PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Trout River Brewing Company - Lyndonville, VT
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 03:15 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > VT > Lyndonville > Trout River Brewing Company
Trout River Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Trout River Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.2 / 100
Route 5/Broad Street
Lyndonville, VT 05851
United States
(802) 626-9396
Listed Since: July 1997
Last Updated: August 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lyndonville, VT
Beer Guide for Vermont

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
17 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Branch Brook Bed & Breakfast
2) Darling Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) LYNDONVILLE VT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bradley Covered Bridge
2) Centre Covered Bridge
3) Chamberlin Mill Covered Bridge
4) Darling Inn
5) Grouselands
6) Mathewson Block
7) Old Schoolhouse Bridge
8) Riverside
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Chop House
2) Hoagie's Pizza & Pasta
3) Phat KATS Tavern
4) Riverview Farm Drive-In
5) Wok & Roll Chinese Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome!
Pizza Fri. & Sat. start seving at fourthirty, if they have add any cranberry to there carmelized onions that was my idea good or bad ?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Hall Scott Hall, Old Lyme, CT
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good So So So So
It's sad to see a brewery go so far downhill. A few years ago they were awesome, but I hear they got lazy and started filtering. The Scottish Ale and Stout used to be thick and malty, now they're water-downed and weak. The Whitewater, which used to be this kick ass Belgiuan style in the old days and first year in bottles tastes too much like Bud for this reviewer. I'd rather have some sediment in my bottle or glass and flavor than neither.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Jason, West Burke, VT
(11/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Stopped by for a sampler on my way to Vt Brewers Fest. I've had their bottled products before and I agree that they dont hold up well compared to the draught beer. What I had there was good to very good. There were 7 styles (2 of the chocolate oatmeal st, one a nitro pour), and all seemed fresh and clean. The Scottish was malty and just on the edge of being sweet. The Boneyard Barleywine was smooth and not overly (I think she told me 8%) alcoholic. Lots of people stopped by for growler fills, but not a visitor to purchase six-packs. Hmm...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good N/A N/A Lousy
I'm rating solely on the bottled products I picked up while camping/hiking in the southern VT area.

I was excited to find some new brews from VT to bring home. The best of the bunch was the Rainbow Red - and that's not saying much. The Hoppin Mad should be relabeled as there was not a hop leaf, cone or pellet in sight in this "hoppy" pale ale. The Chocolate Oatmeal Stout was drinkable but was too thin, tame and pretty lame. The Scottish Ale? A Scotsman would sooner piss his kilt than raise a pint of this garbage. Freshness issues? Who knows as there's no dating on the package. I know the review sounds harsh, but I call 'em like I taste 'em. Thank God McNeill's was only down the road! No chance I'm driving to Lyndonville to visit the brewery after wasting $15 on mixed sixers. Cheers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Bristol, RI
(02/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
very friendly people serving the beer. barleywine was incredible. All the beers were great and the selection was fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Chris, barrington, RI
(07/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I was introduced to Trout River recently and found the beer to excellent. I took the Rainbow Red to go

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Brian D, Whitman, MA
(06/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I am so into Trout River’s Barely madness I’ll be in Lyndonville for my fix tonight. The pizza rock out with a tall glass of bone yard

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from aaron aaron, barre, VT
(01/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Great
Trout River brew is great! I like the Rainbow Red, and the Hoppin', but the Scottish Ale is excellent! Keep up the great work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Justin Hatch Justin Hatch, Newburgh, ME
(11/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
The Rainbow Red is a great tasting beer. However, sad to say but the Hoppin Mad is not very good at all. I just tried my first bottle, and truthfully it was difficult to finish. It is full of carbonation. I will stick to the Rainbow Red. If I were you, I would pull Hoppin Mad off the shelves. Sorry for the dismal report, but once again your Rainbow Red is great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Eddy Steve Eddy, Rutland, VT
(10/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A N/A N/A
Man, people in Vermont really love this stuff. I brought some back in bottles last year, which my buddy really liked a lot. I wasn't too crazy about Rainbow Red Ale. That's what my friend liked. It just wasn't anything too go nuts about. I also think that the Hoppin' Mad Trout, Scottish Ale, and Cream Ale are just ok. The best beer that I had was the Whitewater, a Belgian style white ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike I. Mike I., Jeffersonville, PA
(08/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
On Friday and Saturday nights, TR serves gourmet pizzas from 5-8:30 pm.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review St. Johnsbury, VT
(07/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
Always make TR an absolute stop when visiting family in St J. Can't go wrong with any of TR's brews. Need to update address to Lyndonville though so folks don't gop all the way to East Burke and miss the best in the Kingdom!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Furr Rich Furr, Harmony, NJ
(02/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
Had a bottled Rainbow Red with dinner at the Five Spice Cafe in Burlington and thouroughly enjoyed it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Vince Vince, Cape May County, NJ
(08/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A Great
The Rainbow red was excellent. I can't wait to try their other products.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Trevor Brown Trevor Brown, New York, NY
(03/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Great Beer ! I drive over 100 miles to get my growlers filled. Barley Wine Rules.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Bobee Joe Bobee, Dorset, VT
(06/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
While the Scottish Ale is my favorite, their Rainbow Red is great, as well as their Stout. They have seaonal selections that are excellent, too. If you can't find it on tap at a local VT pub, it is well worth a trip to the Northeast Kingdom!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Palmquist Jim Palmquist, Burlington, VT
(04/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Good Good
Trout River brews an awesome Scottish Ale. At a party of 50+, this brew was the most popular of all microbrews I was serving.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Starr Kevin Starr, Chantilly, VA
(11/24/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.207 seconds) 15:15:16 54.237.197.160, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS