PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Aiken Brewing Company - Aiken, SC
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 21, 2014 @ 05:00 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > SC > Aiken > Aiken Brewing Company
Aiken Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Aiken Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 70.4 / 100
140 Laurens Street Southwest
Aiken, SC 29801
United States
(803) 502-0707
Listed Since: October 1997
Last Updated: December 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Aiken, SC
Beer Guide for South Carolina

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
24 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Annie's Inn Bed & Breakfast
2) Carriage House Inn
3) Crossways Plantation B & B
4) Sandhurst Estate B & B
5) Town & Country Inn B & B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN AIKEN SC
2) DAYS INN DOWNTOWN AIKEN
3) GUESTHOUSE INN OF AIKEN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Dawson-Vanderhorst House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Acapulco's Mexican Grill
2) Amari's Restaurant
3) ARA Svc
4) Baby Grand
5) Bellagio Cafe
6) Blimpie Subs & Salads
7) Blimpie Subs & Salads
8) Burger King
9) Devon Fancies Tea Room
10) Ellen's Bar & Grill
11) Elvia's Restaurant
12) Evergreen Buffet
13) Ferrando's Italian Pizzeria
14) Fresco's
15) Happy Daze
16) Inn Of Aiken
17) J & L Hot Foods & More
18) Jeremiah's Bar BQ
19) Kent's Korner 25
20) Legends-The Aiken Golf Club
21) Mc Donald's
22) Mc Donald's
23) Newberry Hall
24) Nikki & Ej's Restaurant
25) Olive Oils Italian Cuisine
26) Ponderosa Sports Bar & Grill
27) Slimm's Catering
28) Southern Delights
29) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
30) Sweet Cow Creamery
31) Track Kitchen
32) Up Your Alley Restaurant
33) Vanessa's Fine Dining
34) Waffle House
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
i was skeptical of going into this pub do to the previous review, but went twice and both times everything was VERY GOOD!! service, food and beer were excellent. very active place, even in the middle of the afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt c matt c, st pete, FL
(07/17/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
As Aiken residents my husband and I used to visit the brewpub often for drinks, food, to meet friends etc. Its in a convenient location downtown and, though the food and beer are nothing special, they were always reasonably priced, and we felt the great location on Laurens made up for any failings. However, for some months now the service has been going downhill to the point where we will no longer go there at all. You have to wait an age for bar and table service, special requests are ignored by the waiting staff (no mayo, extra fries, for example), the food is very greasy, everything tastes much the same, and on one occasion a friend of ours was actually laughed at by waiting staff when she complained that the beer was off. The final straw came when the barman took my husband aside some time over Easter, and berated him for not leaving a big enough tip when we were last there two weeks before. My husband had in fact put all his spare dollar bills in the tip jar that night (he guessed about seven or eight dollars for a forty dollar bill), and this was IN SPITE of the slow and surly service from the bar man. We have since agreed never to go to the brewpub again, as frankly the barmans attitude sums up the rude downward trajectory of the whole establishment. Aiken could do with a really good, friendly, mid-price pub run by welcoming and capable staff. If anyone reading this is thinking of setting up such a pub, I will be first in the queue on opening night. One things for sure  the Aiken Brewing Company provides neither friendly service nor value for money, and I for one wont be giving them my business again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Aiken, SC
(06/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
I and several others stopped here on the Thursday between Christmas and New Years. The pub was fairly busy on an early afternoon. The beers we tried were excellent. Two of us enjoyed a deliciously dark German-style bock, and also a pint of their GABF gold-medal winning Irish-style red ale called Thoroughbred Red. Our companions opted for the smooth and golden Jenny’s Cream Ale, recently released as the 500th batch of beer at Aiken, and named for one of the brewpub’s co-owners. We had to wait too long for our appetizer baskets of calamari, shrimp, clam strips, and chicken with onion rings. The delayed arrival of our food was seemingly not the fault of our server, but rather stemmed from issues or confusion in and around the kitchen. I liked the overall feel of this pub, with its brick interior walls and visible brewing equipment flanking the front door. The beers we tried were superb, although one might wish for more than five house brews to choose from. I would definitely visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Stichtenoth Craig Stichtenoth, Katy, TX
(12/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So So So
The beer here is the key point. The food is overpriced and typical pub fare bullshit.(the ribs and steak are the exception) The "Red" is usually a no-brainer.(although lately it's been a wee bit flat) I personaly enjoy the "Grand Cru", a special seasonal and both "Pale Ales" they have had on tap.(English India Pale and a their version of a West Coast Pale)They have a "Honey Wheat" and a "Carolina Blonde" lighter ale on tap usually all year,I guess for the Bud Light / Coor's Light crowd.They have a pilsner coming up soon, I can't wait to try it, its their first foray into lager beer! Their E.S.P. was ok but still a bit weak as compared to standard. The "Oatmeal Stout" is actually really good when fresh, this also goes for the more complex and bigger "Porter" that they have on tap. All in all their beers are brewed customed to their local regular's taste. (the taste of bitter, rich, retired old men.)I do reccomend the "India Pale ALe" and The "Oatmeal Stout" though. **WARNING!! "All of their beers for the first 48 -72 hours after transfer seem to be flat with little or no carbination, but after the initial 3 days sitting in the bright tank this problem sems to clear itself up." So if your ever in Aiken Sc and you want a decent craft brew that's almost always fresh try the Aiken Brewing Company.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Holman Holman, New Orleans, SC
(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
This review is based on a single revisit to ABC. In my last post on this establishment, I bemoaned the decline of what was a wonderful brewpub at the hands of its new owners. It is with joy that this visit was a pleasure with only a few irksome points. First the beer. There were five beers on tap; a West Coast style ale, a porter, a Scotch Ale (soon to be replaced by a brown ale), an Irish Red ale and a blond. The red ale seemed more an American Amber in its hopping but contained a significant roasted barley component which was excessive for either style. It was clean and flavorful. The WC pale was moderately hoppy, slightly sweet with a good hop/malt balance. The Scotch ale was an excellent beer but not a Scotch ale of any sort. Too hoppy and too much roasted barley. It was, however a good example of a (slightly too roasty) Yorkshire strong bitter. The slightly sweet malt came through like gangbusters and there was nice complexity with esters. The beer had, apparently, been on line for awhile and the aging likely improved its profile.

The food was good, well prepared and our orders were accurate. The menu has been revised again and offers much more variety. The service was slow (in all fairness the place was slammed) but competent.

Both the men's and women's restrooms were clean and had some redecoration. The patrons included families and people of all ages. On the down side the bartenders were refilling used glasses from bar patrons by placing the tap against the used glass. This is a health department no-no and can pass 'stuff' from one person to another.

All-in-all, if you haven't been in a while, go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FatCat FatCat, Columbia, SC
(02/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
These notes are from three visits over 10 weeks. What an unbelieveable tragedy this place has endured. ABC was sold a year or so ago (Maybe not that long?) A nice place in a super setting with wonderful beer (1 Gold and 2 Silver medals at the GABF in three years)has become a, well, a dump. The new owners changed the menu (which was an assortment of pub-grub and other more substantial fare, all wonderfully prepared) so that the menu could be a photo copy of any other hole-in-the-wall beer joint. The food has been badly prepared each of the three visits and our requests for things like 'no-onions' 'not-too-spicy' or 'dressing on-the-side' have been ignored. The service is at best, minimal. The greatest tragedy is what they have done to the beer. The new management sacked their award-winning brewer and in doing so lost all of the associate brewers but one who has done a decent job with limited resources, but who, we understand, has now left. Other's comments on the cleanliness of the place are well-taken. The men's room reaked of urine, the wallpaper was peeling. My wife refused to use the womens facility. Don't bother with this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from FatCat FatCat, Columbia, SC
(12/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So So So Good
I just got back from Augusta and when I was there wife and I stopped by. First thing that bothered me was their were only five beers to chose from. My wife thought the pale ale was wonderful and I thought the Red and Porter were both outstanding beers.Great location in a charming little town. Service was sub par but there were only about three servers for the whole place. I would give it another try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Bowen David Bowen, Atlanta, GA
(07/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Awesome! Great
you need to check out the new upstairs.... I think that everyone would be impressed. The music is out of this world...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christian M Schaumann Christian M Schaumann, Aiken, SC
(03/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Lousy Lousy
Heard it was going to be sold, about time. The managing owner took a very nice place into a pig pen by doing no upkeep. Bathrooms are not even as good as road side stops. Condition of the brewery is not any better. I wonder how no one has ever gotten sick. Place to avoid.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Greenwood, SC
(12/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good Good
First, chilled mugs? This is not Bud. Next, you can taste the iron imparted by the many iron fittings used in the brewery (seen though the glass). The "west coast pale" has an awful grassy note of hops that have not been cared for properly. The "Grand Cru" I am not sure what they were trying here, Celis I presume, but the beer has hardly any Wit character to it at all. They are all very clean beers, drinkable. Just not very high on my list. The red just won Gold at the GABF, but it has a huge toasty flavor to it, not that "Red" is a true style, but I did not expect all of that toast. The food prices seem reasonable; the beer is the only thing fresh around, so it is worth a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ray Statam Ray Statam, Birmingham, AL
(10/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Lousy So So
I have to agree with the earlier review, the Aiken Brewery is not all that good. I’ve had good beer there, but it’s not consistent. The food can be good. And the service can be outright lousy. The “kitchen” is behind glass and on display and you'd think they would keep it spotless, but often the floor is littered with rags and paper. And the glass is dusty and dirty. I don’t understand the point of displaying the brewing process if you can’t keep the place clean. The location couldn't be better (downtown Aiken). And they've put an old building to use, which is good, but brick is all there is for atmosphere unless you take a table out on the sidewalk. The place could be great if they had the right help. If you're in town, stop in and see for yourself. But, don’t make a special trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Rhea Michael Rhea, Aiken, SC
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Great Micro Brews, food and entertainmwent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Don Ralon, Aiken, SC
(04/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great So So
As a former resident of Aiken, I can say with some authority that this brewpub is not all that good. However, it has improved over the years, and I expect it to continue. The food has always been pretty good, and is worth the trip. However, the beer is very inconsistant, and not very flavorful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Czuchna Craig Czuchna, Paducah, KY
(05/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
Here I am again. Go here about twice a month (50 mile drive), would go every day if I lived in Aiken. The Thoroughbred Red took a silver (Irish Red) at the 2001 GABF and deserved it. Their stout (an English sweet) is outstanding and is constantly sold out (boooo, come on brewer). The blond is a woderful golden ale and the 'honey' wheat (American wheat) is a malty interpretation. Their pale ale and IPA (an American IPA as far as grain and hop selection are concerned, but brewed to the English style)are excellent. The brewer understands how to balance malt flavor with hops APPROPRIATE for the styles. They rotate about eight styles and if you can catch the American Brown, do so. Highly recommend the Chicken Salad Cromeaux with lots of the wonderful feta dressing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harold Dowda Harold Dowda, Irmo, SC
(11/28/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Very friendly brewer. Likes to mingle with the customers and talk beer. Nice small town atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Tampa, Fl
(09/02/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Frequent visitor to this brewpub near Augusta, GA. Last reviewed in 1999 but the place, especially the beers, gets better and better. Hop/malt balances are well within 'standards' and the skillful use of psecialty malts keep these complex beers interesting. Their red ale is classic and the Scotch (really Scottish heavy)is wonderful. A beavy of beers including a luscious milk stout, two sorts of clean hoppy balanced pale ale, a nice blond and a mild American wheat are usually available and a good brown and traditional porter make visits from time to time. The food, especially the salads are outstanding. Burgers are overcooked for my taste, but the fries are great as are the onion rings.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harold Dowda Harold Dowda, Irmo, SC
(05/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good So So Good
Loved the Steam beer!!!! The Gran Cru has alot to be desired for a Belgium. Great steak sandwich. The bartender needs to get a personality though. Nice sidewalk sitting area to people watch.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Denton Steve Denton, Austell, GA
(08/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Not the best place I've been, but not bad. I never would have expected a brewpub in a such a small town (especially a good one). The beers were decent, the atmosphere was nice, and service was pretty good too. I'd come back (I just wish they would flavor their raspberry wheat with real raspberries during the brewing, rather than by squirting raspberry flavoring into the glass before pouring the beer!).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason D. Nulton Jason D. Nulton, Shaw AFB, SC
(07/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
What a great place. Beer brewed by a beer lover, the care shows. Not afraid of hops, when appropriate, and malt in perfect balance. Never had a bad pint here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harold Dowda Harold Dowda, Irmo, SC
(03/15/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So So So
Upstairs bar area is too small. Bartenders not very personable. Unfriendly atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Long Scott Long, Layton, UT
(01/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Walsh Bill Walsh, Conyers, GA
(08/29/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The owners of this fine pub have produced 5 beers {Stout, Pale Ale, Grand Cru, Honey Wheat, & Red}, that have been getting better and better. In the short time they have been open {St. Patrick's Day 1997}, they have established a quality in their beer, service, & food that exceeds the level one would expect from a pub open less than a year. With a restaurant/bar on the first floor and a sports bar on the second, the pub has something for everyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Polson Pat Polson, Aiken, SC
(01/16/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Good Good
The beer is very good and the price of the growler makes it even better. It is very unique to fine such a microbrew with this type of quallity in a small town atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Allen Chris Allen, Alpharetta, GA
(11/19/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
As is often the case, nice reuse of an old building--an atmosphere conducive to relaxing and enjoying a pint. A great feature is the take-out growler--64 ounces for $10 (keep the logoed container)and $7 for a refill. Can't beat it!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alice Venables Alice Venables, Aiken, SC
(10/26/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.072 seconds) 05:00:04 54.226.21.57, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS