PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Pizza Port / Solana Beach Brewery - Solana Beach, CA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 24, 2014 @ 06:21 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > CA > Solana Beach > Pizza Port / Solana Beach Brewery
Pizza Port / Solana Beach Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Pizza Port / Solana Beach Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.5 / 100
135 North Highway 101
Solana Beach, CA 92075
United States
(858) 481-7332
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Solana Beach, CA
Beer Guide for California

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Pizza Port / Solana Beach Brewery
26 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company was Stuft Pizza
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Cardiff By the Sea Lodge B & B
2) Leucadia Inn By the Sea
3) Seabreeze Bed & Breakfast Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN ENCINITAS INN SUI
2) BEST WESTERN STRATFORD INN
3) CLARION CRGH DEL MAR INN
4) COUNTRY INN CARDIFF
5) COURTYARD MARRIOTT SOLANA BCH
6) DAYS INN ENCINITAS
7) DEL MAR MOTEL ON THE BEACH
8) DOUBLETREE DEL MAR
9) ECONO LODGE ENCINTAS
10) HAMPTON INN DEL MAR
11) HILTON SAN DIEGO DEL MAR
12) HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS & SUITES
13) HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS ENCINITAS
14) L'AUBERGE DEL MAR RESORT & SPA
15) MARRIOTT SAN DIEGO DEL MAR
16) MORGAN RUN RESORT & CLUB
17) PORTOFINO BEACH INN
18) RAMADA INN & SUITES CARLSBAD
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Baker, Pearl, Row House
2) Clotfelter, Reginald M. and Constance, Row House
3) Fleming, Guy and Margaret, House
4) Olivenhain Town Meeting Hall
5) Rancho Santa Fe Land and Improvement Company Office
6) Rice, Lilian Jenette, House
7) Shaffer, Charles A., House
8) Terwilliger, Claude and Florence, House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Annie's Cornucopia
2) Axis Restaurant
3) Bangkok Bay Thai Restaurant
4) Baskin-Robbins
5) Beach City Burrito
6) Beach Grass Cafe
7) Beach House Restaurant
8) Bellisario's Pizza
9) Belly Up Tavern
10) Besta Wan Pizza House
11) Board & Brew
12) Bongiorno's New York Pizzeria
13) Brigantine Seafood Restaurant
14) Burger King
15) Cafe Europa
16) Cafe Secret
17) Caffe Del Mar
18) California Pizza Kitchen
19) Carl's Jr Restaurant
20) Charlie's By The Sea
21) Chart House Restaurant
22) Chart House Restaurant
23) Chevys Fresh Mex Restaurant
24) Chiefs Burgers & Brew
25) Coffee Bean & Tea Leaf
26) Cold Stone Creamery
27) D J's Cafe
28) Del Mar Bagel Cafe
29) Del Mar Pizza
30) Del Mar Rendezvous
31) Denny's
32) Don Chuy Restaurant
33) Durante's Bar & Cafe
34) Durantes Sprots Restaurant
35) Fidel's
36) Fish Market Restaurant
37) Golden Bowl Restaurant
38) Hide A Way Cafe
39) Islands
40) Java Kai Del Mar
41) Jay's Gourmet By The Sea
42) Ki's Restaurant
43) King's Garden
44) Koo Koo Roo
45) Las Olas Mexican Restaurant
46) Little Voice Within
47) Masuo's Restaurant
48) Mc Donald's
49) Mediterranea Bar & Grill
50) Miltons Delicatessen Grill
51) Mobile Waiter
52) Mobile Water
53) Nobu Gourmet
54) One World Enterprises
55) Pacific Coast Grill
56) Pamplemousse
57) Panda Express
58) Pannikin Coffee & Tea
59) Papa Murphy's Take 'n' Bake
60) Papachino's Ristorante
61) Parioli Bistro
62) Pasta Pronto
63) Pasta Pronto
64) Pick Up Stix Del Mar
65) Pipes Cafe
66) Pizza Hut
67) Pizza Nova
68) Pizza Port
69) Planet Smoothie
70) Portillo's
71) Premier Food Svc
72) Ranch Deli & Pizza Offices
73) Red Tracton's Restaurant
74) Roberto's Mexican Food
75) Round Table Pizza
76) Rubio's Restaurants Inc
77) Sam's Pizza
78) Sam's Place
79) Sam's Ship A'hoy
80) Samurai Restaurant
81) San Simeon Mexican Food
82) Scalini Restaurant
83) Shake & Roll Cafe
84) Solana Beach Brewery
85) Solana Beach Coffee Co
86) Solana Beach Fish House
87) Song Gang Inc
88) Station Sushi
89) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
90) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
91) T's Cafe
92) Taste Of Thai
93) Thai Kitchen
94) Thai Thai Cafe
95) Tidewater Tavern
96) Togo's Eatery
97) Tony Roma's
98) Tony's Jacal
99) Torrey Point Inc
100) Trains At Victoria Station
101) Trattoria Positano
102) Wild Note Cafe
103) Xtra Mile
104) Zinc Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Good Great
Lunch time, nothing better than Pizza Port. They always have an interesting selection, with plenty of guest beers if you do not like what they have on tap. Since it was Thanskgiving, the had "Santa's Little Helper", a beer that will knock you on your butt, but is delicious Their IPAs are always excellent. A picture of their tap beer selection at this time was uploaded.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom tom , las cruces, NM
(04/23/2013)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Pizza Port is, without question, one of the best brewpubs in the United States. How do they garner such an accolade you ask? The answer is simple: they have discovered and, indeed, perfected a formula that has eluded the owners of so many American brewpubs. First and, indeed, most important, they make exemplary beer. Anyone who has tasted the Swami IPA or Lou P. Lin Imperial IPA can tell that the brewers do not skimp on ingredients when they craft their product. Sure, it may cost more to fashion these high IBU brews, but they brew them anyway. Maybe I am in the minority on this one, but I am not averse to paying six dollars or more for a pint if I know the brewer has gone through the extra expense to put out a high quality product. So often it seems brewpub owners focus solely on the bottom line, insulting my taste buds with watered-down products. If only all establishments gave their customers some credit and attempted to furnish them with quality beer like the Pizza Port does. Second, they are not bogged down with their food menu. If only more brewpubs would pick one item (i.e. pizza) and make it well instead of trying to one-up each other with their recipes for the perfect spinach-artichoke dip brewpub dining would be a much more fufilling experience. Save the rest for T.G.I.Fridays and Applebees and choose an item that accents your beers. Serve it on paper plates off of picnic tables in a convivial atmosphere and presto! Magic! It seems simple, right? Why has the Pizza Port been the only one to figure it out, then? I guess I will have to continue travelling the 3000 miles to get it. And yes, it is well worth it, friends, well worth it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(05/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good N/A Great
Excellent selection of about 12-20 brews on tap. Pizzaport Sharkbite Ale is a favourite of this funky beach pizza joint. Other notables from Pizzaport are the Ponto Pale, a marvelous Nut Brown and a great oatmeal stout. Always have featured brews on tap from Stone, Lagunita, Anderson Valley, Rogue, etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lars Trupe Lars Trupe, Cardiff by the Sea, CA
(02/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I had the pleasure of trying some of the beers at the GABF, so when the opportunity to visit the brewery in person came up I couldn't wait. And neither the beer nor the pizza disappointed at all. I opted for the sampler, which was 5 beers of your choice including the guest beers if you so chose. I am a confirmed Hop Head, so I opted for the hoppier offerings sticking soley with Pizza Port beer. Mine included the Ponto Pale Ale, Swami's IPA, SharkBitten, and Pipes IPA. I enjoyed them all, but by far my favorites were the SharkBitten, a Double Imperial Red, and Pipes IPA, a nitrogen pushed IPA. It's impossible to pick a favorite and in my opinion you can't go wrong with what ever Tommy is offering on tap. While there, he was brewing Hop 15, an IPA with 15 varieties of hops. So I'll be going back especially for that one.

The pizza does not take a back seat to the beer either. It was quite the enjoyable experience.

The bartenders are friendly and will do their best to suggest beer selections based on your tastes.

I will definitely be back and would recommend this place to anyone looking for good beer and good pizza.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Short Doug Short, Indian Springs, OH
(03/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I visited Pizza Port during a business trip to San Diego. Took a drive down 101 and ran across this place. Great selection of on premise taps and good selection of beers from other breweries. I tried the Cardiff Cream Ale, the Dawn Patrol Dark, the Old Boneyard Barletwine, the SPF8 Belgian and the Swami IPA. They were all good but the Swami and the Barleywine were the very best. Very Hoppy and well balanced. The Cream Ale was very good also. The GM allowed me the tap a new keg of Scotch Ale from another brewery which was true to style and very tasty. I spoke to the brewer and the GM who were both personable and very eager to discuss the beer and the area. The Pizza (all they serve)was out of this world and the service was quick and very friendly. Highly recommend. I will visit again whenever I am in the area. They operate three brewpuns in CA. I look forward to them coming out east.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Indianapolis, IN
(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Generally have at least five of their own brews as well as fifteen other craft brews from around California on tap at any time. Rustic informal ambiance at large picnic tables.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom McElhiney Tom McElhiney, Arvada, CO
(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Great So So Good
been going here for years in search of the elusive cuvee to no avail,i think its a myth. The other beers are not balanced and have off flavors.Overall the pizza is good as well as the guest beers, but for great world class beers that are actually on tap all the time go to the carlsbad location. Wipeout,Frank, Bombshell, Ice bock plus about ten other selections make carlsbad the place to go. I will say this place is better than oggis though,just my two cents.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review carlsbad, CA
(05/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Along with the Pizza Port in Carlsbad, I make it up here too. I stopped for lunch and tried several of the IPA's and seasonal, all were excellent. And they do like hops. Great selection of in house brew and a pretty good selection of guest beers too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(01/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great Beer and very good Pizza. Try the salami and Cilantro pizza sounds bad tastes great. The service is surfer service which means that service is mello and there is a fare chance someone will call you dude.

I love this place and they play great surf video's

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christopher Christopher, San Diego, CA
(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I tend to spend lots of time here....for obvious reasons!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Wil Wil, San Diego, CA
(11/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Pizza Port in Carlsbad is the best! The pizza is great, and the beers are even better! The atmosphere is very comfortable and fun. The employees, and even the owner are very friendly, and give great service. The best place to go in San Diego County!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ethan Ethan, Dana Point, CA
(08/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Good Great
The other brewers in the San Diego area say this place is the best. Unusual format, picnic tables in an informal surfer joint. Ten guest taps. House beers included Abbey, Honey ale, pale ale, red, pale bock, trippel, and nitrogen-charged imperial porter. The pale ale was very good, a little hoppy even for the west coast. The porter was great, not as robust as an imperial stout but excellent for this unique style. Give this place credit for eclectic beer styles done with high quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roach Roach, Plano, TX
(01/30/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Since moving to CA. from Ohio, I have been looking for a good pizza. It took a year, but I found it here. Really good.

What's better? The beer. Some of the best I have ever had. Nothing else comes close in the San Diego area (or Los Angeles for that matter). If your in the area - you have to stop!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Donnal Greg Donnal, Pasadena, CA
(01/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The beer, especially the Stout, was very good. The pizza was also very good and well priced. Nice outside seating to watch the action go by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(06/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Simply put, this is one of the best brewpubs, in terms of beer quality, that I have ever visited. Every house beer that I tried, which totaled seven, was great. The best were the California Honey and the Ale Nino, which were both near perfection. The others- Sharkbite Red, Restoration Ale, Swams IPA, Blarney Stones Ale, and Golden Ale, were all very good as well.

The atmosphere is quite unusual. When you walk inside, the idea of this being a brewpub is the last thing on your mind. You order your pizza at the window, then turn to the window on the right and order your beer. Then, you sit at one of the indoor picnic tables and wait for your name to be called, to pick up your pizza order. You can then watch a little TV on the big screen and then finish the visit by playing a video game.

If you are in the southern California area, try to go out of your way to visit this brewpub and taste these outstanding beers. And while your at it, try to talk the owners into bottling this beer, and ask them to ship some to Ohio. I could drink this every day! It really is that good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Carey Bryan Carey, Kettering, OH
(03/30/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
What a place! Definitely a hole in the wall, but well worth the stop. This was some of the best micro brewed beer I have had in some time. For such a small place they had about eight different brews on tap. The imperial stout was excellent, as were the brown ale and IPA. I also sampled the barley wine. WOw what a place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(01/03/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
This is some of the best beer anywhere! The selection and quality are second to none. This is not a fancy restraunt. It is a self serve pizza place, but the Pies are excellent, and the beer!!! I will rate the Beer Quality and selection as one of the top in the country. There is also a sister restraunt 10 miles north in Carlsbad. It was also great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph Baran Joseph Baran, Windham, CT
(11/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Good Great
A place full of character, and full of tasty beers - both Pizza Port's, and a rotating selection of "guest beers". Worth the trip up the coast...//TSB

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bis Bis, San Diego, CA
(10/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was at Pizza Port/SBB last week for the first time in almost two years, and must upgrade my prior rating. Although I loved it before, I really think the beer quality has moved up a level. The beer couldn't be better, and absolutely blows away every other SD brewpub (the BP on Coronado was really good two years, ago, though). IPA was dynamite. Anyway, if you don't like it, they have about 10 guest beers. The menu is quite limited (PIZZA!) but it's great pizza. Don't miss this if you're in the SD area. (Note to you out-of-towners: at any time traffic is light, it only should take about a half hour to get here from downtown SD. Have the spouse drop you here on the way to LegoLand and pick you up (literally) on the way back.)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moondoggie Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(03/26/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
Oh to live in Solana beach and have this place as my hometown hangout! Need beer? No need to go to a store for a sixer, just walk to Pizza Port for a jug o' stout. As it is, I look forward to my weekly 15 minute drive to Pizza Port, as with one foot in their door and I immediately feel at home with all the good that living in the San Diego area has to offer. Picnic tables *inside*, surf videos on the bigscreen, loud rockin tunes blasting, little kids runnin around with pizza hangin out their mouth, killer stout on tap, simply my favorite place to be while in San Diego.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, San Diego, CA
(01/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Great
The strangest atmosphere you will ever see. A take out pizza joint with a couple of picnic tables. The beer however is world class!!! They consistently win at the GABF, and have two-three wonderful beers on tap. Wearing a clean Tshirt and shorts is overdressing for this joint, go get in a kickback mood, enjoy some beer and pizza and have some fun!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(12/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Great Great
You don't really go here for the beer, although it's not bad (tastes a little like it needs more aging), more for the overall experience. Sit at picnic tables out front and watch SoCal life drive by, or inside for great surf videos.

Awesome beer crust pizza!

Note: Moondoggie reviews are comparative based on visiting approx. 100 brewpubs in 20 states and four countries.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Moondoggie Moondoggie, Ogden Dunes, IN
(08/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Solana Beach Brewery..also known as Pizza Port Solana Beach. Beer selection is respectable. Pizza is the best, sustained me during college. Shark Bite Red Ale sustained me after finals. Order a batch of beer buddies while you listen to Metallica on the juke box and watch surf and skate flicks on the big screen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Solana Beach, CA
(06/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amie Ortman Amie Ortman, San Diego, CA
(05/19/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Good Great
Interesting place right on the main drag. They didn't spend much on overhead, as the place is a bit dumpy. Order at the counter, then have a seat at a picnic bench until your pizza is ready. Pretty good pizza, though. Eight of their own beers on tap, plus another eight or ten guests - I tried three. The Pale was delicious, the stout respectable. In the unique category goes "Ale Nino," which tasted better before the pale ale than after. The best way to describe it is an amber steam. I would go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Arlington, VA
(04/15/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.284 seconds) 18:21:36 54.196.194.204, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS