PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill - Toms River, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 01:13 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Toms River > Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.8 / 100
1171 Hooper Avenue
Toms River, NJ 08753
United States
(732) 244-7566
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: October 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Toms River, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
89 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Studio of John F Peto
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) HOWARD JOHNSON HTL TOMS RIVER
2) RAMADA INN TOMS RIVER LAKEWOOD
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Birdsall, Capt. Amos , House
2) Brant, A.A., House
3) Crawford House
4) Giberson, Capt. George W., House
5) Horner House
6) Ocean County Courthouse
7) Ocean County Jail
8) Stewart House
9) Stoutenburgh-Minturn House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1904 Grill
2) All Day Cafe
3) All The Perks
4) Antonio's Italian Restaurant
5) Apana II
6) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
7) Atlanta Bread Co
8) Attilio's Pizzeria
9) Banquet Services Intl
10) Basil T's Brew Pub & Italian
11) Baskin-Robbins
12) Bella Vista
13) Berkeley Seafood Of Silverton
14) Bistro
15) Blimpie Subs & Salads
16) Blizzard Of Ahh's
17) Burger King
18) Burger King
19) Burger King
20) Cafe At 1144
21) Carlo's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
22) Cayard Inc
23) Chicken Town
24) China Express
25) China Restaurant
26) Christophers Pub
27) Cool Beans Coffee House Inc
28) Dairy Queen
29) Davan Espresso
30) Domino's Pizza
31) Dragon Chinese Kitchen
32) Driftwood Deli & Sub Shop
33) Dunkin Donuts
34) Dunkin Dounuts
35) Dynasty Kitchen
36) East Coast Vegan
37) Fiore Rosso Restaurant
38) Fred's Pizzeria
39) Friendly's Restaurant
40) Friendly's Restaurant
41) G & M Meat Market
42) Gios Sapore Italiano
43) Golden Gate Chinese
44) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
45) Hot Tamales
46) Ice Palace
47) Il Giardinello Beach Grille
48) Il Giardinello Cafe
49) Island Cafe
50) Italy's Best III
51) Jersey Juice & Java
52) Jersey Mike's Submarines
53) Jersey Shore Subs
54) Jnj's American Grill On The Gr
55) Johnny G's Pizza & Pasta
56) Joshua Huddy Brew Pub & Grill
57) Juicy Fruits
58) Jules South
59) Kingpin Cafe
60) LA Zuzzio Deli & Catering
61) Legend Restaurant
62) Linda's Pizza
63) Little Chopstick Restaurant
64) Little T's Pizza
65) Marco's Pizza
66) Mc Divots
67) Mc Donald's
68) Mcintyre's Pub
69) Memory Lane Diner
70) Mienelle's Catering
71) Mr Breakfast Restaurant
72) Mr J's Fast Break
73) Mrs Walker's Famous Ice Cream
74) Mrs Walker's Ice Cream Parlor
75) Mugsy's Bar & Grill
76) Nathan's Famous
77) New Huy Bird Chinese Restrnt
78) Nobu Japanese Cuisine
79) Ocean East Inc
80) Oil House Cafe
81) Old Country Buffet
82) Old Country Buffet
83) Old Time Tavern
84) Old Time Tavern
85) Olive Garden
86) Panini Foods Inc
87) Papa John's Pizza
88) Papa John's Pizza
89) Paradice Creams
90) Perkins Family Restaurant
91) Phil's Liquor Locker Lounge
92) Pisces Seafood Restaurant
93) Pizza Pizza
94) Pizza Plaza
95) Quiznos Sub
96) Ralph's Italian Ices
97) Red Lobster Restaurant
98) Reggio's
99) Rich's Ice Cream
100) Riggio's Catering
101) Sbarro
102) Shogun At Bey Lea
103) Silverton Meats & Deli
104) South Philly Steak & Fries
105) Steverino's Pizza Pub
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches Of Salads
108) Sundaes-The Ice Cream Place
109) Sunny Side Up
110) Taco Bell
111) TGI Friday's
112) Tgi Friday's
113) Tom's Riverside Deli & Subs
114) Trattoria Giovanni
115) White Castle
116) Yellow Brick Road Ice Cream
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Awesome! Awesome! Great
After reading the previous remarks about the restaurant, I was in complete awe of all the people who has such irratating remarks about the service. We recently had a party of about 25 people on a busy evening. THe service we received was absolutly fabulous. When we sat down we were greeted with a warm, smiling waitress who made our experience even that much better. After ordering our beers they came in a speedy amount of time. The dinner was so delicious that I didn't leave one bit. And finally, the desserts were awesome. In the end, the waitress thanked us and invited us back! We will definately be back...the service was wonderful!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Catherine T Catherine T, Toms River, NJ
(09/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
New brewer as of June,'03. Beer names have changed and rotating brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Rahway, NJ
(09/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Tonight was 2 for 1 pasta night and $5 pitcher of beer. I thought that these specials were a great deal compared to other restaurants in the area. The beer was pretty good, the service was great. Even the manager (blonde female) came over to see if everything was ok. Great touch. Great job guys, A+ in my book.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill bill, brick, NJ
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I dined tonight and sat in the bar area. The tables were very small but we adjusted. Our server, Laura, was AWESOME. She didn't skip a beat. The food was out of this world. I had the chicken parm and my husband had the penne vodka. Two great choices. We didn't try the beer, but saw they had a great wine selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michelle michelle, pomona, NJ
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The food was excellent, the service was impecable, and the beer outstanding. I Drive 40 mintues for Basil T's to drink their beer. Beats other local brew pubs hands down. If you go try the Shrimp & Scallop Possillippo it,s outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Suzie Bob & Suzie, Colts Neck, NJ
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
This guys beer is awesome! The new brewer at Basil T's (Tom Paffrath). PETES PALE ALE and TOMS RIVER RED was great. Friendly staff and A great selection of food. The best kept secret in the new jersey area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Angelo Mark Angelo, Brick, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I came on this site to write an honest review. Quite frankly, after reading some of the other reviews, I find it somewhat odd that the last five people to review this restaurant ALL found it to be "Awesome!" in every way. And then if one scrolls down a bit, the reviews are average to bad. I have a sneaking suspicion that the last several reviewers are somehow affiliated with the restaurant. It kind of pisses me off. This is just my opinion. Now that I've gotten that off my chest, here is my review. My visit to Basil T's was pleasant. The food and service were both pretty good, though I've had better, but I definately wouldn't say it was "Awesome". My husband really liked the beer, especially the amber ale. I liked that they had a really decent wine selection. We both agreed that this place was a little over priced, but we liked it enough to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Laura Schofield Laura Schofield, Forked River, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My husband took me there on our first date June of 2002. Since then we have gone there for special occasions. We love the ambiance, the food is spectacular & waitstaff is superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Toni & Tom Pugliese Toni & Tom Pugliese, Red Bank, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Basil T's has become our favrite restaurant. Great atmospher.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don&Pat Racek Don&Pat Racek, Toms River, NJ
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We have been to Basil T's for lunch & dinner. Best meal ever.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Kichkine Richard Kichkine, Whiting, NJ
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food is awesome and beer is great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Clawges Bryan Clawges, Point Pleasant, NJ
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
The only word that comes to mind is "eh".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sherri Sherri, Ocean, NJ
(08/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place was terrific! My husband and I went into Basil T's this past Saturday night to have a bite to eat and check out there beer selection. I have to say we were quite impressed. Not only was the food awesome (I had filet mignon with bleu cheese and he tried the Sea Bass) but their beers were great as well. We started off with the sampler. 6 beers in all - A lite, an ale, a red, a porter, a stout and a seasonal (I think it was called Rush). We loved them all but had to go back for another Red, it was that good. Service was great, atmosphere was really good too. Oh and I forgot about the desserts..... We were told they are all made on the premises and we believed them. The bon-bon we shared was out of this world. All around an excellent place. We would recommend to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from laura laura, jackson, NJ
(08/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
We used to eat here about 3 times a month. Then the service became mediocore, the food was great one time, then so-so the next, but the killer was the hair(s) in the food & dead bug(s) in the salad...it happened 4 times. The wait staff definitely is not top notch or top class & managment needs to improve the quality of the food & the attitude of the waitstaff. Did you ever voice a concern to waitstaff? You may not want to because a couple sitting in the same room as us told the waitress that the steak was undercooked. As she went back into the kitchen, I heard her say "Some asshole complained about the steak. Make sure you drop it on the floor & then spit on it." I told the couple what the waitress said, & of course she denied it. So be careful.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sara Reynolds Sara Reynolds, Bay Head, NJ
(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
I went to Basil T's on a Tuesday evening with my wife. We had been before, a little over six months ago, and noticed the beers had changed somewhat. They still have the same names, but the recipes are noticeably different. The red ale, which used to be our favorite, is now far sweeter than we had remembered. We ordered burgers, which were good, though over-cooked, and had an appitizer--shrimp brushetta. Priced at $10.95, this dish was four GIANT, thick, soft pieces of bread with only about four tiny shrimp and large gooey pieces of avocado. But, by far, the biggest disappointment of the evening was the congregation of waitresses loudly discussing how one of their managers had been arrested the night before for attempted murder and rape. While the conversation was interresting enough to hold our attention, it seemed wildly inappropriate to be discussing it in front of customers. We will probably not return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ladderman Mark Ladderman, Union City, NJ
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
We started out with the sampler. They were out of the Red Ale...my fav & the Porter. The Summer Seasonal was a bit flat but the Wheat was excellent and IPA was right behind it & liked that they named the brews after dog breeds. We would recommend it fer sure & worth going back to. We ate dinner which was good but the 17 oz steak ($23) was on a diet and came out maybe 10 oz, so not worth it. The atmosphere & decor was a bit mixed. They need to make up their minds on a theme. But again, the beer makes the trip worth while. It's really the only good micro brew place around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
started with the wheat and then had the porter. the porter had a nice chocolate flavor. The wheat was very crisp. Will return to try the others. The only brewpub in toms River.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Donald, manalapan, nj
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
My wife and I went in on New Year's Eve around 6 pm for dinner and didn't have reservations. We were told we would have to wait 30 minutes, but they would seat us as soon as possible. Well the 30 minutes turned into less than 30 seconds and they found a place for us! of the 6 beers on tap, we tried 3 - Wheat - filtered with a nice golden color, good body and flavor; Pale - pretty solid, hoppy, with a fruity aroma; Red - deep red, malty brew. Not tried was the Dry Stout, Pumpkin and Apple (wasn't sure if this was a cider or what). My wife had a filet and I had a chicken pizza, both were delicious and the pizza was BIG! Besides the rapid seating, our waitress was great for such a busy night (even if her knowledge of the brews was lacking...). We would definitely visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
Back down the shore this summer, and I wanted to give this place another visit. A good dinner was had, but I am afraid that the poor service I received might eventually kill this place. We were seated right away, but menu's did not come for 10 minutes. No drink order either. I saw lots of servers, but none coming to our table. I was really looking forward to a few good beers, but because our order was taken late, and we had a movie to see, I could only enjoy one beer. That was the Gold, which had a slight berry flavor, accurately described by our server. Nothing on the menu stuck out at me, so I got the burger, and was very pleased. The rest of my group also got good meals, but nothing special. I feel bad because I love this place & always enjoy the beer. They need to pay more attention to service, they cannot take the customer for granted. I will try again though, it may have been a bad night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jesse M. Herschbein Jesse M. Herschbein, Wayne, NJ
(08/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Great brewpub experience, The beer was great and so was the service. Did not have a chance to sample the food but from what I read in the reviews I missed out on some great food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff P Jeff P, Dumont, NJ
(03/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
all beers sampled were very good. The sampler incl. 6-5oz. glasses and was priced $4.75. Quite a bargain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toms River, NJ
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great
It was a rainy day down the shore, so I decided to give Basil T's a try. What a pleasant surprise. Beer sampler was very nice. I especially liked the XXX Summer Ale. Belgian Wheat was a little weak, but still good beer. Food was awesome. I had the Mussels FraDiavlo. My wife had shrimp & scallops. Calamari appy is very good. Prices are not outrageous. Burgers are on the menu, but with all the other selections, why eat pub food?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jesse M. Herschbein Jesse M. Herschbein, Wayne, NJ
(08/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Love the menu...The italian specials really have an excellent taste. You can get pizza or burgers, but you would be missing the real reason to eat at this restaurant. The Red Rocket has a terrific taste. I would certainly go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Clark, NJ
(07/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I was pleasently surpised with the quality of the beer at this place. I had the six beer sampler, then settled into a couple pints of their nicely hopped pale ale. The food was very good too. Recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(04/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We made a trip down from PA and were thoroughly impressed. Excellent all round quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Festa Joe Festa, Scranton, PA
(03/18/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.605 seconds) 13:13:33 54.204.142.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS