PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Jack Russell's Brewpub and Beer Garden - Bar Harbor, ME
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 17, 2014 @ 06:45 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ME > Bar Harbor > Jack Russell's Brewpub and Beer Garden
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Jack Russell's Brewpub and Beer Garden
Overall: Good    Score: 66.9 / 100
102 Eden Street Route 3
Bar Harbor, ME 04609
United States
(207) 288-5214
Listed Since: October 1997
Last Updated: November 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bar Harbor, ME
Beer Guide for Maine

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
15 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(6 within 5 miles)
1) Atlantic Brewing Company
(0 mile)

2) Bar Harbor Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Lompoc Cafe and Brewpub
(0 mile)

4) Maine Coast Brewing was Jack Russell Brewpub
(0 mile)

5) Geddy's Pub
(0 mile)

6) Pancho Villa's Tex Mex
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 2 Cats Bed & Breakfast
2) Acacia House
3) Acadia Motel Hotel
4) Anne's White Columns Inn
5) Atlantean Inn
6) Atlantic Oaks By the Sea
7) Bar Harbor Tides
8) Bayview Hotel Inn & Restaurant
9) Black Friar Inn
10) Briarfield Inn
11) Canterbury Cottage
12) Castlemaine Inn
13) Chiltern Inn
14) Cleftstone Manor
15) Coach Stop Inn
16) Collier House Bed & Breakfast
17) Cove Farm Inn
18) Graycote Inn
19) Harbourside Inn
20) Hatfield Bed & Breakfast
21) Hearthside Inn
22) Heathwood Inn
23) Heron House Bed & Breakfast
24) Holbrook House
25) Holland Inn
26) Inn At Canoe Point
27) Ivy Manor Inn
28) Kedge
29) Llangolan Inn & Cottages
30) Maison Suisse Inn
31) Maples Inn
32) Mira Monte Inn
33) Nannau-Seaside Bed & Breakfast
34) Ridgeway Cottage Inn
35) Saltaire Inn
36) Stratford House Inn
37) Sunset on West 115
38) Thornhedge Inn
39) Twin Gables Inn
40) Ullikana in the Field
41) Yankee Lady Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ASTICOU INN
2) BEST WESTERN INN
3) DAYS INN BAR HARBOR
4) QUALITY INN BAR HARBOUR
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Abbe, Robert, Museum of Stone Antiquities
2) Church of Our Father
3) Cleftstone
4) Criterion Theatre
5) Eegonos
6) Gilman, Daniel Coit, Summer Home
7) Hulls Cove High School
8) Jesup Memorial Library
9) Kane, John Innes, Cottage
10) Nannau
11) Redwood
12) Reverie Cove
13) Saint Jude's Episcopal Church
14) Saint Saviour's Episcopal Church and Rectory
15) Seal Harbor Congregational Church
16) Sproul's Cafe
17) St. Edward's Convent, (Former)
18) Turrets, The
19) Union Church of Northeast Harbor
20) US Post Office--Bar Harbor Main
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 124 Cottage Street Restaurant
2) 2 Cats
3) Bar Harbor Inn
4) Bar Harbor Lobster Bakes
5) Blue Sage Bistro
6) Cafe Milagro
7) Carlo Pizza Ristorante
8) China Joy
9) Mc KAYS Public House
10) Mother's Kitchen
11) Natures Way Cafe
12) Ocean Drive Dairy Bar
13) Reel Pizza Cinerama
14) Rinehart Dining Pavillion
15) Route 66 Pump Station Cafe
16) Siam Orchid
17) Skelly's Pure Fries & More
18) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
We didn't have a positive experience at the Jack Russell Brew Pub in Bar Harbor. The prices were relatively high and the food just so so. We had quite a long wait to get our food and then it was forty five minutes before we got our main entrees after we finished our appetizers. My friend is from the area and had been there for the pub but not food several times. She had ordered their crabcakes previously and recommended them. We discussed I dislike blackened crabcakes and she said theirs were not at all. Based on this I ordered them but when they came they were quite black. My friend said she had never seen them like that before. Based on this I sent them back. The waitress then returned with them and said the chef said to take them back to the table as nothing is wrong with them! I related that my friend has said they looked a lot different then what she had there before and that I can't eat blackened food. This resulted in a series of somewhat confrontational visits from the restaurant manager and chef. I guess they never heard of the customer is always right. Not good service at all in my opinion.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eliza Eliza, Biedermannsdorf, NO
(02/24/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We visited here on our honeymoon in November. I had the pumpkin and blueberry ales, and I thought they were fantastic. I was a little wary of going to a steakhouse for dinner, as I'm a vegetarian, but my husband really wanted to try it before we left Bar Harbor - the vegetarian dinner (usually a bland veggie burger of bunch of veggies) was EXCELLENT, and my husband wouldn't shut up about how great his steak was for, literally, days. We only went once in the off-season, but we had a really great experience, I'm surprised to see so many bad reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rebecca Rebecca, Felton, DE
(11/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good So So
Nice atmosphere, good service, terrible beer. Shouldn't waste the time & ingredients on making it. Worst beer I've had all year.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Siccardi Jr. Ed Siccardi Jr., Downingtown, PA
(10/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So Lousy
My companions and I tried 3 separate beers at Jack Russell's and each was not only a disappointment, but possibly some of the worst beer we'd ever tasted. The food was no great shakes either, and terribly overpriced. I'd never even think of stopping there again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kat Kat, Conneaut, OH
(07/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Good Lousy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Terryville, CT
(09/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Please read the reviews for Maine Coast Brewing since this is their pub and the brewery is housed in a little barn on the property.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, bethlehem, PA
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Blueberry Beer was delicious. We had visited another brewery in the area and tried their blueberry beer, it didn't compare to Jack Russell's. As I lifted my glass to take a sip, I could smell the blueberries. I'm trying to order some online.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tammy H. Tammy H., Mount Laurel, NJ
(08/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Awesome! Great
We just got back from Bar Harbor, and had stopped by the brewpub for lunch. The food and service were great - and the clam chowder was the best. The red could have been better but the pale ale was OK. If you are jsut looking for good food and a beer at a quiet place - stop by!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Betsy Betsy, Baltimore, MD
(08/19/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A So So Lousy
Among the worst beer on planet --- sour tasting with off flavors. Bartender less than great. Had THREE porters on tap. Not really a brew pub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, Sunbury, PA
(11/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Great So So
While in Bar Harbor this summer I went to all the breweries and ale houses listed. The restaurant was quaint in an older house. The owner was on site and the service was pretty good. However, I was there for the beer. It was terrible. I tried an ale a red ale and then a stout, thinking there had to be some flavor there. I was wrong what a disappointment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Gregory Dick Gregory, Waldorf,, MD
(10/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Good Good So So
If I lived to be a thousand, I'll never find worse beers than what I was served here on July 19, 2000. It's a great cozy little place, the waitress was excellent, the food was good but the beer was horrible. I'm not a "beer snob" and always try to remember that if it tastes good, it's good, even it isn't "true to style", or not "hopped enough". This stuff, though, doesn't taste good. It tastes terrible! It's practically undrinkable!. It's the worst beer I've ever tasted. Even Coor's Light would be better, since no taste has to be better than bad taste!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(07/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Too bad Pubcrawler's don't have a separate category of "Tied House" as the English have, since this is a tied house in the purest sense: serving the beers of Maine Coast Brewing in a great restaurant owned by the same folks. We had an excellent dinner there last night. I had the grilled swordfish(perfectly cooked) with a mint/jalapeno butter and my wife had the Maine crabcake dinner. To my taste (not my wife's) they have a near perfect blueberry ale (the fruit is about as strong as can be balanced by the malt and lasts from the first sniff through a medium-long finish. Just enough hops to keep it from being overly sweet but none to get in the way of the flavor). The Oktoberfest will be great in a few weeks but suffers from lack of lagering right now. It has a lovely complex malty/roasty nose and flavor but the esters need to age out a bit to compete with the greats of Munich. I found the Irish stout (cask conditioned) to be somewhat disappointing: the roasted barley was there with a lot of chocolate and adequate hops but it had developed a noticible sourness that detracted from an otherwise good stout.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ralph S Sturgen Ralph S Sturgen, Easthampton, MA
(10/05/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
This is a fun place, and a great old building. The food is very good--fresh and good portions. I enjoyed the oatmeal stout best of all the beers. The IPA had a bit too much floral Fuggles/Willamette character for my taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Artz Tim Artz, Oakton, VA
(10/30/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Great little place. Great Porter and Stout. Try the Melt Your Face Off Hot Wings...they make the beer even more enjoyable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Suchy Jim Suchy, Canton, MI
(03/05/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
Caught these guys at the end of the season, and they were just about out of everything -- except for a KILLER RUSSIAN IMPERIAL STOUT!. Can't wait for my next visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Portsmouth, NH
(02/23/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.339 seconds) 06:45:18 54.161.175.231, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS