PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery - Glens Falls, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 22, 2014 @ 10:26 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Glens Falls > Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery
Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.2 / 100
184 Glen Street
Glens Falls, NY 12801
United States
(518) 743-9026
Listed Since: June 1997
Last Updated: September 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Glens Falls, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Davidson Brothers Restaurant and Brewery
80 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 90:0PM
Mon 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Tue 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Wed 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Thu 11:30AM - 90:0PM
Fri 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Sat 12:00PM - 11:00PM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Coopers Cave Ale Company Limited
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A B & B on the Green
2) Glen Falls Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERICA'S BEST INN QUEENSBURY
2) DAYS INN LAKE GEORGE QUEENSBUR
3) QUEENSBURY HOTEL
4) RAMADA GLEN FALLS LAKE GEORGE
5) SLEEP INN AND SUITES QUEENSBU
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 18th Separate Company Armory
2) Argent Apartments
3) Bemis Eye Sanitarium Complex
4) Bemis Eye Sanitarium Complex
5) Birdsall, Stephen T., House
6) Burnham, Thomas, House
7) Colvin, Addison B., House
8) Cowles, W.T., House
9) Cunningham House
10) Delong, Zopher, House
11) Dix, James L., House
12) Ferguson, Dr. James, Office
13) First Presbyterian Church
14) Fort Edward D&H Train Station
15) Foster, Dr. Charles A., House
16) Fredella Avenue Historic District
17) Fredella, Joseph J., House and Garage
18) Glens Falls High School
19) Glens Falls Home for Aged Women
20) Goodman, Stephen L., House
21) Hoopes House
22) House at 216 Warren Street
23) Hyde House
24) Joubert and White Building
25) Krum, Hiram, House
26) Little, Russell M., House
27) McEchron, William, House
28) Old Fort House
29) Ordway, Jones, House
30) Parks, George H., House
31) Parks--Bentley House
32) Parry, John E., House
33) Peyser and Morrison Shirt Company Building
34) Potter, Ephraim B., House
35) Rosekrans, Enoch, House
36) Rugge, A. S., House
37) Sanford House
38) Sherman House
39) Smith Flats
40) Society of Friends Hall
41) St. James Episcopal Church
42) St. Mary's Academy
43) Stilwell, Thomas, House
44) US Post Office--Hudson Falls
45) Wait, F. W., House
46) Wilmarth, Martin L. C., House
47) Wing, Helen, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 132 Glen Bistro
2) 21 Bay Cafe
3) Adirondack Bagel Cafe
4) Aimie's Dinner & Movies
5) All Points Diner
6) Antonio's Pizza Place
7) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
8) Ar-Dee's Diner
9) Bay Street Cafe
10) Bella's Italian Cafe
11) Big Gregg's Pizza
12) Brooklyn Pizza
13) Bullpen
14) Burger King
15) Buttoms Up
16) Carl R's Cafe Restaurant & Bar
17) Chopsticks
18) Club Twenty-Two
19) Commons Deli
20) Cool Beans
21) Cool Beans
22) Country Fare
23) Crock-N-Boulle Restaurant
24) Dango's Irish Sports Bar
25) Davidson Brothers Brewing
26) Denny's
27) Domino's Pizza
28) Downtown Emporium
29) Dugout Restaurant
30) East Wok Chinese Restaurant
31) Event
32) Fiddleheads
33) Fireside Grill
34) Fitzgerald Brothers Beverage
35) Fitzgerald Brothers Beverages
36) Friendly's Restaurant
37) Giavano's Pizzeria
38) Gino's Pizzeria South
39) Glens Falls Civic Ctr
40) Glens Falls Diner
41) Glens Falls Queen Diner
42) Godfather's Pizza
43) Gold Star At Ridge Hall
44) Grandma's Corner Kitchen
45) Great Wall
46) Habana Premium Cigar Bar
47) Harvest Restaurant
48) Heidelberg Inn
49) Heritage Hall
50) High Peaks Java
51) House Of Pizza
52) Humbuggs
53) Ideal Restaurant
54) Irish Pizza
55) Irish Pub
56) Jake's Round-Up
57) Kfc
58) La Buaena Authentic Mexican
59) Lam Fong Yuen Chinese
60) Len & Peg's Country Inn
61) Loft Drive In
62) Luisa Italian Bistro
63) Main Moon Chinese Take-Out
64) Manley's Route 149 Restaurant
65) Massie's Restaurant
66) Mc Donald's
67) Melucci's
68) Mikado Restaurant
69) Mikes Tavern
70) Monahan-Chase Caterers
71) New Way Lunch
72) New Way Lunch
73) North Country Pizzeria
74) O'tooles Restaurant & Pub
75) Old China Buffet Corp
76) Olive Garden
77) Park St Tavern Inc
78) Pat & Jerry's Ice Cream
79) Peppermill Family Restaurant
80) Peter's Diner
81) Peter's Pub
82) Pitchers
83) Pizza Hut
84) Pomeroy's Pub
85) Poopie Di Manno's Lunch Inc
86) Prime Time
87) Quaker Road Restaurant
88) Queensbury Hotel
89) Rainer's Gourmet Inspiration
90) Red Lobster Restaurant
91) Ridge St Coffee Co
92) Rocco's Pizzeria & Restaurant
93) Rock Hill Bakerhouse & Cafe
94) Roxy's Exotic Nite Club
95) Sam's Restaurant
96) Samantha's Cafe & Catering
97) Sandy's Grill
98) Siam Thai Sushi
99) Southside Subs
100) Steve's Place
101) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
102) Taco Bell
103) Talk Of The Town Restaurant
104) Tilley's
105) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
I have personally enjoyed ale from all over the country and would say without hesitation that the ipa brewed and served at davidsons is the best i have ever tasted.i have also recently tasted their bottled ipa which is processed at another location but was still brewed with the same great Peter Austin and Rick Davidson flavor.A growler of ipa around a campfire..... priceless

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve cobb steve cobb, pittsfield, MA
(08/06/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I visited for lunch on Friday, 20 July 2001 on my way to the Vermont Brewer's Festival. Some of the comments here made he hesitant but I am very glad I stopped. Beer, food, and service were excellent. They had 11 of their beers tapped--all listed with alcohol content and the date that the keg was tapped. I had the oatmeal stout, smoked porter, and the IPA. All were very good. I believe there is no such thing as "over hopping" a beer so readers should take that into consideration. The smoked porter really has a smokey flavor that lasts through out the beer. When I was served the IPA it looked like it was going to taste flat--it didn't. It was a REAL IPA, not a PA or ESB being passed off as an IPA. Very hoppy and served at the appropriate temperature.

I don't know if my experience is the exception or if radical changes have taken place--but I stongly recommend giving this place a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Alfred, NY
(07/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Hello, my name is Liz Carayiannis and I am the new Dining Room Manager here at Davidson Brothers. Owners Rick & John Davidson, along with G.M. Kerry Gonyea, are working hard to improve Davidson Brothers. Among those improvements is the newly-created position of Dining Room Manager. I am here to increase our level of service and to ensure our customers have great experiences here. We have also hired a new Head Chef, Rich Hudson. Rich and his staff consistently puts out great meals. I appreciate the comments from David of Albany, Dick of South Glens Falls, and PVS of Brooklyn, along with everyone who lets us know how we're doing. I invite you, and anyone who would like to share their comments about their experience at Davidson Brothers, to contact me here at the brewpub at (518)743-9026 or e-mail the owners directly at rick@brewpubfresh.com. Thanks, Liz.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Liz Carayiannis Liz Carayiannis, Glens Falls, NY
(02/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great So So Lousy So So
The beer is OK if you like that sort of thing. (I agree it's overhopped, but without the hopping there wouldn't be much flavor!)The bartenders though are the worst anywhere. Do they get awards for how surly they are or how much they make you work to get their attention? (The above doesn't apply to attractive women, who are somehow always noticed--and this being the Adirondacks, relatively few in number.) This place really needs to get its act together.

David Albany

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review albany, NY
(02/04/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Good
Have been here several times, sometimes the service could be better. When its busy atleast let me know that you are aware of me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Dick, SGF, NY
(10/12/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The comments below suggested a find, but a visit last week was among the most unpleasant experiences of my brewpub-hopping life. The bartender ignored me for ten minutes, only coming over when I placed my two-year-old on the bar stool to tell me that I wasn't allowed to do that. I used the opportunity to ask for a sampler; he replied that the bar was "too crowded" to give samplers. As someone who has visited over 300 brewpubs, I can say that that's the first time I've ever been refused a taste of multiple beers. And any brewpub with more than 7 on draft that refuses to give samplers is promoting alcoholism and should be closed by the state liquor commission. I did, however, try two beers, the IPA and "oatmeal stout." The former was overhopped even for the style and betrayed the usual one-dimensional Peter Austin flavor attributes, but I must admit that it was more drinkable with food (and age?) the next night at the Inn at Friends Lake in Warren County (highly recommended--reserve in advance). The stout, however, was undrinkable, like the contents of an ashtray, and so overhopped that it reminded me of neophyte Oregon brewers in the mid '80s eager to wow undiscriminating drinkers with their cojones. On balance, I'd say that this place isn't even worth a detour from I-87. It's an ugly experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PVS PVS, Brooklyn, NY
(08/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
There isn't a bad beer in the bar. By far the best brew pub beers I've ever tasted. I travel a lot and every where I go I find the brew pubs and try their beers. I have yet to find a brew pub that can beat any of Davidsons beers. I just wish Rick had a pub in Latham.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Hedderman Patrick Hedderman, Latham, NY
(04/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Suf Suf, Glens Falls, NY
(02/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
I really love this Brew Pub, for a few reasons. First: 11 delicious beers on tap, and every one is outstanding. That's about 5 more than any other brew pub I've been to. Second: A Scotch ale that really impressed. Not only was it potent, but it was bold flavored and drinkable. Third: An owner who listens. I sent him an email from his Web site, and he took the time to respond and answer my questions. These guys get it. Fourth: Real good food. The menu is limited, simply because the size of the kitchen is small, but everything is good. Fifth: Entertainment that complemented the evening, not overpowered it. I usually don't like the "entertainment" at these places but again, I've never had a bad experience here. Anyone who visits the Glens Falls / Saratoga region should take the time to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve DeRose Steve DeRose, Shrub Oak, NY
(02/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Good
Rick & John, great IPA, no one from Albany north has better! Need much improvement on food. Switch food with Saratoga Brew and you would have a great pub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Laura Laura, Queensbury, NY
(10/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
You can sit outside in an alley off of Main St in Glen Falls. It was great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(07/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We're listening to you! Logo'd pint glasses will be here soon (although I still don't see what they have to do with great beer), sampler selections are now your choice, and the Harp and other guest taps are gone so we can concentrate on making more of our own ales available! This week our new website www.davidsonbrothers.com will be up. And as a result of our fans' requesting their favorite restaurants to carry our ales,we're now on tap at over 45 establishments from Old Chatham, NY to Ticonderoga, NY. Thanks to everyone for your input and for keeping me where I love to be - in the brewhouse!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Davidson, Brewer Rick Davidson, Brewer, Glens Falls, NY
(06/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
The IPA is king! They finally will have their own pint glass.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Restino Gary Restino, Round Lake, NY
(06/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
The IPA and the stout were excellent. The six beer sampler is a great way to go at a place with 12 beers on tap. But do away with the bartender's choice on the sampler!!! Let us choose our own!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Michael, Norwich, CT
(04/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The ales are the coldest around and I like the American Bright the best. PS: Get the Harp outta there!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Canaan, NH
(01/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Stopped in while in town for New Years and thoroughly enjoyed three ales, the Scotch Ale (8.4% ABV!!), IPA, and Calif. Common. All were very fresh and flavorful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Lewis Tim Lewis, Enfield, CT
(01/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Wish this pub was in Schenectady, NY instead of the VanDyck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schenectady, NY
(11/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We now have 12 of our handcrafted ales on tap! Thank-you for keeping me in the brewhouse and off the web!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Davidson Rick Davidson, Glens Falls, NY
(11/26/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Loved the cinnamon bread!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warrensburg, NY
(11/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Dranow Paul Dranow, Verona, NJ
(10/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Great beer and food. The ESB is worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Frontuto John Frontuto, Kittering Road Brewing, Macedon, NY
(10/15/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Andrew, Catskill, NY
(09/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beerbetz Beerbetz, Catskill, NY
(09/18/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We now have 9 of our own small-batch, handcrafted ales on tap - I've been brewing 4 days a week for the past two months! (Just remember - we don't do fruit!) Thanks for the comments! We want to know how we're doing for you!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Davidson, Brewer & Co-owner Rick Davidson, Brewer & Co-owner, Glens Falls, NY
(09/17/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Davidsons is a great little pub. Very personable service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Busteed John Busteed, Baltimore, MD
(08/14/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.432 seconds) 22:26:59 54.87.123.99, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS