PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery - Glens Falls, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 21, 2014 @ 01:41 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Glens Falls > Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery
Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.2 / 100
184 Glen Street
Glens Falls, NY 12801
United States
(518) 743-9026
Listed Since: June 1997
Last Updated: September 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Glens Falls, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery
80 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 90:0PM
Mon 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Tue 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Wed 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Thu 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Sat 12:00PM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Coopers Cave Ale Company Limited
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A B & B on the Green
2) Glen Falls Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICA'S BEST INN QUEENSBURY
2) DAYS INN LAKE GEORGE QUEENSBUR
3) QUEENSBURY HOTEL
4) RAMADA GLEN FALLS LAKE GEORGE
5) SLEEP INN AND SUITES QUEENSBU
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 18th Separate Company Armory
2) Argent Apartments
3) Bemis Eye Sanitarium Complex
4) Bemis Eye Sanitarium Complex
5) Birdsall, Stephen T., House
6) Burnham, Thomas, House
7) Colvin, Addison B., House
8) Cowles, W.T., House
9) Cunningham House
10) Delong, Zopher, House
11) Dix, James L., House
12) Ferguson, Dr. James, Office
13) First Presbyterian Church
14) Fort Edward D&H Train Station
15) Foster, Dr. Charles A., House
16) Fredella Avenue Historic District
17) Fredella, Joseph J., House and Garage
18) Glens Falls High School
19) Glens Falls Home for Aged Women
20) Goodman, Stephen L., House
21) Hoopes House
22) House at 216 Warren Street
23) Hyde House
24) Joubert and White Building
25) Krum, Hiram, House
26) Little, Russell M., House
27) McEchron, William, House
28) Old Fort House
29) Ordway, Jones, House
30) Parks, George H., House
31) Parks--Bentley House
32) Parry, John E., House
33) Peyser and Morrison Shirt Company Building
34) Potter, Ephraim B., House
35) Rosekrans, Enoch, House
36) Rugge, A. S., House
37) Sanford House
38) Sherman House
39) Smith Flats
40) Society of Friends Hall
41) St. James Episcopal Church
42) St. Mary's Academy
43) Stilwell, Thomas, House
44) US Post Office--Hudson Falls
45) Wait, F. W., House
46) Wilmarth, Martin L. C., House
47) Wing, Helen, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 132 Glen Bistro
2) 21 Bay Cafe
3) Adirondack Bagel Cafe
4) Aimie's Dinner & Movies
5) All Points Diner
6) Antonio's Pizza Place
7) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
8) Ar-Dee's Diner
9) Bay Street Cafe
10) Bella's Italian Cafe
11) Big Gregg's Pizza
12) Brooklyn Pizza
13) Bullpen
14) Burger King
15) Buttoms Up
16) Carl R's Cafe Restaurant & Bar
17) Chopsticks
18) Club Twenty-Two
19) Commons Deli
20) Cool Beans
21) Cool Beans
22) Country Fare
23) Crock-N-Boulle Restaurant
24) Dango's Irish Sports Bar
25) Davidson Brothers Brewing
26) Denny's
27) Domino's Pizza
28) Downtown Emporium
29) Dugout Restaurant
30) East Wok Chinese Restaurant
31) Event
32) Fiddleheads
33) Fireside Grill
34) Fitzgerald Brothers Beverage
35) Fitzgerald Brothers Beverages
36) Friendly's Restaurant
37) Giavano's Pizzeria
38) Gino's Pizzeria South
39) Glens Falls Civic Ctr
40) Glens Falls Diner
41) Glens Falls Queen Diner
42) Godfather's Pizza
43) Gold Star At Ridge Hall
44) Grandma's Corner Kitchen
45) Great Wall
46) Habana Premium Cigar Bar
47) Harvest Restaurant
48) Heidelberg Inn
49) Heritage Hall
50) High Peaks Java
51) House Of Pizza
52) Humbuggs
53) Ideal Restaurant
54) Irish Pizza
55) Irish Pub
56) Jake's Round-Up
57) Kfc
58) La Buaena Authentic Mexican
59) Lam Fong Yuen Chinese
60) Len & Peg's Country Inn
61) Loft Drive In
62) Luisa Italian Bistro
63) Main Moon Chinese Take-Out
64) Manley's Route 149 Restaurant
65) Massie's Restaurant
66) Mc Donald's
67) Melucci's
68) Mikado Restaurant
69) Mikes Tavern
70) Monahan-Chase Caterers
71) New Way Lunch
72) New Way Lunch
73) North Country Pizzeria
74) O'tooles Restaurant & Pub
75) Old China Buffet Corp
76) Olive Garden
77) Park St Tavern Inc
78) Pat & Jerry's Ice Cream
79) Peppermill Family Restaurant
80) Peter's Diner
81) Peter's Pub
82) Pitchers
83) Pizza Hut
84) Pomeroy's Pub
85) Poopie Di Manno's Lunch Inc
86) Prime Time
87) Quaker Road Restaurant
88) Queensbury Hotel
89) Rainer's Gourmet Inspiration
90) Red Lobster Restaurant
91) Ridge St Coffee Co
92) Rocco's Pizzeria & Restaurant
93) Rock Hill Bakerhouse & Cafe
94) Roxy's Exotic Nite Club
95) Sam's Restaurant
96) Samantha's Cafe & Catering
97) Sandy's Grill
98) Siam Thai Sushi
99) Southside Subs
100) Steve's Place
101) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
102) Taco Bell
103) Talk Of The Town Restaurant
104) Tilley's
105) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great atmosphere, good brews, and new ones often enough to keep it fun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McCoskery Bill McCoskery, Lake George, NY
(10/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Old, well-worn interior, with the brew system adjacent to the bar. 8 on tap of a good variety. Swimmin Cow was smooth and drinkable except for a very funky nose. Oatmeal stout was mild, subdued. My favorite was the double hop IPA, a mouthful of well-rounded delights. It was interesting to watch the crew giving their all while working on the latest brew; that's the kind of thing we beer lovers forget all too often while enjoying (or critiquing) a brew. Raise a glass to the folks in the trenches who give us so much pleasure!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
Somebody finally got the hint. The service last Tuesday was exceptional. Not one but two young ladies behind the bar and both fighting to wait on you.

The “Swimming Cow Rye Cream” was a treat to watch as well as drink. It was served cascading like a Guinness and had a nice hop nose and a rich malt flavor from beginning to end with the hops coming and going the whole time. I wish more brew pubs would try their hand at a Rye as I fell in love with the only other one I’ve had at Titanic in Coral Gables.

The “Double the IPA” was a rare find with a number of hop varieties in the mix with a different one coming out in each sip. I would love to chat with the brewer on that one as I’ve never had anything quite like it.

The beer here never disappoints. I’m just glad to see the service has improved. Keep up the good work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(05/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Good
In my 50 years I've never come across any brewer that produces a better product, day in and day out, than the Davidsons'. In my many trips to the establishment I've never had a bad beer experience. The selection is broad-based and can satisfy any and all beer tastes. The brewpub's "Achilles Heal" however, is second-rate food quality and price. The food is expensive (by Glens Falls standards) and so-so at best. If you're just stopping for a brew or two after a hard day of skiing, I'd highly recommend it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Randy, Saratoga Springs, NY
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
The worst Web Site on the planet, but that's another story.

I stopped for their Scotch Ale last Tuesday afternoon, which is a world-class example of the style. With the high ABV, two's the limit. This brew has won a number of awards and is most deserving. I first tried the IPA and the Red Ale, and they were “OK.” This trip though was the same as the last one, and the one before that, and the one before that. The barmaid did everything on the planet but wait on us. If I was at the bar 60-minutes, she was on the phone for 55. And the other five she was up on a ladder farting around with the crap that’s stowed over the bar. Hello? Hello? Can I get a beer here? Please? “Oh, do you want something . . . ?”

And as always, the brewers were coming and going out of the brew house. I tried on several occasions to get their eye, without sticking my feet out in the aisle to trip them up. They walk by like your invisible. Would it kill a brewer – any brewer to stop for one second and say hello, ask how the beer is, introduce themselves, and/or otherwise recognize me as a customer? A good chef will come out of the kitchen once in a while and do just that. Why can’t a lot of these brewers? I don’t bite!

I’ll be back again for the Scotch Ale, as always. I’ll just bring one of those signal flares like they used on the Titanic to wave down the barmaid when I want a beer. Sheesh!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(06/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy Good
Beer - English style. Kinda boring. C+ Service - friendly, but not knowledgeable about beer. Bar - old bar (typical of the area), doesn't seem brewpubby. Music - when its good, we own it, otherwise we don't know it at all. Food - Nothing special pub grub, although the salmon in the salmon salad was cooked just right, still a C-

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from harry harry, philly, PA
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Weel it is April and only 4 more weeks to the George and Davidsons. Have tried other Brewpub ales but when you have tasted the best(Davidsons) you just can not settle for anything less. See you in May Rick and Carrie

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Cobb Steve Cobb, Pittsfield, MA
(04/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
May I call this place my second home? Living at Davison's during my summer months between semesters at college I have had some of the best moments at Davison's. Ezra, (past brewmaster and good friend) made some of the best tasting brews in the northeast and even New York state. Rick is a good man with a great knowledge of the brewery and the area of Glens Falls. Eat, drink & be present at Davison's for good times will be had by all.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Palmer Bryan Palmer, Glens Falls, NY
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a great place to kick off my vacation. From the bartender Tom, Kerry the manager, Toby the brewer and Rick the owner, they all made me feel welcome and at home. They are proud of what they do, and for good reason. The food, service, and beer were all excellent. This place makes authentic English-style ales using English malts, hops, yeast, (local water), on an English brewing system. These beers are not typical "microbrews", or some former homebrewer turned pro who has never been to England interpertation of a british brew. These ales are the real deal and are well worth visiting. When I find myself in the area again I am going to make point of stopping by again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Oliver Jason Oliver, Washington, DC
(01/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
we just finished the worst spring camping season at Lake George because of the weather. The trip was worth it to enjoy the unbelievable IPA and the awesome food.Would not have said that about the food years ago . As usual Rick and Carrie were very friendly and made us feel at home in their place. Since my last comments i have tasted about 10 other IPA,s. To compare those imitations to Ricks IPA would be unfair unfair. It would be like comparing college sports(the imitators) to pro athletes(Rick's IPA) I am sad now because the spring weekends we spend there are over. But i have labor day thru columbus day to look foward to. Maybe i will make a special trip before then

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve cobb steve cobb, pittsfield, MA
(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Must stop!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Beertrekker, Baltimore, MD
(06/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We live on Long Island, but WHENEVER we visit the Adirondacks, we know we will be stopping at Davidsons for a drink & some fantastic food. The owner Rick is there just about every time we visit, & he takes a few moments out of his hectic schedule to greet us as though we were VIPs! We have tried much of the food--always fresh, & served with a flair. The service is friendly & effeicient. Out of a possible 10---we give Davidsons an 11~~~ Try it one time & you will be back often. Hi Rick!! Jane & Wayne Bay Shore, NY

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review janie & wayne, Bay Shore, NY
(04/12/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good N/A Good
Need to make ESB a regular beer; its your best one!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Shannon Shannon, Queensbury, NY
(12/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped in this past week while passing through and can verify that Davidson's lived up to its past reviews. Service was friendly and quick and the waitress was nice enough to tell us about the $2.00 special on the brown ale we could have with our dinner. What a great suggestion and choice. Food was great and the place had a down home feel. Wish I lived closer I'd be there all the time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from charlie K charlie K, brightwaters, NY
(10/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! N/A Great
We sat outside on a Saturday night, the IPA and Smoked Porter were teriffic and the singer was perfect. We had some appetizers and there must have been a change in the kitchen since our last visit, much improved!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Gordon Lester, Silver Spring, MD
(08/27/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
On a recent visit, I was crushed to discover the ESB had been discontinued. Davidson's were one of the few who did this brewing style and did it well. Other than that, little in the way of past excellence had changed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry R. Larry R., Clifton Park, NY
(07/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I am lucky. I get to taste fresh ipa every weekend from may thru june and again from labor day thru columbus day.They have added menu items which makes the stop more enjoyable although i would make the stop just for the ipa.Rick is very busy and still finds time to come over and say hi. This gives the atmosphere of a cheers like pub,"where everyone knows your name".I am leaving in a few minutes this Friday may 31st to go to lake george and ofcourse stop at Davidson's.Good luck Rick and Ezra and we do appreciate the time and effort you all put in to make us happy. thank you

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve cobb Steve cobb, Pittsfield, MA
(05/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Definitely liked a lot about this place. Awesome selection of brews and our group got a double sampler and tried all of the eleven beers on tap. Even the uninitiated in our group found something to really enjoy, and everyone had multiple faves. The service was still a little slow, and my order was punched in incorrectly so I had to wait while my companions ate and the kitchen corrected my order. But the server made it up to me by buying me a beer. Food was delicious, though. We also left with a case of IPA, which was on sale at the brewery. gotta love it...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(05/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
My girlfriend and I had a wonderful visit here in early April.A weekday, around noon and we had the bartender all to ourself (pretty much).Needless to say=GREAT service!! The ales tasted fresh, nice balance. Thanks Ezra. We left with a jug of Scotch Ale.Thanks again, keep up the great work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Greeley Joe Greeley, Portland, ME
(05/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I would like to reiterate what my distinguished colleague Lew Bryson had to say. I'm also a sucker for old buildings and this one really had charm! We had great service, wonderful beers and a very tasty lunch. And as Mr. Nowicki stated, I DID save my Scotch Ale for dessert! I'm sure the outside patio would be a great place to spend summer days and nights. Unfortunately, we live several hundred miles away or we'd be regulars! Their IPA was also excellent with an assertive lupulin nose and palate and I took a sixer home with me! This is a must stop for those going that way!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(05/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great N/A Awesome!
I really liked Davidson Bros. as soon as I walked in the door. I'm a sucker for these old places; real old brick walls, rough-joist rafters, exposed pipes, wood floors. Davidson Bros. looks old without looking either shabby or 'tarted-up' with silly 'old-fashioned' stuff. ELEVEN beers on tap, and NONE of them overdone with what out-of-touch geeks would have you believe is "inescapable Ringwood character." We had pub-grub food (cheddar stout soup that was fantastic adults-only food, crisply done calamari, a delicious (real) turkey, cheddar, and apple sandwich, and a burger that was simply magnificent) that was excellent. Service was excellent, but I don't rate it because they knew from the get-go that I was a beer pro; but I did see other people treated very well. Beer: clean, but some were a bit old and tired, should have been cleared out with sale prices. IPA was quite nice, not overbalanced in any direction ("overhopped?" Eh?), the Cohan's Porter was fantastic, medium-bodied and quite drinkable, and the oatmeal stout opened strong and sweet but managed to finish clean and dry. The Scotch Ale was a big beer that just kind of hung out all over, yeasty, malty, fruity and delicious. The Imperial Stout may have been a bit over-the-top, but... isn't that what the style's about? Definitely worth a stop if you're in the North Country.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Thank-you Scott, both Steves, Bill and everyone for taking the time to review Davidson Brothers! We appreciate ALL the feedback! My brother, John, and I, along with Brewer Ezra, Chef Doug and everyone here are working hard to do it right! Five years old 10/14/01 and we're still learning a lot from the best teachers anywhere - all of you, our customers! THANK-YOU ALL!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Davidson Rick Davidson, Glens Falls, NY
(10/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
I've been up to Glens Falls on business a few times, and I always make sure I go to this place. I've had several great experiences here, although in reading the reviews I can see there is certainly those off days that many places have. Mostly though, when I travel I seek out brewpubs primarily for the beer, and their beer is high quality in my opinion. I'm happy to see they're now bottling their IPA, which is one of my favorites. I don't know what this talk of "overhopping" IPA is about. What's wrong with you people? IPA is defined as 40-65 IBUs. The low end of that scale is the high end of a Pale Ale. Look into the history of India Pale Ale and you'll know why this is. Anyway, I am particulary impressed with what I would call a more original (or perhaps more traditional) approach to their IPA. So many brewpub IPA's I taste seem to follow popular American styles and hop with Cascade or Willamette. Davidson's seems to use another more typically British variety of hops (that I regret not asking about), which certanly made it unique. Perhaps this is what confused those who felt it was overhopped? Regarding service, of the 4 times I've been there for dinner, I've sat on the patio, at the bar, and at an inside table, and I never had any complaints. In fact, the last time I was there (just this past Oct 17th) I was seated right away, and dilligently attended to by a guy named Steve. As it turned out, Steve was actually working the bar the last time I was there, a year before, and remembered me (even before I remembered him). So I would say that's some rather personable service! So in conclusion, I think it is worth a stop off I-87, especially on a warm day when the patio is open. Lastly, their Scotch Ale makes a great dessert!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Nowicki Scott Nowicki, Holland, PA
(10/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
My fiance and I stopped in on Sat. 9/22 during a "Street Fair" and chose to sit inside rather than on the spacious patio due to crowds and a skate-punk band that was turned up to 11. Although the service was a bit slow (and we got our apps with our meals) it was friendly. The food was good and there were 11 beers on tap, essentially in the English style. The ESB was a treat and the IPA enjoyable (this is available in 6-packs and i grabbed a six to go - nice!). The other four in my sampler were decent representations of their style, also. We also spent part of our visit talking to Rick Davidson, who was highly accessible (he was greeting and hosting when we showed up), very friendly and obviously passionate about his beer!Thanks for a good afternoon -- next time we're up that way, we'll be sure to stop in again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(09/24/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.622 seconds) 13:41:49 54.92.232.155, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS