PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lake Placid Pub and Brewery - Lake Placid, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 23, 2014 @ 06:30 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Lake Placid > Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
Lake Placid Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79 / 100
813 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
United States
(518) 523-3813
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: November 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lake Placid, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
60 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 03:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 03:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Great Adirondack Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adirondack Loj
2) Blackberry Inn
3) Interlaken Lodge & Restaurant
4) MT Van Hoevenberg B & B
5) South Meadow Farm & Lodge
6) Spruce Lodge Bed & Breakfast
7) Stagecoach Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN ARROW HTL
2) COMFORT INN LAKE PLACID
3) ECONO LODGE LAKE PLACID
4) HILTON LAKE PLACID RESORT
5) LAKE PLACID CLUB LODGE
6) LAKE PLACID LODGE
7) MIRROR LAKE INN
8) RAMADA INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) US Post Office--Lake Placid
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aki Sushi Japanese Restuara
2) Aniello's
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Brown Dog Deli & Wine Bar
5) Caffe Rustica
6) Centerplate
7) Chair 6
8) Downtown Diner
9) Gaddy's
10) Gourmet Village Rstrnt Dlvry
11) Grill 211
12) Handlebar Hideaway
13) Ismeta Upstairs
14) Jack Frost
15) Jubin Browning Bar
16) KANE Restaurant Group
17) Lisa G's
18) Luna Loca
19) Nicola's Restaurant
20) Players Sports Bar
21) Richard's Freeystyle Cuisine
22) Roomers
23) Saranac Sourdough
24) Tyler's Lunch Box
25) Wiseguys Nightclub
26) Zigzags
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Winner of The Matthew Vassar Cup for Best Brewery in the Hudson Valley at the 2003 Tap New York Festival. Also winner of a Gold Medal for Ubu Ale and a Silver Medal for 46'er IPA at the World Beer Championships. Congrats to my brewery staff for an excellent job! Chris Ericson, owner & brewmaster, The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery and The Lake Placid Craft Brewing Company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chris Ericson, Lake Placid, NY
(05/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
A quick response to Mike's last posting re: growlers. There is one main reason why we do not refill growlers from other companies. After having many customers bring back growlers which we not properly cleaned after emptying, we decided that we would exchange growlers rather than merely taking them to the tap to refill. So if someone wants a refill, we take their empty and have them select a new one from the cooler. We then wash and sanitize their growler and put it back into circulation knowing that is was properly cleaned and properly filled by someone on our brewery staff. We put every effort into insuring that our beer is the best possible, and potentially putting it into a dirty growler makes all of our efforts in vain. We are not trying to be unfair, although we do follow the law of the state. Please realize, however, that is would be much cheaper for us to simply refill any growler from any brewery, avoiding the packaging and labor costs which we currently incur. We have made a commitment to insure every growler taken from the brewery is at its very best. I am thinking that you, especially with your large collection of growlers, are one of the few who actually clean their growler out correctly. If you are, I can assure you that you are in the minority and I apologize that our policy has detracted from your experience. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Chris Ericson, Owner, The LPP&B

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ericson Chris Ericson, Lake Placid, NY
(12/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Just another comment on microbreweries and growlers. I've visited several other NYS breweries that willingly refill customer's growlers. Those that follow the letter of the law either provide their label for free or a nominal charge ($0.50). This is a fair approach for those of us who have amassed large collections of growlers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Bergman Mark Bergman, North Creek, NY
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
i love this place. i have a bias being from the area but i find it to be the best place to spend a nice evening. it has a great atmosphere. i do agree the staff can be testy at times, but people who can't stand that have never worked in a restaurant or bar before. UBU is my favorite beer in the US, so if you are in town stop by. Especially on tuesday nights, 2 for 1 pints and crazy times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Devlin Devlin, Cortland, NY
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Great Great
I got an e-mail from LPP&B owner Chris Ericson today explaining that there is indeed a New York law that growlers must be labeled with the brewery information for the beer they're filled with. I'm still not happy about that, but I'm pissed at the NY ABC, not LPP&B. In fact, I'm pretty impressed that an owner would check Pubcrawler that regularly to see what people were saying about his place. Come to think of it, 4 bucks isn't much for a jug, either, considering I just saw one today at a brewpub in Maryland for $6. $4 may be the lowest price I've seen. So I owe Chris and LPP&B an apology: sorry, guys! Next time I'll buy a jug.

I'll have to start a campaign to stamp out these asinine laws, which are, after all, designed to make sure you know what beer you're getting. If you don't know what beer you're getting when you're going to the brewery yourself and getting it...you're as dumb as a politician.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Visited yesterday. Beer was great, particularly the hefeweizen, and the Ubu did not disappoint. Nachos were good, though a little short on chips: come on, they're the cheap part! I was bummed that when I presented my plain brown growler I was told that they only filled their own growlers. This is an annoyance; don't know if it's state law or an urge to sell $4 glass jugs. I get to Placid once a year, tops: I am not going to buy a growler. I'd be happy to pay to fill one or more of my own.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
They seem to have a nice selection of brews. I've tried the 46'er IPA, which I thought was kind of weak. I also tried the High Peaks Hefeweizen, which I really enjoyed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike I. Mike I., Jeffersonville, PA
(08/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
A large selection of beers, had the UBU ale and 46er IPA and was impressed with both. The staff is outstanding and the food was good. Just hope to make it up there again, unless the ECAC tourney doesn't come back to Lake Placid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Carpenter Jason Carpenter, Stillwater, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
great atmosphere baretenders are really friendly and the beer is fabulous. I only wish it was closer to home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Noreen Brackett Noreen Brackett, Saugus, MA
(06/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Good
I have stopped in a few times over the past few weeks and am pleased to see that the Pub and Brew has ventured into Belgian Style beers. The first was a golden the second a belgian dubbel. Unfortantly got stuffed (not exactly a bad thing)with the brewers chicken sandwich (try it cajun style folks! a good time) and couldn't finish all of the dubbel.I thought both beers were great for being first timers! Hope to see these stick around and evolve for awhile. Another thought for people coming to town...If you are around on Tuesdays, check out their two for one deal from 9-?? Best place to be on a Tuesday night regardless of the season. Rob Davis, Great Adk Brewing Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Excellent brewpub experience. I'm SOOOO tired of hearing the conventional wisdom from people who think they're so damned smart saying it: "You know, a brewpub is really a restaurant that happens to make beer." Not here. LPP&B is about the beer first, the pub atmosphere first, the people first. The food comes second, although it doesn't get slighted in the process. Let me explain. Owner Chris Ericson knows that there are excellent restaurants in Lake Placid (he's right, too, you could get REALLY fat in this town), so he figures trying to beat them or even emulate them is a tough row. Instead, he offers the pub atmosphere and pub menu that many people are looking for, and succeeds in spades. The result is a brewpub that will bring a smile to your face. And that beer is great. From the smooth, strong, malty Ubu to the Britly bitter 46'er IPA and the viciously hoppy seasonal Frostbite pale ale that was on when I visited last week, this is stuff any brewer would be pleased with. And with the big brewery coming online up in Plattsburgh this month, lots more people will get a chance to try it. Good news!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
A really nice place, good brewpub atmosphere. I went there twice: on the first visit, on a quiet Tuesday afternoon, I sat at the bar and had a couple of IPA's (excellent) with a Norman sandwich (also excellent). Stopped back later in the evening, and the bar was populated mainly with locals, which I liked. They had a 2-for-1 special. I had four Ubu ales. A dangerously good beer. Luckily, I was within walking distance of my hotel. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(09/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I wouldn't dream of visiting Lake Placid without making a stop (or two - or three. . .) at the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery. Ubu Ale. Ummmm! And that IPA can't be beat. Actually, all of the beers are excellent, and the Pub couldn't be more comfortable. Bangers-and-mash and shepherd's pie are just icing on the cake. Now, in the spirit of full disclosure, I should mention that LPP&B owner Chris Ericson may have mentioned the possibility of a free pint of Ubu in exchange for my review here. But would I be willing to make the 5 hour drive from my home in Connecticut just to claim this prize if the stuff weren't great? Start drawing that pint, Chris. I'm on my way!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Schwarzchild Michael Schwarzchild, Brookfield, CT
(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
I have visited quite a few (dozens!) of brewpubs around the country. 2 years ago I was camping in the Adirondacks and decided to go out for a night of civilization. I was lucky enough to come upon the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery. It was an unassuming place, pleasant but not trendy. When the IPA came, I was expecting to like it. Instead, I LOVED it! Since then, the LP version has been the gold standard by which i have judged other brewpubs. When i visited just recently, it was a pleasure to find that my memory had not deceived me. It is a phenomenal ale. I tried the sampler and found every variety to be drinkable; 4 were exceptional. They were;the IPA ,of course, plus the Maibock, the brown Ale and surprisingly, the Ubu. Even the higher alcohol beers were not overpowering. The staff was pleasant but seemed a bit overworked even though the place was not crowded. Maybe the ordering system needs a tune-up? Overall, it is a great place to relax while tasting exceptional interpretations of a variety of beer styles. The great thing about brewpubs are they that all are a bit different, as opposed to your cookie-cutter TGIFs etc. And since we live in a country where we have the freedom to choose- i would like another beer from Lake Placid Pub! Hurry up with the Oatmeal Stout! :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jamie shaw jamie shaw, jackson, NJ
(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Just trying to get the bartender's eye is the only drawback. But the beer is worth it!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schenectady, NY
(10/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I stoped in during the middle of the week and sampled both the "Ectoctober fest" and the "Doctor Fog" stout. The stout was good, but the fest was unbelievable....good job Kevin or Chris?? Who is it? Also had a great bowl of the house soup...great job overall!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Davis, Brewmaster, Adirondack Brewing Co. Robert Davis, Brewmaster, Adirondack Brewing Co., Saranac Lake, NY
(10/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery has become a favorite of ours in our visits to Lake Placid. In the past few summers we have seen the place transform from a spot with Great Beer, to one that offers the beer, food, entertainment and overall atmosphere to make a good night a great one. It is evident that the team at the LPP&B is dedicated to making the customer's experience unique, however, as the beer and menu selection continues to evolve, the consistency and quality are not sacrificed. In our 4-5 trips to the folks at the Pub, we have never been let down. Keep up the good work!...It's paying off.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff St. Jeff St., Boston, MA
(05/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
When travelling up to Lake Placid in the middle of winter, it was most refreshing to find the Lake PLacid Pub and Brewery. The selection of brews made it easy to find a refreshing beverage. I was fortunate to spend four days in Lake Placid and after visiting the Lake Pacid Pub on the first day I did not bother to try another establishment. The food and the crowd were comfortable and enjoyable. Every hockey tourney we have up there I make sure to stop in and hopefully remember to leave for the games. The Lake Placid Pub and Brewery is an excellent establishment and I would recommend to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Garrett Nannene Garrett Nannene, Brighton, MA
(05/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
We love this place and recommend it to any visitors to or residents of Lake Placid. Casual, comfortable, friendly -- a convivial atmosphere to enjoy a brew with others. Near the Olympic facilities, it is a spot where athletes and fans meet for a good time. See you there soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob and Marilyn Lilly Bob and Marilyn Lilly, Newcomb, NY
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I have thoroughly enjoyed my stays in Lake Placid and the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery is always a place to call home. I found the atmosphere to be the best of both worlds...upstairs is more of your typical brewpub atmosphere. The outside deck provides a nice dining experience. The downstairs provides you with the pool table and multiple television screens (great hockey atmosphere!) and gives you the feeling your at your local tavern. The beer itself is great and the ever changing selection keeps me wondering what is next. As for the service, I have no complaints. I have found the waitstaff to be friendly and accomodating. Chris and Chad are both easily accessible and eager to discuss business. Overall I rank this as one of my favorite brewpubs and I have made a commitment to annually attend their fall golf tournament that pays thanks to their patrons. Nice job guys!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Stephen, Stratham, NH
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Althought it has plety of things to boast about, one of the things I like best about the village of Lake Placid is its modest unassuming nature. The Lake Placid Pub and Brewery at PJ O'Niels captures this modest charm.

The bar is homey and feels like a place your cousin or best friend opened up around the corner. The beer selection offers enough variety to make it easy to find the perfect pint for a particular mood or time of the day. The menu doesn't try to do too much and the qulity meals I have enjoyed have provided exactly what this professional pub-crawler needs from a low key, firendly brew pub.The staff has always been more than freindly and by the end of the night I always know my server's and bartender's names (even if I dont remember my own).

I am not sure what else I can say other than 3 CHEERS to the Lake Placid Pub and Brewery!! I even have my name on a mug above the bar - "Box - #19". Feel free to borrow it - for a 25 cent rental fee. See you soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Hanson Bill Hanson, Boston, MA
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I am a huge fan of microbreweries and have frequented several both stateside and worldwide. I am quite shocked by a couple negative comments I have read. I have visited this brewery on two separate occasions, and am proud to call it one of my favorites. The IPA, Leaping Cow, and a special Nuptu-ale were amazing beers to put it mildly. I ordered both dinner and lunch, and was greeted by friendly wait staff. My meals were very good, and I was served promptly. This is an establishment I will return to as often as often as my schedule allows. By the way, does anyone know if I can be put on a beer mailing list? Nice job, Lake Placid. A class act as always. ALB Las Vegas, NV

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Las Vegas, NV
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
i am one of the owners of the LPP&B and was horrified to see the review from Mr. smith - i would love to have an opportunity to make things right - as you can see from the other comments, the majority of people do not feel the same way nor have they have similar experiences. please call me at the brewery 518-523-3813 and ask for chris

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from christopher ericson christopher ericson, lake placid, NY
(05/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
This has to be one of the worst Brewpubs that I have ever been to. The service was horrible, the staff was rude and treated us like we weren't even human, and the beer was just average to below average (I have had much better at almost every other Brewpub that I have been to). I will definitely avoid it in the future when I am in Lake Placid, which will not be too hard since the Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Co. is there, which is where I will go instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason A. Smith Jason A. Smith, Troy, NY
(03/21/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.595 seconds) 06:30:43 54.211.73.232, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS