PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Lake Placid Pub and Brewery - Lake Placid, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 28, 2014 @ 09:15 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Lake Placid > Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
Lake Placid Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 79 / 100
813 Mirror Lake Drive
Lake Placid, NY 12946
United States
(518) 523-3813
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: November 2010
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lake Placid, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
60 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 03:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 03:00AM
Sat 12:00PM - 03:00AM

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Great Adirondack Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adirondack Loj
2) Blackberry Inn
3) Interlaken Lodge & Restaurant
4) MT Van Hoevenberg B & B
5) South Meadow Farm & Lodge
6) Spruce Lodge Bed & Breakfast
7) Stagecoach Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN ARROW HTL
2) COMFORT INN LAKE PLACID
3) ECONO LODGE LAKE PLACID
4) HILTON LAKE PLACID RESORT
5) LAKE PLACID CLUB LODGE
6) LAKE PLACID LODGE
7) MIRROR LAKE INN
8) RAMADA INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) US Post Office--Lake Placid
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aki Sushi Japanese Restuara
2) Aniello's
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Brown Dog Deli & Wine Bar
5) Caffe Rustica
6) Centerplate
7) Chair 6
8) Downtown Diner
9) Gaddy's
10) Gourmet Village Rstrnt Dlvry
11) Grill 211
12) Handlebar Hideaway
13) Ismeta Upstairs
14) Jack Frost
15) Jubin Browning Bar
16) KANE Restaurant Group
17) Lisa G's
18) Luna Loca
19) Nicola's Restaurant
20) Players Sports Bar
21) Richard's Freeystyle Cuisine
22) Roomers
23) Saranac Sourdough
24) Tyler's Lunch Box
25) Wiseguys Nightclub
26) Zigzags
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
Located just a short walk from the main drag in Lake Placid and is situated in an old church, sort of reminds me of a ski lodge. There is an Irish Pub on the main floor but did not check it out. I went upstairs to the main attraction. It has a nice patio that overlooks Mirror Lake.

They have 6 beers on tap, 4 standards & 2 seasonal. Bartender seemed to know the brews quite well. The food is standard pub grub and the service is pleasant and friendly. Atmosphere is laid back and relaxing.

Nice place to get away from the tourists or skiers depending on the season.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bif Bif, St Peters, MO
(10/28/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is Chris, owner of the Pub. Thanks for taking the time to comment on your experience, although I wish it had been better. I agree with your comments and apologize for both the mistake with the food and the (larger) mistake with how it was handled. Because of your experience, we have changed the policy at the Pub so that in every instance like yours 1)the problem is noted in a book so that any trends can be addressed and 2) the manager on duty will visit the table with the problem to make sure the issue has been resolved to the guests satisfaction. I know it is after-the-fact for you but I wanted you to know that we listen (and read) comments and act to make the Pub better every day. I hope you will revisit us. chris@ubuale.com Chris.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ericson Chris Ericson, Lake Placid, NY
(08/24/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Lousy So So
I'd seen the recent poor review, and had hoped that it was a one-time problem. On our visit, the beers were decent -- the Ubu and Hefe were excellent, the Moose Island decent, the 46er and IPA less hops-forward than I expected, and the Summer Ale nothing to write home about.

The biggest problem was with the service. Rule #1 when there is a mistake with the food is that you make it right. If food has to be sent back, it isn't enough just to replace it -- by the time the replacement food comes out, either everyone else at the table is done, or their food has gotten cold waiting. The kitchen botched my burger and it had to be sent back. By the time another burger came out, my wife and daughter were done eating. No apology was offered. No attempt was made to make things right. Then our water glasses and silverware were taken away before we had the chance to order desert and before the check had come out -- it made it easy to decide not to order anything else.

The food was good. A couple of the beers were good. But not good enough to merit a return visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lake Pleasant, NY
(08/08/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Bill - I am the owner / brewmaster at the LPP&B and I am terribly sorry to hear about your bad food experiene at the Pub. While I will offer no excuse, I want to tell you that 1) as a result of a couple of similar experiences to yours (although not nearly as bad) we have fired our kitchen manager. He only worked for us for three weeks, and unfortunately, this was when you visited us - but he is now gone, and 2) I think that you will find that the vast majority of people have great experiences at the Pub, both with the beer and the food, and I hope you will consider giving us another try when you are in town. You can email me directly at chris@ubuale.com and I would love to buy you dinner as a token of my appreciation. If not, let me treat you to a growler or a 6-pack on me. All restaurants have bad days and make mistakes but I am sorry to hear that your was particularly aggregious. Cheers, Chris Ericson

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ericson Chris Ericson, Lake Placid, NY
(04/19/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy So So Lousy
No problems with the beer.

However, my wife and I got moldy sandwiches, stale, freezer-burned pretzels, tasteless pulled pork and ice cold (reused) fries when we were here. The server was polite and did take the moldy sandwich off of our bill.

I think they are resting on their laurels and while the beer is good the food was excrible. they need to take FOOD 101. I was thinking about filling a growler, but they won't get another dime of my money, thats for sure.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill McIntyre Bill McIntyre, Coxsackie, NY
(04/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The Ubu and 46'er were great beers. The Ubu's style is rare so it was a great treat. The Frostbite Ale is a traditional West Coast IPA and did not dissapoint. Bartender very friendly. Will return when next in the area. Off the beaten path in Lake Placid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(05/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I went to the pub for my 21'st and although I have always been a huge fan of the beer. Anyway if you are coming to lake placid for a ski weekend or a trip during the summer this place is a must stop nothing feels better than getting a taste of that dark beer. the the beer here is the best!!!!!!!

Especially on 2'fers (if you are from lake placid you know what I mean)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Vize James Vize, Lake Placid, NY
(10/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
What a cozy little place. a 2 story building with a nice layout. i stopped in for lunch and had a sampler. ive had the UBU and 46 before and liked them but as always beer is better off the tap. That was not the beer of choice for me. It was the easy to drink and hoppy Frostbite Ale. Needless to say i made sure i had a few more before i left. this place is well worth the stop.

the only negative: i collect pint glasses from pubs and breweries and they were out of most merchandise. there was a big festival in town. you think they would have their merchandise stocked up. ill make it back up for another round of fine beer and hopefully get a glass then.

the server was also friendly.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(03/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Good
Visited 9/3/05. Loved the Frostbite Ale which was geared for the hophead that I am. Food was nothing special. Bartender could not answer any of my "beer geek" questions. Told me she would get the owner to answer them but never did. Atmosphere was OK but seemed to be a bit off. Downstairs bar was closed. Would go here again for the beer which is what it is all about. Would eat elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
But wait, THAT'S NOT ALL!!! Lake Placid won the two overall awards on Saturday at TAP NY, but on the next day of the fest, in separate judging, they also won three awards in the competition for best individual beers in the Hudson Valley and State of New York. I was judging on the State Best of Show panel, and these beers deserved the win, believe me. Congratulations to Chris and the Crew!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Congrats go out to Chris/Matt and the crew at LPPB for garnishing not one, but TWO awards at TAP NY 05!!! The Matthew Vassar cup and the F.X. Matt cup will reside in Lake Placid for the remainder of 2005. Job well done.......beer well done! Joe

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Meloney Joe Meloney, Honeybrook, PA
(04/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Good Great
My family and I went for dinner on February 18th and had about an hour wait for a table. This is no problem, after all it was Friday night on a holiday weekend. The problem arose from the fact that once we were seated, it was almost ten minutes before anyone came to take our order and then almost an hour before the "pub grub" arrived. When it finally did, my daughters was not what she asked for and it was another fifteen minutes before the correct food arrived. The food was average, about what you'd expect from a pub of this type. So much for negativity. The positives GREATLY outweigh this probably rare occurence. There were two distinct positives. First , the quality of the beer. This place makes absolutely OUTSTANDING beer. The Frostbite Ale is to die for. I took a growler back to Jersey for several members of my brew club to try and all agreed it was easily the equal of Sierra Nevada's Celebration or Clipper City's Heavy Seas Winter Storm. The Ubu Ale is also outstanding and the 46er IPA and Olympic Ales are perfect for either a solitary pint or a "session". Their beers are some of the best I've had in a long time. Now for the best part, and the part that leads me to believe the less than perfect experience with the long wait for food not the norm: without any complaint from me, other than questioning the waitress about what was taking so long, when I presented my credit card to pay the tab, it was returned to me with NO BILL and an APOLOGY FROM THE OWNER! I have never had anything like this happen before.If ever there was a testimony to an owner's wishing to please the customer, this was it. Don't go here if you're looking for fine dining, but if you're looking for some of the best beer you've ever had, decent "pub grub", extremely reasonable prices,and a management that obviously takes pride in it's work, by all means don't miss this place!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Based on the 5 criteria used here, this is arguably the best brew pub in the northeast. Not only are the beers and food top notch, they are also reasonably priced. My wife and I visit often, and we have never had even a mediocre experience, much less a bad one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Randy, Saratoga Springs, NY
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Went in July while camping at Saranac. Let me say, I am still dreaming of the High Peaks Hefeweizen. Absolutely the best Hefe I have ever had. The beer selection was better than good but after tasting the Hefe I didn't bother with anything else. It totally rocks. So does the atmosphere. Some of the staff members' enthusiasm was a bit questionable but otherwise, what a great visit to this terrific brew pub. food was very good. Very surprised that they dont even sell a logo baseball cap, rather disappointing. Back to the Hefeweizen...truly unbeleiveable. the memory of its taste will pleasantly haunt me thoughout the winter in anticipation of it's re-release next summer. Something to live for....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marty Brwon Marty Brwon, Alden, NY
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Heya Joe, you're starting to pick up on the local lingo...before ya know it, you'll be thinking of moving year round up here...god knows we could use another beer loving soul!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Davis Rob Davis, Lake Placid, N.
(08/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Hey "Buffalo Bailey"......Get real (as they say at LPPB).Some nice beer is served at this establishment.Yes, the Frostbite Pale Ale is the standout, but Ubu is steady good. The Ectoberfest is a fine lager, and a great Barleywine was poured this winter. As far as food prices,since when is $7.50 expensive for a dinner?? I don't know what your adgenda is, but LPPB is a great brewpub in the north country.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Meloney Joe Meloney, Honeybrook, PA
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Great
Great selection of quality beers. Good food and beer for not much $. Nice atmosphere but the bar staff could use a little more enthusiasm and education on the operations of the brewery. My only complaint, they will not fill growlers, what a shame. I really needed to take back a good beer with me to my vacation cottage.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Bailey Keith Bailey, Buffalo, NY
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A great selection of beer and all the beers are very good. The owner Chris really puts his heart into what he does and it shows. He usually makes a point to go to all the festivals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
2-3 times a year for the last 6 years I have been comming here. Why? It is always great. Never a bad experience. It's a long drive but its worth it. I travel all over trying new brewpubs and micro breweries but I still seem to like to call this "home". Where else can you get a pint of English Strong Ale (UBU) and an order of Bangers and Mash? Matt's Maibock is a must try. Wanna try something new? Get a growler of 46'er, climb (or drive) Whiteface Mountain. Find The large flat rock at the south side of the peak. Sit back, and enjoy the beer and the views and try to find the 46 peaks. (just don't get drunk-its a long way down!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from OTIS B. DRIFTWOOD OTIS B. DRIFTWOOD, NORWAY, NY
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Ah, Herr Heffe, guten morgen! Good to see you here, mein freund, and of course, you're right: NY is smoke-free these days. My mistake. But yes, the locals are good folks, and I like them here and over at Handlebars as well. It ain't always about the beer in the glass, sometimes it's about the bar. Zum wohl!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(05/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Sweet Lew, For additional side reference, New York has of course mandated the "no-smoking" policy for all pubs and bars, so "down-stairs" has now become a bit more user friendly. Hell,they even show re-runs of Blue's Clues, Sesame Street and 1-2-3 Contact all day. I know when I go for a beer, regardless of what I feel like drinking, "dives" that don't offer business to the "local, mega-swill" drinkers and charge too much for what they offer is where I like to park my pub-crawling behind. My response is not an attack of spite on any other establishment, but in defense of the range of expression. You might not like the "ambivance" of downstairs (I don't know if that word would register downstairs in P.J's) and if you don't, then do as the laughing Lew man said, go upstairs. You should not wrong a place for allowing proper stage props for both sides of the beer drinking dicohtomy to perform their individual/group show. Hell, I've been here for 7 years and I'm still registered as an "out-sider" downstairs at P.J's and if I'm not in the mood to "chew the fat" with the "bad" locals then I move upstairs and discuss why Colonel Aureliano Buendía fathered so many children during his exile from Maconda with educated, "good" tourist. I ramble...For anyone who is considering P.J's, they offer two equally "fun" enviroments, and I say, try both. The locals are a bit rough, but they are good at heart and are not as bad as many make them out to be.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Heron Heffe Heron Heffe, Munich, GR
(04/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Some people ream Pubcrawler for "only allowing Awesome," some ream it for all the negative reviews...sheesh, make up your minds. I'd say that if you don't want a smoky, divey bar serving BMCLite with the craft brews...go upstairs. Why shouldn't the guys who like downstairs have the option to stay downstairs? And heck, you're certainly welcome to stick around and do more reviews, but if you don't like Pubcrawler, why not beerfly back to BA, eh?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(04/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I've only ever been in the divey, locals-heavy bar area in the basement, and can't say I'm terribly impressed with the ambience....it always depresses me to go into a place that brews its own beers and see every patron besides myself drinking Bud, Coors, etc. Why do you even have this crap? The beer is pretty good, a bit better IMHO than that of Great Adirondack downtown...but the experience on the whole is lacking I feel. Feel free to ream me out now as I know only "Awesome" reviews are tolerated on PC.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Ubu ale says it all. Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Palmer Bryan Palmer, Glens Falls, NY
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Been so busy with trying to get reopened across the lake that I forgot to congratulate Matt, Kevin and Chris on taking the Matthew Vassar Cup home! Certian brewers at P.J's know that even microbiological life love to hear Garcia rifts and have been shown to produce better beer. Call it cosmic fermentation mixed with "sound" knowledge. By the way, along with Lisa G's, this place has some great wings. Get the hot honey garlic...you will not be dissapointed!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Davis Robert Davis, Lake Placid, NY
(06/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Winner of The Matthew Vassar Cup for Best Brewery in the Hudson Valley at the 2003 Tap New York Festival. Also winner of a Gold Medal for Ubu Ale and a Silver Medal for 46'er IPA at the World Beer Championships. Congrats to my brewery staff for an excellent job! Chris Ericson, owner & brewmaster, The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery and The Lake Placid Craft Brewing Company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Chris Ericson, Lake Placid, NY
(05/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
A quick response to Mike's last posting re: growlers. There is one main reason why we do not refill growlers from other companies. After having many customers bring back growlers which we not properly cleaned after emptying, we decided that we would exchange growlers rather than merely taking them to the tap to refill. So if someone wants a refill, we take their empty and have them select a new one from the cooler. We then wash and sanitize their growler and put it back into circulation knowing that is was properly cleaned and properly filled by someone on our brewery staff. We put every effort into insuring that our beer is the best possible, and potentially putting it into a dirty growler makes all of our efforts in vain. We are not trying to be unfair, although we do follow the law of the state. Please realize, however, that is would be much cheaper for us to simply refill any growler from any brewery, avoiding the packaging and labor costs which we currently incur. We have made a commitment to insure every growler taken from the brewery is at its very best. I am thinking that you, especially with your large collection of growlers, are one of the few who actually clean their growler out correctly. If you are, I can assure you that you are in the minority and I apologize that our policy has detracted from your experience. Thanks for taking the time to comment. Chris Ericson, Owner, The LPP&B

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Ericson Chris Ericson, Lake Placid, NY
(12/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Just another comment on microbreweries and growlers. I've visited several other NYS breweries that willingly refill customer's growlers. Those that follow the letter of the law either provide their label for free or a nominal charge ($0.50). This is a fair approach for those of us who have amassed large collections of growlers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Bergman Mark Bergman, North Creek, NY
(12/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
i love this place. i have a bias being from the area but i find it to be the best place to spend a nice evening. it has a great atmosphere. i do agree the staff can be testy at times, but people who can't stand that have never worked in a restaurant or bar before. UBU is my favorite beer in the US, so if you are in town stop by. Especially on tuesday nights, 2 for 1 pints and crazy times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Devlin Devlin, Cortland, NY
(10/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A Great Great
I got an e-mail from LPP&B owner Chris Ericson today explaining that there is indeed a New York law that growlers must be labeled with the brewery information for the beer they're filled with. I'm still not happy about that, but I'm pissed at the NY ABC, not LPP&B. In fact, I'm pretty impressed that an owner would check Pubcrawler that regularly to see what people were saying about his place. Come to think of it, 4 bucks isn't much for a jug, either, considering I just saw one today at a brewpub in Maryland for $6. $4 may be the lowest price I've seen. So I owe Chris and LPP&B an apology: sorry, guys! Next time I'll buy a jug.

I'll have to start a campaign to stamp out these asinine laws, which are, after all, designed to make sure you know what beer you're getting. If you don't know what beer you're getting when you're going to the brewery yourself and getting it...you're as dumb as a politician.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Visited yesterday. Beer was great, particularly the hefeweizen, and the Ubu did not disappoint. Nachos were good, though a little short on chips: come on, they're the cheap part! I was bummed that when I presented my plain brown growler I was told that they only filled their own growlers. This is an annoyance; don't know if it's state law or an urge to sell $4 glass jugs. I get to Placid once a year, tops: I am not going to buy a growler. I'd be happy to pay to fill one or more of my own.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A N/A
They seem to have a nice selection of brews. I've tried the 46'er IPA, which I thought was kind of weak. I also tried the High Peaks Hefeweizen, which I really enjoyed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike I. Mike I., Jeffersonville, PA
(08/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
A large selection of beers, had the UBU ale and 46er IPA and was impressed with both. The staff is outstanding and the food was good. Just hope to make it up there again, unless the ECAC tourney doesn't come back to Lake Placid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Carpenter Jason Carpenter, Stillwater, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
great atmosphere baretenders are really friendly and the beer is fabulous. I only wish it was closer to home.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Noreen Brackett Noreen Brackett, Saugus, MA
(06/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Good
I have stopped in a few times over the past few weeks and am pleased to see that the Pub and Brew has ventured into Belgian Style beers. The first was a golden the second a belgian dubbel. Unfortantly got stuffed (not exactly a bad thing)with the brewers chicken sandwich (try it cajun style folks! a good time) and couldn't finish all of the dubbel.I thought both beers were great for being first timers! Hope to see these stick around and evolve for awhile. Another thought for people coming to town...If you are around on Tuesdays, check out their two for one deal from 9-?? Best place to be on a Tuesday night regardless of the season. Rob Davis, Great Adk Brewing Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
Excellent brewpub experience. I'm SOOOO tired of hearing the conventional wisdom from people who think they're so damned smart saying it: "You know, a brewpub is really a restaurant that happens to make beer." Not here. LPP&B is about the beer first, the pub atmosphere first, the people first. The food comes second, although it doesn't get slighted in the process. Let me explain. Owner Chris Ericson knows that there are excellent restaurants in Lake Placid (he's right, too, you could get REALLY fat in this town), so he figures trying to beat them or even emulate them is a tough row. Instead, he offers the pub atmosphere and pub menu that many people are looking for, and succeeds in spades. The result is a brewpub that will bring a smile to your face. And that beer is great. From the smooth, strong, malty Ubu to the Britly bitter 46'er IPA and the viciously hoppy seasonal Frostbite pale ale that was on when I visited last week, this is stuff any brewer would be pleased with. And with the big brewery coming online up in Plattsburgh this month, lots more people will get a chance to try it. Good news!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
A really nice place, good brewpub atmosphere. I went there twice: on the first visit, on a quiet Tuesday afternoon, I sat at the bar and had a couple of IPA's (excellent) with a Norman sandwich (also excellent). Stopped back later in the evening, and the bar was populated mainly with locals, which I liked. They had a 2-for-1 special. I had four Ubu ales. A dangerously good beer. Luckily, I was within walking distance of my hotel. I will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Ouderkirk Paul Ouderkirk, Albany, NY
(09/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I wouldn't dream of visiting Lake Placid without making a stop (or two - or three. . .) at the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery. Ubu Ale. Ummmm! And that IPA can't be beat. Actually, all of the beers are excellent, and the Pub couldn't be more comfortable. Bangers-and-mash and shepherd's pie are just icing on the cake. Now, in the spirit of full disclosure, I should mention that LPP&B owner Chris Ericson may have mentioned the possibility of a free pint of Ubu in exchange for my review here. But would I be willing to make the 5 hour drive from my home in Connecticut just to claim this prize if the stuff weren't great? Start drawing that pint, Chris. I'm on my way!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Schwarzchild Michael Schwarzchild, Brookfield, CT
(06/05/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
I have visited quite a few (dozens!) of brewpubs around the country. 2 years ago I was camping in the Adirondacks and decided to go out for a night of civilization. I was lucky enough to come upon the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery. It was an unassuming place, pleasant but not trendy. When the IPA came, I was expecting to like it. Instead, I LOVED it! Since then, the LP version has been the gold standard by which i have judged other brewpubs. When i visited just recently, it was a pleasure to find that my memory had not deceived me. It is a phenomenal ale. I tried the sampler and found every variety to be drinkable; 4 were exceptional. They were;the IPA ,of course, plus the Maibock, the brown Ale and surprisingly, the Ubu. Even the higher alcohol beers were not overpowering. The staff was pleasant but seemed a bit overworked even though the place was not crowded. Maybe the ordering system needs a tune-up? Overall, it is a great place to relax while tasting exceptional interpretations of a variety of beer styles. The great thing about brewpubs are they that all are a bit different, as opposed to your cookie-cutter TGIFs etc. And since we live in a country where we have the freedom to choose- i would like another beer from Lake Placid Pub! Hurry up with the Oatmeal Stout! :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jamie shaw jamie shaw, jackson, NJ
(05/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Just trying to get the bartender's eye is the only drawback. But the beer is worth it!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Schenectady, NY
(10/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I stoped in during the middle of the week and sampled both the "Ectoctober fest" and the "Doctor Fog" stout. The stout was good, but the fest was unbelievable....good job Kevin or Chris?? Who is it? Also had a great bowl of the house soup...great job overall!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Davis, Brewmaster, Adirondack Brewing Co. Robert Davis, Brewmaster, Adirondack Brewing Co., Saranac Lake, NY
(10/04/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery has become a favorite of ours in our visits to Lake Placid. In the past few summers we have seen the place transform from a spot with Great Beer, to one that offers the beer, food, entertainment and overall atmosphere to make a good night a great one. It is evident that the team at the LPP&B is dedicated to making the customer's experience unique, however, as the beer and menu selection continues to evolve, the consistency and quality are not sacrificed. In our 4-5 trips to the folks at the Pub, we have never been let down. Keep up the good work!...It's paying off.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff St. Jeff St., Boston, MA
(05/31/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
When travelling up to Lake Placid in the middle of winter, it was most refreshing to find the Lake PLacid Pub and Brewery. The selection of brews made it easy to find a refreshing beverage. I was fortunate to spend four days in Lake Placid and after visiting the Lake Pacid Pub on the first day I did not bother to try another establishment. The food and the crowd were comfortable and enjoyable. Every hockey tourney we have up there I make sure to stop in and hopefully remember to leave for the games. The Lake Placid Pub and Brewery is an excellent establishment and I would recommend to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Garrett Nannene Garrett Nannene, Brighton, MA
(05/26/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
We love this place and recommend it to any visitors to or residents of Lake Placid. Casual, comfortable, friendly -- a convivial atmosphere to enjoy a brew with others. Near the Olympic facilities, it is a spot where athletes and fans meet for a good time. See you there soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob and Marilyn Lilly Bob and Marilyn Lilly, Newcomb, NY
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I have thoroughly enjoyed my stays in Lake Placid and the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery is always a place to call home. I found the atmosphere to be the best of both worlds...upstairs is more of your typical brewpub atmosphere. The outside deck provides a nice dining experience. The downstairs provides you with the pool table and multiple television screens (great hockey atmosphere!) and gives you the feeling your at your local tavern. The beer itself is great and the ever changing selection keeps me wondering what is next. As for the service, I have no complaints. I have found the waitstaff to be friendly and accomodating. Chris and Chad are both easily accessible and eager to discuss business. Overall I rank this as one of my favorite brewpubs and I have made a commitment to annually attend their fall golf tournament that pays thanks to their patrons. Nice job guys!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Stephen, Stratham, NH
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Althought it has plety of things to boast about, one of the things I like best about the village of Lake Placid is its modest unassuming nature. The Lake Placid Pub and Brewery at PJ O'Niels captures this modest charm.

The bar is homey and feels like a place your cousin or best friend opened up around the corner. The beer selection offers enough variety to make it easy to find the perfect pint for a particular mood or time of the day. The menu doesn't try to do too much and the qulity meals I have enjoyed have provided exactly what this professional pub-crawler needs from a low key, firendly brew pub.The staff has always been more than freindly and by the end of the night I always know my server's and bartender's names (even if I dont remember my own).

I am not sure what else I can say other than 3 CHEERS to the Lake Placid Pub and Brewery!! I even have my name on a mug above the bar - "Box - #19". Feel free to borrow it - for a 25 cent rental fee. See you soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Hanson Bill Hanson, Boston, MA
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I am a huge fan of microbreweries and have frequented several both stateside and worldwide. I am quite shocked by a couple negative comments I have read. I have visited this brewery on two separate occasions, and am proud to call it one of my favorites. The IPA, Leaping Cow, and a special Nuptu-ale were amazing beers to put it mildly. I ordered both dinner and lunch, and was greeted by friendly wait staff. My meals were very good, and I was served promptly. This is an establishment I will return to as often as often as my schedule allows. By the way, does anyone know if I can be put on a beer mailing list? Nice job, Lake Placid. A class act as always. ALB Las Vegas, NV

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Las Vegas, NV
(05/24/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
i am one of the owners of the LPP&B and was horrified to see the review from Mr. smith - i would love to have an opportunity to make things right - as you can see from the other comments, the majority of people do not feel the same way nor have they have similar experiences. please call me at the brewery 518-523-3813 and ask for chris

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from christopher ericson christopher ericson, lake placid, NY
(05/23/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy Lousy
This has to be one of the worst Brewpubs that I have ever been to. The service was horrible, the staff was rude and treated us like we weren't even human, and the beer was just average to below average (I have had much better at almost every other Brewpub that I have been to). I will definitely avoid it in the future when I am in Lake Placid, which will not be too hard since the Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Co. is there, which is where I will go instead.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason A. Smith Jason A. Smith, Troy, NY
(03/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Ubu Ale(strong)and ESB were great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(07/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Lousy So So
My wife and I went in twice to eat and both times the kitchen was closed. Since I brew at home, my wife insisted we stay long enough for me to sample a pint. The last time we went the bartender was not the least bit hospitable or helpful. Borderline rude. The place was not at all busy, either. This is not good for L.P. under any circumstances. I'll take common courtesy over good beer any day.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Saranac Lake, NY
(04/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The atmosphere was festive, the staff was friendly...a great stop during the ecac hockey trail. GO KNIGHTS!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Alexandria Bay, NY
(03/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Good Good
I reviewed this pub a while ago, and drew some comments from a gentleman who thought my review was "contrived." Please allow me to embellish: the pub itself is beautiful, and boasts one the better brewpub atmospheres I've seen anywhere; the beers (which were judged my a Beer Judge Certification Program judge, and award winning brewer who was with us)were good, but not great. They were, however, better than any "commercial" beers you generally find on tap. I've been there previously when they were better; perhaps they'll be better too when we visit again. The real problem--and it may unfortunately have been attributable to one or two staffpeople--was the food. It honestly took a long time (over 40 minutes) to get to us... I ordered a steak "medium" and sent it back because it arrived well done; and when it came out the second time, it was just plain burnt. However, I'll go back because of the great atmosphere and better than average beers. I'm a huge supporter of micros and brewpubs, and certainly don't want my opinion, based on one negative experience, to dissuade anyone from visiting an otherwise excellent establishment. The other micro in town, in my opinion, produces better beers; however, you may disagree... be a sport and support both of them while in Lake Placid!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Frzer Pete Frzer, Gananoque, ON
(02/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I am one of the owners of the Great Adirondack Steak & Seafood Co., and I must say that I find this kind of review totally unfair. It is not fair to The Lake Placid Pub & Brewery, and looks rather contrived. If some one wants to review us, fine...we should all stand on our own merits, if anyone gets a negative review-it should be rec'd as constructive criticism-a guide to solving problems they may have. Every one in this business works hard! We don't compare ourselves to others, we try to be the best at what we are, I am sure the Lake Placid Pub & Brewery strives to be the best also.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Kane Fred Kane, Lake Placid, NY
(02/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Good So So
I've been to the Lake Placid Pub and Brewery a few times now; last time we went, the food was absolutely lousy! (Burnt... and they looked at me like I had 3 heads when I wanted to return it.) The beer is fair at most... although 4 or 5 were on tap, they tasted as though they were all made with the same malt and hops, with only minor changes in each...BUT! We went down to the main drag in Lake Placid and were bowled over by the Great Adirondack Brewing Co... absolutely FIRST RATE beers! Nearly as good as the Vermont Pub and Brewery in Burlington!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Frazer Pete Frazer, Gananoque, ON
(01/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The UBU is awesome...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Busteed John Busteed, Baltimore, MD
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
I had heard so many good things about the beer that I had to make the trip up. I was not disappointed! I've been fortunate enough to have tried countless beers and I brew a few of my own, and I've got to say that their beer is among the very best I've ever had! I was told that Chris & Chad plan on expanding their offerings. I hope somebody tells me when they do so I can go back & sample. This time I'll get a room!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Davidson Rick Davidson, Glens Falls, NY
(11/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A fine brewing establishment. Well worth the trip from anywhere!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harold Sperazza Harold Sperazza, Albany, NY
(01/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Very friendly. Owner has great pride in what he has accomplished. Nice outdoor deck. TWO bars. The IPA was worth having -- two with dinner, two afterwards.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Whalen Bill Whalen, Dayton, OH
(10/31/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.618 seconds) 09:16:01 54.91.16.49, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS