PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


West Virginia Brewing Company - Independence, WV
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 17, 2014 @ 08:02 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WV > Independence > West Virginia Brewing Company
West Virginia Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
West Virginia Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78 / 100
[Closed - Spring 2009]
Route 1
Box 252
Independence, WV 26374
United States
(304) 288-4078
Listed Since: April 1996
Last Updated: August 2009
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Independence, WV
Beer Guide for West Virginia

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of West Virginia Brewing Company
76 Reviews / 9 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) LAKEVIEW GOLF RESORT & SPA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brown Building
2) Chancery Hill Historic District (Boundary Increase)
3) Cox, Judge Frank, House
4) Dering Building
5) Easton Roller Mill
6) Ford House
7) Hackney House
8) Hamilton Farm Petroglyphs
9) Harmony Grove Meeting House
10) Harner Homestead
11) Kern's Fort
12) Kincaid and Arnett Feed and Flour Building
13) Men's Hall
14) Metropolitan Theatre
15) Monongalia County Courthouse
16) Moore, Elizabeth, Hall
17) Oglebay Hall
18) Old Morgantown Post Office
19) Old Stone House
20) Purinton House
21) Rogers House
22) Second Ward Negro Elementary School
23) Seneca Glass Company Building
24) St. Mary's Orthodox Church
25) Stalnaker Hall
26) Stewart Hall
27) Vance Farmhouse
28) Wade, Alexander, House
29) Walters House
30) Willey, Waitman T., House
31) Women's Christian Temperance Union Community Building
32) Woodburn Circle
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1872 Eatery & Pub
2) Debbie's
3) Godfather's Pizza
4) Golden Wok
5) Hardee's
6) Lucys Lunch Box
7) Maple Inn Restaurant & Lounge
8) Mitchell Dam Bar
9) R & B Steak & Pizza
10) Ron's Lounge
11) Schub's Supper Club
12) Stan's Drive-In
13) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
14) Town Pump
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed sometime Spring 2009. Windows covered with paper, no info on doors saying what the deal is.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew McDaniel Lew McDaniel, Independence, WV
(08/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
WVBC was evicted from the premises a couple weeks ago. There's a sign on the door now that says "West Virginia Brewing Company will re-open soon." We'll see how soon, and what emerges. Hopefully Ned Strauser will be involved somehow, he's a wonderful brewer, especially under West Virginia's legal limitations. However, I saw trouble coming for the business side of his ownership some time ago.

First off, the place has never had a Web site, which is ridiculous. How are out-of-towners supposed to know about you? Second, the food was just so-so, OK pub grub but nowhere near what the many adventurous brewpubs are doing with their menus. Third, prices went up (though they were still reasonable at $4 a pint). Fourth, beer specials disappeared, or became very hit and miss. How can you not have a happy hour? Fifth, they pretty much stopped booking bands. When Ned took over, he talked about holding tastings and meet-the-brewer nights, which pretty much never happened, as far as I know.

In short, they did just about everything they could to drive away the 21-25 age demographic in a town with 28,000 college students.

Ideally, someone with business and restaurant savvy would help run those aspects of the place and free Ned to just worry about the beer. This could be a great brewpub again. Keep your fingers crossed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(12/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good So So
My wife and I visited West Virginia Brewing during a road trip. The beer and food were pretty good but I would not recommend it for the ambiance. This is a typical campus beer joint with bare bones decor.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe G Joe G, Greensboro, NC
(10/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I had some time to kill in Morgantown wv and was walking around downtown. I remembered there was a brew pub in town couldn't remember the name or location. Stopped in a local bike shop and asked. I got directions and recommendations for the beers to try. College students know their beer. I walked down the hill and found it easily. Walked through the door and stepped back in time. I really love the atmosphere in here. It has an old factory feel to it. Just right for brewing beer and to enjoy it. The service was awesome the bartender was very helpful in selecting a beer giving samples I finally decided on the Wheat Hefeweizen. I really enjoyed the beer. I was told the food is great also. I will def go back when I have a designated driver and more time. Thanks to Dunk the bartender and the other guy for their help. They do have really nice t shirts for sale now too @ $16 and they are in the Mountaineers Blue and Yellow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeepr Jeepr, Short Gap, WV
(08/17/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great So So Great
We were there on a Friday afternoon in mid-summer. The dining area at lunch hour was empty accept for one table. Wasn't expecting much, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The menu wasn't extensive, but the selections we had were excellent. Similar with the beer--they only had four of their own, but I'd rate them as very good to great. Service was a little off, but that was likely due to one waitress trying to staff both the bar and the dining area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Sykesville, MD
(07/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Good
It has been facelifted in the last few months. And as the business builds up again, slowly, there will be more improbemants. It is already 20 times nicer that is was and the food and service are 30 times better. The main economic value is the brewed beer which must come first. But the restaurant and afternoon Celtlic Music bring life back into the place. The summer fills up with many differenct interests, and yet they choose the Brew Pub to come to when there are so many other choices. These guys must be doing something right. they will soon have wireless hotspot availability to jump into the 21st century. I see only great things for this management team. there is even talk of tearing down their building to accommodate a new road system. This would just be a plus for the business as it could stand to expand to an area down the road that will allow them to reach their true potential.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Morgantown, WV
(02/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I've always gone to this brewery every time I go home to visit my family. The beer is great. I haven't been since the reopen - I always thought the place was very casual but could use a slight face lift. I'm anxious to see it when I come home for the holidays. And, uh, yeah, microbreweries are not for Bud Light drinkers. This stuff is REAL beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Solomon Mark Solomon, Seattle, WA
(11/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great place to sit outside on the deck and enjoy the tasty beers. They do not hold back on the grain bill and have a nice selection. The food is very good and reasonalby priced. They have some unusual items and daily chef's specials. Their potato chips and onion rings are homemade!!! People who work there are friendly and service is very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review pottstown, PA
(10/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I've been coming to the brewpub since I moved to Morgantown 3 years ago. Their regular beers are wonderful, and I've enjoyed every seasonal they've come out with, with the exception of the apricot wheat, and that's ONLY because I don't like apricot flavored anything. The new owners have done a nice job in cleaning up the place. The staff is friendly and the bartenders know how to describe the beers. I'm not sure what kind of Irish stout the previous reviewer has had, and while it may be true that the brewpub's version is no Guinness, it's still an excellent, dry stout. Their usual stout, the Blackwater, is also fantastic. And as for the person sitting next to him, it's a pity they didn't like the wheat beer, but anyone who really likes Bud Light probably isn't one for trying brewpub beers out. BTW: the buffalo chicken sandwhich is great, the nachos are huge, and I just wish they'd bring back the brewbuen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James S James S, Morgantown, WV
(07/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So So So So So
Don't know what it was like before they improved it. But, they still have a way to go. The Irish Stout was very ordinary. The guy next to me tried the Hefweizen then chose a Bud Light. Enough said?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Great Great Great
To clear up any confusion, yes the Brew Pub was closed over the summer to be totally revamped by the 'new' owners. I am not a beer connoisseur, so I can only say the beer I have had is really good. The business has recommitted itself to quality food and good service. The environment is so much brighter, cleaner and more pleasant than before. Along with new modern kitchen equipment, the food experience is very nice and is ever growing to adapt for entire families to enjoy the evening together. As before, the Brew Pub still hosts a variety of free musical entertainment during the week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Doug, Morgantown, WV
(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The comment by Greg Myles that follows this one is not accurate. WVBC is fully open (tho I DO wish they'd get a real Web site up) and was pouring six beers -- three regulars and three seasonals -- as of 2/28/07. I go every Wednesday, it's $2 pints after 10 p.m. Come on back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Latest word-of-mouth is that the WVBC has gone belly-up. An acquaintance states that he dropped by there a few weeks ago to refill his growler and it was closed up. The website appears to be MIA; no one answers the listed phone #.

RIP

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Myles Greg Myles, Annapolis, MD
(03/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
For West Virginia, this place was excellent. The whole six percent cap on abv is awful. But I can't blame that on the brewery. The dopplebock was great! The atmosphere was great! Best Brewery in West Virginia.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roger Roger, Charleston, WV
(02/11/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Friends, it's been a scary summer here, what with the rumors of bankruptcy and a short and then a long hiatus (the latter while awaiting a license transfer), but WVBC is open again, just in time for the Return of the Students, with brewmaster Ned Strauser at the helm. I stopped by Saturday night to see what was on tap and what the place looked like.

Six beers were on tap -- four the usual (Ned's Pale Ale, Cheat Mountain Gold, Blackwater Stout etc.) plus a raspbery wheat and the wonderfully named Lovelace Lager. I can only guess it's called that because it goes down real easy. Had to try that, of course, and the first impression was Wow! That's really sweet! That impression faded about halfway down the pint but the beer still remained very flavorful -- I've noted before, Ned doesn't brew beer for sissies.

The brewpub itself is still a little scruffy looking, thought it's CLEANER scruffy since they did a paint job and tidied up the restrooms just a bit.

Story in the newspaper says Ned plans to revamp the menu plus hold some tastings and do other things to promote the place -- stuff that's been long overdue. Another thing WVBC desperately needs is a real Web site. Hope they'll figure that out soon. Ned's beers are very good, and WVBC needs as many outlets to make that known as it can get.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(08/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good Good Great
The comments below are encouraging because although I loved this place the first time I stopped last summer, not long afterward I made a special trip from Pittsburgh by motorcycle only to arrive and find out they hade none of their own beers on tap that day. I can get Sam Adams a mile from where I live. I was impressed with the menu because I'm vegan and they had a couple excellent selections. I like the layout of the place the best, which is why I gave it an overall rating of great. Perfect atmosphere to drink a couple good pints. (please just use "Joe" for my name.) Thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Taksel Joe Taksel, Pittsburgh, PA
(08/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Thanks for the update, will be looking forward to the Ned's Pale Ale next time thru Morgantown. I hope this establishment survives. It will have my support.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ddemy ddemy, Wilmington, DE
(05/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
The good news is, Ned's Pale Ale is back on, along with the stout and the Appalachian ale.

The bad news is, the new management has

1. raised the price of a pint, from $2.50 to $3. (The place seemed to be teetering on the edge of bankruptcy or a sheriff's sale for awhile there, so this was probably inevitable.)

2. Eliminated all specials on WVBC beer (at least for now, the bartender said they're working on new ones -- believe it or not, the only special available last night was $3.50 for a 24-ounce Heineken minikeg). The Tuesday night $1 pint bartender's choice was one of the best beer deals on the planet -- it was even worth putting up with open mic. I hope it survives somehow, but now I doubt it.

And

3. My favorite bartender is gone.

(Ironically, it seemed a little busier in there than on a typical Tuesday night, even with the students gone.)

So this presents a dilemma. I'm not sure I like the direction the place is taking, but it may be that this is the direction the place has to take to stay open. The new owner(s) had the good sense to keep Ned on board -- Ned's beers are some of the best -- so they have an idea what the core mission of a brewpub ought to be. And I'm hooked on Ned's beers, so I suppose I have no option but to go along with whatever they decide to do. I guess the price of a great pint is at least worth the same as the price of a gallon of gas, eh? :-)

OK, I'll give 'em a chance, see what happens.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(05/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just for those from out of town who stop thru: this brewpub is indeed under new ownership and is back brewing beer again. As of this date the Appalachian Ale and Blackwater Stout are on and the Pale Ale is on the way. Hopefully in a few weeks all the regulars and some seasonals will be back. To the person below who asked: the brews will be the same high quality. The same brewmaster is still here and brewing!!

Hopefully we can have many more years of wonderful brews and good times at this establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Morgantown, WV
(05/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
FYI...Change of Ownership....Visted WVBC on 5/4/06 and unfortunately were TOTALLY OUT! of all of their Home Brewed Beer. All they had to offer was bottled beer and a domestic on tap....BUMMER!! Especially after being on the road for 5 hours and looking forward to tasting a few pints of their home brew IPA. Reason for this I was told that there was a change of ownership, and they let all the home brew run out and are going to restart brewing under the new ownweship. So, not sure what type of product they will be producing from here on out. Hopefully will be as good or better than before. So if anyone samples the home brew produced by the new owners be sure to write a review and let the rest of us know what you think. I was told that the first batch would be ready the weekend of 5/6/06 but I was long gone by then.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ddemy ddemy, Wilmington, DE
(05/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
This is another nice solid brewpub, great beers, interesting surroundings, and certainly the most bang for your buck beer wise I have enjoyed in quite some time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BENBREW BENBREW, HUDSON, OH
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
My visit started out with a $2 cover fee for???

I stopped in for some food and we sat down to get some service. There was only one waitress there but only one table seemed to order food out of like 4 other tables. We were hoping she would notice my friend and me but after 15 minutes and seeing 2 girls walk in, sit down, and an order being taking we were not happy at all. I GOT our menus and had to ask the doorman how we get food in this place. Finally we got her to serve us, which took forever. I would have felt bad with her being the only one on duty but she was going back and forth socializing with locals and text messaging or doing something with a cell phone. My friend and I are patient people with servers because our local pub that we patronize, Barley Creek, often gets a higher volume then expected, but they work there. We also tip generously. We also got our own beers, figuring that would take an hour more of our time. It was the worst service I can recall at any restaurant.

The beer: It was good and for $1 a pint well worth a few of them. We asked our server about growlers and I’m not sure if they know what they are in WV cause she was clueless about it. I collect pint glasses from every place I go to and didnt want to bother asking.

The place seems like they just moved in but i guess if i had a local place like this off my college campus and they had $1 microbrew on tap i would most be returning. Nothing really stood out as outstanding, but i did enjoy the pints i got there.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(01/02/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
I spent four years in Morgantown getting two degrees, and the one thing I miss most of all about the town is WVBC. The locals just call it the brewpub, since it's the only game in town (Bent Willey's doesn't count) but as far as I'm concerned, in WV it's THE brewpub. I like the others, but WVBC sets the standard.

The beer is very good, and if you're browsing this site that's what you really care about, right? I like hops, and Ned's Pale Ale is my favorite of the "regulars." The Appalachian Ale is nice and crisp, with good color and aroma. And the Blackwater Stout is another fine choice. I'm not a fan of the Cheat Mountain Gold - which isn't to say I don't like it, I just prefer the others - but my yellow-beer loving friends think it's just fine.

While the regulars are good, the seasonals are where the WVBC really shines. The Oatmeal and Irish Stouts beat the very fine aforementioned Blackwater Stout in about every way. Two IPA-y type ales called, I think, Boneyard and Olde Engine 86 are VERY nice. Hoppy, bitter without being overbearing, and just plain pretty to look at. And every summer, what I've come to think of as the signature beer is available: the Raspberry Wheat. It is simply the most refreshing beer I've had, and I've had hundreds. It's just Damn good.

I rated the beer selection as "good" because it's not unusual for there to only be 3 or 4 different types available, although, to be fair, it's also not unusual to have 6 or 7. It's the consistency that gets me. As for the food, pretty typical sports-bar type food (they'll cook your burger to order, tho. Even rare), with above average fries.

Service is good too, but here's a hint: certain bartenders really don't like it when people order food at the bar. As far as they're concerned, that's waitstaff work, and they're happy to forego the tips associated with a food bill in order to concentrate on slinging suds.

Overall, it's the best in West Virginia, and it's in my top 10 Brewpubs in the U.S.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Absten Robert Absten, Charleston, WV
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
J. Ackinson,

Sorry you had a disappointing experience.

I'm "coming from" having been there dozens of times. When I travel to other brewpubs, WVBC beers are what I use as a measuring stick, and usually others' beers don't have near the flavor.

I'm curious what you ordered to eat that was "lousy." The times I've eaten there, the food has generally been pretty good. I agree with you the place is slightly on the seedy side -- I think I mentioned it could use a coat of paint -- but I'll admit I have a high tolerance for seed if the beer's worth it. They did make an effort to clean up a bit not long ago but the restroom still could use some work.

Hey, given your proximity to Thomas, wondered if you've visited the Mountain State Brewing operation there yet. If the weather holds I'll be sampling their beers at the Purple Fiddle tomorrow night, hope to file a report.

Yours in better beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(12/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Lousy
I don.t know where is last review is comming from but I do know this place needs be cleaned. And the food and service can use some maintaince as well. The beers were not bad but they were not anything special either. If the "clean up their act I would return for the Pale Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Ackinson J. Ackinson, Parsons, WV
(12/02/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.379 seconds) 20:02:42 54.237.95.6, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS