PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Appalachian Brewing Company - Harrisburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 23, 2014 @ 05:52 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Harrisburg > Appalachian Brewing Company
Appalachian Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Appalachian Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.8 / 100
50 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
United States
(717) 221-1080
Listed Since: May 1997
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Harrisburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Appalachian Brewing Company
127 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Pints Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Ceoltas Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Epic Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

4) Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) McGrath's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Troegs Brewing Company
(1 mile)

7) Appalachian Brewing Company
(3 miles)

8) Flinchy's Restaurant Bar and Deck
(3 miles)

9) Brewhouse Grille
(3 miles)

10) Coakley's
(4 miles)

11) Elephant and Castle Restaurant
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Abide With me Bed & Breakfast
2) Farm Fortune
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAPITAL PLAZA
2) COMFORT INN EAST
3) COMFORT INN RIVERFRONT
4) DAYS INN HARRISBURG SOUTH
5) ECONO LODGE WORMLEYSBURG
6) HARRISBURG NORTH
7) HILTON HARRISBURG AND TOWERS
8) HOWARD JOHNSON
9) KORMAN COMMUNITIES HARRISBURG
10) QUALITY INN RIVERVIEW
11) RADISSON PENN HARRIS HOTEL
12) RED ROOF HARRISBURG NORTH
13) RODEWAY INN NEW CUMBERLAND
14) SUPER 8HARRISBURG HERSHEY AREA
15) TOWNE HOUSE SUITES
16) TRAVEL INN NEW CUMBERLAND
17) TRAVELODGE HARRISBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black, William, Homestead
2) Broad Street Market
3) Cameron, Simon, School
4) Camp Curtin Fire Station
5) Colonial Theatre
6) Dauphin County Courthouse
7) Donaldson, William, House
8) Etters Bridge
9) German Evangelical Zion Lutheran Church
10) Griffith, William R., House
11) Harris Switch Tower, Pennsylvania Railroad
12) Harris, John, Mansion
13) Harrisburg 19th Street Armory
14) Harrisburg Central Railroad Station and Trainshed
15) Keystone Building
16) Kunkel Building
17) Market Street Bridge
18) Market Street Bridge
19) Rockville Bridge
20) Salem United Church of Christ
21) Seel, William, Building
22) Sheffield Apartments
23) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
24) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
25) State Capitol Building
26) Walnut Street Bridge
27) Wormley, John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4 Ace's Lounge
2) 501 Downtown
3) 704 Strawberry Inn
4) A Matter Of Taste
5) Al's Pizzeria
6) Alva Hotel & Restaurant
7) American Dream Diner
8) Angelina's Ristorante Bar/Deck
9) Angelo's Place
10) Ann's Snack Bar
11) Appalachian Brewing Co
12) Arby's
13) Arby's
14) Arrowhead Grille
15) Auckland's Place
16) Baby Bash
17) Bangkok Wok
18) Blimpie Subs & Salads
19) Boli Factory
20) Bricker House
21) Brownstone Lounge
22) Bubba's Breakaway
23) Bull At The Market
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) C J's C-Food
27) Cameron Cut Rate Store
28) Camp Curtin Bar-B-Que Station
29) Capitol Restaurant
30) Casa Cafe
31) Casablanca Cafe & Restaurant
32) Catalano's Lounge & Restaurant
33) Cedar's Restaurant
34) Center City Bread Shed
35) Chan's Chinese Restaurant
36) Char's Bella Mundo
37) Chef Chen's Express Inc
38) Chicago Hot Dogs & Burgers
39) Chicken Basket
40) China Express
41) China Wok
42) Ciervo's
43) Club Diner
44) Club House Bar & Grill
45) Corner Cafe Second & Harris
46) Courthouse Cafe
47) Cragin's Brick Haus
48) Crown Fried Chicken
49) Crowne Plaza
50) D'Amores Italian Market
51) Da Pits Chicago Grill
52) Dairy Queen
53) Dee & Deb's Subs
54) Deli Bean
55) Deluxe Restaurant & Bar
56) Dendy's Seafood Express
57) Derry Street Cafe
58) Dodge City Usa Restaurant
59) Domino's Pizza
60) Double D Bar & Grill
61) Double Jack's Tavern
62) Downtown Deli & Eatery
63) Dragon Chinese Restaurant
64) Dragonfly Club
65) Duong Quy TU
66) East Shore Diner
67) Eat & Tell
68) Eclipse
69) El Rodeo
70) Esquire Deli
71) Essie Cafe
72) Everything Yogurt & Salad Cafe
73) Express Subs & Salad
74) Firehouse
75) Fisaga
76) Fisher's Deli
77) Fisher's Fresh Food
78) Flamingo Grill
79) Fleming's Sub Base
80) Flinchy's
81) Fraulie's German Delicatessen
82) Garden Vietnamese Restaurant
83) Garrason's Tavern
84) Gingerbread Man
85) Gingerbread Man's Riverside
86) Glenn Miller's Western Prime
87) Golden Gate
88) Golden Sheaf
89) Good Taste
90) Gourmet Chef Presents
91) Hamilton Grill
92) Happy King
93) Hardee's
94) Harristown Development
95) Heaven
96) Ho Wah Restaurant
97) Iifa Inc
98) Isaac's Deli Inc
99) Jack's Mustard Seed
100) Jackson House
101) Janice Young Snack Bar
102) Jazzland
103) Jim Walker's Snack Bar
104) Jim's Deli
105) Jimmy's Market Place
106) John's Snack Bar
107) Kardisco's Snack Bar
108) Kelly's Wings N Things
109) Keystone Restaurant
110) Kfc
111) Kfc
112) Kiwi's Bar & Grill
113) Las Delicias Restaurant
114) Le Gourmet Gourmand
115) Lemoyne Family Restaurant
116) Let's Talk Turkey
117) Light's Cafeteria
118) Linda Janz
119) Lugaro's Pizza
120) Macri's
121) Magic Wok
122) Mama's
123) Mangia Qui
124) Mars Lounge
125) Matangos Deli & Convenience
126) Matts Snackbar
127) Maverick Restaurant
128) Maxwell's Parkside Cafe
129) Mayes' Wings & Hoagies
130) Mc Donald's
131) Mc Donald's
132) Mc Iver's Deli Licious
133) Mercado's Pizza
134) Mercado's Pizza
135) Mezzluna
136) Mi Mariachi
137) Michael's Snack Bar
138) Midtown Tavern
139) Mike's Ice Cream
140) Molly Branngans Restaurant
141) Monte Carlo Express
142) Monte Carlo Pizza II
143) Multi Cultural Cuisine
144) Munchies
145) Neato Burrito
146) Neato Burrito
147) New Plaza Diner
148) New York Fried Chicken
149) Nick's 1014 Cafe
150) Noma
151) North Street Grocer & Trading
152) North Street Zephyr Express
153) O D's Place
154) O D's Plantation
155) Olympia Cocktail Lounge
156) Papa John's Pizza
157) Papa John's Pizza
158) Papine Jamaican Restaurant
159) Parev Restaurant
160) Pasquale's Restaurant
161) Passage To India
162) Paxton Street Pub
163) Pee Dee's Tavern
164) Pep Grill
165) Philadelphia Steaks & Hoagies
166) Pho Paster
167) Piccolo Cafe
168) Pizza Grille
169) Plaza Grille
170) Politesse
171) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
172) Pub
173) Pub At 202 Locust
174) Quiznos Sub
175) Rascal's Pan Pizza & Pasta
176) Raspberries Bistro
177) Ray's Italian Kitchen
178) Red Door
179) Rita's Italian Ice
180) River Side Village Park
181) Rivieria Bar & Hotel
182) Roebuck's Baby Grand
183) Rookie's Sports Bar & Grill
184) Roxy's Cafe
185) Royal Sub Shop
186) S Clyde Weaver Inc
187) Saigon Delite
188) Salt Cellar Deuce Coffee House
189) Sammy's Authentic Italian
190) Sandwich Man
191) Scotts' Grille
192) Seven Stars Buffet Inc
193) Seventeenth Street Carryout
194) Shab's Pita Stoller
195) Shady Mcgrady's
196) Siam Garden Thai Restaurant
197) Simply Turkey Ii
198) Soft Spot
199) Sorrento Pizzeria
200) Spot
201) St Clair's Snack Bar
202) St Moritz
203) Stallions Club
204) Starbucks Coffee
205) State Restaurant
206) Stocks On Second Inc
207) Stoltzfus Family Restaurant
208) Strictly Catering
209) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
210) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
211) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
212) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
213) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
214) Sunny Yean
215) Taco Bell
216) Tap Room
217) Thanhai Hai Cafe
218) Theo's Bar & Grille
219) Theo's Snack Bar
220) Tippy's Lounge
221) Tokyo Express
222) Tony & Sam's Deli
223) Tony's Cafe
224) Towne House Coffee Shop
225) Trina's Treats
226) Tropic Chicken
227) Twins Bar & Grill
228) Two Brothers Pizza
229) Uncle Moe's Cafe
230) V U Inc
231) Violet's On Walnut
232) West Shore Diner
233) West Shore Plaza Family Rstrnt
234) William Harden Restaurant
235) Your Place Restaurant
236) Zeiderelli's Pizza & Subs
237) Zembie's Sports Tavern
238) Zephyr Express
239) Zia's Trattoria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Must agree with Beav that this is a great fest every September. Good selection of brewers, great food, and good bands. Done on 2 floors so not too crowded with different entertainment on both floors. Pencil this one in for next year!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, York, PA
(10/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Just a note to tell everyone how much I enjoyed their most recent beer festival. The ABC fest has quickly become one of my favorites, in fact, I probably enjoy it more than most of the recent Stoudt's fests. The three hour time frame is prudent, and really doesn't detract from the fun. Lots of excellent presenters like Victory, Dogfish and the like, and of course comic relief in the presence of Gettysbrew. If you've never been, give them a try next year!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Listen up brothers and sisters... I died, had an out of body experience and found heaven is in Harrisburg, PA! This place should be the model for all other brew pubs. As a matter of fact I just looked up brew pub in Webster's and what was the picture? Appalchian! That makes it official, this place is the greatest! The building is unbelievable, I tried to move in on the 3rd floor, but they caught me and had me arrested for vagrancy. That aside, I can't say enough! GO, GO, GO!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
kipona fest was very good. friendly bar staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oroville, CA
(08/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Traveling on vacation with my family, I found the link to this place on PubCrawler (of course). This was the 2nd brew pub visited on our week long+ trip - the other was Granite in Toronto, Ontario.

The place is great - old printing plant - high ceilings, exposed brick walls, coppers visible through very tall windows along one wall - just like you'd like to see all brew pubs look like.

Beers we (my wife and I) tried were great. The Purist Pale Ale was excellent. Mountain Lager (my wife) was just as she likes with a nice sweetness. The Irish Stout was very good - coffee like with a nice sweetness - but not too much. I took a mixed six pack home with me.

The food was also very, very good - good selection. The Potato Cheese Ale soup is outstanding!

This would almost be worth a road trip from Chicago with the beer buds!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ET ET, Oak Lawn, IL
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul wyak paul wyak, binghamton, NY
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
This is a fun place with OK beer. Service was great and friendly people all around. But the beer was just ok. I had the Susquehana (sp?) stout, the Purist Pale Ale, and the Kiponic (? my notes are hard to read) Fest. All were ok just nothing spectacular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Everything from the beer to the people in the estalishment was nice. Met Hugh and he introducted me to a group of people that all had the same birthday. The cask ale was a awesome has was all of their dark beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james horton james horton, cambridge springs, PA
(05/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
I go to appalachian about 3 times a year and even my children love it their i think it is the friendly staff and the smiley fries.But for any age the food is great and the seasonal beers are outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from keith blatt keith blatt, myerstown, PA
(04/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
The Jolly Scot Scottish Ale is among the very best with a great malt base, but I tend drink the darker maltier beers. I found the Hoppy Trails I.P.A. to be good too, and I don't even like the Hoppier stuff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from F. Hampton F. Hampton, Harrisburg, PA
(03/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Historic building, 2 level, restaurant & brewing eqyipment on first floor, sports bar & hall(for meetings, etc.) on second.

Beertenders & waitstaff are all very knowledgeable of the many styles available. 4 standards plus 2-4 seasonal beers on tap. Beer engine for cask conditioned ales. Menu is unique in offerings, but still carry regular pub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Manatt Jeff Manatt, Harrisburg, Pa
(01/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy Good
Visited last Spring. The food I had was great although the server was slower than slow, and the place wasn't busy. Had several beer which were good. I asked the server if they had any Susquehanna Stout to go and he found some in the back. The stuff was 5 months old according to the date on the label and it was tasting older than that. Nice building renovation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kentwood, MI
(01/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Wow! This place is HUGE. Their Scottish ale ranks right up there with some of the best I have ever had. Food was very good. The shear size of their brewing tanks and facility is most impressive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Macedon, NY
(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
I was surprised to see the bad food reviews that have been posted to this site recently. My friends and I go here quite often; There's nothing at all wrong with the food. Veg. chili, Bleu burg, Sheppards pie, Bangers and Mash, PA Dutch pretzels...Dude, I've had 'em all and they're all good! Promise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Lower Paxton Twp, PA
(10/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(10/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Wasn't crazy about the food, okay, but nothing special. Beer-wise, like the kipona fest the best, scottish was also good, stout was weak, more like a porter. very good atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Nichols Scott Nichols, Hilliard, OH
(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Great So So
If you don't eat the "Food", this place could be a nice place to hang-out. Went there for the tour and to get a bite to eat with the family. The tour was almost as bad as the food. I guess the servers try to work extra hard to make up for the lousy food you will be servered. Three meals = Three full Styrofoam boxes in the trash when we got home. The beers were good, but not really to style. As with all brewpubs, worth a visit, but I don't recommend eating at this one!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clarksburg, MD
(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Good
On a sunday night at 6pm, the place was dead, the food was awful, even for pub grub. The Belgian WIt, was not bad as beer goes, it just had nth to do w/ a belgian wit. The pale ale was fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review dc, DC
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So
First, the positive: the building is magnificent and as someone born in Harrisburg, it is nice to see some revitalization. Now for the rest: Unless the beer and or the brewmaster's techniques have changed since the last time I was there a couple of years ago, the mass of reviewers submitting must be seriously deluded, or at least recovering from a sophomoric attachment to beered down water. I found the lager to be a bit syrupy, the ales to be imbalanced, flat, and pungent....and the Hefe....downright nasty. I toured the facilities only to find that the ales were fermented at near lager temps. I let the gentleman accompanying me (a co-owner?)know that this was, at best, potentially problematic. He assured me that his brewmaster was using superior methods.....Since when has fermenting ales in the low to mid 50s (F)been considered a superior method, when only a few ale yeast strains can be used successfully in this range. This could explain why the ales were so, well, bad. I was recently at a beer festival in central PA where I decided an ABC from the bottle....again, i was left unimpressed. While the lager seemed a little more crisp, still the rest did little for me. Did I say the building is magnificent?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Andy, Bethesda, MD
(07/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
We tried 3 of their brews here - the Pilsner, Scotch Ale and the Stout. The Pils was ok, but a bit dark and sweet and lacking any hop aggressiveness. The Scotch ale was good, but very very mild. The Stout though was horrible - burnt plastic flavors - undrinkable. Food was average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Philadelphia, PA
(06/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
First brew was the Jolly Scot a wonderful dark amber hue with a nice head. The taste is full and heavy, being almost too sweet for my taste, I say again almost. Decent maltiness not your typical session brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brendan Tiernay, Niles, OH
(03/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I live nearby and visit ABC often. The beers are great and there are always at least a half-dozen on tap. I love the Jolly Scott, but their best beer is the seasonal Abbey Road - a belgium style ale. Don't miss it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Elser Chris Elser, Elizabethtown, PA
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Elser Chris Elser, Elizabethtown, PA
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
This place kicks total ASS!!

By far one of if not the very finest BrewPub I have been to in the US

Fan Freaking Tastic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skotrat Skotrat, East Kingston, NH
(12/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great use for an old building. The Scotch Ale and Stout are not to be missed. If I lived here, this is where I would be!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Baldilocks Baldilocks, West Chester, PA
(11/20/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.322 seconds) 05:52:27 54.205.59.78, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS