PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Appalachian Brewing Company - Harrisburg, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 30, 2014 @ 12:34 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Harrisburg > Appalachian Brewing Company
Appalachian Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Appalachian Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.8 / 100
50 North Cameron Street
Harrisburg, PA 17101
United States
(717) 221-1080
Listed Since: May 1997
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Harrisburg, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Appalachian Brewing Company
127 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Mon 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Tue 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 11:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Pints Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

2) Ceoltas Irish Pub
(0 mile)

3) Epic Bar and Grill
(0 mile)

4) Molly Brannigans Traditional Irish Pub
(0 mile)

5) McGrath's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Troegs Brewing Company
(1 mile)

7) Appalachian Brewing Company
(3 miles)

8) Flinchy's Restaurant Bar and Deck
(3 miles)

9) Brewhouse Grille
(3 miles)

10) Coakley's
(4 miles)

11) Elephant and Castle Restaurant
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Abide With me Bed & Breakfast
2) Farm Fortune
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN CAPITAL PLAZA
2) COMFORT INN EAST
3) COMFORT INN RIVERFRONT
4) DAYS INN HARRISBURG SOUTH
5) ECONO LODGE WORMLEYSBURG
6) HARRISBURG NORTH
7) HILTON HARRISBURG AND TOWERS
8) HOWARD JOHNSON
9) KORMAN COMMUNITIES HARRISBURG
10) QUALITY INN RIVERVIEW
11) RADISSON PENN HARRIS HOTEL
12) RED ROOF HARRISBURG NORTH
13) RODEWAY INN NEW CUMBERLAND
14) SUPER 8HARRISBURG HERSHEY AREA
15) TOWNE HOUSE SUITES
16) TRAVEL INN NEW CUMBERLAND
17) TRAVELODGE HARRISBURG
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Black, William, Homestead
2) Broad Street Market
3) Cameron, Simon, School
4) Camp Curtin Fire Station
5) Colonial Theatre
6) Dauphin County Courthouse
7) Donaldson, William, House
8) Etters Bridge
9) German Evangelical Zion Lutheran Church
10) Griffith, William R., House
11) Harris Switch Tower, Pennsylvania Railroad
12) Harris, John, Mansion
13) Harrisburg 19th Street Armory
14) Harrisburg Central Railroad Station and Trainshed
15) Keystone Building
16) Kunkel Building
17) Market Street Bridge
18) Market Street Bridge
19) Rockville Bridge
20) Salem United Church of Christ
21) Seel, William, Building
22) Sheffield Apartments
23) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
24) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Bridge
25) State Capitol Building
26) Walnut Street Bridge
27) Wormley, John, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4 Ace's Lounge
2) 501 Downtown
3) 704 Strawberry Inn
4) A Matter Of Taste
5) Al's Pizzeria
6) Alva Hotel & Restaurant
7) American Dream Diner
8) Angelina's Ristorante Bar/Deck
9) Angelo's Place
10) Ann's Snack Bar
11) Appalachian Brewing Co
12) Arby's
13) Arby's
14) Arrowhead Grille
15) Auckland's Place
16) Baby Bash
17) Bangkok Wok
18) Blimpie Subs & Salads
19) Boli Factory
20) Bricker House
21) Brownstone Lounge
22) Bubba's Breakaway
23) Bull At The Market
24) Burger King
25) Burger King
26) C J's C-Food
27) Cameron Cut Rate Store
28) Camp Curtin Bar-B-Que Station
29) Capitol Restaurant
30) Casa Cafe
31) Casablanca Cafe & Restaurant
32) Catalano's Lounge & Restaurant
33) Cedar's Restaurant
34) Center City Bread Shed
35) Chan's Chinese Restaurant
36) Char's Bella Mundo
37) Chef Chen's Express Inc
38) Chicago Hot Dogs & Burgers
39) Chicken Basket
40) China Express
41) China Wok
42) Ciervo's
43) Club Diner
44) Club House Bar & Grill
45) Corner Cafe Second & Harris
46) Courthouse Cafe
47) Cragin's Brick Haus
48) Crown Fried Chicken
49) Crowne Plaza
50) D'Amores Italian Market
51) Da Pits Chicago Grill
52) Dairy Queen
53) Dee & Deb's Subs
54) Deli Bean
55) Deluxe Restaurant & Bar
56) Dendy's Seafood Express
57) Derry Street Cafe
58) Dodge City Usa Restaurant
59) Domino's Pizza
60) Double D Bar & Grill
61) Double Jack's Tavern
62) Downtown Deli & Eatery
63) Dragon Chinese Restaurant
64) Dragonfly Club
65) Duong Quy TU
66) East Shore Diner
67) Eat & Tell
68) Eclipse
69) El Rodeo
70) Esquire Deli
71) Essie Cafe
72) Everything Yogurt & Salad Cafe
73) Express Subs & Salad
74) Firehouse
75) Fisaga
76) Fisher's Deli
77) Fisher's Fresh Food
78) Flamingo Grill
79) Fleming's Sub Base
80) Flinchy's
81) Fraulie's German Delicatessen
82) Garden Vietnamese Restaurant
83) Garrason's Tavern
84) Gingerbread Man
85) Gingerbread Man's Riverside
86) Glenn Miller's Western Prime
87) Golden Gate
88) Golden Sheaf
89) Good Taste
90) Gourmet Chef Presents
91) Hamilton Grill
92) Happy King
93) Hardee's
94) Harristown Development
95) Heaven
96) Ho Wah Restaurant
97) Iifa Inc
98) Isaac's Deli Inc
99) Jack's Mustard Seed
100) Jackson House
101) Janice Young Snack Bar
102) Jazzland
103) Jim Walker's Snack Bar
104) Jim's Deli
105) Jimmy's Market Place
106) John's Snack Bar
107) Kardisco's Snack Bar
108) Kelly's Wings N Things
109) Keystone Restaurant
110) Kfc
111) Kfc
112) Kiwi's Bar & Grill
113) Las Delicias Restaurant
114) Le Gourmet Gourmand
115) Lemoyne Family Restaurant
116) Let's Talk Turkey
117) Light's Cafeteria
118) Linda Janz
119) Lugaro's Pizza
120) Macri's
121) Magic Wok
122) Mama's
123) Mangia Qui
124) Mars Lounge
125) Matangos Deli & Convenience
126) Matts Snackbar
127) Maverick Restaurant
128) Maxwell's Parkside Cafe
129) Mayes' Wings & Hoagies
130) Mc Donald's
131) Mc Donald's
132) Mc Iver's Deli Licious
133) Mercado's Pizza
134) Mercado's Pizza
135) Mezzluna
136) Mi Mariachi
137) Michael's Snack Bar
138) Midtown Tavern
139) Mike's Ice Cream
140) Molly Branngans Restaurant
141) Monte Carlo Express
142) Monte Carlo Pizza II
143) Multi Cultural Cuisine
144) Munchies
145) Neato Burrito
146) Neato Burrito
147) New Plaza Diner
148) New York Fried Chicken
149) Nick's 1014 Cafe
150) Noma
151) North Street Grocer & Trading
152) North Street Zephyr Express
153) O D's Place
154) O D's Plantation
155) Olympia Cocktail Lounge
156) Papa John's Pizza
157) Papa John's Pizza
158) Papine Jamaican Restaurant
159) Parev Restaurant
160) Pasquale's Restaurant
161) Passage To India
162) Paxton Street Pub
163) Pee Dee's Tavern
164) Pep Grill
165) Philadelphia Steaks & Hoagies
166) Pho Paster
167) Piccolo Cafe
168) Pizza Grille
169) Plaza Grille
170) Politesse
171) Popeye's Chicken & Biscuits
172) Pub
173) Pub At 202 Locust
174) Quiznos Sub
175) Rascal's Pan Pizza & Pasta
176) Raspberries Bistro
177) Ray's Italian Kitchen
178) Red Door
179) Rita's Italian Ice
180) River Side Village Park
181) Rivieria Bar & Hotel
182) Roebuck's Baby Grand
183) Rookie's Sports Bar & Grill
184) Roxy's Cafe
185) Royal Sub Shop
186) S Clyde Weaver Inc
187) Saigon Delite
188) Salt Cellar Deuce Coffee House
189) Sammy's Authentic Italian
190) Sandwich Man
191) Scotts' Grille
192) Seven Stars Buffet Inc
193) Seventeenth Street Carryout
194) Shab's Pita Stoller
195) Shady Mcgrady's
196) Siam Garden Thai Restaurant
197) Simply Turkey Ii
198) Soft Spot
199) Sorrento Pizzeria
200) Spot
201) St Clair's Snack Bar
202) St Moritz
203) Stallions Club
204) Starbucks Coffee
205) State Restaurant
206) Stocks On Second Inc
207) Stoltzfus Family Restaurant
208) Strictly Catering
209) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
210) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
211) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
212) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
213) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
214) Sunny Yean
215) Taco Bell
216) Tap Room
217) Thanhai Hai Cafe
218) Theo's Bar & Grille
219) Theo's Snack Bar
220) Tippy's Lounge
221) Tokyo Express
222) Tony & Sam's Deli
223) Tony's Cafe
224) Towne House Coffee Shop
225) Trina's Treats
226) Tropic Chicken
227) Twins Bar & Grill
228) Two Brothers Pizza
229) Uncle Moe's Cafe
230) V U Inc
231) Violet's On Walnut
232) West Shore Diner
233) West Shore Plaza Family Rstrnt
234) William Harden Restaurant
235) Your Place Restaurant
236) Zeiderelli's Pizza & Subs
237) Zembie's Sports Tavern
238) Zephyr Express
239) Zia's Trattoria
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Great
Thanks to Jeremy, we had a wonderful time at ABC. It was the beginning of a vacation and set the tone nicely.

The Scottish 60/s was wonderful!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Fredericksburg, VA
(10/15/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
Once I finally got a waitress to pay attention to me, the service was fabulous (but it took a while to get to that point even though I was there for a late lunch and the place was pretty empty). I chose the Fish and Chips, and would absolutely stay away from that in the future. The chips were really great, and the fish was very fresh, but the breading on the fish was greasy beyond belief. It was only crispy on the top of the top piece (there were two); everything else was drippy and soggy. They have a widely varied menu, though, and there were many other items I almost chose instead, so I have no concerns about going back for food.

The beer selection is HUGE. This was my first time here, and I couldn't believe the number and types of beers, all from their brewery. I had wanted to have the Mountain Lager first, but it was gone, so I tried the RauchBock. It was nice, but a touch too hoppy for me (I am absolutely NOT a hophead!). The Zoigl Star Lager was next, and it was very refreshing. I was actually surprised that it was their January beer; I would have expected something like it to be very popular in hot weather.

I ended with the Pennypacker Porter. I liked it a lot, but it was different than I was expecting; I'm used to a Porter being smoother and maltier than this one, but still it was good enough that I took a growler home with me.

I'm planning to stop here again whenever I pass Harrisburg. It's easy to get to from I-81, and well worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Anderson John Anderson, Longmeadow, MA
(01/04/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I LOVE Hoppy Trails IPA. Several other tasty quality brews as well. Friendly servers who knew their beers. Nice food. This place is a keeper.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from eve the great eve the great, oak park, IL
(11/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Had dinner there feb 25,08. first visit. Was fairly busy.Nice building, food was excellent, service very good. The house lager was 1st rate as was the pale ale. highly recommended

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from r. steffes r. steffes, Aliquippa, PA
(02/26/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Lousy So So
Most recent stop was 9/1 and was my 2nd overall visit. Well I have to say how disappointed I was this time around. The bartender seemed to concentrate on about one quarter of the bar space and completely ignore the other 75%. Took forever to get his attention to order beer and then had to repeat the process to get a menu and then again to place a food order. We ordered wings well done/extra crispy only to receive pink, raw and bloody and not the falvor we ordered. Also ordered nacho platter which was received with the shredded cheese sprinkled over the top and not in the least bit melted. I will never order food hear again as it was such a horrible experience. The beer was a bit better. Had a good selection of many different styles. Went with the Kipona Fest which tasted more like a nut brown than anything resembling a marzen. Was not bad, just not what I expected in a fest style beer. I have had many good experiences with these guys at various beer festivals over the years which makes it so shocking about how bad things were on my visit. Lastly on our way out we stopped and asked the hostess about some t-shirts at the gift counter. She was not even busy but displayed a surly I can't be bothered attitude when she had to look for certain sizes. BAD BAD BAD!!! Hoping it was just a one time thing and not the norm as I hate leaving negative reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(09/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great So So Good
We had a somewhat schizophrenic time here, as the ratings might indicate.

First of all, I like the building, with high ceilings and wood beams and flags adorning the interior. There was a big crowd in on a Wednesday night, though -- maybe 30-35 guys just at one long table -- and the space echoes the noise, making it a little hard to make conversation at a normal level.

We ordered the beer sampler, which is fairly generous -- eight 5-ounce glasses for $10 -- but they came out of order from what was listed on the placemat. The server explained this, and gave me the order they were in, but he was wrong about a couple of them. You apparently also don't get any options, you take the eight beers they give you. The six regular beers were the usual lineup -- wheat, IPA, red etc. -- with a couple seasonals. They were fair to good, nothing that really stands out in my memory except for a decent Belgian.

I started dinner with a nothing-special salad. Then the server brought the main course, forgetting the chili (me) and soup (wife) we'd ordered. Wife decided to skip the soup, but I did get the chili. It was hearty and meaty, if maybe a little too spicy for me, and I like it spicy.

For a main course, I got Chesapeake chicken, and this has to be one of the best dishes I've ever had. It's chicken diced and chunked and spcied and formed into disks like crab cakes. With mashed red potatoes on the side, this was fantastic.

Wife had a portobello and steak salad, and described it as "OK."

The server manned up to his earlier mistake and left the chili off the bill, so the whole thing came to a very reasonable price.

I'd certainly eat here again, but I don't know that I'd be a regular drinker of ABC beers if I lived in the area. Not wiht Troegs in the same town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stacy Mark Stacy, Morgantown, WV
(08/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I had been here once before in the fall of 2000. My wife and I stopped here for dinner near the end of our rainy week in Pennsylvania, on the day the Susquehanna River crested and began to recede. There was a pretty good selection of beers to choose from. I started with a pint of the Celtic Irish Red, then enjoyed the Rockville Rye, and finished up with the Jolly Scott Scotch Ale. My wife opted for the more traditional Mountain Lager. No complaints on the food – my pasta dish was generous indeed, as our server had warned me. Several bottled selections are available for carry out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(07/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
I ordered a sampler. When it arrived the waiter told me they were in the wrong order and disappeared. He made no effort to rearrange them. He then didn't come back until I was done when dinner. When I got the bill from the credit card company, I found the amount charged to my account was incorrect and included a far larger tip than I left. I will not be going back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Erie, PA
(04/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
ABC consists of a large warehouse-type dining room, with brewery on the right side (behind glass), and a smaller L-shaped bar area in the far corner; there is also a Belgian bar downstairs (it opens at 5pm). During my visit (last week), I enjoyed a cask version of their "Jolly Scot" Scotch Ale - with a strong hit of bourbon, and a very hoppy little number called "Hoppy Trails." ABC also offers 6-packs and growlers to go. Great food, efficient service and a worthwhile stop when, and if, you are swinging through Harrisburg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(01/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So Good
Dined AT ABC last evening (01/02). We haven't had the opportunity to dine with you in quite a while, so we were both looking forward to it. Unfortunately, the portions seem to have shrunk. I normally have a decent sized Blue Burg and fries(especially for $9.00). This burger looked like it came off the kids menu at Wendys. My wife's Athena pizza was so-so.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hershey, PA
(01/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in after a Troegs visit for a quick lunch. A nice pint of Hoppy Trails IPA: not insanely hoppy, but good and brisk, well-supported with malt. Also split a glass of barleywine with my friend; quite nice stuff indeed. I had the Hog Wild pulled pork, good eating. Service was right on the mark (though they did jab me for my new Troegs vest!). ABC keeps impressing me with their continually rising quality; an excellent stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is one of the nicest breweries we have ever visited. The upstairs is unique, a must see. We plan on returning in the neaar future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Monroeville, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Food is outstanding. Many beer choices which I think lends to the overall "Good" not great rating. There are 3 or 4 which are very good and a handful which are so so to not so so. If focused on fewer flavors 4-6 instead of so many, consistency would be better. This is my 3rd time visiting and a few of the beers have changed each time in. Overall a fun time and good experience. Great Service!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Lancaster, PA
(12/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
Tonight was the first night of a new beer called Zweigel [not sure of spelling since I was raised on phonetics in the South]. Damn good beer. I'm not knowledgeable enough to tell you about the other brews as I only drank Zweigel. It is an unfiltered pilsner that is quite agreeable to the palate. So I would sointenly suggest this beer to anyone that is in the area to try the beer. Also, if you are in the pub and the big man - Les - is there; then, please, buy him a brew as you will only be blessed by his acquintance. Cheers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neil Neil, Louisville, KY
(12/27/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Awesome! Good
Stopped by ABC after swingin by Troegs for some growlers. Hoppy trails was excellent, and the pennypacker porter was quite good as well. Service was excellent, but it was mid-afternoon and we were about the only folks at the bar. Great atmosphere though, which goes the same for the satellite brewpub in Gettysburg!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kyle Kyle, Lancaster, PA
(12/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Leffers?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Good Good Good
I think us beer trekers tend to get a little too picky about the beers we try. Sure most of the beers Appalachian brews are only good not great, but they do have their stand outs. Their beers overall are very drinkable and much better than budmillercoors. Hoppy trails is a very good IPA and their porter and stout are extremely satisfing. The barleywine is very unique and quite good in my opinion, and the Abbey Roade is a deceint Belgian style. Appalachian is now brewing some big beers at their Gettysburg location which have all been quite good. The brewery even has a Belgian import bar upstairs if you can't find one of it's beers you like. If you're looking for exceptional quality like Victory, this may not be the place, but it does have very drinkable beers and quite a selection from which to choose. Don't miss the brewery and the Saturday tour if you're in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, York, PA
(12/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Awesome! So So
I CAN SEE BY HIS LONG AND PENSIVE REVIEW LIST THAT, "THE REAL JIMBO", DOESN'T GET OUT MUCH; PROBABLY BECAUSE OF THE DIVERSE CULTURAL ACTIVITIES/EVENTS THAT LEFFERS, PA. HAS TO OFFER. I STAND BY MY REVIEW AND INVITE ANY OTHER WELL-TRAVELED, COMPETENT BEER CRITICS TO COMMENT.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(12/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A N/A N/A
to "the real jimbo":

clearly, your ability to rate beers (and all else, i suspect) is as good as your ability to respond to others' ratings. jimbo from spgfld, ohio, is pretty much on target.

loose the backwoods'y lingo and do try to improve your vocabulary.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from not-a-jimbo not-a-jimbo, alexandria, VA
(12/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
JIMBO,

If you take your head out of your ass the beers would taste better. You are so far off base on this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from THE REAL JIMBO THE REAL JIMBO, Etters, PA
(11/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Great Awesome! So So
COOL BUILDING AND GRAND ATMOSPHERE WERE OFFSET BY THE POOR QUALITY OF BEER. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND VISITING THE BREWERY HOPING TO FIND GOOD BEER. THE PLACE HAS POTENTIAL BUT BEER QUALITY BRINGS THE EXPERIENCE DOWN.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is an example of a Top 10 establishment!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Patrick, Jacksonville, FL
(07/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
After a long day visiting the HersheyWorld Museum and the Amish Country around Lancaster, Intercourse, Blue Balls and Virginville, Pa. I needed a beer.

Pubcrawler was down for renavations when I took off from New York to visit the Harrisburg, Pa area. I found this place thru the front desk clerk at the Baymont Hotel.

When my girlfriend and I walked in I thought I died and went to brewpub heaven. I always dreamed this is what a brewpub should look like. It's in an old brick building decor with glass windows to see the brew tanks. I got here late on a Sunday night of Memorial Day weekend and had no trouble getting a table.

The service was wonderful, maybe because it wasn't that crowded. I was kinda worried when I read the previous reviews but I had no problem ordering. The waiter was always there asking us if we needed anything. I did see some people coming out of an elevator but didn't realize what it was till I read the previous reviews and found out there was a 2nd bar upstairs. I would have liked to see it.

I ordered the Sampler which I thought was a little on the high side price wise ($9) but I couldn't complain with 8 six ounce glasses (thats like a 4 pack) when I realized it worked out cheaper then the pints. The only problem I had was the waiter didn't have a list of what was in the sampler so I had to guess what I was drinking. Out of the 8 beers 3 were good 2 were mid range and 3 were bad. I new the wheat beer was bad cause it was the one with the lemon in it, it just tasted like a flat IPA without any hazzey wheat color. 2 of what I thought were IPA's tasted watered down kind of like a light beer with no alcohol flavor. The one I really liked he thought was the Hoppy Trail followed by the darkest one they had at the time that looked like a brown and not a stout because it tasted more hoppie then a coffee or chocolate stout. I also like a darker beer that we couldn't figure out what it was. Next time I am in the area I would buy 1 pint at a time. My girlfriend ordered the homemade rootbeer over the homemade gingerbeer. It was the best homemade rootbeer we ever tasted.

The pretzel was a bit greasy or over buttered but it tasted good with the beer flavored mustard.

The atmosphere of the place is awesome even if it is located in a industrial area without any decent parking around. I wish all brewpubs were modeled after this place. It is the best one I have been to out of the 80 brewpubs and bars I have found thru pubcrawler.com.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven S. Steven S., Los Angeles, CA
(06/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Whatelse can I say AWESOME!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAY JAY, Linden, NJ
(04/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Good
Was by here recently with a friend who wanted a growler fill. An impressive 11 to choose from. The Hoppy Trails was disappointing, if in fact I was expecting an American IPA. The hop levels were what I would expect in a Pale Ale--the beer was good, just not what I've come to expect in an IPA at a brewpub. As we sampled several for the fill-up, it sure seemed like most were subdued. Nothing really hit our palates as a "wow". Once again, they were good, but not ones that "I want another, right now". The Susquehanna Stout was my favorite--it seems to be as I always have remembered, roasty, balanced, chewy. Barleywine a close second, dangerously smooth, with a hidden punch. I'm hopeful that with the addition of Gettysburg for more brewing capacity that there will be some daring; some big, flavor-filled new products.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(01/29/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Must agree with Beav that this is a great fest every September. Good selection of brewers, great food, and good bands. Done on 2 floors so not too crowded with different entertainment on both floors. Pencil this one in for next year!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Scott, York, PA
(10/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Just a note to tell everyone how much I enjoyed their most recent beer festival. The ABC fest has quickly become one of my favorites, in fact, I probably enjoy it more than most of the recent Stoudt's fests. The three hour time frame is prudent, and really doesn't detract from the fun. Lots of excellent presenters like Victory, Dogfish and the like, and of course comic relief in the presence of Gettysbrew. If you've never been, give them a try next year!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(10/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
Listen up brothers and sisters... I died, had an out of body experience and found heaven is in Harrisburg, PA! This place should be the model for all other brew pubs. As a matter of fact I just looked up brew pub in Webster's and what was the picture? Appalchian! That makes it official, this place is the greatest! The building is unbelievable, I tried to move in on the 3rd floor, but they caught me and had me arrested for vagrancy. That aside, I can't say enough! GO, GO, GO!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(09/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Great
kipona fest was very good. friendly bar staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oroville, CA
(08/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
Traveling on vacation with my family, I found the link to this place on PubCrawler (of course). This was the 2nd brew pub visited on our week long+ trip - the other was Granite in Toronto, Ontario.

The place is great - old printing plant - high ceilings, exposed brick walls, coppers visible through very tall windows along one wall - just like you'd like to see all brew pubs look like.

Beers we (my wife and I) tried were great. The Purist Pale Ale was excellent. Mountain Lager (my wife) was just as she likes with a nice sweetness. The Irish Stout was very good - coffee like with a nice sweetness - but not too much. I took a mixed six pack home with me.

The food was also very, very good - good selection. The Potato Cheese Ale soup is outstanding!

This would almost be worth a road trip from Chicago with the beer buds!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ET ET, Oak Lawn, IL
(08/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paul wyak paul wyak, binghamton, NY
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
This is a fun place with OK beer. Service was great and friendly people all around. But the beer was just ok. I had the Susquehana (sp?) stout, the Purist Pale Ale, and the Kiponic (? my notes are hard to read) Fest. All were ok just nothing spectacular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Everything from the beer to the people in the estalishment was nice. Met Hugh and he introducted me to a group of people that all had the same birthday. The cask ale was a awesome has was all of their dark beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james horton james horton, cambridge springs, PA
(05/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
I go to appalachian about 3 times a year and even my children love it their i think it is the friendly staff and the smiley fries.But for any age the food is great and the seasonal beers are outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from keith blatt keith blatt, myerstown, PA
(04/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
The Jolly Scot Scottish Ale is among the very best with a great malt base, but I tend drink the darker maltier beers. I found the Hoppy Trails I.P.A. to be good too, and I don't even like the Hoppier stuff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from F. Hampton F. Hampton, Harrisburg, PA
(03/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
Historic building, 2 level, restaurant & brewing eqyipment on first floor, sports bar & hall(for meetings, etc.) on second.

Beertenders & waitstaff are all very knowledgeable of the many styles available. 4 standards plus 2-4 seasonal beers on tap. Beer engine for cask conditioned ales. Menu is unique in offerings, but still carry regular pub fare.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Manatt Jeff Manatt, Harrisburg, Pa
(01/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Lousy Good
Visited last Spring. The food I had was great although the server was slower than slow, and the place wasn't busy. Had several beer which were good. I asked the server if they had any Susquehanna Stout to go and he found some in the back. The stuff was 5 months old according to the date on the label and it was tasting older than that. Nice building renovation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Kentwood, MI
(01/11/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Wow! This place is HUGE. Their Scottish ale ranks right up there with some of the best I have ever had. Food was very good. The shear size of their brewing tanks and facility is most impressive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Macedon, NY
(12/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
I was surprised to see the bad food reviews that have been posted to this site recently. My friends and I go here quite often; There's nothing at all wrong with the food. Veg. chili, Bleu burg, Sheppards pie, Bangers and Mash, PA Dutch pretzels...Dude, I've had 'em all and they're all good! Promise.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Lower Paxton Twp, PA
(10/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(10/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Wasn't crazy about the food, okay, but nothing special. Beer-wise, like the kipona fest the best, scottish was also good, stout was weak, more like a porter. very good atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Nichols Scott Nichols, Hilliard, OH
(09/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Lousy Great So So
If you don't eat the "Food", this place could be a nice place to hang-out. Went there for the tour and to get a bite to eat with the family. The tour was almost as bad as the food. I guess the servers try to work extra hard to make up for the lousy food you will be servered. Three meals = Three full Styrofoam boxes in the trash when we got home. The beers were good, but not really to style. As with all brewpubs, worth a visit, but I don't recommend eating at this one!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Clarksburg, MD
(09/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy So So Good
On a sunday night at 6pm, the place was dead, the food was awful, even for pub grub. The Belgian WIt, was not bad as beer goes, it just had nth to do w/ a belgian wit. The pale ale was fine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review dc, DC
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A Good So So
First, the positive: the building is magnificent and as someone born in Harrisburg, it is nice to see some revitalization. Now for the rest: Unless the beer and or the brewmaster's techniques have changed since the last time I was there a couple of years ago, the mass of reviewers submitting must be seriously deluded, or at least recovering from a sophomoric attachment to beered down water. I found the lager to be a bit syrupy, the ales to be imbalanced, flat, and pungent....and the Hefe....downright nasty. I toured the facilities only to find that the ales were fermented at near lager temps. I let the gentleman accompanying me (a co-owner?)know that this was, at best, potentially problematic. He assured me that his brewmaster was using superior methods.....Since when has fermenting ales in the low to mid 50s (F)been considered a superior method, when only a few ale yeast strains can be used successfully in this range. This could explain why the ales were so, well, bad. I was recently at a beer festival in central PA where I decided an ABC from the bottle....again, i was left unimpressed. While the lager seemed a little more crisp, still the rest did little for me. Did I say the building is magnificent?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andy Andy, Bethesda, MD
(07/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great Good
We tried 3 of their brews here - the Pilsner, Scotch Ale and the Stout. The Pils was ok, but a bit dark and sweet and lacking any hop aggressiveness. The Scotch ale was good, but very very mild. The Stout though was horrible - burnt plastic flavors - undrinkable. Food was average.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Philadelphia, PA
(06/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
First brew was the Jolly Scot a wonderful dark amber hue with a nice head. The taste is full and heavy, being almost too sweet for my taste, I say again almost. Decent maltiness not your typical session brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brendan Tiernay, Niles, OH
(03/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I live nearby and visit ABC often. The beers are great and there are always at least a half-dozen on tap. I love the Jolly Scott, but their best beer is the seasonal Abbey Road - a belgium style ale. Don't miss it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Elser Chris Elser, Elizabethtown, PA
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Elser Chris Elser, Elizabethtown, PA
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
This place kicks total ASS!!

By far one of if not the very finest BrewPub I have been to in the US

Fan Freaking Tastic!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Skotrat Skotrat, East Kingston, NH
(12/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great use for an old building. The Scotch Ale and Stout are not to be missed. If I lived here, this is where I would be!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Baldilocks Baldilocks, West Chester, PA
(11/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
This is my favorite brewpub in PA. This place is very crowded on the weekends, with its great live music. (=loud!) I especially like the Appalachian Wheat and Mountain Lager. Both have distinctive tastes. ABC always has six beers on tap and at least three seasonals. The MC Belgian White is also worth a taste. Food is good; I personally like the "Green and White Pizza: spinach and chicken pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Connie Connie, Mount Holly, NJ
(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Been here many times and plan on continuing the tradition. Jolly Scott and the Stout should not be missed.Cask and nitro versions of the stout are true to style and will not disapoint. Always pouring numerous high quality Ales and Lagers. Can't wait for the Capitol City Brewfest on Sept 14th.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, erie, PA
(08/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I was at the brewery following a concert the night before at Hershey. The beer was excellent. And the food was also excellent. There are few breweries, at least in this region, which can offer this diverse variety of beer and good food for a modest price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james james, Bristow, VA
(08/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I have had the ABC bottled beer several times and have been very pleased with the taste. I especially like the Jolly Scott. The beers on tap at the brew pub itself seemed a bit flat but were still good. The food was also good, typical brew pub fare. If I am in Harrisburg, I will stop by again. However, I would not make a special trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randall S. DiPalo Randall S. DiPalo, Williamsport, PA
(07/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Enjoyed a wonderful lunch and sampling of beers here last Saturday. ABC is located in a beautiful, old, spacious warehouse, and they have done a great job with the space. Eight beers were pouring, including: Water Gap Wheat, Hinterland Hefeweizen, Mad Cameron Witbier, Mountain Lager(Dortmunder) Jolly Scot Scottish Ale, Purist Pale Ale, Anniversary Mai Bock, and Susquehanna Stout. All were outstanding examples of their respective styles, and I especially enjoyed the sweet and malty Jolly Scot, as well as the rich, dry, and roasty Susquehanna Stout. Food was excellent, try the cheddar ale soup, it is to die for! The grilled bratwurst sadwich with kraut matches exceptionally well with the lagers on Appalachian beer list as well. This is an awesome brewpub/microbrewery that sells both bottles and growler to go. If ever in the Harrisburg area, ABC is a must visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John T. Sherman John T. Sherman, Washington, DC
(07/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This was a return trip to ABC for my wife and I, and it'll be a regular stop on trips trough PA's capital. The beers are great, and they always have a good variety on tap to try. Since we'd had the sampler last time, I went right to it and ordered a Purist Pale Ale -- an APA that has a nice hop balance, a slight fruitiness hits the senses as you take that first sip. My wife tried the Mad Cameron's Belgian White and was pleased with the offering orange and corriander hints throughout. Since we were driving far that night, we restrained from drinking more and decided that on the way out we'd get one of the Variety 12-packs...a good choice with 4 of their best. The pretzel appetizer was a nice start, and I had the Harvest Pizza -- delicious with fresh veggies on it. My wife had the Sierra Chicken, which was spicy and really really tasty...i was jealous! (even though my meal was great too!) Our server was pleasant and efficient, if not bursting with personality. Can't wait to get back this way again...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(04/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! So So Great Great
ABC is huge inside, with plenty of wood and a large bar. Behind the bar you'll find the brewing equipment, which is among the largest I've seen in a brewpub. ABC offered 8 beers, which ranged from a very light Lager to a very nice Stout. The Susquehanna Stout and Purist Pale Ale were excellent, but I can't say the same for the food. The nachos were decent, but our entrees were smallish and bland. The service was excellent. ABC is definitely worth a try, but there is very limited parking in/around the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike McKenna Mike McKenna, Aberdeen, MD
(03/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
The beer here was wonderful--great selection, and great quality. Big bar, with a sports bar atmosphere upstairs (TVs, pool, darts). Food was good, too. Definitely recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amber Amber, Philadelphia, PA
(03/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place is very, very good...the standard "pub fare" food is not at all pub fare! Buffalo meatloaf and Cerviche is not "pub fare". The food was delicious as well as beautiflly presented...the choices of beer as well as the taste of the brew was very good. Brewpubs sometimes are inconsistent with the food and beer..good beer, poor food or vice-versa. ABC has proved that good beer and good food actually can work. Judging by the crowd on a horrible rainy night in December they are doing something right..Highly recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rick rick, Bergen County, NJ
(01/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
Great interior. Worth checking out, but it is NOT a "great" brewing company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brewist Brewist, Harrisburg, PA
(11/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
The best thing about this place is definitely the atmosphere. The beer is average to good. The food is pub fare. Unfortunately the quality is not as good as when the place first opened. We have never had any complaints about the service and have often taken guests here as Harrisburg has limited options in the microbrewery arena. Would like to see some more competition.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TNT TNT, Harrisburg, PA
(11/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Oops; neglected to provide my ratings with that epistle I just submitted. I got carried away with myself.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Shaw Brian Shaw, Falmouth, ME
(10/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Picked this as a place to stop on a driving trip from Maine to Alabama after reading the reviews here on Pubcrawler. The first impression that both my wife and I had was that it was very attractive. It looks like you’d expect and old brewery to look. Old brick walls, high big-beamed ceilings, long, wrap-around bar, view through glass of the huge fermentation tanks, lots of space. It’s even located in an old, industrial area of town, near where one of Harrisburg’s original (but long-closed) breweries was located (according to the narrative on the back of the menus).

I believe that Pubcrawler ought to add two additional categories to its review criteria: “smokiness” (or “air quality” or “odor control” or “respiratory health rating”) and “rest room quality”. In anticipation of having this recommendation implemented, following are my assessment of Appalachian Brewing Company in these two areas:

Air Quality: Good Even though smoking is allowed down by the bar, the high ceilings and good air handling rendered the carcinogens and foul odor emanating from the several smokers around us less than completely offensive. The place wasn’t yet packed to capacity when we were there, so it might be different under full-house conditions. (Ever noticed, though, that most brew pubs that bother to separate smokers from non-smokers at all allocate the most desirable area – the bar itself – to those voluntarily bent upon terminating their lives early and painfully? You’d think that the proprietors would, instead, reserve the best space for those who have the potential to generate an ongoing revenue stream over a longer span of time. Remind me to tell you about our experience here in Maine, where smoking was recently outlawed in any pub that also serves food in a space not closed off from the bar area. Despite the screams of every barkeep from Kittery to Fort Kent that they’d have to close their doors and file for bankruptcy as a result, the law has had no detrimental impact on business volume whatsoever. Some of us casual observers are convinced that business is actually up).

Rest Rooms: Great Large, bright, immaculately clean and well ventilated. In the men’s room they even have those nice dividers between urinals so you don’t have to worry about backsplash from your neighbor or envious prying eyes. My wife had similar observations about the lady’s room (except for the urinal thing). In short, the best rest rooms I’ve found in a bar since 1982, as I recall. (The antithesis: the Southend Brewery in Charlotte where everything outside the rest rooms is delightful, but as soon as you go to free up capacity for more beer your are accosted by a dark, dingy, smelly, dirty, cramped, beat-to-crap outhouse-like facilities).

Our only complaint with the ABC facility was the high chairs that accompany the high tables in the bar area refuse to hold a human. You continually slide off them! It’s as if the seat is sloped away from the back, yet if you look at it (the seat), that doesn’t appear to be the case. Perhaps they have a different form of gravity or have implemented the laws of physics differently in Harrisburg. So I spent much of my time standing up; my wife – who is only 60” tall – couldn’t without her glass being at chin height.

About the food: We didn’t eat a meal, per se, but stuck with the appetizers, which represented good pub fare. We had the wings, which were hot as hell (a good thing; good for us and good for the establishment, as measured in beer consumed as a result), and the nachos. The nachos were very good, but we were a little perplexed to find that the ingredients – the lettuce, beef, tomatoes, jalapenos, cheese, etc. – was all piled atop, i.e. completely buried, the multi-colored chips themselves. We had to spoon everything over to other plates in order to find the chips.

To the beer: I started with the eight-beer sampler (the five year-rounds plus Hibernation Ale, Hinterland Hefe Weizen, and Hoppy Trails IPA, and found all but two of the brews to be great!

I can’t recall ever having a Hefe Weizen before, so I couldn’t judge the relative quality of ABC’s contribution to the category; all I can say is that I didn’t like it – to the point of not finishing the sample. I was not all that favorably disposed towards the Hibernation Ale, either; I thought the spices were a little too many and a little too prominent (I try to confine my use of condiments to the kitchen).

Otherwise I was very pleased. Normally I don’t enjoy most wheat beers; in my experience, they tend to be watery and lacking in flavor, but the Water Gap Wheat was neither. Although not my first choice, it was enjoyable.

The Mountain Lager deserves the awards it has received. As lagers go, it was excellent, and I ordered a pint that was quickly rendered empty.

Since I prefer strong-flavored styles, I found the Susquehanna Stout, Purist Pale Ale and the Hoppy Trails IPA to be the most enjoyable. The stout was rich and full flavored, but without the “bite” and bitter, unpleasant after-taste that I’ve found in some other stouts. The IPA was, as expected, quite hoppy and, as such, similarly enjoyable.

But since I drink mostly IPA at my favorite brewpub back home (Sebago Brewing Company in S. Portland, Maine) I thought it time to expand my horizons. I settled in with the Purist Pale Ale. It was excellent. Smooth and flavorful. Neither watery nor too strong. No unpleasant after-taste. We were there quite a while, so I had an opportunity – not ignored – to have several, and did. Typically, I get bored with pale ales after a couple of pints, but not this time.

Here’s the surprise. My wife hates beer. I don’t think (nor does she) that she had ever finished a beer (in her 38 years!) prior to this trip. Usually, she can’t get past the odor. On those occasions when she has actually forced herself to give one a taste, you could see – if you watched closely – a mild retch, after which she’d give up the attempt. After I tried – and liked - the sampler of Jolly Scott Scottish Ale, I suggested that she do likewise. To my considerable surprise, she said “not bad!” So I encouraged her to try a pint, graciously offering to finish it for her should she elect not to. She ordered one, finished it and then ordered (and finished) a second! Now if only I could buy that stuff in Maine, our beverage expenses would drop dramatically; if there’s no Jolly Scott around, she defaults to high-end Chardonnay at $5.95+ per gulp.

When we left, we took a six-pack of Jolly Scott with us. On our return trip, we planned our route and schedule so that we could return to ABC and buy a case! Upon returning a week or so later, we were disappointed to discover that they don’t sell by the case to consumers (the cashier speculated it had probably something to do with Pennsylvania or local laws; damn politicians). So we offered to buy 4 six-packs. Well, they didn’t have any of those, either (out of labels for the bottles; who’s in charge of inventory management here?). However, they did have some 12-bottle “variety packs” which contained two or three bottles of Jolly Scott each. So they assembled a couple of six-packs of J.S. for us by robbing the variety packs. So now we have 12 bottles of Jolly in the fridge that haven’t yet been touched because they’re so irreplaceable (can’t ship into Maine; those politicians, again)!

In summary: one of the best brewpubs anywhere. Neither of us can wait to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Shaw Brian Shaw, Falmouth, ME
(10/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
A nice rustic appearance with extremely large vats displayed across one whole side of the pub. They had 8 brews on tap and the majority of them were great and true to character. Went there with Scott and Tim, we make up the "Brew Krew" We definitely enjoyed the Scottish Ale and the Kipona Fest. Pale Ale was good but felt the Stout was a little too weak. The service was great and the pizza was very tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Albrecht Steve Albrecht, Pickerington, OH
(07/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
This place has a very nice brew pub look but unless yousit at the bar the service was lousy. The best food i've had was their burgers.The beer is alright although Hoppy Trails IPA is imho the only really great beer and its only on tap sometimes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hershey, PA
(06/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I thought this place was average. Had worse had better. Got the sampler which they gave 8 different beers, however they all tasted as they should be. Nothing stood out. 3 of them looked and tasted the same. The burger I had was pretty good.

thedanandjohnbeersite.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(06/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Nice place. Good brewpub atmosphere. They had the IPA on cask when I was there, and I thought it was excellent. HUGE fermenters!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good
The beers are always great, however their food leaves much to be desired. Cool place to hangout, especially upstairs. You will love the beer but hate the food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review harrisburg, PA
(03/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
We just made our second visit to ABC and enjoyed it as much as the first time. We don't get up there too often, but we will never pass by Harrisburg without stopping! Great ambiance, food, service and beer. You can't ask for anything more!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(02/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
The service is great--just sit at the bar! And you'll get into some great beer debates. The beers here are still the best overall that I've had anywhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(11/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy So So
I had been looking forward to visiting this establishment for some time now and was severely disappointed by my recent visit. The service was terrible and we waited well over an hour for our meals. We sat with empty beer glasses for close to 45 minutes as well. When my sandwich and fries finally arrived they were ice cold and tasteless. I must admit however that I was extremely impressed by the quality of the two beers I tried. The Jolly Scot and Kipona Fest were superb representatives of their respective styles, I just wish our waiter would have come around more often so I could have tried some of the other beers that were being offered!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Hagerstown, MD
(11/07/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Excellent selection of styles on tap. Excellent brewpub atmosphere. Don't know much about food - kitchen was being remodeled. Good, friendly service and good beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Katerina Serlemitsos Katerina Serlemitsos, State College, PA
(10/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
ABC is about 10mins. from my house so I visit about twice a month. You can't top their brewpub atmosphere with 2 floors, 2 bars, and outside deck. Their beer is excellent, and you can count on at least one specialty/seasonal beer on tap. The only negative is that they don't pour their beers with a head. I like a bubbly, fresh looking beer straight from the tap. The great taste overcomes this every time though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam R. Adam R., Enola, PA
(08/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
ABC is about 10mins. from my house so I visit about twice a month. You can't top their brewpub atmosphere with 2 floors, 2 bars, and outside deck. Their beer is excellent, and you can count on at least one specialty/seasonal beer on tap. The only negative is that they don't pour their beers with a head. I like a bubbly, fresh looking beer straight from the tap. The great taste overcomes this every time though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam R. Adam R., Enola, PA
(08/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Good, solid restaurant, good food, great beers. I lucked out on hitting the place on mid-afternoon July 4th and had no competition for crowd or service, though--your mileage may vary.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alexander D. Mitchell IV Alexander D. Mitchell IV, Baltimore, MD
(07/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great N/A Great
Went when they where hosting a beerfest. Food was pretty good. Beer is pretty good. Don't remember which ones I had,it was a beerfest afterall :) Place is big with a lot of room. 2 levels. With a big room upstairs for a band. Will go back in future to try just there stuff. www5.50megs.com/danjohnbeer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Berger Dan Berger, Philadelphia, PA
(05/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Coccetti Gary Coccetti, Jessup, PA
(05/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
For a microbrewery, this pub has a lot of beers on tap, all great! My favorites are the Hoppy Trails IPA and the cask-conditioned Purist PA. But the non-hoppy beers are great, too! The Barley Wine tastes like an eisbock, and it is a wonderful after-dinner sipper. The food is varied and good; the cheese-ale soup is very good. Service at the bar was great, where the beer debates are fun. And the service at the tables was great, even on Sunday at noon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(05/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Have been to Appalachian to sample their wonderful pub grub many times, but I had to try the new entrees from their receintly expanded kitchen. As always, their appetizers and chili were great, but we were also very impressed by their new dinner entrees. The beer battered flounder and trout were nice and delicate, while their Thunderstorm Arabitta was extremely spicy. The only entree our party was not crazy about was the Rosemary Chicken as it was a little too strong of Rosemary. Since we visited on thier first week of the new menu, we were extremely impressed. As far as the beer goes, most are very good and drinkable, but they do have a couple of real standouts in my book. Being a hop head The Hoppy Trails was my favorite, but they also have my favorite non-hoppy barley wine. The Broadstreet Barley wine reminded me of Kumbaucher Eisebock only smoother with less of the high alcohol taste. We took a growler of both home. The Scotch Ale was the favorite of others in our group, although it was not nearly my favorite Scotch. They even had a new Belgian wit which was very true to style. This place is a must visit for both the food and the beer when in Harrisburg. Also try their beer tastings as they are done very well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Dephtereos Scott Dephtereos, York, PA
(03/29/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is by far the best brewpub, if not bar, in the entire coutry! Try their pizzas too, they're almost as good as the beer. The sports bar on the second floor is a riot...you have to go on a day the Chicago Bears are playing (trust me). And tell Brian that Liz says hi.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Liz Messersmith Liz Messersmith, State College, PA
(03/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
A very very nice place. First-class. A real nice place for hanging out or having a good time. Bring your whole family. I didn't eat however the food menu was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(02/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just an update. The smoked venison pizza is no longer available. Their "smoker" left the area so they no longer can provide this item. Cask conditioned Pale Ale is super when they have it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rudy Mayer Rudy Mayer, New Bern, NC
(11/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
No reason to write too much given the numerous reviews. This is rock solid, true to style good beer. The Stout I had was a very satisfying and flavorful beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(11/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Excellent sampler. At last someone gives you enough to truly sample the tastes. All eight on tap and about 6 oz each. Too bad the cask conditioned is not included which we never were able to get for some reason. Waitress just didn't get it. Pale Ale and heifeweizen are excellent with the Stout also very good. Menu is limited and they were out of smoked venison pizza unfortunately but the food is good enough to warrant more trips for the beer. Next trip, I check out the upstairs which was closed for a private party. In all, a pretty darn good place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rudy Rudy, New Bern, NC
(10/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Good
I stopped in briefly while returning to Lancaster from upstate. I settled for the Purist Pale Ale and had already sipped it a bit when I remembered to ask what was on the handpump. The server said it was the Purist and I indicated that I'd have ordered that instead. He immediately apologized for not identifying that at the outset, discarded the draft, and returned promptly with a pint off the cask. I really appreciated that! The Purist was much tastier that way and I had to have a second.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from "Beer Island", Lancaster, PA
(10/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
GREAT PLACE YOU HAVE HERE.BEER.FOOD AND SERVICE ARE ALL GREAT

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ FRANK & GWEN ZDANCEWICZ, PRESTON, CT
(09/29/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Stopped in last weekend for a few beers. We sat on the outside deck until in started to rain (not much of a view). The first floor bar was more to our liking as we got a chance to talk with the staff. We enjoyed the lager, the hefeweizen and the stout, all of which exceeded our expectations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DKP DKP, Vienna, VA
(08/31/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I think ABC is fast becoming my favorite brewpub.I have traveled all over the united states visiting brewpubs and feel lucky to have ABC in my back yard. I think the I.P.A,Hoppy Trails, is the best I have ever tasted(very chewy).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Petzold Paul Petzold, Manheim, PA
(06/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
You cannot beat the charm that exudes within this place. The beer and food make the trip well worth it. Take a look around and you can tell that the owners care about what they do. The beer speaks for itself. The food didn't let me down, either. What else do you need when you are looking for a place to eat and drink? If you like Street Rods, check out the 48 Chevy Truck they use to haul beer around in!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kurt Fichthorn Kurt Fichthorn, Lansdowne, PA
(06/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
I went during lunch and it wasn't crowded so I had great service. The beer was good and the food was excellent. This place has a great atmosphere. If you sit at the bar you're looking right at their huge fermenting tanks. This is a cool place and definitely worth a trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Walkowiak Eric Walkowiak, Philadelphia, PA
(05/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Excellent Lager. The wheat and the IPA are also quite good but skip the Scotch Ale. The service is marginal -- best to go when they are not too busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russell Schweikhard Russell Schweikhard, Alexandria, VA
(05/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Well- we were given a number and told to wait at the bar for a table. The beer did flow freely but we (2) finally gave up on the table and ate at the bar (noticed several empty tables all over the place)--we do not smoke so this was NOT good but we were hungy and the beer is great. Go early !! but do Go!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Nick-Beer Trekker, Savage, MD
(05/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I've been to Appalachian numerous (at least a dozen) times. The lousy service issue that I've seen in other posts has puzzled me. I've always gotten good service at the bar. And the few times that we have had a table, we have had decent service. You could do worse. I've been to much smaller beer establishments and been parched waiting for my next beer. The food can wait but I better not go dry! Hey, in my opinion, great beer, great food and okay service....well, 2-out-of-three-ain't bad!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Leeser John Leeser, Sunbury, PA
(04/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I guess as a restaurant owner myself I must say in defense to the no service review , Sometimes we slip up,especially during busy times. I would hope if you were not waited on in my establishment that you would certainly try to get someone else's attention to let them know you were not getting the attention you needed because after all if they don't know it's broken, they can't fix it. GO BACK , it's worth the experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, Lewistown, PA
(03/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Just enjoyed another trip very recently.Also enjoyed some of the subtle differences in the cask and C02 push hoppy trails IPA . Like the hint of grapefruit in the cask version and the clean flowerery finish in the co2 version . Definitely another fine quality product from the boys at ABC but what did you expect ? Enjoyed very much the oppertunity to meet Michael Jackson on Thursday. You've done it again guys. Thanks ||| Dave White President/Brewer Jack's Mountain Restaurant and Brewery

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack's Mountain Brewery Jack's Mountain Brewery, Lewistown, PA
(03/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Lousy Good
Sat at the bar for 10 minutes not so patiently waiting for someone, ANYONE !!! to get me a beer. After about five minutes the person behind the bar finally acknowledged my existence and said they would be with me in just a minute. That was the last I saw of him! Never did get a beer and finally left in disgust. If this is the best they can do I will gladly go elsewhere even if the beer isn't as good. At least I will get to taste the beer!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Buriel Smith Buriel Smith, York, PA
(03/20/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Decent beer selection although sometimes they run down to only four bees available. The Hoppy Trails IPA on the beer engine is worth the trip. Don't wear orange shirts or ask for used beer tap handles!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bung Holio Bung Holio, harrisburg, PA
(03/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Figas Eddie Figas, McKeesport, PA
(02/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So So So Good
Good quality microbrews. Decent variety of beer types. Food wasn't very good. Just an average sandwich with a few chips on the side. Very Central Pennsylvania. Get some tips from a brewpub in a "real" city.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chicago, PA
(01/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This was my first experience with a brew pub on the East coast and I was very impressed! Many beers to choose from and obviously the brewmaster knows his stuff. Would recommend it highly to anyone traveling to the east coast. Great beer and very nice atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ward Mark Ward, Anchorage, AK
(01/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Harrisburg's only brewpub. Nice place to hang-out. Go upstairs for brews and sports on the Big-screen. Stay downstairs for food and beer. Good selection ranging from wheat, pale ales, nut brown, red, porter and stout

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Christensen Scott Christensen, Olympia, WA
(12/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Brewfest benefitting the Appalachian Trail seems to be an enormous success. Numerous excellent brews were available; showing off some of the best our area has to offer. Thanks for having us!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Island Beer Island, Lancaster, PA
(11/06/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Good Great
Found the brew exceptional but only sampled two. Service was a little slow but it was a busy Friday night and we weren't in a hurry. (this is not fast food is it?) Relax and enjoy! We sat in the front near the entrance and found it rather noisy; music loud - etc. Trip to the restroom revealed it was much quieter near the rear of the lower room. You could actually talk to one another there. All and all an enjoyable trip. Different kinda pizza and great brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Stremmel Rob Stremmel, Harrisburg, PA
(10/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Soft pretzel appetizer: the brewery mustard that comes with it is so hearty it will ruin your appetite. Veggie Stromboli marvelous, good fresh combination of several veggies; sauce very tasty. Beer: Stout is the very definition of stout. Oktoberfest and IPA were great, slightly different variations from typical. Rich food and beer = nap later.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Keller Dave Keller, Silver Spring, MD
(10/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
This place has it all--great beer, great beer and great beer. Oh yeah, the atmosphere, service and food are pretty damn good also. A great reason to stop in Harrisburg.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Shelley Mark Shelley, Harrisburg, PA
(09/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Awesome!
I have been to "ABC" several times and always had a great time. I tell everyone about the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph M. DiGeronimo Jr. Joseph M. DiGeronimo Jr., Harrisburg, PA
(09/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Terrific beer great food. We've returned many times & tried much of the food & all of their beers and have yet to be dissappointed by either. Keep up the good work !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack's Mountain Brewery Jack's Mountain Brewery, Lewistown, PA
(09/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Really enjoyed the Porter, nice beer selection as well....Food was pretty Darn good....at least I thought so..... the brewery atmosphere is worth the visit...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Huth Joe Huth, Frackville, PA
(09/10/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
This was our second visit to ABC and we really love the place. The staff is very friendly and the food has been delicious . Some of the menu choices are rather unusual and interesting. But the beer is the thing ! My preferences are the Peregrine pilsner and the Purist ale but every one I tasted was exceptional. Our 2 young daughters really like it too so that is a big plus. Definitely stop in if you are in the area. No disappointments there !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jo Ann Arnold Jo Ann Arnold, Chambersburg, PA
(07/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Lousy Good
The beer was enjoyed by everyone in the party. Food was ok. Chef salad seemed like the best bargin. Will definitely go back for more.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Spare Eric Spare, Schwenksville, PA
(07/01/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Lousy Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Randy, York, PA
(06/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
The IPA was very crisp and refreshing, I had it at another bar so I didn't have a chance to try the food. Some of the locals said the place is worth stopping in for dinner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Causgrove Mark Causgrove, Erie, PA
(06/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I really liked their IPA and their Stout. I also had the opportunity to taste the Scottish Ale on Cask, this' also was very good. The food was ok not much of a selection. Overall this is a great establishment that shouldnt be missed if in the area!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dianne Dianne, Wilkes-Barre, PA
(04/09/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Selection and quality of brews are very good. The Water Gap Wheat is smooth and lite - very refreshing. The food selection and quality were pretty good for a brewpub. They offer a selection of sandwiches, pizza, salads and appetizers. However, the service was not the best (waited almost 10 minutes for drink order at the bar on a slow Monday evening).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Surovi Scott Surovi, Valley Park, MO
(04/06/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
We only had a half hour so had no time to taste the food, other than the soft pretzels, which were very good. The menu looked interesting...I just had no time. The Scottish Ale and the Stout were excellent...I wish I had time to try the others. They did a great job with the building. It appears to be a restoration of an old warehouse. There's lots of dark wood and open duct work and the brewery can be seen through glass on one side of the dining room. It's very clean and modern looking, although they kept the unique qualities of the old building. I'll be sure to stop in again the next time I'm in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Miller Robert Miller, Hatfield, PA
(04/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Service needs work but the beer is so good you don't mind. Can't get a burger, and some of the food selections are a bit snooty (artichokes on pizza!). Got a growler of beer to take along; nice touch!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mechanicsburg, PA
(03/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
This is a great brewpub. All the beers have a clean fresh taste. The menu is improving since they opened. Service and waiting time could be improved. ABC has started to sell cases of Water Gap Wheat and Purist Ale in the Central PA area. Little salty at $20+.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Kreider Eric Kreider, Grantville, PA
(02/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
IPA is great. Porter is excellent. In fact all brews are great. Nice place, nice folks, great beer. What more could you want?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Buriel Smith Buriel Smith, York, PA
(01/31/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy Good
A very long wait to be noticed by a server. Service quite slow (understaffed for the business). Purist Pale Ale is excellent. Kipona Fest is a bit hoppy for a Maerzen. Jolly Scot Scottish Ale is very good. Penny Packer Porter is kinda full-bodied for the style but otherwise good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph S Sturgen Ralph S Sturgen, Easthampton, MA
(01/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Great Beer, Awesome service...I've been to over 17 "microbreweries" in the tri-state area and ABC is where I always come back to. All of their beers are good if not great. When they first opened their "Scottish Ale" was to die for! The only way to describe it is it was like drinking cream soda with alcohol in it! It's a full bodied beer that no one in the area has been able to duplicate let alone come close to. They also made a seasonal Hefe Weizen that was to die for, but alas, it's gone now, but the Head Brewer assures us it will be back in the summer. So if your looking for a great place that serves great beer in a great atmosphere come to downtown Harrisburg and have a few. My hats off to Shawn, Smitty, Jack, Bill, Arte, Carlo and Patty and the rest of the fine staff at ABC. Keep up the good work and long live Harrisburg's first brewery in 46 years. And when you stop in tell them that #1 sent you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Golden Greg Golden, Harrisburg, PA
(01/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good N/A Great Great Good
Beers are good not great, but very drinkable. Food is only light fair (So far) like pizza and sandwiches, but what they do is excellant. (Their Roast Beef Sandwich was fantastic.) Nice looking place inside, but in a bad neighborhood. Still worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review York, PA
(01/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jeff Thomas, Harrisbug, PA
(12/26/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Anderson Don Anderson, Harrisburg, PA
(12/11/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
It's not to often you can go to a brewpub and find all of their beers good, let alone fantastic. But ABC does it with great beers ranging from a refreshing wheat to a great stout. ABC also has great pub food, friendly service and a nice, roomy atmosphere. In my book it's a winner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Leeser John Leeser, Sunbury, PA
(11/17/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
I have been to Brew Pubs all over the country and I find ABC to be one of the best. The formal restaurant is to open soon and we all can not wait!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Peters Mike Peters, Harrisburg, PA
(11/06/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David White David White, McVeytown, Pa
(10/27/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
IPA is very quaffable...place has great atmosphere...about time that Harrisburg gets a microbrewery...new establishment so service still has room for improvement...has good potential.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Mechanicsburg, PA
(10/21/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.566 seconds) 00:34:56 54.197.108.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS