PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Malt River Brewing Company - Latham, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 19, 2014 @ 09:11 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Latham > Malt River Brewing Company
Malt River Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Malt River Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73.6 / 100
800 New Loudon Road
Latham Circle Mall
Latham, NY 12110
United States
(518) 786-6258
Listed Since: October 1997
Last Updated: January 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Latham, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
59 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(4 within 5 miles)
1) Big House Grill
(4 miles)

2) Firkin and Fox Pub
(4 miles)

3) Old Chicago
(4 miles)

4) German-American Club of Albany
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Holiday Inn
2) The Northway Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALBANY MARRIOTT
2) BEST WESTERN ALBANY AIRPRT INN
3) CENTURY HOUSE HOTEL
4) CLARION INN & SUITES AIRPORT
5) COMFORT INN AND SUITES ALBANY
6) COMFORT INN ARPT AND CONF CTR
7) COURTYARD ALBANY THRUWAY
8) CRESTHILL SUITES ALBANY
9) DAYS INN ALBANY
10) DESMOND HOTEL & CONFERENCE CTR
11) EXTENDEDSTAY ALBANY CAPITAL
12) FAIRFIELD INN ALBANY
13) HAMPTON INN ALBANY LATHM
14) HAMPTON INN ALBANY WOLF
15) HILTON GARDEN INN ALBANY ARPT
16) HOWARD JOHNSON ALBANY CENTRAL
17) QUALITY INN ALBANY
18) RAMADA ALBANY LIMITED
19) RED ROOF ALBANY
20) THE NORTHWAY INN
21) WINGATE INN ALBANY AIRPORT
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bacon--Stickney House
2) Bryan's Store
3) Byrne, Senator William T., House
4) Chapel House
5) Cramer, Frederick, House
6) D. D. T. Moore Farmhouse
7) Dickey, William J., House
8) Dunsbach, Martin, House
9) Fuller, Royal K., House
10) Godfrey Farmhouse
11) Gorham House
12) Harmony Mill No. 3
13) Haswell, Isaac M., House
14) Hedge Lawn
15) Henry--Remsen House
16) Hughson Mansion
17) Humphrey, Friend, House
18) Kemp, John Wolf, House
19) Lackman, J. Leonard, House
20) Lawton, George H., House
21) Lock 18 of Enlarged Erie Canal
22) Menand Park Historic District
23) Menand, Louis, House
24) Menands Manor
25) Music Hall
26) Newtonville Post Office
27) Newtonville School
28) Newtonville United Methodist Church
29) Niskayuna Reformed Church
30) Olmstead Street Historic District
31) Pruyn, Casparus F., House
32) Reformed Dutch Church of Rensselaer in Watervliet
33) Renshaw, Alfred H., House
34) Simmons Stone House
35) Springwood Manor
36) Strong, Jedediah, House
37) Trimble, George, House
38) Van Denbergh--Simmons House
39) Verdoy School
40) Verdoy Schoolhouse
41) Wheeler Home
42) Whitney Mansion
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aashiana Restaurant
2) Amazing Wok Plaza Chinese
3) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
4) Arby's
5) Ariana Pizza
6) Ario Pizza
7) Bacca's Deli & Gourmet Market
8) Bella Roma
9) Bennigan's Grill & Tavern
10) Birch Hill At New York State
11) Boston Market
12) Buckshots Country Bar-B-Q
13) Burger King
14) Canteen Vending Svc
15) Carmine's Kitchen
16) Carrabba's Italian Grill
17) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
18) Century House Inn
19) Century Taco
20) Chuck E Cheese's
21) Circle Diner
22) Courtney's
23) Crisando's Pizza Cafe
24) Dakota's
25) Dee Dee's Tavern
26) Domino's Pizza
27) Fannie's Pizza & Clam Bar
28) Fannies Restaurant
29) First Step
30) Fitzian's
31) Friendly's Restaurant
32) Friendly's Restaurant
33) Ginza Japanese Cuisine
34) Golden Wok Restaurant
35) Gorman's NY Deli
36) Ground Round
37) Hoffman's Restaurant
38) Hot Dog Charlie's
39) J J Rafferty's
40) J T Maxies
41) Jessica Stone's
42) Kfc
43) Kfc
44) Kings Buffet
45) Kirker's Steak & Seafood House
46) KOTO Japanese Steak House
47) Lanthier's Grove Corp
48) Latham 76 Diner Inc
49) Little Bites & More
50) Malt River Brewing Co
51) Mama Jen's Restaurant
52) Marinara Ristorante
53) Mc Donald's
54) Mc Donald's
55) Milano Restaurant
56) Mill Road Acres Restaurant
57) Mousetrap
58) Mr Ding-A-Ling Ice Cream
59) Mr Subb
60) Mr Subb Inc
61) Mr Subb Inc
62) Muggsy Cafe
63) Nite Moves
64) Old Country Buffet
65) Panda Chinese Take Out
66) Panera Bread
67) Papa John's Pizza
68) Peony Restaurant
69) Pete's Cafe
70) Pickles' Deli Inc
71) Pizza Italia
72) Pizzeria Uno
73) Real Seafood Co
74) Roasters
75) Roman Pizza
76) Saratoga Winners
77) Scubbers Hot Wings
78) Starbucks
79) Stoney's Jazz Cafe
80) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
81) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
82) Sun's Buffett
83) Taco Bell
84) Ted's Fish Fry Inc
85) Theo's At The Dome
86) Today's Brew
87) Tokyo Shushi Takeout
88) Vintage Pizza Inc
89) Wendy's
90) Wolf Road Diner
91) Yoshi Sushi
92) Ziggy's Sports Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
ONE WORD..... AWESOME!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ROB ROB, Saratoga, NY
(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
I think this place is great. I also think it is more of a Restaurant than a brew pub. It has a nice long bar and a friendly atmosphere. I think it's more for the family than any of the other brewpubs in town. It is also really clean. The food is amazing. If you go, get those Peanut wings. I also recommend the Pale Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C.F.B. C.F.B., Albany, NY
(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
I LOVED THIS PLACE! I walked in expecting a chain. Got great beer and great service. I loved the bartender he was hilarious. I had a great meal and great beer. I wish more restaurants catered to people instead of statistics. This place is Awesome. You should all go and experience a great Brewery and a Restaurant in one. I will definately go out of my way to go again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from CC CC, Roscoe, NY
(07/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Unfortunately, the previous gentleman doesn't expect to be treated coldly after telling a young bartender that she is fat! The service is as wonderful as most of the customers are! The food is great...beer is great...and who cares where it is located. Once your inside a great pub, it might as well be on the moon!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Latham, NY
(07/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
When this place is on, it is great. And when it's off, it's much less. (It's usually on) Beers are well made, have character, balanced features. Favorite is the pilsner (German style) The two ales I've tasted ("Albany..." and "Malt River...", {Go to this BP's homepage) are quite good. They have hand-pumps (cask conditioned?) but are often out of product. The service can be prompt and knowledgeable, but I have experienced otherwise. Stay with the finger foods, which are quite good. Entrees can be a problem service-wise (late, cold) The location is regrettable--shopping mall. Easy to get to, but..a mall? Incosistency across the board (incl. restroom condition) is the downside to this place. But it's worth a visit on a Sat or Sun afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JT JT, Middletown, NY
(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
priorities first--the beer: the oatmeal stout was well flavored and slightly smoky but mostly flat--a pour from another tap may have fixed that. the wheat beer was quite good and worth a second shot when i have time. the food was better than i had expected based on some of the other reviews posted here and reasonably priced. the waitstaff were preoccupied and forgetful despite the few tables they were waiting on--however they were pleasant when they were around and even seemed have some knowledge of the beers they were serving which places them in a rare category.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review shane, saratoga, ny
(05/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
This place is great. The staff was freindly. Food was very good and the prices were fair. Wish they would bring back the shrimp apettizer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Joe, Johnston, RI
(05/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good So So Good
Inconsistency is the problem with every

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review JT, Middletown, NY
(02/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
I don't know what all the negative comments are about. I was in the area for three days and went here twice; beer was good, some of it quite good (the cask was great, IPA was clean and piney, porter was nicely understated). The service was good and very fast, even though the place was over half-full. We enjoyed our meal, except my dad: my tuna was very good, his was a bit rubbery. The "aled pub cheese" was delicious. Hell, I liked this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Lew, Langhorne, PA
(12/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Good Good
I sampled the bock and the IPA. The bock was decent, but the IPA was only okay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Bernardi Jon Bernardi, Hudson, OH
(09/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
I tried the beer and I was happy with the taste of them. Our waitress was one of the best ever and it seems as though the chef is creative and knows good food. I was unsure with the mall location but i'm glad i tried it and i will be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Latham, NY
(08/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Not really worth seeking out. To formulaic, not enough character or quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dmurph dmurph, Woodbridge, VA
(06/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy So So So So
The beer is good here, but I've taken this place off my list because of very poor food quality. If you have a problem, don't expect the staff to try to make it right. If you have to go, hit the bar and try a couple of beers. Eat someplace else.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Lyke Rick Lyke, Clifton Park, NY
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Lousy So So
When i was told they couldn't make a special order with a pizza (removing olives)because it came pre-packaged, that was a big clue to the overall qualioty of the place. The waitress seemed to have gotten lost on several occassions as well as neglecting to check if we needed more beer. ther service at the bar is little better as the barkeeps seem to like to flirt with the regulars way too damn much.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Coxsackie, NY
(02/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
Just stopped in for a couple on my way back to jersey from lake george. Oktoberfest was good, lacked character though. Anarchy (for hop lovers) was Great. My companion had the raspberry wheat, which wasn't too bad if you like that sort of thing. The setting is weird (in the mall) until you get inside...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(09/25/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The recent Dark Brown Ale was wonderful - somewhere between a porter, a brown, and a hint of oatmeal stout. The Pilsner is great as well. Had the Anarchy on cask and had to pull myself away from the firkin. Charles is doing a killer job on the brews right now - seriously worth checking the beers out if you haven't stopped by in a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beah heah beah heah, Niskayuna, NY
(08/29/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
nice place, good cask bitter, thai wings! I will go back

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.B. J.B., Prospect, NY
(03/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Great
Outstanding beer - something for everyone's taste - and delicious food. Be sure to try the French Onion Soup (made with carmelized onions and dry sherry) and the Red Barn Burger (with sundried tomatoes, herbs and the Malt River Red Ale baked in). Beers range from a Rasberry and a Blonde Ale on the light side, to an Oatmeal Porter on the heavier side. About the only brew I don't care for is the Goat Boy Bock which tasted almost like it had vodka in it. That's how pronounced the alcohol flavor was. This is my first stop on every trip to and through the Albany area. Well worth the mile or so off I-87 at Exit 6.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John S. John S., Bear, DE
(09/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Good Good
I love beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Jay, Troy, NY
(09/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So So So So So
Weak, flavorless beers. OK atmosphere. The only good things I've found on the food menu in 4 or 5 visits were the Thai Wings. Outstanding. Don't go for the beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John B. John B., Near Albany, NY
(08/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Nice atmosphere. Very good beer, good variety, great food. A really great place. I would go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/16/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Great Great
The Bock, IPA, Pale Ale, and the Bitter were great. But the Cask Stout and PA were weak.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Levittown, PA
(07/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
I always get a peculiar feeling when I walk into certain brewpubs. It's like some brewpub consultant came by and said "This is how you do this". Then the owners obediently follow the consultant's directions, and voila, a brewpub. This place has basic, nonrisky brewpub beers, a basic brewpub menu, and simply put IS BORING! The Troy and Albany brewpubs are way better. Nothing wrong about this place, just not worth going out of your way for.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tim Tomlinson Tim Tomlinson, Austin, TX
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
As good as it gets for a mall meal.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Warrensburg, NY
(11/21/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Good Good So So
The cask conditioned ale was horrible!@#$%

Although the first couple sips were good, the rest of it started to smell like formaldehyde.. absolutely two thumbs down....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Frank Murray, Rutland, VT
(11/20/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.927 seconds) 09:11:29 54.166.33.25, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS