PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Appalachian Brewing Company - Harrisburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 29, 2014 @ 02:10 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Harrisburg > Appalachian Brewing Company
Appalachian Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Appalachian Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.8 / 100
50 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
United States
(717) 221-1080
Listed Since: May 1997
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Harrisburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Appalachian Brewing Company
127 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Pints Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Ceoltas Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Epic Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

4) Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) McGrath's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Troegs Brewing Company
(1 mile)

7) Appalachian Brewing Company
(3 miles)

8) Flinchy's Restaurant Bar and Deck
(3 miles)

9) Brewhouse Grille
(3 miles)

10) Coakley's
(4 miles)

11) Elephant and Castle Restaurant
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Abide With me Bed & Breakfast
2) Farm Fortune
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAPITAL PLAZA
2) COMFORT INN EAST
3) COMFORT INN RIVERFRONT
4) DAYS INN HARRISBURG SOUTH
5) ECONO LODGE WORMLEYSBURG
6) HARRISBURG NORTH
7) HILTON HARRISBURG AND TOWERS
8) HOWARD JOHNSON
9) KORMAN COMMUNITIES HARRISBURG
10) QUALITY INN RIVERVIEW
11) RADISSON PENN HARRIS HOTEL
12) RED ROOF HARRISBURG NORTH
13) RODEWAY INN NEW CUMBERLAND
14) SUPER 8HARRISBURG HERSHEY AREA
15) TOWNE HOUSE SUITES
16) TRAVEL INN NEW CUMBERLAND
17) TRAVELODGE HARRISBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black, William, Homestead
2) Broad Street Market
3) Cameron, Simon, School
4) Camp Curtin Fire Station
5) Colonial Theatre
6) Dauphin County Courthouse
7) Donaldson, William, House
8) Etters Bridge
9) German Evangelical Zion Lutheran Church
10) Griffith, William R., House
11) Harris Switch Tower, Pennsylvania Railroad
12) Harris, John, Mansion
13) Harrisburg 19th Street Armory
14) Harrisburg Central Railroad Station and Trainshed
15) Keystone Building
16) Kunkel Building
17) Market Street Bridge
18) Market Street Bridge
19) Rockville Bridge
20) Salem United Church of Christ
21) Seel, William, Building
22) Sheffield Apartments
23) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
24) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
25) State Capitol Building
26) Walnut Street Bridge
27) Wormley, John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4 Ace's Lounge
2) 501 Downtown
3) 704 Strawberry Inn
4) A Matter Of Taste
5) Al's Pizzeria
6) Alva Hotel & Restaurant
7) American Dream Diner
8) Angelina's Ristorante Bar/Deck
9) Angelo's Place
10) Ann's Snack Bar
11) Appalachian Brewing Co
12) Arby's
13) Arby's
14) Arrowhead Grille
15) Auckland's Place
16) Baby Bash
17) Bangkok Wok
18) Blimpie Subs & Salads
19) Boli Factory
20) Bricker House
21) Brownstone Lounge
22) Bubba's Breakaway
23) Bull At The Market
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) C J's C-Food
27) Cameron Cut Rate Store
28) Camp Curtin Bar-B-Que Station
29) Capitol Restaurant
30) Casa Cafe
31) Casablanca Cafe & Restaurant
32) Catalano's Lounge & Restaurant
33) Cedar's Restaurant
34) Center City Bread Shed
35) Chan's Chinese Restaurant
36) Char's Bella Mundo
37) Chef Chen's Express Inc
38) Chicago Hot Dogs & Burgers
39) Chicken Basket
40) China Express
41) China Wok
42) Ciervo's
43) Club Diner
44) Club House Bar & Grill
45) Corner Cafe Second & Harris
46) Courthouse Cafe
47) Cragin's Brick Haus
48) Crown Fried Chicken
49) Crowne Plaza
50) D'Amores Italian Market
51) Da Pits Chicago Grill
52) Dairy Queen
53) Dee & Deb's Subs
54) Deli Bean
55) Deluxe Restaurant & Bar
56) Dendy's Seafood Express
57) Derry Street Cafe
58) Dodge City Usa Restaurant
59) Domino's Pizza
60) Double D Bar & Grill
61) Double Jack's Tavern
62) Downtown Deli & Eatery
63) Dragon Chinese Restaurant
64) Dragonfly Club
65) Duong Quy TU
66) East Shore Diner
67) Eat & Tell
68) Eclipse
69) El Rodeo
70) Esquire Deli
71) Essie Cafe
72) Everything Yogurt & Salad Cafe
73) Express Subs & Salad
74) Firehouse
75) Fisaga
76) Fisher's Deli
77) Fisher's Fresh Food
78) Flamingo Grill
79) Fleming's Sub Base
80) Flinchy's
81) Fraulie's German Delicatessen
82) Garden Vietnamese Restaurant
83) Garrason's Tavern
84) Gingerbread Man
85) Gingerbread Man's Riverside
86) Glenn Miller's Western Prime
87) Golden Gate
88) Golden Sheaf
89) Good Taste
90) Gourmet Chef Presents
91) Hamilton Grill
92) Happy King
93) Hardee's
94) Harristown Development
95) Heaven
96) Ho Wah Restaurant
97) Iifa Inc
98) Isaac's Deli Inc
99) Jack's Mustard Seed
100) Jackson House
101) Janice Young Snack Bar
102) Jazzland
103) Jim Walker's Snack Bar
104) Jim's Deli
105) Jimmy's Market Place
106) John's Snack Bar
107) Kardisco's Snack Bar
108) Kelly's Wings N Things
109) Keystone Restaurant
110) Kfc
111) Kfc
112) Kiwi's Bar & Grill
113) Las Delicias Restaurant
114) Le Gourmet Gourmand
115) Lemoyne Family Restaurant
116) Let's Talk Turkey
117) Light's Cafeteria
118) Linda Janz
119) Lugaro's Pizza
120) Macri's
121) Magic Wok
122) Mama's
123) Mangia Qui
124) Mars Lounge
125) Matangos Deli & Convenience
126) Matts Snackbar
127) Maverick Restaurant
128) Maxwell's Parkside Cafe
129) Mayes' Wings & Hoagies
130) Mc Donald's
131) Mc Donald's
132) Mc Iver's Deli Licious
133) Mercado's Pizza
134) Mercado's Pizza
135) Mezzluna
136) Mi Mariachi
137) Michael's Snack Bar
138) Midtown Tavern
139) Mike's Ice Cream
140) Molly Branngans Restaurant
141) Monte Carlo Express
142) Monte Carlo Pizza II
143) Multi Cultural Cuisine
144) Munchies
145) Neato Burrito
146) Neato Burrito
147) New Plaza Diner
148) New York Fried Chicken
149) Nick's 1014 Cafe
150) Noma
151) North Street Grocer & Trading
152) North Street Zephyr Express
153) O D's Place
154) O D's Plantation
155) Olympia Cocktail Lounge
156) Papa John's Pizza
157) Papa John's Pizza
158) Papine Jamaican Restaurant
159) Parev Restaurant
160) Pasquale's Restaurant
161) Passage To India
162) Paxton Street Pub
163) Pee Dee's Tavern
164) Pep Grill
165) Philadelphia Steaks & Hoagies
166) Pho Paster
167) Piccolo Cafe
168) Pizza Grille
169) Plaza Grille
170) Politesse
171) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
172) Pub
173) Pub At 202 Locust
174) Quiznos Sub
175) Rascal's Pan Pizza & Pasta
176) Raspberries Bistro
177) Ray's Italian Kitchen
178) Red Door
179) Rita's Italian Ice
180) River Side Village Park
181) Rivieria Bar & Hotel
182) Roebuck's Baby Grand
183) Rookie's Sports Bar & Grill
184) Roxy's Cafe
185) Royal Sub Shop
186) S Clyde Weaver Inc
187) Saigon Delite
188) Salt Cellar Deuce Coffee House
189) Sammy's Authentic Italian
190) Sandwich Man
191) Scotts' Grille
192) Seven Stars Buffet Inc
193) Seventeenth Street Carryout
194) Shab's Pita Stoller
195) Shady Mcgrady's
196) Siam Garden Thai Restaurant
197) Simply Turkey Ii
198) Soft Spot
199) Sorrento Pizzeria
200) Spot
201) St Clair's Snack Bar
202) St Moritz
203) Stallions Club
204) Starbucks Coffee
205) State Restaurant
206) Stocks On Second Inc
207) Stoltzfus Family Restaurant
208) Strictly Catering
209) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
210) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
211) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
212) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
213) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
214) Sunny Yean
215) Taco Bell
216) Tap Room
217) Thanhai Hai Cafe
218) Theo's Bar & Grille
219) Theo's Snack Bar
220) Tippy's Lounge
221) Tokyo Express
222) Tony & Sam's Deli
223) Tony's Cafe
224) Towne House Coffee Shop
225) Trina's Treats
226) Tropic Chicken
227) Twins Bar & Grill
228) Two Brothers Pizza
229) Uncle Moe's Cafe
230) V U Inc
231) Violet's On Walnut
232) West Shore Diner
233) West Shore Plaza Family Rstrnt
234) William Harden Restaurant
235) Your Place Restaurant
236) Zeiderelli's Pizza & Subs
237) Zembie's Sports Tavern
238) Zephyr Express
239) Zia's Trattoria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great N/A Great
Went when they where hosting a beerfest. Food was pretty good. Beer is pretty good. Don't remember which ones I had,it was a beerfest afterall :) Place is big with a lot of room. 2 levels. With a big room upstairs for a band. Will go back in future to try just there stuff. www5.50megs.com/danjohnbeer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(05/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Coccetti Gary Coccetti, Jessup, PA
(05/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
For a microbrewery, this pub has a lot of beers on tap, all great! My favorites are the Hoppy Trails IPA and the cask-conditioned Purist PA. But the non-hoppy beers are great, too! The Barley Wine tastes like an eisbock, and it is a wonderful after-dinner sipper. The food is varied and good; the cheese-ale soup is very good. Service at the bar was great, where the beer debates are fun. And the service at the tables was great, even on Sunday at noon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(05/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Have been to Appalachian to sample their wonderful pub grub many times, but I had to try the new entrees from their receintly expanded kitchen. As always, their appetizers and chili were great, but we were also very impressed by their new dinner entrees. The beer battered flounder and trout were nice and delicate, while their Thunderstorm Arabitta was extremely spicy. The only entree our party was not crazy about was the Rosemary Chicken as it was a little too strong of Rosemary. Since we visited on thier first week of the new menu, we were extremely impressed. As far as the beer goes, most are very good and drinkable, but they do have a couple of real standouts in my book. Being a hop head The Hoppy Trails was my favorite, but they also have my favorite non-hoppy barley wine. The Broadstreet Barley wine reminded me of Kumbaucher Eisebock only smoother with less of the high alcohol taste. We took a growler of both home. The Scotch Ale was the favorite of others in our group, although it was not nearly my favorite Scotch. They even had a new Belgian wit which was very true to style. This place is a must visit for both the food and the beer when in Harrisburg. Also try their beer tastings as they are done very well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Dephtereos Scott Dephtereos, York, PA
(03/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is by far the best brewpub, if not bar, in the entire coutry! Try their pizzas too, they're almost as good as the beer. The sports bar on the second floor is a riot...you have to go on a day the Chicago Bears are playing (trust me). And tell Brian that Liz says hi.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Liz Messersmith Liz Messersmith, State College, PA
(03/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
A very very nice place. First-class. A real nice place for hanging out or having a good time. Bring your whole family. I didn't eat however the food menu was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just an update. The smoked venison pizza is no longer available. Their "smoker" left the area so they no longer can provide this item. Cask conditioned Pale Ale is super when they have it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rudy Mayer Rudy Mayer, New Bern, NC
(11/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
No reason to write too much given the numerous reviews. This is rock solid, true to style good beer. The Stout I had was a very satisfying and flavorful beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Excellent sampler. At last someone gives you enough to truly sample the tastes. All eight on tap and about 6 oz each. Too bad the cask conditioned is not included which we never were able to get for some reason. Waitress just didn't get it. Pale Ale and heifeweizen are excellent with the Stout also very good. Menu is limited and they were out of smoked venison pizza unfortunately but the food is good enough to warrant more trips for the beer. Next trip, I check out the upstairs which was closed for a private party. In all, a pretty darn good place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rudy Rudy, New Bern, NC
(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
I stopped in briefly while returning to Lancaster from upstate. I settled for the Purist Pale Ale and had already sipped it a bit when I remembered to ask what was on the handpump. The server said it was the Purist and I indicated that I'd have ordered that instead. He immediately apologized for not identifying that at the outset, discarded the draft, and returned promptly with a pint off the cask. I really appreciated that! The Purist was much tastier that way and I had to have a second.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, PA
(10/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
GREAT PLACE YOU HAVE HERE.BEER.FOOD AND SERVICE ARE ALL GREAT

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(09/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Stopped in last weekend for a few beers. We sat on the outside deck until in started to rain (not much of a view). The first floor bar was more to our liking as we got a chance to talk with the staff. We enjoyed the lager, the hefeweizen and the stout, all of which exceeded our expectations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DKP DKP, Vienna, VA
(08/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I think ABC is fast becoming my favorite brewpub.I have traveled all over the united states visiting brewpubs and feel lucky to have ABC in my back yard. I think the I.P.A,Hoppy Trails, is the best I have ever tasted(very chewy).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Petzold Paul Petzold, Manheim, PA
(06/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
You cannot beat the charm that exudes within this place. The beer and food make the trip well worth it. Take a look around and you can tell that the owners care about what they do. The beer speaks for itself. The food didn't let me down, either. What else do you need when you are looking for a place to eat and drink? If you like Street Rods, check out the 48 Chevy Truck they use to haul beer around in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Fichthorn Kurt Fichthorn, Lansdowne, PA
(06/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
I went during lunch and it wasn't crowded so I had great service. The beer was good and the food was excellent. This place has a great atmosphere. If you sit at the bar you're looking right at their huge fermenting tanks. This is a cool place and definitely worth a trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Walkowiak Eric Walkowiak, Philadelphia, PA
(05/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Excellent Lager. The wheat and the IPA are also quite good but skip the Scotch Ale. The service is marginal -- best to go when they are not too busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russell Schweikhard Russell Schweikhard, Alexandria, VA
(05/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Well- we were given a number and told to wait at the bar for a table. The beer did flow freely but we (2) finally gave up on the table and ate at the bar (noticed several empty tables all over the place)--we do not smoke so this was NOT good but we were hungy and the beer is great. Go early !! but do Go!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nick-Beer Trekker, Savage, MD
(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I've been to Appalachian numerous (at least a dozen) times. The lousy service issue that I've seen in other posts has puzzled me. I've always gotten good service at the bar. And the few times that we have had a table, we have had decent service. You could do worse. I've been to much smaller beer establishments and been parched waiting for my next beer. The food can wait but I better not go dry! Hey, in my opinion, great beer, great food and okay service....well, 2-out-of-three-ain't bad!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Leeser John Leeser, Sunbury, PA
(04/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I guess as a restaurant owner myself I must say in defense to the no service review , Sometimes we slip up,especially during busy times. I would hope if you were not waited on in my establishment that you would certainly try to get someone else's attention to let them know you were not getting the attention you needed because after all if they don't know it's broken, they can't fix it. GO BACK , it's worth the experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Lewistown, PA
(03/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Just enjoyed another trip very recently.Also enjoyed some of the subtle differences in the cask and C02 push hoppy trails IPA . Like the hint of grapefruit in the cask version and the clean flowerery finish in the co2 version . Definitely another fine quality product from the boys at ABC but what did you expect ? Enjoyed very much the oppertunity to meet Michael Jackson on Thursday. You've done it again guys. Thanks ||| Dave White President/Brewer Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack's Mountain Brewery Jack's Mountain Brewery, Lewistown, PA
(03/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good
Sat at the bar for 10 minutes not so patiently waiting for someone, ANYONE !!! to get me a beer. After about five minutes the person behind the bar finally acknowledged my existence and said they would be with me in just a minute. That was the last I saw of him! Never did get a beer and finally left in disgust. If this is the best they can do I will gladly go elsewhere even if the beer isn't as good. At least I will get to taste the beer!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Buriel Smith Buriel Smith, York, PA
(03/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Decent beer selection although sometimes they run down to only four bees available. The Hoppy Trails IPA on the beer engine is worth the trip. Don't wear orange shirts or ask for used beer tap handles!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bung Holio Bung Holio, harrisburg, PA
(03/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Figas Eddie Figas, McKeesport, PA
(02/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So Good
Good quality microbrews. Decent variety of beer types. Food wasn't very good. Just an average sandwich with a few chips on the side. Very Central Pennsylvania. Get some tips from a brewpub in a "real" city.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, PA
(01/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was my first experience with a brew pub on the East coast and I was very impressed! Many beers to choose from and obviously the brewmaster knows his stuff. Would recommend it highly to anyone traveling to the east coast. Great beer and very nice atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ward Mark Ward, Anchorage, AK
(01/12/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.44 seconds) 14:10:21 54.234.82.216, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS