PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lake Placid Pub and Brewery - Lake Placid, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 14, 2014 @ 09:26 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Lake Placid > Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
Lake Placid Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79 / 100
813 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
United States
(518) 523-3813
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: November 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lake Placid, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
60 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 03:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 03:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Great Adirondack Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adirondack Loj
2) Blackberry Inn
3) Interlaken Lodge & Restaurant
4) MT Van Hoevenberg B & B
5) South Meadow Farm & Lodge
6) Spruce Lodge Bed & Breakfast
7) Stagecoach Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN ARROW HTL
2) COMFORT INN LAKE PLACID
3) ECONO LODGE LAKE PLACID
4) HILTON LAKE PLACID RESORT
5) LAKE PLACID CLUB LODGE
6) LAKE PLACID LODGE
7) MIRROR LAKE INN
8) RAMADA INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) US Post Office--Lake Placid
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aki Sushi Japanese Restuara
2) Aniello's
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Brown Dog Deli & Wine Bar
5) Caffe Rustica
6) Centerplate
7) Chair 6
8) Downtown Diner
9) Gaddy's
10) Gourmet Village Rstrnt Dlvry
11) Grill 211
12) Handlebar Hideaway
13) Ismeta Upstairs
14) Jack Frost
15) Jubin Browning Bar
16) KANE Restaurant Group
17) Lisa G's
18) Luna Loca
19) Nicola's Restaurant
20) Players Sports Bar
21) Richard's Freeystyle Cuisine
22) Roomers
23) Saranac Sourdough
24) Tyler's Lunch Box
25) Wiseguys Nightclub
26) Zigzags
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Located just a short walk from the main drag in Lake Placid and is situated in an old church, sort of reminds me of a ski lodge. There is an Irish Pub on the main floor but did not check it out. I went upstairs to the main attraction. It has a nice patio that overlooks Mirror Lake.

They have 6 beers on tap, 4 standards & 2 seasonal. Bartender seemed to know the brews quite well. The food is standard pub grub and the service is pleasant and friendly. Atmosphere is laid back and relaxing.

Nice place to get away from the tourists or skiers depending on the season.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bif Bif, St Peters, MO
(10/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is Chris, owner of the Pub. Thanks for taking the time to comment on your experience, although I wish it had been better. I agree with your comments and apologize for both the mistake with the food and the (larger) mistake with how it was handled. Because of your experience, we have changed the policy at the Pub so that in every instance like yours 1)the problem is noted in a book so that any trends can be addressed and 2) the manager on duty will visit the table with the problem to make sure the issue has been resolved to the guests satisfaction. I know it is after-the-fact for you but I wanted you to know that we listen (and read) comments and act to make the Pub better every day. I hope you will revisit us. chris@ubuale.com Chris.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ericson Chris Ericson, Lake Placid, NY
(08/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
I'd seen the recent poor review, and had hoped that it was a one-time problem. On our visit, the beers were decent -- the Ubu and Hefe were excellent, the Moose Island decent, the 46er and IPA less hops-forward than I expected, and the Summer Ale nothing to write home about.

The biggest problem was with the service. Rule #1 when there is a mistake with the food is that you make it right. If food has to be sent back, it isn't enough just to replace it -- by the time the replacement food comes out, either everyone else at the table is done, or their food has gotten cold waiting. The kitchen botched my burger and it had to be sent back. By the time another burger came out, my wife and daughter were done eating. No apology was offered. No attempt was made to make things right. Then our water glasses and silverware were taken away before we had the chance to order desert and before the check had come out -- it made it easy to decide not to order anything else.

The food was good. A couple of the beers were good. But not good enough to merit a return visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Pleasant, NY
(08/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bill - I am the owner / brewmaster at the LPP&B and I am terribly sorry to hear about your bad food experiene at the Pub. While I will offer no excuse, I want to tell you that 1) as a result of a couple of similar experiences to yours (although not nearly as bad) we have fired our kitchen manager. He only worked for us for three weeks, and unfortunately, this was when you visited us - but he is now gone, and 2) I think that you will find that the vast majority of people have great experiences at the Pub, both with the beer and the food, and I hope you will consider giving us another try when you are in town. You can email me directly at chris@ubuale.com and I would love to buy you dinner as a token of my appreciation. If not, let me treat you to a growler or a 6-pack on me. All restaurants have bad days and make mistakes but I am sorry to hear that your was particularly aggregious. Cheers, Chris Ericson

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ericson Chris Ericson, Lake Placid, NY
(04/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So Lousy
No problems with the beer.

However, my wife and I got moldy sandwiches, stale, freezer-burned pretzels, tasteless pulled pork and ice cold (reused) fries when we were here. The server was polite and did take the moldy sandwich off of our bill.

I think they are resting on their laurels and while the beer is good the food was excrible. they need to take FOOD 101. I was thinking about filling a growler, but they won't get another dime of my money, thats for sure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(04/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The Ubu and 46'er were great beers. The Ubu's style is rare so it was a great treat. The Frostbite Ale is a traditional West Coast IPA and did not dissapoint. Bartender very friendly. Will return when next in the area. Off the beaten path in Lake Placid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(05/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I went to the pub for my 21'st and although I have always been a huge fan of the beer. Anyway if you are coming to lake placid for a ski weekend or a trip during the summer this place is a must stop nothing feels better than getting a taste of that dark beer. the the beer here is the best!!!!!!!

Especially on 2'fers (if you are from lake placid you know what I mean)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Vize James Vize, Lake Placid, NY
(10/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
What a cozy little place. a 2 story building with a nice layout. i stopped in for lunch and had a sampler. ive had the UBU and 46 before and liked them but as always beer is better off the tap. That was not the beer of choice for me. It was the easy to drink and hoppy Frostbite Ale. Needless to say i made sure i had a few more before i left. this place is well worth the stop.

the only negative: i collect pint glasses from pubs and breweries and they were out of most merchandise. there was a big festival in town. you think they would have their merchandise stocked up. ill make it back up for another round of fine beer and hopefully get a glass then.

the server was also friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(03/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Good
Visited 9/3/05. Loved the Frostbite Ale which was geared for the hophead that I am. Food was nothing special. Bartender could not answer any of my "beer geek" questions. Told me she would get the owner to answer them but never did. Atmosphere was OK but seemed to be a bit off. Downstairs bar was closed. Would go here again for the beer which is what it is all about. Would eat elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
But wait, THAT'S NOT ALL!!! Lake Placid won the two overall awards on Saturday at TAP NY, but on the next day of the fest, in separate judging, they also won three awards in the competition for best individual beers in the Hudson Valley and State of New York. I was judging on the State Best of Show panel, and these beers deserved the win, believe me. Congratulations to Chris and the Crew!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Congrats go out to Chris/Matt and the crew at LPPB for garnishing not one, but TWO awards at TAP NY 05!!! The Matthew Vassar cup and the F.X. Matt cup will reside in Lake Placid for the remainder of 2005. Job well done.......beer well done! Joe

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Meloney Joe Meloney, Honeybrook, PA
(04/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great
My family and I went for dinner on February 18th and had about an hour wait for a table. This is no problem, after all it was Friday night on a holiday weekend. The problem arose from the fact that once we were seated, it was almost ten minutes before anyone came to take our order and then almost an hour before the "pub grub" arrived. When it finally did, my daughters was not what she asked for and it was another fifteen minutes before the correct food arrived. The food was average, about what you'd expect from a pub of this type. So much for negativity. The positives GREATLY outweigh this probably rare occurence. There were two distinct positives. First , the quality of the beer. This place makes absolutely OUTSTANDING beer. The Frostbite Ale is to die for. I took a growler back to Jersey for several members of my brew club to try and all agreed it was easily the equal of Sierra Nevada's Celebration or Clipper City's Heavy Seas Winter Storm. The Ubu Ale is also outstanding and the 46er IPA and Olympic Ales are perfect for either a solitary pint or a "session". Their beers are some of the best I've had in a long time. Now for the best part, and the part that leads me to believe the less than perfect experience with the long wait for food not the norm: without any complaint from me, other than questioning the waitress about what was taking so long, when I presented my credit card to pay the tab, it was returned to me with NO BILL and an APOLOGY FROM THE OWNER! I have never had anything like this happen before.If ever there was a testimony to an owner's wishing to please the customer, this was it. Don't go here if you're looking for fine dining, but if you're looking for some of the best beer you've ever had, decent "pub grub", extremely reasonable prices,and a management that obviously takes pride in it's work, by all means don't miss this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Based on the 5 criteria used here, this is arguably the best brew pub in the northeast. Not only are the beers and food top notch, they are also reasonably priced. My wife and I visit often, and we have never had even a mediocre experience, much less a bad one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Randy, Saratoga Springs, NY
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Went in July while camping at Saranac. Let me say, I am still dreaming of the High Peaks Hefeweizen. Absolutely the best Hefe I have ever had. The beer selection was better than good but after tasting the Hefe I didn't bother with anything else. It totally rocks. So does the atmosphere. Some of the staff members' enthusiasm was a bit questionable but otherwise, what a great visit to this terrific brew pub. food was very good. Very surprised that they dont even sell a logo baseball cap, rather disappointing. Back to the Hefeweizen...truly unbeleiveable. the memory of its taste will pleasantly haunt me thoughout the winter in anticipation of it's re-release next summer. Something to live for....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marty Brwon Marty Brwon, Alden, NY
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Heya Joe, you're starting to pick up on the local lingo...before ya know it, you'll be thinking of moving year round up here...god knows we could use another beer loving soul!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Davis Rob Davis, Lake Placid, N.
(08/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Hey "Buffalo Bailey"......Get real (as they say at LPPB).Some nice beer is served at this establishment.Yes, the Frostbite Pale Ale is the standout, but Ubu is steady good. The Ectoberfest is a fine lager, and a great Barleywine was poured this winter. As far as food prices,since when is $7.50 expensive for a dinner?? I don't know what your adgenda is, but LPPB is a great brewpub in the north country.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Meloney Joe Meloney, Honeybrook, PA
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Great selection of quality beers. Good food and beer for not much $. Nice atmosphere but the bar staff could use a little more enthusiasm and education on the operations of the brewery. My only complaint, they will not fill growlers, what a shame. I really needed to take back a good beer with me to my vacation cottage.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Bailey Keith Bailey, Buffalo, NY
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A great selection of beer and all the beers are very good. The owner Chris really puts his heart into what he does and it shows. He usually makes a point to go to all the festivals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
2-3 times a year for the last 6 years I have been comming here. Why? It is always great. Never a bad experience. It's a long drive but its worth it. I travel all over trying new brewpubs and micro breweries but I still seem to like to call this "home". Where else can you get a pint of English Strong Ale (UBU) and an order of Bangers and Mash? Matt's Maibock is a must try. Wanna try something new? Get a growler of 46'er, climb (or drive) Whiteface Mountain. Find The large flat rock at the south side of the peak. Sit back, and enjoy the beer and the views and try to find the 46 peaks. (just don't get drunk-its a long way down!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from OTIS B. DRIFTWOOD OTIS B. DRIFTWOOD, NORWAY, NY
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Ah, Herr Heffe, guten morgen! Good to see you here, mein freund, and of course, you're right: NY is smoke-free these days. My mistake. But yes, the locals are good folks, and I like them here and over at Handlebars as well. It ain't always about the beer in the glass, sometimes it's about the bar. Zum wohl!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sweet Lew, For additional side reference, New York has of course mandated the "no-smoking" policy for all pubs and bars, so "down-stairs" has now become a bit more user friendly. Hell,they even show re-runs of Blue's Clues, Sesame Street and 1-2-3 Contact all day. I know when I go for a beer, regardless of what I feel like drinking, "dives" that don't offer business to the "local, mega-swill" drinkers and charge too much for what they offer is where I like to park my pub-crawling behind. My response is not an attack of spite on any other establishment, but in defense of the range of expression. You might not like the "ambivance" of downstairs (I don't know if that word would register downstairs in P.J's) and if you don't, then do as the laughing Lew man said, go upstairs. You should not wrong a place for allowing proper stage props for both sides of the beer drinking dicohtomy to perform their individual/group show. Hell, I've been here for 7 years and I'm still registered as an "out-sider" downstairs at P.J's and if I'm not in the mood to "chew the fat" with the "bad" locals then I move upstairs and discuss why Colonel Aureliano Buendía fathered so many children during his exile from Maconda with educated, "good" tourist. I ramble...For anyone who is considering P.J's, they offer two equally "fun" enviroments, and I say, try both. The locals are a bit rough, but they are good at heart and are not as bad as many make them out to be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heron Heffe Heron Heffe, Munich, GR
(04/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Some people ream Pubcrawler for "only allowing Awesome," some ream it for all the negative reviews...sheesh, make up your minds. I'd say that if you don't want a smoky, divey bar serving BMCLite with the craft brews...go upstairs. Why shouldn't the guys who like downstairs have the option to stay downstairs? And heck, you're certainly welcome to stick around and do more reviews, but if you don't like Pubcrawler, why not beerfly back to BA, eh?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I've only ever been in the divey, locals-heavy bar area in the basement, and can't say I'm terribly impressed with the ambience....it always depresses me to go into a place that brews its own beers and see every patron besides myself drinking Bud, Coors, etc. Why do you even have this crap? The beer is pretty good, a bit better IMHO than that of Great Adirondack downtown...but the experience on the whole is lacking I feel. Feel free to ream me out now as I know only "Awesome" reviews are tolerated on PC.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Ubu ale says it all. Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Palmer Bryan Palmer, Glens Falls, NY
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Been so busy with trying to get reopened across the lake that I forgot to congratulate Matt, Kevin and Chris on taking the Matthew Vassar Cup home! Certian brewers at P.J's know that even microbiological life love to hear Garcia rifts and have been shown to produce better beer. Call it cosmic fermentation mixed with "sound" knowledge. By the way, along with Lisa G's, this place has some great wings. Get the hot honey garlic...you will not be dissapointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Davis Robert Davis, Lake Placid, NY
(06/26/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.548 seconds) 21:26:04 54.196.237.92, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS