PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Old Boys' Brew House - Spring Lake, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 09:46 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Spring Lake > Old Boys' Brew House
Old Boys' Brew House Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Old Boys' Brew House
Overall: Great    Score: 70.3 / 100
971 West Savidge
Spring Lake, MI 49456
United States
(616) 850-9950
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: September 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Spring Lake, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Old Boys' Brew House
30 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Boyden House Bed & Breakfast
2) Castle
3) Harbor House Inn
4) Hidaway Acres
5) Looking Glass Inn
6) Seascape Bed & Breakfast
7) Village Park Bed & Breakfast
8) Washington Street Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERIHOST INN MUSKEGON MI
2) BEST WESTERN BEACON INN
3) DAYS INN GRAND HAVEN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bilz, Aloys, House
2) Ferry, Edward P., House
3) Fruitport Road--Pettys Bayou Bridge
4) Pere Marquette Railway Locomotive #1223
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arboreal Inn
2) Arby's
3) Blimpie Subs & Salads
4) Cantina Mexican Grill
5) Chan's Restaurant
6) Edge Water Deli & Cruiser's
7) Front Porch
8) Hob Nob Restaurant
9) Idle Hour Lunch
10) Jacks Restaurant
11) Mama Mia's Pizzeria
12) Marco's Pizza
13) Mc Donald's
14) Miss Lisa's
15) Old Boy's Brewhouse Inc
16) Phoenix Delicafe
17) Pine Street Cafe
18) Pizza Hut
19) Pruebelo Mexican Restaurant
20) Sam's Joint-Norton Shores
21) Stan's Bar
22) Taste Catering
23) Trillium Banquet & Conference
24) Whippi-Dip
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Good Lousy Lousy
I thought it would be a great idea to take a date here to have some good beer, turns out I was mistaken. My ID is still vertical even though I am twenty-one and I was refused service. The waiter acknowledged I was twenty but I was still served the last time I was in. Not sure what kind of business model they are running but with policies like that I will not be returning.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Andrew, Holland, MI
(10/23/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was very excited to get a summer job and a chance to work. I worked here for four days and wasn't trained properly and burned myself on the oven. I know I am a slow learner, but as I struggled the place did nothing but gossip about me. They let me go after four days without much of a chance. I asked if they could move me around or out of the kitchen. They would not work with me. Would you want to eat at an establishmment like this? Before working here I ate as a customer. It took forever to get seated and a server. It took forever to get a drink or food. The place is overpriced and I would not be the first one to say that. They think they can do it because they are on the water. However people expect good food, which they do not offer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from college girrl college girrl, spring lake, MI
(06/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
i have been there five times over two years and the beers are just o. k. they are kind of bland, not a lot of flavor. with their setting. if they could brew a good quality beer. they would have a gold mine

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from phil hartley phil hartley, northville, MI
(09/01/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
The food and service were o.k. at best. Service was slow and waitress rude.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review muskegon, MI
(11/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
Group of 4 had an early dinner on Saturday. The place was still slow when we arrived. Lisa D. was our server, it started out well. She recommended a Spinach dip appetizer, which was good. It came right out nice and hot with good chips. But then out comes the salads before we could finish out Appetizer and that’s when I should have slowed her down. Hindsight is 20-20. Right behind our salad came the main course. To late now we basically had all our food setting in front of us at once. I'm not about to complain and have them take our dinners back and hold them, I've seen the movies. The beers were average, but over priced as was the food. $4+ pints, $9 burger advertised as a ½ pound but it seemed small with a small side of fries. A frozen mixed drink went for $8. All in all it seemed overpriced and nothing special. I won’t be back, except maybe in the summer when there deck is open and its happy hour.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stewart Pounds Stewart Pounds, Flint, MI
(12/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Great
We frequent Old Boys about once every other month, to be honest, to hear a freind of ours band play. We were first very excited about trying the beers but to be honest there isn't one that just blows us away. The Kolsch I guess would lean towards the favorite, or maybe the red but almost too "mild". Would love to see them mix it up a little and try some new recipe's to get more in the real brewery game, otherwise it is just like going to a restaurant that has different beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deb Deb, Schoolcraft, MI
(10/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
The atmosphere was great; the staff was very helpful and friendly. One of the beers that put Old Boys' Brew House over the top was their Kolsch style beer. Having traveled to Germany many times and having had the pleasure of visiting Cologne, I fell in love with this beer. Here in the states it is not very easy to find. It’s my favorite. If you visit Old Boys' Brew House, it’s a must try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Osborne Scott Osborne, Nunica, MI
(04/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
I heard a lot about this establishment on my trip so I decided to visit. I felt that none of the beers were anything but average. Nothing really stood out as far as taste goes. The food was good but a bit on the pricey side. It's a good place to watch a sporting event and eat, but the beer needs to be stepped up a bit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ann Arbor, MI
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A Good So So
This was the 3rd of a three pub tour. I found the beer sampler I had quite lacking after the 2 stops I had before. Will probably not go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John R. Thomas John R. Thomas, Portage, MI
(03/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
I was there on 29 December. I had the 10 beer sampler. I rate the beer very good. The food was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Len Buursma Len Buursma, Grandville, MI
(12/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy So So

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Haven, MI
(07/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Stopped in to my growler refilled, tried their new octoberfest, it was nothing special. Didn't try the food this time, but I've had it many times before and it's decent. I am little biased also since this brewery is the closest one to where I live, however, the longer trip to Ludington or Grand Rapids is worth it as there are better breweries to be found at those locations. I've tried updating the URL on this one for awhile and it doesn't seem to work so I'll just give it to you here: www.old-boys.net

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Muskegon, MI
(08/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Good So So Good
No bud lite on tap? Come on you have gotta to be kidding. Went to pizza hut for a good all american beer. Must have to be over 30 to get waited on.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review muskegon, MI
(01/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy So So
This place has gone downhill in the last year. Service is getting slower and ruder. They had something on tap called Golden Sour but it tasted like Golden Shower. Also the beer gives you a headache after 2 beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Springs, MI
(01/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
The brown was very, very good. I had the sampler and all the beer was drinkable. Service was a little slow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Jackson, MI
(07/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
This is the place to go in the Grand Haven area. A little hard to find but worth the trouble.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Chapin Rick Chapin, Jenison, MI
(07/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Improved overall recently...now have a "mug club". Soon to have a liquor license. Worth a visit or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Stanton Russ Stanton, Spring Lake, MI
(04/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
I thought that the porter was the best that I have ever had. If you end up going, I could strongly recommend every style. Go for sampler or two.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ben Huston Ben Huston, Eaton Rapids, MI
(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
The beer was good. My brother (who usually drinks Labatts Blue) loved the porter. The hefeweizen had a nice clove finish with banana overtones. Other than that their other brews were your standard Brew pub fare. It wasn't very crowded for a Friday night, so we got to converse with the staff quite a bit. Great service. Make sure you stop here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Edward R. Huston Edward R. Huston, Oregon, OH
(02/08/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Food a little pricey. Pretty good pale ale. ("Greyhound" Pale Ale")

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Russ Stanton Russ Stanton, Spring Lake, MI
(12/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Good Good
Some of the beers were good, some a little watery - but what a great place! Sitting on the huge deck watching the water and boat traffic with a brew is a good way to spend a sunny afternoon - however, the sunlight was causing flavor problems with our beer (in clear, plastic pitchers - wow). The food didn't impress us, but what a place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(09/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food was great...all you can eat shrimp for lunch with great beer? What more do you need??? The beers were great and the service was outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Janesville, WI
(08/24/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Great Good
The beer is weak, but the hot wings are hot as hell!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Horning Kevin Horning, Grand Rapids, MI
(06/30/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.305 seconds) 09:46:05 54.80.36.69, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS