PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Appalachian Brewing Company - Harrisburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 24, 2014 @ 06:20 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Harrisburg > Appalachian Brewing Company
Appalachian Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Appalachian Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.8 / 100
50 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
United States
(717) 221-1080
Listed Since: May 1997
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Harrisburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Appalachian Brewing Company
127 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Pints Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Ceoltas Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Epic Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

4) Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) McGrath's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Troegs Brewing Company
(1 mile)

7) Appalachian Brewing Company
(3 miles)

8) Flinchy's Restaurant Bar and Deck
(3 miles)

9) Brewhouse Grille
(3 miles)

10) Coakley's
(4 miles)

11) Elephant and Castle Restaurant
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Abide With me Bed & Breakfast
2) Farm Fortune
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAPITAL PLAZA
2) COMFORT INN EAST
3) COMFORT INN RIVERFRONT
4) DAYS INN HARRISBURG SOUTH
5) ECONO LODGE WORMLEYSBURG
6) HARRISBURG NORTH
7) HILTON HARRISBURG AND TOWERS
8) HOWARD JOHNSON
9) KORMAN COMMUNITIES HARRISBURG
10) QUALITY INN RIVERVIEW
11) RADISSON PENN HARRIS HOTEL
12) RED ROOF HARRISBURG NORTH
13) RODEWAY INN NEW CUMBERLAND
14) SUPER 8HARRISBURG HERSHEY AREA
15) TOWNE HOUSE SUITES
16) TRAVEL INN NEW CUMBERLAND
17) TRAVELODGE HARRISBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black, William, Homestead
2) Broad Street Market
3) Cameron, Simon, School
4) Camp Curtin Fire Station
5) Colonial Theatre
6) Dauphin County Courthouse
7) Donaldson, William, House
8) Etters Bridge
9) German Evangelical Zion Lutheran Church
10) Griffith, William R., House
11) Harris Switch Tower, Pennsylvania Railroad
12) Harris, John, Mansion
13) Harrisburg 19th Street Armory
14) Harrisburg Central Railroad Station and Trainshed
15) Keystone Building
16) Kunkel Building
17) Market Street Bridge
18) Market Street Bridge
19) Rockville Bridge
20) Salem United Church of Christ
21) Seel, William, Building
22) Sheffield Apartments
23) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
24) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
25) State Capitol Building
26) Walnut Street Bridge
27) Wormley, John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4 Ace's Lounge
2) 501 Downtown
3) 704 Strawberry Inn
4) A Matter Of Taste
5) Al's Pizzeria
6) Alva Hotel & Restaurant
7) American Dream Diner
8) Angelina's Ristorante Bar/Deck
9) Angelo's Place
10) Ann's Snack Bar
11) Appalachian Brewing Co
12) Arby's
13) Arby's
14) Arrowhead Grille
15) Auckland's Place
16) Baby Bash
17) Bangkok Wok
18) Blimpie Subs & Salads
19) Boli Factory
20) Bricker House
21) Brownstone Lounge
22) Bubba's Breakaway
23) Bull At The Market
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) C J's C-Food
27) Cameron Cut Rate Store
28) Camp Curtin Bar-B-Que Station
29) Capitol Restaurant
30) Casa Cafe
31) Casablanca Cafe & Restaurant
32) Catalano's Lounge & Restaurant
33) Cedar's Restaurant
34) Center City Bread Shed
35) Chan's Chinese Restaurant
36) Char's Bella Mundo
37) Chef Chen's Express Inc
38) Chicago Hot Dogs & Burgers
39) Chicken Basket
40) China Express
41) China Wok
42) Ciervo's
43) Club Diner
44) Club House Bar & Grill
45) Corner Cafe Second & Harris
46) Courthouse Cafe
47) Cragin's Brick Haus
48) Crown Fried Chicken
49) Crowne Plaza
50) D'Amores Italian Market
51) Da Pits Chicago Grill
52) Dairy Queen
53) Dee & Deb's Subs
54) Deli Bean
55) Deluxe Restaurant & Bar
56) Dendy's Seafood Express
57) Derry Street Cafe
58) Dodge City Usa Restaurant
59) Domino's Pizza
60) Double D Bar & Grill
61) Double Jack's Tavern
62) Downtown Deli & Eatery
63) Dragon Chinese Restaurant
64) Dragonfly Club
65) Duong Quy TU
66) East Shore Diner
67) Eat & Tell
68) Eclipse
69) El Rodeo
70) Esquire Deli
71) Essie Cafe
72) Everything Yogurt & Salad Cafe
73) Express Subs & Salad
74) Firehouse
75) Fisaga
76) Fisher's Deli
77) Fisher's Fresh Food
78) Flamingo Grill
79) Fleming's Sub Base
80) Flinchy's
81) Fraulie's German Delicatessen
82) Garden Vietnamese Restaurant
83) Garrason's Tavern
84) Gingerbread Man
85) Gingerbread Man's Riverside
86) Glenn Miller's Western Prime
87) Golden Gate
88) Golden Sheaf
89) Good Taste
90) Gourmet Chef Presents
91) Hamilton Grill
92) Happy King
93) Hardee's
94) Harristown Development
95) Heaven
96) Ho Wah Restaurant
97) Iifa Inc
98) Isaac's Deli Inc
99) Jack's Mustard Seed
100) Jackson House
101) Janice Young Snack Bar
102) Jazzland
103) Jim Walker's Snack Bar
104) Jim's Deli
105) Jimmy's Market Place
106) John's Snack Bar
107) Kardisco's Snack Bar
108) Kelly's Wings N Things
109) Keystone Restaurant
110) Kfc
111) Kfc
112) Kiwi's Bar & Grill
113) Las Delicias Restaurant
114) Le Gourmet Gourmand
115) Lemoyne Family Restaurant
116) Let's Talk Turkey
117) Light's Cafeteria
118) Linda Janz
119) Lugaro's Pizza
120) Macri's
121) Magic Wok
122) Mama's
123) Mangia Qui
124) Mars Lounge
125) Matangos Deli & Convenience
126) Matts Snackbar
127) Maverick Restaurant
128) Maxwell's Parkside Cafe
129) Mayes' Wings & Hoagies
130) Mc Donald's
131) Mc Donald's
132) Mc Iver's Deli Licious
133) Mercado's Pizza
134) Mercado's Pizza
135) Mezzluna
136) Mi Mariachi
137) Michael's Snack Bar
138) Midtown Tavern
139) Mike's Ice Cream
140) Molly Branngans Restaurant
141) Monte Carlo Express
142) Monte Carlo Pizza II
143) Multi Cultural Cuisine
144) Munchies
145) Neato Burrito
146) Neato Burrito
147) New Plaza Diner
148) New York Fried Chicken
149) Nick's 1014 Cafe
150) Noma
151) North Street Grocer & Trading
152) North Street Zephyr Express
153) O D's Place
154) O D's Plantation
155) Olympia Cocktail Lounge
156) Papa John's Pizza
157) Papa John's Pizza
158) Papine Jamaican Restaurant
159) Parev Restaurant
160) Pasquale's Restaurant
161) Passage To India
162) Paxton Street Pub
163) Pee Dee's Tavern
164) Pep Grill
165) Philadelphia Steaks & Hoagies
166) Pho Paster
167) Piccolo Cafe
168) Pizza Grille
169) Plaza Grille
170) Politesse
171) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
172) Pub
173) Pub At 202 Locust
174) Quiznos Sub
175) Rascal's Pan Pizza & Pasta
176) Raspberries Bistro
177) Ray's Italian Kitchen
178) Red Door
179) Rita's Italian Ice
180) River Side Village Park
181) Rivieria Bar & Hotel
182) Roebuck's Baby Grand
183) Rookie's Sports Bar & Grill
184) Roxy's Cafe
185) Royal Sub Shop
186) S Clyde Weaver Inc
187) Saigon Delite
188) Salt Cellar Deuce Coffee House
189) Sammy's Authentic Italian
190) Sandwich Man
191) Scotts' Grille
192) Seven Stars Buffet Inc
193) Seventeenth Street Carryout
194) Shab's Pita Stoller
195) Shady Mcgrady's
196) Siam Garden Thai Restaurant
197) Simply Turkey Ii
198) Soft Spot
199) Sorrento Pizzeria
200) Spot
201) St Clair's Snack Bar
202) St Moritz
203) Stallions Club
204) Starbucks Coffee
205) State Restaurant
206) Stocks On Second Inc
207) Stoltzfus Family Restaurant
208) Strictly Catering
209) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
210) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
211) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
212) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
213) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
214) Sunny Yean
215) Taco Bell
216) Tap Room
217) Thanhai Hai Cafe
218) Theo's Bar & Grille
219) Theo's Snack Bar
220) Tippy's Lounge
221) Tokyo Express
222) Tony & Sam's Deli
223) Tony's Cafe
224) Towne House Coffee Shop
225) Trina's Treats
226) Tropic Chicken
227) Twins Bar & Grill
228) Two Brothers Pizza
229) Uncle Moe's Cafe
230) V U Inc
231) Violet's On Walnut
232) West Shore Diner
233) West Shore Plaza Family Rstrnt
234) William Harden Restaurant
235) Your Place Restaurant
236) Zeiderelli's Pizza & Subs
237) Zembie's Sports Tavern
238) Zephyr Express
239) Zia's Trattoria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Great
Thanks to Jeremy, we had a wonderful time at ABC. It was the beginning of a vacation and set the tone nicely.

The Scottish 60/s was wonderful!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fredericksburg, VA
(10/15/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Once I finally got a waitress to pay attention to me, the service was fabulous (but it took a while to get to that point even though I was there for a late lunch and the place was pretty empty). I chose the Fish and Chips, and would absolutely stay away from that in the future. The chips were really great, and the fish was very fresh, but the breading on the fish was greasy beyond belief. It was only crispy on the top of the top piece (there were two); everything else was drippy and soggy. They have a widely varied menu, though, and there were many other items I almost chose instead, so I have no concerns about going back for food.

The beer selection is HUGE. This was my first time here, and I couldn't believe the number and types of beers, all from their brewery. I had wanted to have the Mountain Lager first, but it was gone, so I tried the RauchBock. It was nice, but a touch too hoppy for me (I am absolutely NOT a hophead!). The Zoigl Star Lager was next, and it was very refreshing. I was actually surprised that it was their January beer; I would have expected something like it to be very popular in hot weather.

I ended with the Pennypacker Porter. I liked it a lot, but it was different than I was expecting; I'm used to a Porter being smoother and maltier than this one, but still it was good enough that I took a growler home with me.

I'm planning to stop here again whenever I pass Harrisburg. It's easy to get to from I-81, and well worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Anderson John Anderson, Longmeadow, MA
(01/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I LOVE Hoppy Trails IPA. Several other tasty quality brews as well. Friendly servers who knew their beers. Nice food. This place is a keeper.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from eve the great eve the great, oak park, IL
(11/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Had dinner there feb 25,08. first visit. Was fairly busy.Nice building, food was excellent, service very good. The house lager was 1st rate as was the pale ale. highly recommended

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from r. steffes r. steffes, Aliquippa, PA
(02/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Lousy So So
Most recent stop was 9/1 and was my 2nd overall visit. Well I have to say how disappointed I was this time around. The bartender seemed to concentrate on about one quarter of the bar space and completely ignore the other 75%. Took forever to get his attention to order beer and then had to repeat the process to get a menu and then again to place a food order. We ordered wings well done/extra crispy only to receive pink, raw and bloody and not the falvor we ordered. Also ordered nacho platter which was received with the shredded cheese sprinkled over the top and not in the least bit melted. I will never order food hear again as it was such a horrible experience. The beer was a bit better. Had a good selection of many different styles. Went with the Kipona Fest which tasted more like a nut brown than anything resembling a marzen. Was not bad, just not what I expected in a fest style beer. I have had many good experiences with these guys at various beer festivals over the years which makes it so shocking about how bad things were on my visit. Lastly on our way out we stopped and asked the hostess about some t-shirts at the gift counter. She was not even busy but displayed a surly I can't be bothered attitude when she had to look for certain sizes. BAD BAD BAD!!! Hoping it was just a one time thing and not the norm as I hate leaving negative reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good
We had a somewhat schizophrenic time here, as the ratings might indicate.

First of all, I like the building, with high ceilings and wood beams and flags adorning the interior. There was a big crowd in on a Wednesday night, though -- maybe 30-35 guys just at one long table -- and the space echoes the noise, making it a little hard to make conversation at a normal level.

We ordered the beer sampler, which is fairly generous -- eight 5-ounce glasses for $10 -- but they came out of order from what was listed on the placemat. The server explained this, and gave me the order they were in, but he was wrong about a couple of them. You apparently also don't get any options, you take the eight beers they give you. The six regular beers were the usual lineup -- wheat, IPA, red etc. -- with a couple seasonals. They were fair to good, nothing that really stands out in my memory except for a decent Belgian.

I started dinner with a nothing-special salad. Then the server brought the main course, forgetting the chili (me) and soup (wife) we'd ordered. Wife decided to skip the soup, but I did get the chili. It was hearty and meaty, if maybe a little too spicy for me, and I like it spicy.

For a main course, I got Chesapeake chicken, and this has to be one of the best dishes I've ever had. It's chicken diced and chunked and spcied and formed into disks like crab cakes. With mashed red potatoes on the side, this was fantastic.

Wife had a portobello and steak salad, and described it as "OK."

The server manned up to his earlier mistake and left the chili off the bill, so the whole thing came to a very reasonable price.

I'd certainly eat here again, but I don't know that I'd be a regular drinker of ABC beers if I lived in the area. Not wiht Troegs in the same town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(08/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I had been here once before in the fall of 2000. My wife and I stopped here for dinner near the end of our rainy week in Pennsylvania, on the day the Susquehanna River crested and began to recede. There was a pretty good selection of beers to choose from. I started with a pint of the Celtic Irish Red, then enjoyed the Rockville Rye, and finished up with the Jolly Scott Scotch Ale. My wife opted for the more traditional Mountain Lager. No complaints on the food – my pasta dish was generous indeed, as our server had warned me. Several bottled selections are available for carry out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
I ordered a sampler. When it arrived the waiter told me they were in the wrong order and disappeared. He made no effort to rearrange them. He then didn't come back until I was done when dinner. When I got the bill from the credit card company, I found the amount charged to my account was incorrect and included a far larger tip than I left. I will not be going back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Erie, PA
(04/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
ABC consists of a large warehouse-type dining room, with brewery on the right side (behind glass), and a smaller L-shaped bar area in the far corner; there is also a Belgian bar downstairs (it opens at 5pm). During my visit (last week), I enjoyed a cask version of their "Jolly Scot" Scotch Ale - with a strong hit of bourbon, and a very hoppy little number called "Hoppy Trails." ABC also offers 6-packs and growlers to go. Great food, efficient service and a worthwhile stop when, and if, you are swinging through Harrisburg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good
Dined AT ABC last evening (01/02). We haven't had the opportunity to dine with you in quite a while, so we were both looking forward to it. Unfortunately, the portions seem to have shrunk. I normally have a decent sized Blue Burg and fries(especially for $9.00). This burger looked like it came off the kids menu at Wendys. My wife's Athena pizza was so-so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hershey, PA
(01/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in after a Troegs visit for a quick lunch. A nice pint of Hoppy Trails IPA: not insanely hoppy, but good and brisk, well-supported with malt. Also split a glass of barleywine with my friend; quite nice stuff indeed. I had the Hog Wild pulled pork, good eating. Service was right on the mark (though they did jab me for my new Troegs vest!). ABC keeps impressing me with their continually rising quality; an excellent stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is one of the nicest breweries we have ever visited. The upstairs is unique, a must see. We plan on returning in the neaar future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Monroeville, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Food is outstanding. Many beer choices which I think lends to the overall "Good" not great rating. There are 3 or 4 which are very good and a handful which are so so to not so so. If focused on fewer flavors 4-6 instead of so many, consistency would be better. This is my 3rd time visiting and a few of the beers have changed each time in. Overall a fun time and good experience. Great Service!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Lancaster, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Tonight was the first night of a new beer called Zweigel [not sure of spelling since I was raised on phonetics in the South]. Damn good beer. I'm not knowledgeable enough to tell you about the other brews as I only drank Zweigel. It is an unfiltered pilsner that is quite agreeable to the palate. So I would sointenly suggest this beer to anyone that is in the area to try the beer. Also, if you are in the pub and the big man - Les - is there; then, please, buy him a brew as you will only be blessed by his acquintance. Cheers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Neil, Louisville, KY
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Good
Stopped by ABC after swingin by Troegs for some growlers. Hoppy trails was excellent, and the pennypacker porter was quite good as well. Service was excellent, but it was mid-afternoon and we were about the only folks at the bar. Great atmosphere though, which goes the same for the satellite brewpub in Gettysburg!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kyle, Lancaster, PA
(12/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Leffers?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Good Good
I think us beer trekers tend to get a little too picky about the beers we try. Sure most of the beers Appalachian brews are only good not great, but they do have their stand outs. Their beers overall are very drinkable and much better than budmillercoors. Hoppy trails is a very good IPA and their porter and stout are extremely satisfing. The barleywine is very unique and quite good in my opinion, and the Abbey Roade is a deceint Belgian style. Appalachian is now brewing some big beers at their Gettysburg location which have all been quite good. The brewery even has a Belgian import bar upstairs if you can't find one of it's beers you like. If you're looking for exceptional quality like Victory, this may not be the place, but it does have very drinkable beers and quite a selection from which to choose. Don't miss the brewery and the Saturday tour if you're in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, York, PA
(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Awesome! So So
I CAN SEE BY HIS LONG AND PENSIVE REVIEW LIST THAT, "THE REAL JIMBO", DOESN'T GET OUT MUCH; PROBABLY BECAUSE OF THE DIVERSE CULTURAL ACTIVITIES/EVENTS THAT LEFFERS, PA. HAS TO OFFER. I STAND BY MY REVIEW AND INVITE ANY OTHER WELL-TRAVELED, COMPETENT BEER CRITICS TO COMMENT.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A
to "the real jimbo":

clearly, your ability to rate beers (and all else, i suspect) is as good as your ability to respond to others' ratings. jimbo from spgfld, ohio, is pretty much on target.

loose the backwoods'y lingo and do try to improve your vocabulary.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from not-a-jimbo not-a-jimbo, alexandria, VA
(12/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
JIMBO,

If you take your head out of your ass the beers would taste better. You are so far off base on this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from THE REAL JIMBO THE REAL JIMBO, Etters, PA
(11/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Awesome! So So
COOL BUILDING AND GRAND ATMOSPHERE WERE OFFSET BY THE POOR QUALITY OF BEER. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND VISITING THE BREWERY HOPING TO FIND GOOD BEER. THE PLACE HAS POTENTIAL BUT BEER QUALITY BRINGS THE EXPERIENCE DOWN.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is an example of a Top 10 establishment!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Jacksonville, FL
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
After a long day visiting the HersheyWorld Museum and the Amish Country around Lancaster, Intercourse, Blue Balls and Virginville, Pa. I needed a beer.

Pubcrawler was down for renavations when I took off from New York to visit the Harrisburg, Pa area. I found this place thru the front desk clerk at the Baymont Hotel.

When my girlfriend and I walked in I thought I died and went to brewpub heaven. I always dreamed this is what a brewpub should look like. It's in an old brick building decor with glass windows to see the brew tanks. I got here late on a Sunday night of Memorial Day weekend and had no trouble getting a table.

The service was wonderful, maybe because it wasn't that crowded. I was kinda worried when I read the previous reviews but I had no problem ordering. The waiter was always there asking us if we needed anything. I did see some people coming out of an elevator but didn't realize what it was till I read the previous reviews and found out there was a 2nd bar upstairs. I would have liked to see it.

I ordered the Sampler which I thought was a little on the high side price wise ($9) but I couldn't complain with 8 six ounce glasses (thats like a 4 pack) when I realized it worked out cheaper then the pints. The only problem I had was the waiter didn't have a list of what was in the sampler so I had to guess what I was drinking. Out of the 8 beers 3 were good 2 were mid range and 3 were bad. I new the wheat beer was bad cause it was the one with the lemon in it, it just tasted like a flat IPA without any hazzey wheat color. 2 of what I thought were IPA's tasted watered down kind of like a light beer with no alcohol flavor. The one I really liked he thought was the Hoppy Trail followed by the darkest one they had at the time that looked like a brown and not a stout because it tasted more hoppie then a coffee or chocolate stout. I also like a darker beer that we couldn't figure out what it was. Next time I am in the area I would buy 1 pint at a time. My girlfriend ordered the homemade rootbeer over the homemade gingerbeer. It was the best homemade rootbeer we ever tasted.

The pretzel was a bit greasy or over buttered but it tasted good with the beer flavored mustard.

The atmosphere of the place is awesome even if it is located in a industrial area without any decent parking around. I wish all brewpubs were modeled after this place. It is the best one I have been to out of the 80 brewpubs and bars I have found thru pubcrawler.com.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(06/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Whatelse can I say AWESOME!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAY JAY, Linden, NJ
(04/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Was by here recently with a friend who wanted a growler fill. An impressive 11 to choose from. The Hoppy Trails was disappointing, if in fact I was expecting an American IPA. The hop levels were what I would expect in a Pale Ale--the beer was good, just not what I've come to expect in an IPA at a brewpub. As we sampled several for the fill-up, it sure seemed like most were subdued. Nothing really hit our palates as a "wow". Once again, they were good, but not ones that "I want another, right now". The Susquehanna Stout was my favorite--it seems to be as I always have remembered, roasty, balanced, chewy. Barleywine a close second, dangerously smooth, with a hidden punch. I'm hopeful that with the addition of Gettysburg for more brewing capacity that there will be some daring; some big, flavor-filled new products.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/29/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.549 seconds) 06:20:30 54.82.80.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS