARRIOTT HILTON HEAD GOLF RST
12) MARRIOTT VAC CLUB BARONY BEACH
13) MARRIOTT VAC CLUB GRANDE OCEAN
14) MARRIOTT VAC CLUB HARBOUR TOWN
15) MARRIOTT VAC CLUB MONARCH
16) MARRIOTT VAC CLUB SHELTER COVE
17) QUALITY INN & SUITES
18) RED ROOF HILTON HEAD ISLAND
19) SEA CREST
20) SEA PINES RESORT
21) SHOREWOOD VILLAS
22) THE BREAKERS
23) THE WESTIN RESORT HILTON HEAD
24) TODDS HILTON HEAD RENTALS VILLA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Rear Lighthouse of Hilton Head Range Light Station
2) Stoney--Baynard Plantation
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A Catered Affair
2) Alligator Grille
3) Amigos Cafe Y Cantina
4) Anna's Beachside Cafe
5) Antonio's Italian Cuisine
6) Arby's
7) Arthur's Restaurant
8) Asian Fusion
9) Aunt Chiladas Easy Street Cafe
10) Beachwalk Cafe
11) Bess Inc
12) Big Bamboo Cafe
13) Blimpie Subs & Salads
14) Boggie's Coffee Cafe & More
15) Bonefish Grill
16) Brellas Cafe
17) Brick Oven Cafe
18) British Open Pub
19) Bruster's Real Ice Cream
20) Burger King
21) Cafe At Wexford
22) Cafe Hilton Head
23) Cafe Maxx
24) Callahan's Sports Bar & Grill
25) Captain Woody's Oyster Bar
26) Captain's Seafood
27) Captain's Seafood
28) Captians Table
29) Carol's Kitchen
30) Carolina Grill
31) Casey's Sports Bar & Grille
32) Catch 22
33) Catering Concepts
34) Charleston's
35) Charlie's L'etoile Verte
36) Chesapeake Bagel Bakery
37) Chicago Prime Steaks-Prime Rib
38) Christo's
39) Cold Stone Creamery
40) Coligny Bakery
41) Coligny Deli & Grill
42) Conroy's
43) Cookery
44) Corner Market Cafe
45) Crabby Nick's Seafood House
46) Crane's Tavern & Steakhouse
47) Crazy Crab
48) Crazy Crab
49) Da Vinci's Pizza Plus
50) Damon's The Place For Ribs
51) Davinci's Pizza
52) Del Vecchio's Family Rstrnt
53) Domino's Pizza
54) Dosido's Western Grille
55) Drydock
56) Earle Of Sandwich Pub
57) Ellie & Bill's Catering
58) Empire Szechuan Restaurant
59) Eugene's Waterfront Steakhouse
60) Evelyn's Cafe & Catering
61) Express Restaurant Delivery
62) Fiesta Fresh Mexican Grill
63) Fishtales Bar & Grill
64) Fitzgerald's Restaurant
65) Flavors Restaurant
66) Franks Italian Deli & Catering
67) French Bistro
68) Frosty Frog Cafe
69) Frozen Moo
70) Gaslight Restaurant
71) Genesis Restaurant & Bar
72) Great Plains Cattle Co
73) Grinders Express
74) Gruby's New York Deli
75) Harbourside Cafe
76) Hardee's
77) Henry's Seafood House
78) Hilton Head Brewing Co
79) Hilton Head Diner
80) Hilton Head Ice Cream Inc
81) Hinchey's Chicago Bar & Grill
82) Hinoki Of Kurama
83) Hofbrauhaus Restaurant
84) Holly Cow Ice Cream & Coffee
85) Huddle House
86) Huge Seafood Co
87) Imperial Dragon
88) Iron Wolf Chop House
89) Island Deli
90) Island Grill & Deli
91) It's Greek To Me Inc
92) Italian Square
93) J B Shag's
94) Jake's Pizza
95) Jake's Pizza
96) Java Joe's
97) Jazz Corner
98) Jenny's Inc
99) Jolly Lobster
100) Juleps Restaurant
101) Jump & Phil's
102) Just Pasta
103) Kenny B's French Quarter Cafe
104) Kingfisher Seafood Restaurant
105) Kurama Japanese Restaurant
106) LA Famiglia
107) La Maisonette
108) La Normandie
109) La Pola's
110) Larry's Giant Subs
111) Las Palapas
112) Lickety Split Ice Cream & Co
113) Longhorn Steakhouse
114) Lwood's
115) Marble Slab Ice Cream
116) Market Street
117) Marley's Ice Cream Trading Co
118) Marleys Island Grille
119) Marshside Mama's Cafe
120) Mc Donald's
121) Mellow Mushroom
122) Metropolitian Lounge
123) Mister Chris Catering
124) Mockingbird
125) Mojo Pie
126) Money Penny's
127) Monkey Business
128) Napa Steak House
129) Neno Il Tuscano
130) New York City Pizza
131) Nick's Central Steak & Sfd
132) Olivier's On New Orleans
133) Palmetto Bay Sun Rise Cafe
134) Palmetto Cafe
135) Papa John's Pizza
136) Parrot Cove Cafe
137) Pasta Garden
138) Peckerheads Bar & Grill
139) Philly's Cafe & Deli
140) Pino Gelato
141) Pizza Chef
142) Pizza Hut
143) Pizza Hut
144) Pizzaroma Of Hilton Head
145) Plantation Cafe & Deli
146) Port Royal Catering
147) Portz
148) Prescott's Steaks & Seafood
149) Primo Restaurant
150) Quinn's II
151) Quiznos Sub
152) Rann & Tiffs Sundaes Everyday
153) Red Dragon Chinese Take Out
154) Red Fish
155) Reflections On The Green
156) Reilley's
157) Remy's Bar & Restaurant
158) Riccardo's Italian
159) Ricco's Italian Deli
160) Riders Lounge & Restaurant
161) Rita's Italian Ice
162) Sage Room
163) San Miguel's Mexican Cafe
164) Sea Grass Grille
165) Sea Pines Beach Club
166) Sea Shack
167) Signe's Heaven Bound Bakery
168) Skillets
169) Smokehouse Bar & Bbq
170) South Beach Night Club
171) South End Deli
172) South Seaport Cafe Bakery
173) Southeast Entertainment Rstrnt
174) Starbucks
175) Starfire Contemporary Bistro
176) Steamers Seafood Co
177) Stellini Italian Restaurant
178) Sticky Fingers Bar & Rstrnt
179) Stripes
180) Stu's Surf Side
181) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
182) Sundown
183) Susie Q's Tea's & Gifts
184) T J's Take & Bake Pizza
185) Tony Roma's
186) Trattoria La Spiaggia
187) Two Eleven Park Wine Bar
188) Viennese Cafe & Catering Shop
189) Villa Giovanna's
190) W G Schucker's
191) Wendy's
192) Wild Wing Cafe
193) Wingo Hall Music Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good So So
THIS IS NOT A BREW PUB. After speaking with the bartender I found that the "brewers" who made this beer were brought in from time to time to make the beer. This may be why the beer was TERRIBLE. I am well versed in beer, I brew my own as well. There is acetaldehyde off flavors (Cidery or Green Apple) in every beer accept their IPA which still wasn't that good. This is caused from poor yeast selection, or Aceto-bacteria. This is also caused from not allowing the beer to condition properly (time, temp, etc.). These issues are no doubt because the brewer/master brewer is not the owner. Also, for you beer hounds out there, these guys run their taps directly from the secondary vessels...AND THEY PROMOTE IT IN THEIR BEER MENU DESCRIPTIONS! This is not a good idea. I promise, I am not trying to poke, this beer was absolutely terrible! It was bad. And it made my wife sick. Unfortunately she ordered a full pint of one of their beers while I enjoyed my Dogfish Head 120 IPA. But I let her finish my beer to get the aweful taste out of her mouth.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BG BG, Savannah, GA
(12/07/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
Having read a number of the reviews on this place I was very skeptical as to what my experience would be. While I found the beer okay, the Hilton Head Brewing Company needs a better brewer. I am an IPA drinker, and theirs lack body and character. I had three, and the third was better than the first. I had a pizza, and it was quite good, and I found the bartender to be very attentive after a bit of a slow start. Suggest you go there and evaluate for yourself, and if it proves not to provide you the experience you wish to have, there is a beer bar in the same complex with 36 on tap. Several other bars and restaurants within 100 feet of the HHBC.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Berkeley Springs, WV
(11/12/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
We waited one hour and ten minutes with a cranky two year old before SOME of six orders came out. We were informed that the majority of the beer selection was not available. The fries were lukewarm at best.The sandwiches were not any better. The beer battered grouper probably had been sitting under a lamp for half an hour.Additionally, when our child's meal came out fifteen minutes after ours, it was burnt around the edges.One of the orders never arrived as it was keyed into the system incorrectly. Finally, we asked to speak to a manager. She stomped over and asked what the problem was. We informed her that food was cold and that we couldn't wait longer for the remaining orders. She proceeded to tell us that the food was not burnt and that we should pay for everything because we had ordered it. We left promptly. STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review columbus, OH
(07/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Lousy Lousy
The beer is horrible! Had a sample of all on tap and each one of them was bad. All tasted like crappy homebrew. The blueberry smells good but it is very tart. The bartender and the rest of the staff seemed very disconnected from the customers unless you were a regular. The pizza was good, that is about the only thing I have nice to say about this place. How are they still open for business, serving this kind of beer???? Avoid this place.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(07/15/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So So So Lousy
This place should do other brewpubs a favor and turn itself into a tshirt shop, or maybe a used clothing store. Lots of good, used clothing on Hilton Head. The island needs a good brewpub, but this place...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(07/11/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So Lousy
Had a sampler platter of the five beers on tap. As veteran of brewpub/microbrewery visits, this is something I always do. Two of the beers were bad--sour or well on their way to being sour. Neither of the two(lager and winter ale) were drinkable. I politely informed our server of the problem with the beer. I also informed him of my extensive craft beer background. He said he would pass my comment on to the person in charge. No one else ever came to follow up on the concern.

Our food arrived at our booth lukewarm at best. There were hardly any other diners even though it was Saturday dinner hour so the cold food wasn't because of an overburdened kitchen. Food was ok taste-wise but would have been much more enjoyable had it been at the proper temperature.

I am a strong supporter of brewpubs as well as locally brewed ales/beers. I would have stopped by frequently during our week on HHI. Sorry to say this is a place I won't be returning to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Warren Warren, Rome, PA
(06/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Good
Second visit, I liked it the first time. Tried both the IPA and the Porter, the Porter was by far the better. Food was so-so and service was too. If you're there make a visit but, don't go out of your way

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(02/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Great So So
There are a couple of warning signs here. The list of house brews (light, IPA, Porter, winter seasonal & raspberry wheat) was written on a chalkboard from Bud. I asked both the hotel bellman and the cabbie if they knew of it. They both said, You might want to eat somewhere else and stop by for a beer after dinner. When a coworker and I arrived on a Monday evening at 7:30, there were two other patrons there. Two more parties came in before we left.

The two beers I had (IPA and Porter) were fine, but unexciting. I try to be very supportive of brewpubs, but I doubt I will go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Seibert Brad Seibert, Oakton, VA
(01/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Awesome! Great
I really liked the night life there.I think I just kept coming back for the bartender.Me and my roomate were down for vacation this last week and we hung out at the bar wed and fri nite.we really liked it.I def liked the service,and the beer.well overall Id def recomend it you if you were the younger crowd.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jessie rice jessie rice, greenville , SC
(10/29/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great
I tried their sampler when I walked in for lunch.. a couple were not overly tasty including their light...but thta;s to be expected. The only one I really enjoyed alot was the porter. I would drink that on a regular basis. They didn't have pint glasses or growlers for sale!!!! Hmmmm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ypsilanti, MI
(10/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
They have reopened and have a new brewmaster. The beers were decent. They had 4 of their own on tap (IPA, Amber, Porter and Summer Blonde). Tried all axcept for the Blonde. All were drinkable with the porter being the best. They said it has been a rough start up. They nhad to dump a bunch of beer. The wings are pretty good as well as the potato skins. It is a nice place with a friendly staff. I guess it turns into a dance club late night. It is still very hard to find, but if you don't like it, there are other bars in the plaza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dave dave, madison, WI
(09/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A Lousy Lousy
Okay, it pains me to post this review, and to be honest it's not entirely fair. We have been big fans of HHBC, going there at least once on our annual vacation to the island for a number of years (>7). Saturday dinner and beer there is a family tradition. We've been there when some of their house brews were out, but never all of them. Then, last September we went in and the place was a mess. The menu had changed, and the food offerings were limited and boring. They had no house beers on tap, and no decent beers in the bottle! Staff attitude was awful. We excused ourselves and went elsewhere, very disappointed.

I'm glad to hear that the sale has been completed and that they have re-opened. We're going down next week, and will check out the current offerings and report back.

But, if you're headed to the island, I still think that it's worth poking your head in to see what's shakin'.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Shelby, NC
(08/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Great Good
This place is tough to find, call for directions. We stopped in there on 12/29 and found out they had just reopened after being closed for months. A new owner had bought the place, kept the name, updated the interior and brought in a new brewer. When we were there they said they had only been open for about 2 weeks. They were still brewing their beer so they had nothing available on tap. We did get to try the Palmetto Breweing Company Beer (the Pale and Amber, the Pale is fantastic). Service was good, food was great (try the wings). We're just going to have to make a trip back later to taste the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Raleigh, NC
(01/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy Good Lousy So So
I'll try to be nice since I don't know all the circumstances. Apparently this place was recently sold to a New Jersey outfit. Not sure if it will continue to be a brewpub or not. We stopped there early on our vaction and they told us their beer wasn't quite ready. Stopped for dinner later that week and they were vague about the beer. The bottle selection is the typical swill you find on the island. Bud Bud Lite, Coors Lite, etc. The service was not good the night we were there, although the food was okay. (TIP- Avoid the rest rooms.) We ran in to other folks who make a habit of stopping at Hilton Head Brewing while on the Island, and they were also disappointed. One patron told a server she would never come back, and the server replied, "Good!". Oh well, if you're really looking for a good beer you'll have to stop at Mellow Mushroom, or head to Moon River in Savannah.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(07/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
ON THE WEBSITE "THE STORE" LINK DOES NOT WORK AT LEAST FOR ME BUT ALL THE OTHER LINKS WORK! WHAT'S UP WITH THIS ALL I WANNA DO IS ORDER A T-SHIRT!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review FORT SMITH, AR
(08/04/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
Since we try to travel to Hilton Head SC on a regular basis we really wanted to like HH Brewing. Unfortunately we have had two bad experiences there. On our last visit we showed up for some after-dinner drinks. Almost no one at the bar was drinking the beer, most had mixed drinks. The two beers we tried were very unbalanced and had some off-flavors. We didn't try the food on either visit, but the place appears to be a late-night hangout that also happens to brew beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Darren M. Darren M., Little Rock, AR
(05/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
If traveling through it is very difficult to locate because of being hidden from road view.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Henry W. Milewski Henry W. Milewski, Panama City, FL
(12/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Good So So
We'd planned to eat here, but were so unimpressed with the beer that we left after just one. It's just not very good in terms of flavor...seems brewed more for the masses.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gargantua Gargantua, Madison, WI
(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
Benn going here every year since they opened in 1994, and it's hit or miss. This year was a hit. The Pale Ale was excellent. Good place to drink good beer, which is rare in HHI.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt O. Kurt O., Wexford, PA
(07/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've been going to Hilton Head for mostly my entire life, and every time I go down there my family MUST go to Hilton Head Brewing Co., your restaurant is amazing, keep up the AWESOME work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amanda Amanda, West Windsor, NJ
(10/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Great
SF, one of the managers is great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review NYC, NY
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy N/A So So So So
All the in-house brews suffered from the same problem: they had a little bit of flavor when they first hit the tongue, but then their great lack of malt became glaring, even before the liquid cleared my throat. I went for a Sierra Nevada as a possible better option, but that was frozen near-solid and gushed all over the place when I drank it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Ithaca, NY
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
This establishment has completely gone down hill from two years ago. Our food took nearly one hour to come out. And it was cold. Only two choices of brewed beer were available. What I find most disappointing is the place has become drug-infested . I took my son to the bathroom to find out that there were women smoking marijuana in the bathroom. And this was around 9 pm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carol Carol, Akron, OH
(07/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
I was here in 1999, and thought it was great. They had very good house beer, and a decent bottle selection. The food was great, and it was a fun place to go. Something has changed. Only a couple tastless beers on tap, no bottled beers worth drinking, bland food, and poor service (I'm about as white as it gets, so they must not like white people either). There are a few places on HHI to find some decent beers, but this isn't one of them. The Carolina brand (Light, Blonde, Brown) seems to be the only local/regional beer on the island. A new pizza place called the Mellow Mushroom just opened up, and they had a fantastic beer selection (for Hilton Head), including Rogue and Sierra Nevada, among other quality selections. If you want a good beer, head to the Mushroom and avoid HH Brewing Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ct ct, Elgin, IL
(07/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So So So Lousy
I visited this establishment in Late April 2003. They had only the Scottish ale on tap. That was it, no other brews. They should have gone out and purchased some kegs of someone else's beer to have on tap. Only bottle were avaliable, Food was average at best. I hunted to find this place, oh well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Needles Kurt Needles, Broomfield, CO
(07/06/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.069 seconds) 05:49:37 23.20.77.156, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS