PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Amherst Brewing Company - Amherst, MA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 15, 2014 @ 08:06 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MA > Amherst > Amherst Brewing Company
Amherst Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Amherst Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 75.2 / 100
33 North Pleasant Street
Amherst, MA 01002
United States
(413) 253-4400
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: October 2001
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Amherst, MA
Beer Guide for Massachusetts

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
34 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Old Amherst Ale House
(0 mile)

2) Spoke
(0 mile)

3) Cerveceria Centro Americana S.A.
(0 mile)

4) Moan and Dove
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Allen House Victorian Inn
2) Amity House
3) Black Walnut Inn
4) Delta Organic Farm-B & B & Ctr
5) Emily's Amherst B & B
6) Ingate Farms Stables
7) Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
8) Parsonage Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) UNIVERSITY LODGE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Amherst West Cemetery
2) Conkey-Stevens House
3) Dickinson, Emily, House
4) Goodwin Memorial African Methodist Episcopal Zion Church
5) Pelham Town Hall Historic District
6) Pelham Town Hall Historic District
7) Strong House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Amber Waves Far East
2) Amherst Chinese Foods
3) Amherst Crepes
4) Amherst Restaurant Enterprises
5) Andiamo
6) Anita's Bakery & Restaurant
7) Athena's Pizza
8) Barsie's
9) Ben & Jerry's
10) Black Sheep Deli
11) Charlie's
12) Chezalbert
13) Chicago Pizza
14) Fatzo's
15) J & L Caterers Inc
16) J & L Caters At Hickory Ridge
17) Java Hut
18) Karen's Kitchen
19) Lone Wolf
20) Loose Goose Cafe
21) Mc Murphy's Uptown Tavern
22) Michael's Billiards & Sports
23) Monkey Catering
24) Nancy Jane's All Occasions
25) Pengyew Catering
26) Pirmo Pizzeria Too
27) Portabella Catering
28) Russell Hall T Pub
29) Starbucks
30) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
31) Thirsty Mind Coffee House
32) University Catering
33) Via Via Cafe Of Amherst
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Beer quality very good. IPA tasty, especially for an East Coast place. The ESB was good, but lacked malt. The Imperial Stout was the best beer of the taster--a bit "small" but full of roasty chocolate malt flavors with a nice hop balance. Only bad beer was the Pilsner which was a bit phenolic.

Food and Service were wonderful. Some of the best Fish and Chips I've had.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Aitchison John Aitchison, Northridge, CA
(10/20/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Bison burger was excellent! The IPA was good - nothing outstanding, but nothing offensive either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from chris chris, philadelphia, PA
(03/02/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
Popular place! Nice, hoppy IPA, good Pale Ale and ESB. Only had appetizers, but they were good. Friendly server who knew the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from eve the great eve the great, oak park, IL
(11/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy N/A N/A N/A N/A
After my initial post, I see someone way back in 1998 said they were "glad they got rid of the bleach smell". So this is a long-term problem with their beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Walpole, NH
(07/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good So So So So Lousy
Sunday 7/8/07 After the first one smelled and tasted like chlorine, I foolishly tried another one and it was just as bad. They may of just had a bad day cleaning tanks or equipment, but that means they don't check their own beer.

We all make mistakes, but there is a level of safety and quality that really needs to be maintained when you are serving things for human consumption.

I will never go back there. Now, if you want some great beer and a great atmosphere, head over to the Northampton Brewery.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Walpole, NH
(07/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
You must be a real joy to serve in a restaurant. Instead of politely speaking up to the "pleasant but not friendly" bartender and asking to be topped off, you tip her poorly with no explanation why and write off a local brewpub? Bravo!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Bryan, MV, MA
(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good So So
My buddy and I checked this place out last Sunday (March 18th), for a future pub crawl. As I was under a time constraint, we could only stay for one. The bartender, a cute and demure student type, was pleasant but not really friendly. We both had Porters, and we both got plenty of head on them. The beer was good, but not exceptional. What really bothers me about them (or any brewpub) not serving a proper pint is that it costs them a dime or less to fill the glass, at the same time that they're charging us $3.50 to $5.00 (theirs was $3.75). In this case, we weren't sure if it was house policy or just a lazy bartender, but we noticed that people she knew (other students?) got full glasses of the Porters and Stouts. In any case, her tip immediately went from $1 a pint to $0.25 a pint, which I figured made up for the amount of beer we were denied. Since Amherst is a jog off the I-91 corridor, where most of the brewpubs and beer bars we're planning to visit reside, it won't be a hardship to bypass it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Kilminster Jim Kilminster, Pittsfield, MA
(03/25/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
I don't know what this person is talking about with a typical menu selection. They seemed to have a bit of everything on it. Egg rolls, pizza, burgers, a few german dishes, lots of vegetarian crap, mainly american food(as it should for a american brewpub). I had already eaten so I just had potato skins. They weren't too bad, typical potato skins. You get plenty of them and it was under $5. As for the beer, they had 7 or 8 homebrews on tap. One cask and a cider (not sure it was brewed there but I've enver heard of it before). I first had the brown ale on cask. I was actually quite disappointed with this beer for being on cask. It had a medium body with little taste. A few degrees too warm to my cask liking as well. But, because they even had a cask conditioned beer there, the place gets an A in my book. Next, I had the IPA, it had a nice medium body with a really flowery hop finish. My friend thought it tasted like weed buds. Almost a perfect IPA for my liking. My friend for the cider, and as far as ciders go, it was very good. It almost looked like water but had a lot of taste for a cider. I also had the anniversary ale which was a strong ale, my taste buds were shot by then but it was pretty good. I would definitely go there again. Good beer, good food. The bar had several fruit flies flying around which kinda turned me off, but the good beer compensates for it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, East Longmeadow, MA
(12/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
It's a shame that one sour puss who is bitter about not being allowed to be a creepy stalker at the ABC would reduce himself to slander on the internet because the brewery frowns on ANYONE acting innapropriately in the establishment. I go to the ABC to avoid the meat markets and townie bars that pepper downtown Amherst...a reason that most of the regulars come, not to mention the beer and the atmosphere. The staff is generally friendly and the service is mostly prompt, save the times when the bar is really busy, which anyone with any common sense and eyes could understand. As for the Femi-nazi thing, Amherst is a progressive town, and women here should not be expected to be pushovers or simps that cater to the gender stereotypes that most would expect. The women at the ABC are, to my knowledge, strong, educated, stand-up women who won't put up with anyone pandering to their feminine side...esprecially at the bar. The food is creative pub fare and is all prepared in house...no microwaved veggies, re-heated fries, and flat burgers. I enjoy checking out the specials every time I go by, which is often. For all of ya'll out there who read this, don't believe the bitterness...unless you're talking about the IPA or the ESB. VIVA LA ABC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jenna Jenna, Granby, MA
(08/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy So So
Amherst Brewing Company is the perfect example of what is wrong with Amherst. If one wants Amherst Entertainment, they have the choice of a bunch of college bars with plastic cups full of Bud, or a seemingly nice establishment with a fair micro-brew selection and terrible food to back it up.

Not much of a choice and the staff knows that you really have nowhere else to go, so expect service to be based on your your general attractiveness and your patience. If you are the type that tips well and expects better service because of this, save your pennies: Everybody gets treated equally badly.

The menu is typical American: Burgers and appetizers so that you really don't have to look at a menu at all: You know the drill. The one claim to fame is a buffalo burger, but this is not the same game dinner you get out west. Here, it is basically a dried-up patty of beef.

Guys, whatever you do, do not try to be even the little bit friendly to the waitresses upstairs. They are a femme-nazi bunch that will ban you as soon as look at you. I saw one poor photographer get banned permanently from the place merely for pointing a camera at some girl playing pool. never mind that he asked for and got permission to take the photograph, any sort of male-to-female interest is firmly discouraged. Female-to-female interest is OK.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Blank Slate The Blank Slate, Amherst, MA
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cheryl cheryl, west suffield, CT
(11/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Cascade IPA was very good with the ESB a nice well-balanced brew. Smoked Porter? I truthfully couldn't catch the "smoked" part. It wasn't bad, though. Massatucky Brown on cask nothing very special.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/24/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
wake me when it's over. this "brew house" is as generic in atmosphere as its beer is in taste. amherst is a cool little town though, and this place has a great location. only the selection of home brews was watery and blah.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jess Jess, new haven, CT
(07/21/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good N/A Great So So
There are a number of phrases that I would rather not hear when entering a brewpub: "We're Closed" is probably the worst followed closely by "We're out of the I.P.A." Well, we were presented by the second during our visit to the Amherst Brewing Company, but, being intrepid beer lovers, we decided to stay despite the initial blow. I ordered up a six beer sampler paddle and went to work. Unfortunately, all of the samples seemed relatively "thin" and with very little flavor to speak of. The one redeeming choice came in the form of a Heather Ale that was recommended by our server. A light and refreshing summer brew with a subtle floral finish reminiscent of chamomile tea. I only wish I just went with the pint and not bothered with the rest, but I wanted to give them all a day in court. Mildly disappointing, I must admit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kirk Struble Kirk Struble, New York, NY
(07/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Great
Nice looking place inside and out with a relatively large horseshoe-shaped bar on the first floor where seats were readily available. Saturday being the first “summer-like” day in NE though most people were sitting outside – not only at ABC but throughout this nice college town. How I got a parking spot out front I’ll never know!

I knew nothing about this place so I had no clue as to their beer quality. I ordered the sampler platter, being only afforded six at first as there was nine beers on tap (there always has to be “rules” it seems). The North Pleasant Pale Ale and the Honey Pilsner both had an antiseptic nose, which seemed to be from the glassware not being properly cleaned or rinsed. Once I got by that I was able to detect some nice floral notes with the usual Cascade Hops coming through in the Pale. The taste was full-bodied and all hops. The Pilsner was a very good example of the style and was clean from start to finish.

The Cascade IPA was a great Sierra Nevada clone but not as hoppy. The ESB I have no clue other than it tasted like a weak Schwartzbier or Alt. The Incinerator I was told was a Bock but the jury is still out. The Porter is a gold-medal winner in my book with coffee and chocolate fighting to be number one alternating between sips. I am not a big fan of porters, but this is one of the best I’ve had.

I had the misfortune of being there at shift change, and the B-Platoon had to let everyone know they were on the job. I had the beer menu taken from me three times, as well as the full menu, my credit card, the local paper, my notes – you name it. I must have been asked, “Can I ring this up?” a dozen times before I finally got tired of it and left. Maybe it was the, “40-something guy doesn’t belong in a college town bar,” syndrome. Good grief. I was having a nice day of it until Hurricane Hospitality and Tourism Management blew through. Next time I’ll use the drive through.

All of that said, this place has some great beer. Next time I’ll wear my baseball cap on backwards and maybe I’ll blend in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(04/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Nice brewpub on the main street of this busy college town. It's kind of dark, almost dungeon-esque, but comfortable nonetheless. A good assortment of selections on tap, variety of style for all tastes. Was impressed with the ESB on cask. It seemed to be fresh and was very tasty. Server vcery helpful with a few tastes to help me decide on a pint. A good stop in the area--dont forget the Spirit Haus for your carry out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Probably the best I have ever been to. This place is the "Cadillac" of brewery's. The beer selections are awesome, and the place itself is spotless. Mike is a very knowledgeable brewer, and he will take the time to answer your questions and explain the beers to you. They add a lot of perks to the mug club members, which I am proud to belong. In my opinion, this place is second to none. Fantastic food choices, as well, and the prices and the portions are very, very reasonable. If you get the chance, don't pass this place by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Nicholas Dick Nicholas, Dalton, MA
(04/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lee, MA
(03/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!
When it first opened, it was a very average brew pub, however in late 2001 or 2002, they recruited a brew master who worked at the legendary brew pub, McNeil's in Brattleboro, VT. He's really improved the quality, especially the IPA, which may be their best beer. A fine establishment, and a must visit if you are ever visiting Amherst.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Northampton, MA
(12/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
An overall EXCELLENT place to eat AND drink. A magical stout, and a crisp IPA are just the regular fare, with multiple seasonals each month. The best food in Amherst as well, without a doubt, and ask for "Tits" the cook to make you something special... Recently added a rugged game room (pool, darts, table tennis) upstairs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Pat, Boston, MA
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Lousy Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Anderson John Anderson, Longmeadow, MA
(06/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Wow, just a neat place. A fine selection of beers / ales (try the Scotch Ale or the Red Ale). Seamus in the kitchen made a fabulous cheese steak with his own secret recipe, AND the have a outstanding entertainment line-up. I wish I lived four hours closer! GN

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(11/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Great N/A Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(11/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I'm recommending this place for our monthly meeting of a Heart Healthy group. The menu offers a number of good choices for those of us who are "low Fatters." I enjoyed the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gareth Lynch Gareth Lynch, Westfield, MA
(10/25/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
we eat here alot and its always excellent. They have a great esb and the best chili

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Belchertown, MA
(09/20/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.451 seconds) 20:06:30 54.167.96.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS