PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Appalachian Brewing Company - Harrisburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


  >
December 21, 2014 @ 10:43 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Harrisburg > Appalachian Brewing Company
Appalachian Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Appalachian Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.8 / 100
50 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
United States
(717) 221-1080
Listed Since: May 1997
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Harrisburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Appalachian Brewing Company
127 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Pints Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Ceoltas Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Epic Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

4) Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) McGrath's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Troegs Brewing Company
(1 mile)

7) Appalachian Brewing Company
(3 miles)

8) Flinchy's Restaurant Bar and Deck
(3 miles)

9) Brewhouse Grille
(3 miles)

10) Coakley's
(4 miles)

11) Elephant and Castle Restaurant
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Abide With me Bed & Breakfast
2) Farm Fortune
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAPITAL PLAZA
2) COMFORT INN EAST
3) COMFORT INN RIVERFRONT
4) DAYS INN HARRISBURG SOUTH
5) ECONO LODGE WORMLEYSBURG
6) HARRISBURG NORTH
7) HILTON HARRISBURG AND TOWERS
8) HOWARD JOHNSON
9) KORMAN COMMUNITIES HARRISBURG
10) QUALITY INN RIVERVIEW
11) RADISSON PENN HARRIS HOTEL
12) RED ROOF HARRISBURG NORTH
13) RODEWAY INN NEW CUMBERLAND
14) SUPER 8HARRISBURG HERSHEY AREA
15) TOWNE HOUSE SUITES
16) TRAVEL INN NEW CUMBERLAND
17) TRAVELODGE HARRISBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black, William, Homestead
2) Broad Street Market
3) Cameron, Simon, School
4) Camp Curtin Fire Station
5) Colonial Theatre
6) Dauphin County Courthouse
7) Donaldson, William, House
8) Etters Bridge
9) German Evangelical Zion Lutheran Church
10) Griffith, William R., House
11) Harris Switch Tower, Pennsylvania Railroad
12) Harris, John, Mansion
13) Harrisburg 19th Street Armory
14) Harrisburg Central Railroad Station and Trainshed
15) Keystone Building
16) Kunkel Building
17) Market Street Bridge
18) Market Street Bridge
19) Rockville Bridge
20) Salem United Church of Christ
21) Seel, William, Building
22) Sheffield Apartments
23) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
24) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
25) State Capitol Building
26) Walnut Street Bridge
27) Wormley, John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4 Ace's Lounge
2) 501 Downtown
3) 704 Strawberry Inn
4) A Matter Of Taste
5) Al's Pizzeria
6) Alva Hotel & Restaurant
7) American Dream Diner
8) Angelina's Ristorante Bar/Deck
9) Angelo's Place
10) Ann's Snack Bar
11) Appalachian Brewing Co
12) Arby's
13) Arby's
14) Arrowhead Grille
15) Auckland's Place
16) Baby Bash
17) Bangkok Wok
18) Blimpie Subs & Salads
19) Boli Factory
20) Bricker House
21) Brownstone Lounge
22) Bubba's Breakaway
23) Bull At The Market
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) C J's C-Food
27) Cameron Cut Rate Store
28) Camp Curtin Bar-B-Que Station
29) Capitol Restaurant
30) Casa Cafe
31) Casablanca Cafe & Restaurant
32) Catalano's Lounge & Restaurant
33) Cedar's Restaurant
34) Center City Bread Shed
35) Chan's Chinese Restaurant
36) Char's Bella Mundo
37) Chef Chen's Express Inc
38) Chicago Hot Dogs & Burgers
39) Chicken Basket
40) China Express
41) China Wok
42) Ciervo's
43) Club Diner
44) Club House Bar & Grill
45) Corner Cafe Second & Harris
46) Courthouse Cafe
47) Cragin's Brick Haus
48) Crown Fried Chicken
49) Crowne Plaza
50) D'Amores Italian Market
51) Da Pits Chicago Grill
52) Dairy Queen
53) Dee & Deb's Subs
54) Deli Bean
55) Deluxe Restaurant & Bar
56) Dendy's Seafood Express
57) Derry Street Cafe
58) Dodge City Usa Restaurant
59) Domino's Pizza
60) Double D Bar & Grill
61) Double Jack's Tavern
62) Downtown Deli & Eatery
63) Dragon Chinese Restaurant
64) Dragonfly Club
65) Duong Quy TU
66) East Shore Diner
67) Eat & Tell
68) Eclipse
69) El Rodeo
70) Esquire Deli
71) Essie Cafe
72) Everything Yogurt & Salad Cafe
73) Express Subs & Salad
74) Firehouse
75) Fisaga
76) Fisher's Deli
77) Fisher's Fresh Food
78) Flamingo Grill
79) Fleming's Sub Base
80) Flinchy's
81) Fraulie's German Delicatessen
82) Garden Vietnamese Restaurant
83) Garrason's Tavern
84) Gingerbread Man
85) Gingerbread Man's Riverside
86) Glenn Miller's Western Prime
87) Golden Gate
88) Golden Sheaf
89) Good Taste
90) Gourmet Chef Presents
91) Hamilton Grill
92) Happy King
93) Hardee's
94) Harristown Development
95) Heaven
96) Ho Wah Restaurant
97) Iifa Inc
98) Isaac's Deli Inc
99) Jack's Mustard Seed
100) Jackson House
101) Janice Young Snack Bar
102) Jazzland
103) Jim Walker's Snack Bar
104) Jim's Deli
105) Jimmy's Market Place
106) John's Snack Bar
107) Kardisco's Snack Bar
108) Kelly's Wings N Things
109) Keystone Restaurant
110) Kfc
111) Kfc
112) Kiwi's Bar & Grill
113) Las Delicias Restaurant
114) Le Gourmet Gourmand
115) Lemoyne Family Restaurant
116) Let's Talk Turkey
117) Light's Cafeteria
118) Linda Janz
119) Lugaro's Pizza
120) Macri's
121) Magic Wok
122) Mama's
123) Mangia Qui
124) Mars Lounge
125) Matangos Deli & Convenience
126) Matts Snackbar
127) Maverick Restaurant
128) Maxwell's Parkside Cafe
129) Mayes' Wings & Hoagies
130) Mc Donald's
131) Mc Donald's
132) Mc Iver's Deli Licious
133) Mercado's Pizza
134) Mercado's Pizza
135) Mezzluna
136) Mi Mariachi
137) Michael's Snack Bar
138) Midtown Tavern
139) Mike's Ice Cream
140) Molly Branngans Restaurant
141) Monte Carlo Express
142) Monte Carlo Pizza II
143) Multi Cultural Cuisine
144) Munchies
145) Neato Burrito
146) Neato Burrito
147) New Plaza Diner
148) New York Fried Chicken
149) Nick's 1014 Cafe
150) Noma
151) North Street Grocer & Trading
152) North Street Zephyr Express
153) O D's Place
154) O D's Plantation
155) Olympia Cocktail Lounge
156) Papa John's Pizza
157) Papa John's Pizza
158) Papine Jamaican Restaurant
159) Parev Restaurant
160) Pasquale's Restaurant
161) Passage To India
162) Paxton Street Pub
163) Pee Dee's Tavern
164) Pep Grill
165) Philadelphia Steaks & Hoagies
166) Pho Paster
167) Piccolo Cafe
168) Pizza Grille
169) Plaza Grille
170) Politesse
171) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
172) Pub
173) Pub At 202 Locust
174) Quiznos Sub
175) Rascal's Pan Pizza & Pasta
176) Raspberries Bistro
177) Ray's Italian Kitchen
178) Red Door
179) Rita's Italian Ice
180) River Side Village Park
181) Rivieria Bar & Hotel
182) Roebuck's Baby Grand
183) Rookie's Sports Bar & Grill
184) Roxy's Cafe
185) Royal Sub Shop
186) S Clyde Weaver Inc
187) Saigon Delite
188) Salt Cellar Deuce Coffee House
189) Sammy's Authentic Italian
190) Sandwich Man
191) Scotts' Grille
192) Seven Stars Buffet Inc
193) Seventeenth Street Carryout
194) Shab's Pita Stoller
195) Shady Mcgrady's
196) Siam Garden Thai Restaurant
197) Simply Turkey Ii
198) Soft Spot
199) Sorrento Pizzeria
200) Spot
201) St Clair's Snack Bar
202) St Moritz
203) Stallions Club
204) Starbucks Coffee
205) State Restaurant
206) Stocks On Second Inc
207) Stoltzfus Family Restaurant
208) Strictly Catering
209) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
210) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
211) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
212) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
213) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
214) Sunny Yean
215) Taco Bell
216) Tap Room
217) Thanhai Hai Cafe
218) Theo's Bar & Grille
219) Theo's Snack Bar
220) Tippy's Lounge
221) Tokyo Express
222) Tony & Sam's Deli
223) Tony's Cafe
224) Towne House Coffee Shop
225) Trina's Treats
226) Tropic Chicken
227) Twins Bar & Grill
228) Two Brothers Pizza
229) Uncle Moe's Cafe
230) V U Inc
231) Violet's On Walnut
232) West Shore Diner
233) West Shore Plaza Family Rstrnt
234) William Harden Restaurant
235) Your Place Restaurant
236) Zeiderelli's Pizza & Subs
237) Zembie's Sports Tavern
238) Zephyr Express
239) Zia's Trattoria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
This is my favorite brewpub in PA. This place is very crowded on the weekends, with its great live music. (=loud!) I especially like the Appalachian Wheat and Mountain Lager. Both have distinctive tastes. ABC always has six beers on tap and at least three seasonals. The MC Belgian White is also worth a taste. Food is good; I personally like the "Green and White Pizza: spinach and chicken pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Connie, Mount Holly, NJ
(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Been here many times and plan on continuing the tradition. Jolly Scott and the Stout should not be missed.Cask and nitro versions of the stout are true to style and will not disapoint. Always pouring numerous high quality Ales and Lagers. Can't wait for the Capitol City Brewfest on Sept 14th.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, erie, PA
(08/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I was at the brewery following a concert the night before at Hershey. The beer was excellent. And the food was also excellent. There are few breweries, at least in this region, which can offer this diverse variety of beer and good food for a modest price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james james, Bristow, VA
(08/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I have had the ABC bottled beer several times and have been very pleased with the taste. I especially like the Jolly Scott. The beers on tap at the brew pub itself seemed a bit flat but were still good. The food was also good, typical brew pub fare. If I am in Harrisburg, I will stop by again. However, I would not make a special trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randall S. DiPalo Randall S. DiPalo, Williamsport, PA
(07/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Enjoyed a wonderful lunch and sampling of beers here last Saturday. ABC is located in a beautiful, old, spacious warehouse, and they have done a great job with the space. Eight beers were pouring, including: Water Gap Wheat, Hinterland Hefeweizen, Mad Cameron Witbier, Mountain Lager(Dortmunder) Jolly Scot Scottish Ale, Purist Pale Ale, Anniversary Mai Bock, and Susquehanna Stout. All were outstanding examples of their respective styles, and I especially enjoyed the sweet and malty Jolly Scot, as well as the rich, dry, and roasty Susquehanna Stout. Food was excellent, try the cheddar ale soup, it is to die for! The grilled bratwurst sadwich with kraut matches exceptionally well with the lagers on Appalachian beer list as well. This is an awesome brewpub/microbrewery that sells both bottles and growler to go. If ever in the Harrisburg area, ABC is a must visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John T. Sherman John T. Sherman, Washington, DC
(07/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This was a return trip to ABC for my wife and I, and it'll be a regular stop on trips trough PA's capital. The beers are great, and they always have a good variety on tap to try. Since we'd had the sampler last time, I went right to it and ordered a Purist Pale Ale -- an APA that has a nice hop balance, a slight fruitiness hits the senses as you take that first sip. My wife tried the Mad Cameron's Belgian White and was pleased with the offering orange and corriander hints throughout. Since we were driving far that night, we restrained from drinking more and decided that on the way out we'd get one of the Variety 12-packs...a good choice with 4 of their best. The pretzel appetizer was a nice start, and I had the Harvest Pizza -- delicious with fresh veggies on it. My wife had the Sierra Chicken, which was spicy and really really tasty...i was jealous! (even though my meal was great too!) Our server was pleasant and efficient, if not bursting with personality. Can't wait to get back this way again...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great
ABC is huge inside, with plenty of wood and a large bar. Behind the bar you'll find the brewing equipment, which is among the largest I've seen in a brewpub. ABC offered 8 beers, which ranged from a very light Lager to a very nice Stout. The Susquehanna Stout and Purist Pale Ale were excellent, but I can't say the same for the food. The nachos were decent, but our entrees were smallish and bland. The service was excellent. ABC is definitely worth a try, but there is very limited parking in/around the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(03/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The beer here was wonderful--great selection, and great quality. Big bar, with a sports bar atmosphere upstairs (TVs, pool, darts). Food was good, too. Definitely recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amber Amber, Philadelphia, PA
(03/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is very, very good...the standard "pub fare" food is not at all pub fare! Buffalo meatloaf and Cerviche is not "pub fare". The food was delicious as well as beautiflly presented...the choices of beer as well as the taste of the brew was very good. Brewpubs sometimes are inconsistent with the food and beer..good beer, poor food or vice-versa. ABC has proved that good beer and good food actually can work. Judging by the crowd on a horrible rainy night in December they are doing something right..Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, Bergen County, NJ
(01/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
Great interior. Worth checking out, but it is NOT a "great" brewing company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brewist Brewist, Harrisburg, PA
(11/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
The best thing about this place is definitely the atmosphere. The beer is average to good. The food is pub fare. Unfortunately the quality is not as good as when the place first opened. We have never had any complaints about the service and have often taken guests here as Harrisburg has limited options in the microbrewery arena. Would like to see some more competition.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TNT TNT, Harrisburg, PA
(11/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Oops; neglected to provide my ratings with that epistle I just submitted. I got carried away with myself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Shaw Brian Shaw, Falmouth, ME
(10/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Picked this as a place to stop on a driving trip from Maine to Alabama after reading the reviews here on Pubcrawler. The first impression that both my wife and I had was that it was very attractive. It looks like you’d expect and old brewery to look. Old brick walls, high big-beamed ceilings, long, wrap-around bar, view through glass of the huge fermentation tanks, lots of space. It’s even located in an old, industrial area of town, near where one of Harrisburg’s original (but long-closed) breweries was located (according to the narrative on the back of the menus).

I believe that Pubcrawler ought to add two additional categories to its review criteria: “smokiness” (or “air quality” or “odor control” or “respiratory health rating”) and “rest room quality”. In anticipation of having this recommendation implemented, following are my assessment of Appalachian Brewing Company in these two areas:

Air Quality: Good Even though smoking is allowed down by the bar, the high ceilings and good air handling rendered the carcinogens and foul odor emanating from the several smokers around us less than completely offensive. The place wasn’t yet packed to capacity when we were there, so it might be different under full-house conditions. (Ever noticed, though, that most brew pubs that bother to separate smokers from non-smokers at all allocate the most desirable area – the bar itself – to those voluntarily bent upon terminating their lives early and painfully? You’d think that the proprietors would, instead, reserve the best space for those who have the potential to generate an ongoing revenue stream over a longer span of time. Remind me to tell you about our experience here in Maine, where smoking was recently outlawed in any pub that also serves food in a space not closed off from the bar area. Despite the screams of every barkeep from Kittery to Fort Kent that they’d have to close their doors and file for bankruptcy as a result, the law has had no detrimental impact on business volume whatsoever. Some of us casual observers are convinced that business is actually up).

Rest Rooms: Great Large, bright, immaculately clean and well ventilated. In the men’s room they even have those nice dividers between urinals so you don’t have to worry about backsplash from your neighbor or envious prying eyes. My wife had similar observations about the lady’s room (except for the urinal thing). In short, the best rest rooms I’ve found in a bar since 1982, as I recall. (The antithesis: the Southend Brewery in Charlotte where everything outside the rest rooms is delightful, but as soon as you go to free up capacity for more beer your are accosted by a dark, dingy, smelly, dirty, cramped, beat-to-crap outhouse-like facilities).

Our only complaint with the ABC facility was the high chairs that accompany the high tables in the bar area refuse to hold a human. You continually slide off them! It’s as if the seat is sloped away from the back, yet if you look at it (the seat), that doesn’t appear to be the case. Perhaps they have a different form of gravity or have implemented the laws of physics differently in Harrisburg. So I spent much of my time standing up; my wife – who is only 60” tall – couldn’t without her glass being at chin height.

About the food: We didn’t eat a meal, per se, but stuck with the appetizers, which represented good pub fare. We had the wings, which were hot as hell (a good thing; good for us and good for the establishment, as measured in beer consumed as a result), and the nachos. The nachos were very good, but we were a little perplexed to find that the ingredients – the lettuce, beef, tomatoes, jalapenos, cheese, etc. – was all piled atop, i.e. completely buried, the multi-colored chips themselves. We had to spoon everything over to other plates in order to find the chips.

To the beer: I started with the eight-beer sampler (the five year-rounds plus Hibernation Ale, Hinterland Hefe Weizen, and Hoppy Trails IPA, and found all but two of the brews to be great!

I can’t recall ever having a Hefe Weizen before, so I couldn’t judge the relative quality of ABC’s contribution to the category; all I can say is that I didn’t like it – to the point of not finishing the sample. I was not all that favorably disposed towards the Hibernation Ale, either; I thought the spices were a little too many and a little too prominent (I try to confine my use of condiments to the kitchen).

Otherwise I was very pleased. Normally I don’t enjoy most wheat beers; in my experience, they tend to be watery and lacking in flavor, but the Water Gap Wheat was neither. Although not my first choice, it was enjoyable.

The Mountain Lager deserves the awards it has received. As lagers go, it was excellent, and I ordered a pint that was quickly rendered empty.

Since I prefer strong-flavored styles, I found the Susquehanna Stout, Purist Pale Ale and the Hoppy Trails IPA to be the most enjoyable. The stout was rich and full flavored, but without the “bite” and bitter, unpleasant after-taste that I’ve found in some other stouts. The IPA was, as expected, quite hoppy and, as such, similarly enjoyable.

But since I drink mostly IPA at my favorite brewpub back home (Sebago Brewing Company in S. Portland, Maine) I thought it time to expand my horizons. I settled in with the Purist Pale Ale. It was excellent. Smooth and flavorful. Neither watery nor too strong. No unpleasant after-taste. We were there quite a while, so I had an opportunity – not ignored – to have several, and did. Typically, I get bored with pale ales after a couple of pints, but not this time.

Here’s the surprise. My wife hates beer. I don’t think (nor does she) that she had ever finished a beer (in her 38 years!) prior to this trip. Usually, she can’t get past the odor. On those occasions when she has actually forced herself to give one a taste, you could see – if you watched closely – a mild retch, after which she’d give up the attempt. After I tried – and liked - the sampler of Jolly Scott Scottish Ale, I suggested that she do likewise. To my considerable surprise, she said “not bad!” So I encouraged her to try a pint, graciously offering to finish it for her should she elect not to. She ordered one, finished it and then ordered (and finished) a second! Now if only I could buy that stuff in Maine, our beverage expenses would drop dramatically; if there’s no Jolly Scott around, she defaults to high-end Chardonnay at $5.95+ per gulp.

When we left, we took a six-pack of Jolly Scott with us. On our return trip, we planned our route and schedule so that we could return to ABC and buy a case! Upon returning a week or so later, we were disappointed to discover that they don’t sell by the case to consumers (the cashier speculated it had probably something to do with Pennsylvania or local laws; damn politicians). So we offered to buy 4 six-packs. Well, they didn’t have any of those, either (out of labels for the bottles; who’s in charge of inventory management here?). However, they did have some 12-bottle “variety packs” which contained two or three bottles of Jolly Scott each. So they assembled a couple of six-packs of J.S. for us by robbing the variety packs. So now we have 12 bottles of Jolly in the fridge that haven’t yet been touched because they’re so irreplaceable (can’t ship into Maine; those politicians, again)!

In summary: one of the best brewpubs anywhere. Neither of us can wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Shaw Brian Shaw, Falmouth, ME
(10/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
A nice rustic appearance with extremely large vats displayed across one whole side of the pub. They had 8 brews on tap and the majority of them were great and true to character. Went there with Scott and Tim, we make up the "Brew Krew" We definitely enjoyed the Scottish Ale and the Kipona Fest. Pale Ale was good but felt the Stout was a little too weak. The service was great and the pizza was very tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(07/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
This place has a very nice brew pub look but unless yousit at the bar the service was lousy. The best food i've had was their burgers.The beer is alright although Hoppy Trails IPA is imho the only really great beer and its only on tap sometimes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hershey, PA
(06/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I thought this place was average. Had worse had better. Got the sampler which they gave 8 different beers, however they all tasted as they should be. Nothing stood out. 3 of them looked and tasted the same. The burger I had was pretty good.

thedanandjohnbeersite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(06/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Nice place. Good brewpub atmosphere. They had the IPA on cask when I was there, and I thought it was excellent. HUGE fermenters!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good
The beers are always great, however their food leaves much to be desired. Cool place to hangout, especially upstairs. You will love the beer but hate the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review harrisburg, PA
(03/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
We just made our second visit to ABC and enjoyed it as much as the first time. We don't get up there too often, but we will never pass by Harrisburg without stopping! Great ambiance, food, service and beer. You can't ask for anything more!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(02/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
The service is great--just sit at the bar! And you'll get into some great beer debates. The beers here are still the best overall that I've had anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(11/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So
I had been looking forward to visiting this establishment for some time now and was severely disappointed by my recent visit. The service was terrible and we waited well over an hour for our meals. We sat with empty beer glasses for close to 45 minutes as well. When my sandwich and fries finally arrived they were ice cold and tasteless. I must admit however that I was extremely impressed by the quality of the two beers I tried. The Jolly Scot and Kipona Fest were superb representatives of their respective styles, I just wish our waiter would have come around more often so I could have tried some of the other beers that were being offered!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hagerstown, MD
(11/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Excellent selection of styles on tap. Excellent brewpub atmosphere. Don't know much about food - kitchen was being remodeled. Good, friendly service and good beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Katerina Serlemitsos Katerina Serlemitsos, State College, PA
(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
ABC is about 10mins. from my house so I visit about twice a month. You can't top their brewpub atmosphere with 2 floors, 2 bars, and outside deck. Their beer is excellent, and you can count on at least one specialty/seasonal beer on tap. The only negative is that they don't pour their beers with a head. I like a bubbly, fresh looking beer straight from the tap. The great taste overcomes this every time though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam R. Adam R., Enola, PA
(08/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
ABC is about 10mins. from my house so I visit about twice a month. You can't top their brewpub atmosphere with 2 floors, 2 bars, and outside deck. Their beer is excellent, and you can count on at least one specialty/seasonal beer on tap. The only negative is that they don't pour their beers with a head. I like a bubbly, fresh looking beer straight from the tap. The great taste overcomes this every time though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam R. Adam R., Enola, PA
(08/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Good, solid restaurant, good food, great beers. I lucked out on hitting the place on mid-afternoon July 4th and had no competition for crowd or service, though--your mileage may vary.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(07/30/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.286 seconds) 10:43:14 54.166.105.24, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS