PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


O'Callagh was Original Saratoga Springs Brewery - Saratoga Springs, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 08:54 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Saratoga Springs > O'Callagh was Original Saratoga Springs Brewery
O'Callagh was Original Saratoga Springs Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
O'Callagh was Original Saratoga Springs Brewery
Overall: Good    Score: 68.7 / 100
14 Phila Street
Saratoga Springs, NY 12866
United States
(518) 583-3209
Listed Since: September 1997
Last Updated: November 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Saratoga Springs, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
29 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Parting Glass
(0 mile)

2) Olde Saratoga Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adelphi Hotel
2) Batcheller Mansion Inn
3) Brown's Beach
4) Brunswick Bed & Breakfast
5) Chestnut Tree Inn
6) Circular Manor
7) Geyser Lodge
8) Harren Brook Inn
9) Hilton
10) Kimberly Guest House
11) May West Inn
12) Saratoga Arms
13) Saratoga Bed & Breakfast
14) Saratoga Sleigh A Victorian
15) Six Sisters Bed & Breakfast
16) Union Gables
17) Westchester House Bed & Brkfst
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) HLTN GRDN INN SARATOGA SPRINGS
2) PRIME HOTEL SARATOGA SPRINGS
3) SUPER 8 SARATOGA SPNGS NY
4) THE INN AT SARATOGA SPRINGS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Drinkhall, The
2) Pure Oil Gas Station
3) Todd, Hiram Charles, House
4) US Post Office--Saratoga Springs
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 9 Maple Ave
2) Adirondack BBQ Co
3) Annie's Gourmet Ice Cream
4) Arby's
5) Artisan Restaurant
6) Bayshore's Tropic Hut
7) Beekman Street Bistro
8) Ben & Jerry's
9) Black Diamond Caterers
10) Bruno's
11) Bullpen
12) Burger King
13) Burt's Burgers & More
14) Cajun Cafe & Grill
15) Caputo's Pizzeria
16) Chameleon
17) Chariots
18) Clancy's Tavern
19) Club Caroline
20) Country Corner Cafe
21) Creative Caterers
22) D'Andrea's Pizza
23) Dairy Haus
24) Dairy Queen
25) Denny's
26) Desperate Annie's
27) Dine Restaurant
28) Doc's Steakhouse
29) Eugenio's Cafe Gelato
30) Farmers Daughters Drive-In
31) Forno Tuscano
32) Friendly Ice Cream Corp
33) Friendly's
34) Giacones Pizza Deli Market
35) Giavano's
36) Glow Mist-On Tanning
37) Hall Of Springs
38) Havanna's
39) Haweli Fine Indian Cuisine
40) Hibachi Japanese Restaurant
41) Higher Grounds Cafe
42) Humpty Dumpty
43) Joe Collins Restaurant
44) Just Country Inc
45) Justin's At The Metro
46) Kings Tavern
47) Kountry Kettle
48) Legends Cafe
49) Lily & The Rose
50) Lodge At Saratoga Raceway
51) Lodge At Saratoga Raceway
52) Longfellows
53) Luna Lounge
54) Maestro's Restaurant
55) Mama Mia's Pizza & Cafe
56) Mangino's Ristorante
57) Mc Donald's
58) Mc Donald's
59) Moe's Deli
60) Mr Ed's Ice Cream Station
61) Newberry Dance Club
62) Ninety Nine Restaurant & Pub
63) Omelette King
64) Omelette King Catering
65) Opera Cafe
66) Orange Julius Treat Ctr
67) Orientaste Of Saratoga Inc
68) P J's Saratoga Style Bar-B-Q
69) P J's Saratoga Style Bar-B-Q
70) Panera Bread
71) Pepper's Market & Deli
72) Pizza Hut
73) Pizza Time
74) Pope Pizza
75) Porreca's Restaurant
76) Putnam Street Market Place
77) Reel Meals
78) Roma Importing Co
79) Romeo's Brick Oven
80) Rosario's Brooklyn Pizza
81) Ruby Tuesday
82) Saratoga City Tavern
83) Saratoga Pickle Barrel Deli
84) Saratoga Restaurant & Diner
85) Sargo's
86) Sbarro The Italian Eatery
87) Silver Bullet Lounge
88) Simply The Best
89) Social Gourmets
90) Sorelli's Pizzeria & Deli
91) Soup & Salad Gourmet
92) Spring Garden China Buffet
93) Spring Street Deli & Pizzeria
94) Stadium Cafe
95) Starbucks
96) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
97) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
98) Sushi & Grill
99) Sushi Thai Garden
100) Taco Bell
101) TGI Friday's
102) Tiznow Restaurant
103) Trotters
104) Turf Terrace
105) Uno's Pizzeria Chicago Bar
106) Villa Balsamo Restaurant
107) Weathervane Seafood Restaurant
108) Winebar Limited
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
hello mark callaghan - i guess your cia chef and live music every fri and sat night (while you were able to afford to pay the musicians) still was not enough to fill the seats of your tasteless newley decorated resturant. after all you struggled to stay opened for the 16 mo. that you and co-owner jimmy d'auria were able to keep your heads above water. im sure the residents of saratoga were insulted to say the least that you and your new (un trained staff)had the gull to charge $19.00 + for entrees that were served with low grade cuts of frozen meat and frozen bagged vegetables.(do they teach that @cia ?) i guess the lesson learned is dont jump into a buisness venture that you and your partner (former convience store mgr)know nothing about and most of all cannot afford!! your customers will be able to tell. how much $$ is someone holding papers for??!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from saratoga saratoga, saratoga, NY
(08/29/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed. Cerró. Fermé. For sale.

Whoever buys this place please bring back Jeff Hughes and start brewing again. I don't know what made these people think they could make a go of it with a Bud-BL-M-ML-C-CL tap collection in a town with 279 other bars with a Bud-BL-M-ML-C-CL tap collection. Other than the free parking garage outside the door there was no reason to stop. OK, maybe there was a Killian's tap (ugh).

I was asked at TAP NY if anyone knows what happened to the brewing equipment. If you know please drop a line.

If you wasted a trip to Saratoga, wander the dozen or so blocks north to Olde Saratoga (Mendocino) and sample some of the best beer this side of Portland (Oregon that is).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(05/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I am looking for Mark & Julee O'Callaghan - is this you?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christina Christina, NYC, NY
(10/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great So So Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stacy Stacy, Broadalbin, NY
(05/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Great Awesome!
My name is Mark O’Callaghan - co owner along with my Jim D’Auria, so my review is a bit biased. We purchased the brew pub in Nov 2004 and opened December 2nd under the name O’Callaghan’s Fine Food & Spirit. With our decision to close the brew pub we still wanted to offer our customers great beers, we installed new beer lines and have 12 choices in all categories. Our food is fantastic prepared by our Chef Erik Brokaw a CIA grad. Give us a try and let us know what you think, we are new to this business and we know we could use constructive comments to help us out. We have music every Fri and Sat night and look forward to seeing you. Thank you for your time

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark O'Callaghan Mark O'Callaghan, Saratoga Springs, NY
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Like previous poster it is no longer the brew pub...it is now O'callaghan's fine food & spirit. Great selection on tap and awesome selection of wine. The atmoshere was wonderful. Live band was there on Saturday night. Food was absolutly phenomenal. Pork tenderloin was out of this world! I can't say enought about this place. Far better than the brew pub could have ever been.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monica Walter Monica Walter, East Hampton, NY
(02/01/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
This is a sad story. This place had a # of things going for it. A cozy bar in a Victorian building in historic downtown Saratoga Springs. They managed to brew a so-so Pale Ale. So much for the positives. Their other brews were lame at best. The food was mediocre to horrible and the service worse. My wife and I gave this place many chances (too many I'd say now) but I was left with the impression that no one really cared. It's now an Irish restaurant called O"Callaghan's. No home-brews, but Brooklyn Brown, Anchor Steam and Smithwick's on tap to name a few.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randy Randy, Saratoga Springs, NY
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Closed. Cerró. Fermé. Oh well. The sign says they will re-open soon as a restaurant, but the brewing equipment is still sitting there wasting away and I don't see anything else happening. Stay tuned I guess.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(10/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
The OSPB is closing right after Labor Day and will reopen with new owners as just a restaurant. Seating will be added where the brewing equipment currently resides.

This place never knew what it wanted to be. They went through a myriad of brewers. Some came and went, then came a second time. Then the beers were being brewed by the Big House (at which point they had the best beers). Last night I ordered the Blackberry Wheat, and was served the Red Ale. For the second beer the barkeep realized he made a mistake and served me the Blackberry (I think). I had a hard time differentiating between the two. Neither one had much of a nose, and both were oxidized and slightly stale. There was an abundance of some kind of adjunct in each, but it just masked the fact that neither is a good beer. And that was hardly a “wheat.” I tried the Wit last before leaving and it was “OK,” (too much on the orange peel) but I’m spoiled by the Wit at the Pump Station (which is the best you are going to find anywhere).

This place is gone soon, the Big House/Brown’s Brewing (nee troy Brew Pub) thing is a mess or joke (your choice). The Van Dyke isn’t even worth mentioning. So it appears the Brew Pub scene in and around the Capital District is heading for disaster. Thank God we have the Albany Pump Station to rely on. At least they listen to their customers, put out a quality product and last but not least brew decent beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(07/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy So So Lousy Lousy
I agree with most previous reviews. This place is a brew-pub in name only. With The Parting Glass right around the corner, there's really no reason to waste time here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MJ Donnelly MJ Donnelly, Albany, NY
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
After living in the capital region for a year, I've had enough time to visit all the breweries to really form a definite opinion on each of them. I'd have to say the Saratoga Brewery is proabably ranked lowest on my list.

Their beer selection rarely changes, and their standard stuff is generally subpar. I usually only go for the seasonsal beers. Their food selection is rather limited, and service generally has always something to be desired.

Like many places in the downtown area of Saratoga Springs, they don't have to be outstanding to be successfull. With the throngs of tourists and visitors, there are people like myself who automatically have to visit the local brewery.

The place definitly could use a menu / beer selection and customer service refreshing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Borowsky Kevin Borowsky, Bayside, NY
(04/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good So So So So
Took us a long time to get seated; our server, though perky & friendly, had absolutely no knowledge of beer and wasn't the quickest to help us. Food was decent, I think we mostly had pastas. Beer ranged from terrible (not surprisingly, the raspberry wheat) to drinkable (the porter). I always say, you know you're in trouble when a brewpub has neither an IPA or a stout on the menu, and this place didn't. Skip it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(01/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
only 6 or 7 beer choices, nothing out of the ordinary. The porter was fine, nothing special. It is only a few minutes off 87, but probably not worth the detour unless you are really thirsty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C Gould C Gould, New York, NY
(07/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Lousy So So
The waitstaff is Rude!!!! and I mean nasty at times allmost like they dont want you there....I wanted a stout and it came as a porter when I exchanged it they brought me back another porter...piss poor but it looks pretty....anyone who gave this place a good review must be related to the staff

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Dean, saratoga, ny
(05/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
They were out of the first beer and menu items we requested, the beer we did get tasted different upstairs, almost rancid (bad lines?) The waitress and bar staff were borderline rude. The sandwich buns were stale. Need I say more? Saratoga needs a good brewpub, we will never go back to this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John Davies, Troy, NY
(03/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Lousy Lousy
Average beer(at best), lousy service, I wont be back.....I suggest that you dont bother.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ritchie Moore, Albany, NY
(03/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
Tried the ale and the porter, and both were quite nice. Sat outside on the patio for lunch. Food was very good and the service was good as well. A very nice place to have a pint and some chow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(09/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good N/A

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
If you go to Saratoga you have to visit the pub. The place has great character and the food and beer is great. Great slection of brews and the you can get anything to eat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from G. Klauser G. Klauser, Albany, NY
(07/31/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Some of the beer is good, but they take no risks here. It would be nice to see something different from the brew house every few months.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Lyke Rick Lyke, Clifton Park, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
The beer isn't bad, but nothing really stands out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Restino Gary Restino, Round Lake, NY
(06/01/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Good
Nice atmosphere but so so beer.... ( Tip: If you should order a "Black and Tan" be warned that what you will get is not actually black and tan but basically Black) . .... Too many other great bars & pubs in town to get comfortable here..

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gus Gus, Albany, NY
(03/21/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Awesome!
The beer is only overshadowed by the TERRIFIC staff! And the food is GREAT. The bar personnel, especially Chris and Lisa are very knowlegable about beers! And funny too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dewey Walling Dewey Walling, Saratoga Springs, NY
(03/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
A good friend brought a growler of porter, and 5 gallons would not have been enough. It was smooth and malty with a nice easy texture

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Webster Mike Webster, Sherburne, NY
(02/04/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Little expensive, but it fits the city.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warrensburg, NY
(11/21/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.243 seconds) 08:54:24 54.234.82.216, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS