PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill - Toms River, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
November 27, 2014 @ 06:53 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Toms River > Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.8 / 100
1171 Hooper Avenue
Toms River, NJ 08753
United States
(732) 244-7566
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: October 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Toms River, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Basil T's Brew Pub and Italian Grill
89 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Tue 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Wed 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Thu 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:00AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:00AM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Studio of John F Peto
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) HOWARD JOHNSON HTL TOMS RIVER
2) RAMADA INN TOMS RIVER LAKEWOOD
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Birdsall, Capt. Amos , House
2) Brant, A.A., House
3) Crawford House
4) Giberson, Capt. George W., House
5) Horner House
6) Ocean County Courthouse
7) Ocean County Jail
8) Stewart House
9) Stoutenburgh-Minturn House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1904 Grill
2) All Day Cafe
3) All The Perks
4) Antonio's Italian Restaurant
5) Apana II
6) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
7) Atlanta Bread Co
8) Attilio's Pizzeria
9) Banquet Services Intl
10) Basil T's Brew Pub & Italian
11) Baskin-Robbins
12) Bella Vista
13) Berkeley Seafood Of Silverton
14) Bistro
15) Blimpie Subs & Salads
16) Blizzard Of Ahh's
17) Burger King
18) Burger King
19) Burger King
20) Cafe At 1144
21) Carlo's Pizza & Italian Rstrnt
22) Cayard Inc
23) Chicken Town
24) China Express
25) China Restaurant
26) Christophers Pub
27) Cool Beans Coffee House Inc
28) Dairy Queen
29) Davan Espresso
30) Domino's Pizza
31) Dragon Chinese Kitchen
32) Driftwood Deli & Sub Shop
33) Dunkin Donuts
34) Dunkin Dounuts
35) Dynasty Kitchen
36) East Coast Vegan
37) Fiore Rosso Restaurant
38) Fred's Pizzeria
39) Friendly's Restaurant
40) Friendly's Restaurant
41) G & M Meat Market
42) Gios Sapore Italiano
43) Golden Gate Chinese
44) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
45) Hot Tamales
46) Ice Palace
47) Il Giardinello Beach Grille
48) Il Giardinello Cafe
49) Island Cafe
50) Italy's Best III
51) Jersey Juice & Java
52) Jersey Mike's Submarines
53) Jersey Shore Subs
54) Jnj's American Grill On The Gr
55) Johnny G's Pizza & Pasta
56) Joshua Huddy Brew Pub & Grill
57) Juicy Fruits
58) Jules South
59) Kingpin Cafe
60) LA Zuzzio Deli & Catering
61) Legend Restaurant
62) Linda's Pizza
63) Little Chopstick Restaurant
64) Little T's Pizza
65) Marco's Pizza
66) Mc Divots
67) Mc Donald's
68) Mcintyre's Pub
69) Memory Lane Diner
70) Mienelle's Catering
71) Mr Breakfast Restaurant
72) Mr J's Fast Break
73) Mrs Walker's Famous Ice Cream
74) Mrs Walker's Ice Cream Parlor
75) Mugsy's Bar & Grill
76) Nathan's Famous
77) New Huy Bird Chinese Restrnt
78) Nobu Japanese Cuisine
79) Ocean East Inc
80) Oil House Cafe
81) Old Country Buffet
82) Old Country Buffet
83) Old Time Tavern
84) Old Time Tavern
85) Olive Garden
86) Panini Foods Inc
87) Papa John's Pizza
88) Papa John's Pizza
89) Paradice Creams
90) Perkins Family Restaurant
91) Phil's Liquor Locker Lounge
92) Pisces Seafood Restaurant
93) Pizza Pizza
94) Pizza Plaza
95) Quiznos Sub
96) Ralph's Italian Ices
97) Red Lobster Restaurant
98) Reggio's
99) Rich's Ice Cream
100) Riggio's Catering
101) Sbarro
102) Shogun At Bey Lea
103) Silverton Meats & Deli
104) South Philly Steak & Fries
105) Steverino's Pizza Pub
106) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
107) Subway Sandwiches Of Salads
108) Sundaes-The Ice Cream Place
109) Sunny Side Up
110) Taco Bell
111) TGI Friday's
112) Tgi Friday's
113) Tom's Riverside Deli & Subs
114) Trattoria Giovanni
115) White Castle
116) Yellow Brick Road Ice Cream
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Good Good
My wife and I were in the area yesterday, so we stopped in for a beer and a late lunch (our first visit here). I had an IPA - it was good, but I'm spoiled a bit by what I've had recently in the Pacific NW, and this just doesn't compare. The beer selection was varied, there were the three regulars (lite, red ale, and IPA) as well as three seasonals (golden ale, winter ale and doppelbock). I had the spicy balsamic calamari which was very good. It had a nice balance of spice and sweetness, and the calamari was very tender. My wife liked her chopped Cobb salad. Overall, I'd visit again when nearby, but it's not a must-go destination.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Monte Monte, Morris County, NJ
(12/31/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Ifyou go, try the red ale, its awesome. If you sit at the bar, try the pizza, wings and salad, unbeatable! Most important tho are the gorgeous bartenders, they'll make it worth your staying for another brew.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cigarmanblue cigarmanblue, Toms River, NJ
(10/08/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Easily the best food in the area. Basils red ale was excellent.First time visit, will be returnine freguently.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Raymond Ragers Raymond Ragers, Toms River, NJ
(06/24/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Nine selection of beer Basils pale ale was excellent, and food was fabulois.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Cherney Bill Cherney, Brick, 08
(02/04/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Bast bitter I've had since England. Kim was a great server.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jen Tamedl Jen Tamedl , Allenhurst, NJ
(12/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Beer was best since my brew tour in Maine!! Bartender was friendly & Knowlegable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Amy Barraco Amy Barraco, Toms River, NJ
(11/20/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I Had an awesome experience... The Beers and Food are Exceptiional.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Jolley Dave Jolley, Monmouth Beach, 07
(03/26/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
My wife and I have eaten here three times in the last few weeks. It is only a couple of miles from our house so it is quite convenient. They have a great early bird special for only 12 dollars. It includes bread, soup, salad, entree, desert, and your choice of tea, coffee, or a soft drink. The food is good in my opinion so it would be worth a trip even if it was not a brewpub. Now to the beer. On tuesdays and thursdays they have six dollar pitchers which is quite a good deal. My favorite is the pale ale. Unfortunately they were out of it on our last visit. They were also out of the nut brown which was going to be my next choice. I opted for the Hefe which was acceptable but not great. The only other beers they had available was the red which I do not like that much or the lite which I have never tried but would not drink just on principle alone. So if you are going for the beer alone, you might be a little dissapointed especially if the selection is limited as it has been lately. However, if you want a good meal with some good beer at a reasonable price this is the place. P.S. Nick our waiter did a nice job.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Leaman Don Leaman, Toms River, NJ
(10/06/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Nut Brown Ale was tremendous! Appetizers were interesting and yumalicios!(VERY TASTY)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Calbi Rich Calbi, Toms River, NJ
(08/19/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Nut Brown Ale was tremendous! Appetizers were interesting and yumalicious!(very tasty)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Calbi Ron Calbi, Toms River, NJ
(08/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Basil T's has been around for some time and it seems to get better every time. I stopped in for a quick bite and brew. I had the pale ale and some spicy calamari. The PALE ALE is served with nitrogen which mellows the flavor and gives it a creamy mouthfeel. I could drink it al night. On ascale of one to four mugs, give this a four.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Wilson Greg Wilson, ATLANTA, GA
(05/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Meatball Bracciole and Sausage is to die for! If you haven't already discovered this place.... you are dafinitely missing out. Awesome quality of beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Baker John Baker, Monmouth Beach, NJ
(11/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great atmospher, great beer, awesome food. Great place to hangout. worth a stop if you are in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Leech Rich Leech, Freehold, NJ
(10/26/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Lousy Lousy
as a reply to the previous commpliment of LT. we were long time regulars of basil t's but last time we were in there we had horrible service at the bar and learned that they fired LT because she went back to nursing school. Because of this we will never be in there again. how could you fire someone when they are trying to make something of life. she was the best bartendeer there and now that she is gone we will never be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TIMM TIMM, BRICK, NJ
(09/30/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! N/A
Outstanding the food was great and the beer excellent. Almost instantaneous service. The waitress Lauren or LT as she likes to be called was friendly and always there when you needed another beer. I would strongly recomend this place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Bolton Mark Bolton, Toms River, NJ
(07/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Stopped here several days ago on a weekday afternoon. It was my first visit. Overall I really liked the place; it was clean and classy without being stuffy. The beer was good, but nothing outstanding. The selection included a Lite, Red, Pale Ale, Pilsner, Wheat, and Nut Brown. They were all tasty, but oddly my favorite was the Lite. The Pale Ale and Wheat seemed to lack some flavor, and I liked the Nut Brown. The Pilsner tasted too much like the Lite and the Red was simply good. I didn't have anything to eat, but my friend did and enjoyed the meal, although he said it's hard to mess up a reuben. The bartender and hostess were friendly. While I wouldn't go out of my way to stop here again, it is a nice place and I'm glad I checked it out.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harry Spade Harry Spade, Honey Brook, PA
(06/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My brother lives in Toms River and BASIL T'S is always astop when I visit from Florida.The Red Ale is the bast there is! I only wish we had A BASIL T'S IN Holiday Florida.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Howard Howard, Holiday, FL
(04/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is far my favorite plase to dine. It has outstanding food and beer. The Porter is delicious.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Sisler Mike Sisler, Manalapan, NJ
(02/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! N/A
Love this place!!! I have family who comes to town twice a year and our first stop is BASIL T'S! Keep up the good work guys.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jennifer Riche Jennifer Riche, Toms River, NJ
(01/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
What a find, the food is excellent.Second, the beer is awesome. I would definately say this place is one of the best brewpubs I've been to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alex Alex, Holmdel, NJ
(12/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Great beer! Great food! Great service! A trip to Toms River is never complete without visting the folks at Basil T's. See ya'll soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick Fellin Rick Fellin, Charlotte, NC
(12/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Fantastic food, otustanding beer, and fin people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joseph Joseph, Bricktown, NJ
(11/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A Good
I stopped in and picked up a growler of Pete's Pale Ale, written up as "American Pale Ale amber in color well hopped with Cascade hops characterized by a dry, crisp quality. ABV 5.6%". I was disappointed - no hops at all in this beer nor much taste of any kind. The beer wasn't bad, just bland. I also had 3 pints, no buzz at all. I think the beer may have been in the tank too long & lost it's taste.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo Leo, Randolph, NJ
(10/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Best beer in N.J. Just stopped in and the sampler....6 on top, but the TOMS RIVER RED was the best. Servicr was very good.My Wife loves the Grilled Chillean Sea Bass while I prefer the Shrip and Scallop Possilluppo.As alway it was great to get back to this fine establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Marene Chris Marene, Princeton, NJ
(10/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Had dinner here with the fammily last night. Beer was great the food was tremendous, even my son's kid's menu was awesome. A fantastic stop for food and beerin south Jersey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louis Humble Louis Humble, TOMS RIVER, NJ
(10/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Red ale says it all. Awesome! Great atmosphere baretenders are really friendly, and the food & beer is fabulous. I only wish it was closer to home. See you there soon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Stephen, Aberdeen, NJ
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is quickly becoming my favorite Pub in NJ. It is far an away the best brewpub in the state. Each of their beers has gusto. Great food and friendly attentative service, This is the place to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Bay Head, NJ
(09/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Everything was very good. What makes this place awesome is the food and courteous service makes this well worth the drive!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gavin Pollock Gavin Pollock, Summit, NJ
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! N/A
We were looking for a higher quality establishment near our home here in Toms River NJ,and this is the place. A diamond in the rough. Excellen high quality food, and great beer. PETE'S Pale Ale was very nice, one of the best i have had. The staff was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gary Gary, Toms River, NJ
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I have been to your restaurant for dinner. I have never been disappointed. Price and service is always excellent. Nice friendly atmospher here. Never had a bad beer at Basil T's.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Neal Neal, West Long Branch, NJ
(08/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Very Cool Place with a little bit of everythinh. The beers are great, The food is (EXCELLENT). This place is a work of art. A must stop when you are in Toms River.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Jacob Chris Jacob, Hoboken, NJ
(08/02/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This was the first stop on my beer tour, And when I walket in about 1:00 the place was packed! The service was still pleasant and helpful. The Pale Ale was EXCELLENT and the Red Ale was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick  Thompson Rick Thompson, Beachwood, NJ
(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! N/A Awesome!
This is a great Brew Bup,With a friendly beer educated staff,Great food,Good prices.There 6 seasonal beers on tap. Don't miss the Toms River Red Ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lee Adams Lee Adams, UNION, NJ
(07/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I went to BASIL T'S last Satutday and I will say it was great the food was amazing. Comfotable atmasphere, excellent beer (ecpecially the toms river red).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron Molloy Ron Molloy, Forked River, NJ
(06/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We stapped in Basil T's with some friends, the food was awesome and the beer was outstaniding, our wairess knew her stuff and knew how to be a good host. I will always come back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ted Ted, Princeton, NJ
(06/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is a great place to visit. BASIL T'S knows how to brew beer and serve up the food, A must see on your list of places to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Owens Joe Owens, Morristown, NJ
(05/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Whenever Iam in Toms River on business I always stop at BASIL T'S. Great beer awesome food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Howard Hock Howard Hock, Woodbridge, CT
(03/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Nice brew pub. The service is impecable by a good looking group.Awesome new menu and beer selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Simmons John Simmons, Toms River, NJ
(03/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Tried the stout and an IPA. Both were good but nothing outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
I tried the RED ALE and STOUT found both to have very good flaver and body.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Judy Mullin Judy Mullin, Edison, NJ
(02/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Enjoyed the place. Food was "AWESOME" and extremely reasonably priced.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregg Hayduk Gregg Hayduk, Toss River, NJ
(02/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This plase is the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ANN & PAT ANN & PAT, TOMS RIVER, NJ
(02/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The beer overall was very good. The serving staff was (EXCELLENT). Very nice. Ill be back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Beachwood, NJ
(01/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Great food, Great beer. One the best microbrews in N.J. A must see.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Toms River, NJ
(12/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
To: Mark and Brenda of Toms River, Francisco is, I'm sorry to say in jail on assault charges.

As far as Basil's... when the head chef is in the food is outrageous, but if he's not there, it drops to so-so. The beer could be better if they would just loosen up on their purse strings and pump more CO2 into it. 9 times out of 10 it has no head or carbination. There's just a little need for quality control. This place has always been great and there's no reason why it can't be there again!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Otto Otto, Toms River, NJ
(12/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Exellent food and service

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geofriey Hill Geofriey Hill, Woodcliff Lake, NJ
(12/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My fiance and I love this place! We've been going there about once a week for the past year or so. Its the only place in town that we haven't gotten sick of. The beer is great and the service is fantastic!! We usually eat at the bar, but the dining room is also nice. One question though--does anyone know what happened to Fransisco? We haven't seen him in a while.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark and Brenda Mark and Brenda, Toms River, NJ
(10/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent (PALE ALE) Appreciate the $5.00 beer (pitcher)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lou Lou, Wayne, NJ
(10/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Phil Phil, San Diego, CA
(10/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
After reading some of the negative comments on Basil T's I thought I would add in my remarks. I have been dining out to this spectacular restaurant for over a year and a half and have never had a bad word to say about this establishment. Not only is the service excellent, but the food, although expensive, is well worth the visit. The staff has always greeted me and my husband with a smile and excellent attitude. The beer is very different and with the new brew master, they have been tasting better than ever. The look of the restaurant is very unique and very clean. I highly recommend dining at Basil T's for any occasion any day of the week!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MaryAnn S. MaryAnn S., Point Pleasant, NJ
(09/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A Awesome! Awesome! Great
After reading the previous remarks about the restaurant, I was in complete awe of all the people who has such irratating remarks about the service. We recently had a party of about 25 people on a busy evening. THe service we received was absolutly fabulous. When we sat down we were greeted with a warm, smiling waitress who made our experience even that much better. After ordering our beers they came in a speedy amount of time. The dinner was so delicious that I didn't leave one bit. And finally, the desserts were awesome. In the end, the waitress thanked us and invited us back! We will definately be back...the service was wonderful!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Catherine T Catherine T, Toms River, NJ
(09/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
New brewer as of June,'03. Beer names have changed and rotating brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, Rahway, NJ
(09/11/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
Tonight was 2 for 1 pasta night and $5 pitcher of beer. I thought that these specials were a great deal compared to other restaurants in the area. The beer was pretty good, the service was great. Even the manager (blonde female) came over to see if everything was ok. Great touch. Great job guys, A+ in my book.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bill bill, brick, NJ
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
I dined tonight and sat in the bar area. The tables were very small but we adjusted. Our server, Laura, was AWESOME. She didn't skip a beat. The food was out of this world. I had the chicken parm and my husband had the penne vodka. Two great choices. We didn't try the beer, but saw they had a great wine selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michelle michelle, pomona, NJ
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
The food was excellent, the service was impecable, and the beer outstanding. I Drive 40 mintues for Basil T's to drink their beer. Beats other local brew pubs hands down. If you go try the Shrimp & Scallop Possillippo it,s outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob & Suzie Bob & Suzie, Colts Neck, NJ
(09/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
This guys beer is awesome! The new brewer at Basil T's (Tom Paffrath). PETES PALE ALE and TOMS RIVER RED was great. Friendly staff and A great selection of food. The best kept secret in the new jersey area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Angelo Mark Angelo, Brick, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I came on this site to write an honest review. Quite frankly, after reading some of the other reviews, I find it somewhat odd that the last five people to review this restaurant ALL found it to be "Awesome!" in every way. And then if one scrolls down a bit, the reviews are average to bad. I have a sneaking suspicion that the last several reviewers are somehow affiliated with the restaurant. It kind of pisses me off. This is just my opinion. Now that I've gotten that off my chest, here is my review. My visit to Basil T's was pleasant. The food and service were both pretty good, though I've had better, but I definately wouldn't say it was "Awesome". My husband really liked the beer, especially the amber ale. I liked that they had a really decent wine selection. We both agreed that this place was a little over priced, but we liked it enough to go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Laura Schofield Laura Schofield, Forked River, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My husband took me there on our first date June of 2002. Since then we have gone there for special occasions. We love the ambiance, the food is spectacular & waitstaff is superb.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Toni & Tom Pugliese Toni & Tom Pugliese, Red Bank, NJ
(08/26/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Basil T's has become our favrite restaurant. Great atmospher.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don&Pat Racek Don&Pat Racek, Toms River, NJ
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
We have been to Basil T's for lunch & dinner. Best meal ever.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Kichkine Richard Kichkine, Whiting, NJ
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food is awesome and beer is great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bryan Clawges Bryan Clawges, Point Pleasant, NJ
(08/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
The only word that comes to mind is "eh".

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sherri Sherri, Ocean, NJ
(08/21/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place was terrific! My husband and I went into Basil T's this past Saturday night to have a bite to eat and check out there beer selection. I have to say we were quite impressed. Not only was the food awesome (I had filet mignon with bleu cheese and he tried the Sea Bass) but their beers were great as well. We started off with the sampler. 6 beers in all - A lite, an ale, a red, a porter, a stout and a seasonal (I think it was called Rush). We loved them all but had to go back for another Red, it was that good. Service was great, atmosphere was really good too. Oh and I forgot about the desserts..... We were told they are all made on the premises and we believed them. The bon-bon we shared was out of this world. All around an excellent place. We would recommend to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from laura laura, jackson, NJ
(08/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy So So
We used to eat here about 3 times a month. Then the service became mediocore, the food was great one time, then so-so the next, but the killer was the hair(s) in the food & dead bug(s) in the salad...it happened 4 times. The wait staff definitely is not top notch or top class & managment needs to improve the quality of the food & the attitude of the waitstaff. Did you ever voice a concern to waitstaff? You may not want to because a couple sitting in the same room as us told the waitress that the steak was undercooked. As she went back into the kitchen, I heard her say "Some asshole complained about the steak. Make sure you drop it on the floor & then spit on it." I told the couple what the waitress said, & of course she denied it. So be careful.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sara Reynolds Sara Reynolds, Bay Head, NJ
(08/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So Lousy So So
I went to Basil T's on a Tuesday evening with my wife. We had been before, a little over six months ago, and noticed the beers had changed somewhat. They still have the same names, but the recipes are noticeably different. The red ale, which used to be our favorite, is now far sweeter than we had remembered. We ordered burgers, which were good, though over-cooked, and had an appitizer--shrimp brushetta. Priced at $10.95, this dish was four GIANT, thick, soft pieces of bread with only about four tiny shrimp and large gooey pieces of avocado. But, by far, the biggest disappointment of the evening was the congregation of waitresses loudly discussing how one of their managers had been arrested the night before for attempted murder and rape. While the conversation was interresting enough to hold our attention, it seemed wildly inappropriate to be discussing it in front of customers. We will probably not return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ladderman Mark Ladderman, Union City, NJ
(08/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
We started out with the sampler. They were out of the Red Ale...my fav & the Porter. The Summer Seasonal was a bit flat but the Wheat was excellent and IPA was right behind it & liked that they named the brews after dog breeds. We would recommend it fer sure & worth going back to. We ate dinner which was good but the 17 oz steak ($23) was on a diet and came out maybe 10 oz, so not worth it. The atmosphere & decor was a bit mixed. They need to make up their minds on a theme. But again, the beer makes the trip worth while. It's really the only good micro brew place around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gail Klewsaat gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(07/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
started with the wheat and then had the porter. the porter had a nice chocolate flavor. The wheat was very crisp. Will return to try the others. The only brewpub in toms River.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Donald, manalapan, nj
(04/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
My wife and I went in on New Year's Eve around 6 pm for dinner and didn't have reservations. We were told we would have to wait 30 minutes, but they would seat us as soon as possible. Well the 30 minutes turned into less than 30 seconds and they found a place for us! of the 6 beers on tap, we tried 3 - Wheat - filtered with a nice golden color, good body and flavor; Pale - pretty solid, hoppy, with a fruity aroma; Red - deep red, malty brew. Not tried was the Dry Stout, Pumpkin and Apple (wasn't sure if this was a cider or what). My wife had a filet and I had a chicken pizza, both were delicious and the pizza was BIG! Besides the rapid seating, our waitress was great for such a busy night (even if her knowledge of the brews was lacking...). We would definitely visit again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from steve steve, somerset, NJ
(01/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Good
Back down the shore this summer, and I wanted to give this place another visit. A good dinner was had, but I am afraid that the poor service I received might eventually kill this place. We were seated right away, but menu's did not come for 10 minutes. No drink order either. I saw lots of servers, but none coming to our table. I was really looking forward to a few good beers, but because our order was taken late, and we had a movie to see, I could only enjoy one beer. That was the Gold, which had a slight berry flavor, accurately described by our server. Nothing on the menu stuck out at me, so I got the burger, and was very pleased. The rest of my group also got good meals, but nothing special. I feel bad because I love this place & always enjoy the beer. They need to pay more attention to service, they cannot take the customer for granted. I will try again though, it may have been a bad night.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jesse M. Herschbein Jesse M. Herschbein, Wayne, NJ
(08/22/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Great brewpub experience, The beer was great and so was the service. Did not have a chance to sample the food but from what I read in the reviews I missed out on some great food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff P Jeff P, Dumont, NJ
(03/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
all beers sampled were very good. The sampler incl. 6-5oz. glasses and was priced $4.75. Quite a bargain.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Toms River, NJ
(02/25/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great
It was a rainy day down the shore, so I decided to give Basil T's a try. What a pleasant surprise. Beer sampler was very nice. I especially liked the XXX Summer Ale. Belgian Wheat was a little weak, but still good beer. Food was awesome. I had the Mussels FraDiavlo. My wife had shrimp & scallops. Calamari appy is very good. Prices are not outrageous. Burgers are on the menu, but with all the other selections, why eat pub food?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jesse M. Herschbein Jesse M. Herschbein, Wayne, NJ
(08/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
Love the menu...The italian specials really have an excellent taste. You can get pizza or burgers, but you would be missing the real reason to eat at this restaurant. The Red Rocket has a terrific taste. I would certainly go back again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Jim, Clark, NJ
(07/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I was pleasently surpised with the quality of the beer at this place. I had the six beer sampler, then settled into a couple pints of their nicely hopped pale ale. The food was very good too. Recommended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(04/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We made a trip down from PA and were thoroughly impressed. Excellent all round quality.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Festa Joe Festa, Scranton, PA
(03/18/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Excellent all around. The brew is the best in New Jersey. The Giambotta was terrific. Service is the best. It's the place to go in Ocean County.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregory Gregory, Freehold, NJ
(03/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The sampler has 6 glasses but only 5 beers are available: Pale Ale, Rocket Red Ale, Summer Ale (or Porter in winter), Stout, Wheat. All good, prefer Rocket. Italian food good, some unusual items, also some American and pub sandwiches. Can be noisy. Booths in rear are large. Some tables dark, small rooms but large building. Located next to large mall. Worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed LaRue Ed LaRue, Maywood, NJ
(08/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Great
Some people might like the privacy, but I didn't particularly like the "booth ", more like a cell, they put us into across from the holding tanks. The beers were ok. I didn't like the wheat at all, but thought the Pale Ale was great. The sevice was unbelievably good. How wonderful to finish your meal and be presented with the check without havinf to beg for it. How wonder to ask for another beer and have it in front of less than a minute later. The food was good even though I've always the the combo of Italian cuisine and brewpub to be slightly at odds. I've always thought of brewpubs being associated with beer drinking type cuisines: english, German, etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan hodge Dan hodge, union, NJ
(07/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Certainly a beautiful location! Enjoyed great beer,food and service. What more can you ask for? Go to talk to the brewer. She took time out to chat. Can't wait to go back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Haynie Mark Haynie, Somers Point, NJ
(06/02/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Ryon James Ryon, Northfield, NJ
(02/27/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Good
They sure don't play up the brewing side of their business here, but they should. The beer is quite good. Atmosphere is that of a lounge.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Grant T. Averill Grant T. Averill, Louisville, KY
(10/11/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Belchertown, MA
(07/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bedford Bob Bedford, Linden, NJ
(03/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Great Brews! Excellent service and outstanding food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Nick, Toms River, NJ
(02/03/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I love Basil T's and can be found lurking there on many Sunday afternoons after a day of antiquing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Christie Christie, Freehold, NJ
(06/12/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Top-drawer brewpub. Good food, good service, good flavorful beers. Even family-friendly. Overall excellent experience.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Temple Rich Temple, Highland Park, NJ
(02/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jlm14 jlm14, Hamilton Township, NJ
(12/22/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kellycaruso kellycaruso, east lansing, mi
(12/06/1997)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from john birkrem john birkrem, beverly, NJ
(11/09/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.408 seconds) 18:53:52 54.211.137.77, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS