PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Harmon Pub and Brewery - Tacoma, WA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 22, 2014 @ 10:14 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WA > Tacoma > Harmon Pub and Brewery
Harmon Pub and Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Harmon Pub and Brewery
Overall: Great    Score: 74.2 / 100
1938 Pacific Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98402
United States
(253) 383-BREW
Listed Since: November 1997
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Tacoma, WA
Beer Guide for Washington

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Harmon Pub and Brewery
26 Reviews / 3 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 80:0PM
Mon 11:00AM - 90:0PM
Tue 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Wed 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Thu 11:00AM - 10:00PM
Fri 11:00AM - 12:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 12:00AM

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Katie Downs Tavern and Eatery
(0 mile)

2) Swiss
(0 mile)

3) Ram Restaurant and Brewery
(0 mile)

4) Rock Wood Fired Pizza and Brewery
(0 mile)

5) The Harmon Hub
(0 mile)

6) Spar Tavern
(1 mile)

7) The Parkway Tavern
(1 mile)

8) Engine House Number 9
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) A Greater Tacoma B & B Rsrvtns
2) Austrian B & B & Suites
3) Blue Willow Cottage B & B
4) Branch Colonial House
5) Chinaberry Hill
6) Commencement Bay B & B
7) Dashaway Bed & Breakfast
8) Dutch Embassy Bed & Breakfast
9) Green Cape Cod Bed & Breakfast
10) Keenan House Bed & Breakfast
11) Oakes Street Barn B & B
12) Plum Duff House
13) Tacomainns Dot Com
14) Villa A Mediterranean Mansion
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN TACOMA
2) CORPORATE SUITES
3) CROSSLAND TACOMA HOSMER
4) DAYS INN TACOMA
5) DAYS INN TACOMA
6) EXTENDEDSTAY TACOMA FIFE
7) HJ TACOMA INN
8) LA QUINTA INN/STES TACOMA CONF
9) RAMADA INN TACOMA CIVIC CENTER
10) RAMADA LTD TACOMA
11) SHERATON TACOMA HOTEL
12) SHILO INN TACOMA
13) SILVER CLOUD INN TACOMA
14) TRAVELODGE - FIFE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Albers Brothers Mill
2) Annobee Apartments
3) Bowes Building
4) Browns Point Lighthouse and Keeper's Cottage
5) Building at 1602 South G Street
6) Building at 712--716 Sixth Avenue
7) City Waterway Bridge
8) City Waterway Bridge
9) Drum, Henry, House
10) East 34th Street Bridge
11) Engine House No. 11
12) Engine House No. 13
13) Engine House No. 4
14) Engine House No. 8
15) Engine House No. 9
16) Fire Alarm Station
17) Fire Station No. 1
18) Fire Station No. 10
19) Fire Station No. 14
20) Fire Station No. 15
21) Fire Station No. 2
22) Fire Station No. 5
23) FIREBOAT NO.1
24) Fireboat Station
25) Haddaway Hall
26) House at 1510 Tacoma Avenue South
27) House at 1610 South G Street
28) House at 2314 South Ainsworth Avenue
29) House at 2326 South L Street
30) House at 605 South G Street
31) House at 708--710 South 8th Street
32) House at 802--804 South G Street
33) Masonic Temple Building--Temple Theater
34) McIlvaine Apartments
35) Murray, Frederick H., House
36) Nihon Go Gakko
37) Nisqually Power Substation
38) North 21st Street Bridge
39) North 23rd Street Bridge
40) Northern Pacific Office Building
41) Old City Hall
42) Pacific Brewing and Malting Company
43) Pacific National Bank Building
44) Pantages Theatre
45) Perkins Building
46) Pythian Temple
47) Rhodes Medical Arts Building
48) Rialto Theater
49) Rust, William Ross, House
50) Sandberg--Schoenfeld Buildings
51) Schultz Apartments
52) Slavonian Hall
53) Sprague Building
54) St. Peter's Episcopal Church
55) Sunset Telephone & Telegraph Building
56) Tacoma Building
57) Tacoma Mausoleum
58) Union Passenger Station
59) US Post Office--Tacoma Downtown Station--Federal Building
60) Walker Apartment Hotel
61) Y.M.C.A. Building
62) Yuncker, John F., House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 21 Commerce
2) 43rd Street Pub
3) 911 Deli
4) A Renaissance Cafe
5) Acme Tavern
6) Altezzo Ristorante
7) Anh Dao Restaurant
8) Ark Delicatessen & Cafe
9) Bill's Rite Spot Cafe
10) Blue Nile Espresso
11) Blue Olive
12) Blue Street Cafe
13) Bob's Barbeque Pit Too
14) Broadway Grill
15) Browne's Star Grill
16) Burger Bar Restaurant
17) Burger Ranch
18) Busy Bee Cafe
19) Cafe By The Bay
20) Cafe Divino
21) Cafe LA Vie
22) Cafe Nuhoung
23) Cafe Veritas
24) Cellars Under Broadway
25) Cellars Under Broadway
26) Chin's Teriyaki
27) Christopher's Sandwich
28) City Light's Pizza
29) Club Silverstone
30) Comedy Underground
31) Commerce Deli
32) Cosmic Coffee
33) Crazy Taco
34) D & C Burger Grill
35) Dairy Queen
36) David's On Broadway
37) Dean Allen's Catering
38) Dock Street Landing
39) Dock Street Sandwich Co
40) Drake's
41) El Compadre Mexican Food
42) El Gaucho Tacoma LLC
43) El Toro Mexican Restaurant
44) Emerald City Smoothie
45) Espresso Du Monde
46) Fantastic Burger
47) Fergie's On The Ave
48) Fish House Cafe
49) Flying Boots Restaurant & Spur
50) Frisko Freeze
51) Fujiya Japanese Restaurant
52) Gallucci's Catering
53) Gari Of Sushi
54) German Bistro
55) Golden City Restaurant
56) Golden Keum Cuisine
57) Gordon Biersch
58) Grassi's Garden Cafe
59) Hall Of A Sub
60) Happy Deli
61) Happy Teriyaki
62) Harmon Brewing Co & Restaurant
63) Harvester Restaurant
64) Healing Garden Tea Room
65) Hob-Nob Restaurant & Lounge
66) Hotel Bar & Grill
67) Houlihan's
68) Ida's Pub
69) India Mahal
70) It's Greek To Me
71) Jack In The Box
72) Jack In The Box
73) Jato Cafe
74) Jillian's
75) Johnny's Dock Restaurant
76) Jubilee Hamburger Restaurant
77) Kellys
78) Kfc
79) Kickstand Cafe
80) King Do
81) Koyto Stop Teriyaki
82) L & M Cafe
83) La Costa Mexican Restaurant
84) Lincoln Bowl Restaurant
85) Los Amigos Taqueria
86) Mai's Restaurant
87) Mandarin On Broadway
88) Manila Center Diner
89) Margaret's Cafe
90) Mc Cabe's American Music Cafe
91) Mc Donald's
92) Mediterranean Palace
93) Melting Pot
94) Mini Market & Deli
95) Mini-Mart
96) Museum Of Glass Cafe
97) Neener's Pub
98) O'Sheas Catering
99) Old Spaghetti Factory
100) Old Town Tavern Co Inc
101) Once Teriyaki
102) Over The Moon Cafe & Catering
103) Pac 40 Lounge
104) Pacific Garden Catering
105) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
106) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
107) Park Place Cafe Ii
108) Parkway Tavern
109) Pastrami's New York Eatery/Esp
110) Pat's Grill
111) Paya Thai Fish & Chips
112) Pegasus
113) Pho Bac Cafe
114) Pina's Mexican Restaurant
115) Ports Of Call Restaurant
116) Pub
117) Pub Tel
118) Puerto Vallarta
119) Puget Sound Pizza
120) Quickie Too
121) Quiznos Sub
122) Ravenous
123) Red Robin Burger & Spirits
124) Riski's Broadway Grill
125) Rock
126) Rock Pasta Brick Oven Pizza
127) Round Table Pizza
128) Sandy B's Hamburgers
129) Seawitch Cafe & Espresso
130) Silver's Thai Cuisine 32
131) Soon's Kitchen
132) Southern Kitchen
133) Stadium Deli
134) Stanley & Seafort's Steak Chop
135) Starbucks
136) Starbucks
137) Starbucks
138) Starbucks
139) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
140) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
141) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
142) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
143) Swiss
144) Taboo
145) Taco Del Mar
146) Tacoma Bar & Grill
147) Tacoma Club
148) Tacoma Rhodes Ctr
149) Taqueria El Guadalajara
150) Taqueria El Ranconsito
151) Taste Of The Town Catering
152) Teriyaki Kitchen
153) Thai Garden
154) Thien Sanh
155) Tho Tuong Bbq
156) Trattoria Grazie
157) Vault Restaurant & Catering
158) Vien Dong Restaurant
159) Vienna Deli
160) Vingrotto Cafe & Wine Bar
161) Volume Services
162) Wendy's Vietnamese Food
163) Western-R Cafe
164) WHATS4LUNCH.COM
165) Whistle Stop Diner
166) Yoko's Teriyaki
167) Your Place
168) Yu's Teriyaki Tacoma
169) Yung's Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
You know kids, as I'm a crew member for a large number of rock bands (who cares who they are) I see a lot of towns, cities an country's on planet earth. But today, I asked the front desk at my hotel where the closest micro brewery was. They suggested Harmon. I'd never heard of it, but I was hungry and craved some cold beer.

My choice is most always IPA. Today, I not only had an IPA, but I also got a taste of the pale ale, as well as their cream ale. Holy shit. They were all so good. After one IPA I asked for a sample of the pale ale. It was very good, but since I'd started with IPA I thought I'd better stick with it. Then my server suggested the cream ale. Again, I sampled. It was excellent. Very English, very smooth. It had to settle not unlike most all English ales do. And let me tell you, it was top notch! So after one IPA I switched to the cream ale! Awesome to say the least.

OK, Now for the service. As I said, I visit a lot of brew pubs around the world. But hands down, this place not only had excellent service, but the wait staff (or at least the young lady who served me) was not only helpful, but friendly beyond belief. And it wasn't put on. She actually liked serving me. I shit you not. And as I sat across from the bar, even the bartender lady smiled and asked how I was doing. She didn't have to ask or even care how I was doing, as I was 15 feet away. Again, the real deal!

Then my fish taco's came. As with the beer, top notch. The taco's were tasty, and cole slaw was fresh, and to my surprise was made with horseradish! Killer to say the least. I won't even comment on the fries. Wow, I was in heaven.

I don't leave revues of micro breweries very often as a rule, but I had no choice in this case. It was fan-fucking-tastic. Go there. Go now. Don't live in Tacoma Washington? Move here. I'm thinking about it myself...

Nuff said...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Will Twork Will Twork, Knoxville, TN
(09/13/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Our family has eaten here at least 15 times on Sunday afternoons. We're southern suburbanites who love to visit Tacoma to see it change when it's not too busy. The house beers seem pretty bitter, but I'm not an expert yet I love to try new things. The salads, sandwiches, nachos, are great. The steak specials are chewy, but the fish and chips are allright. I love the old floors, I took my Dad there, who grew up in Tacoma and he said "Oh, this is the old hardware store". The wait staff is hit and miss. The staff in the bar are really fantastic, but the younger girls in the restaurant seemed moody and inexperienced on several occasions. Teh general atmosphere is very relaxed and friendly. The last time we were there I got my Excursion busted into and musical instruments stolen. Right in front of the restauran and Federal Courthouse, broad dailight, on a very busy street! Tacoma Police terrible.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review tacoma, WA
(06/13/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Being a hop lover, these beers were fabulous. The strong bitter hoppy flavor from dry hopping is the best in the area. Didn't get a chance to eat here but will be back in the near future!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Billings, MT
(04/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Good
If I was going to visit Tacoma again, Harmons would not be my first choice of brewpubs to hit. It would be Engine House #9. But, if I was down enjoying the Glass Museum or the Washington State Museum, I'd stroll across the street for a brew or two. Harmons offered up five of their "flagship" beers which are pretty standard ,plus a seasonal or two,to go along with a full bar. I started off with a Browns Point ESB. Decent enough that I'd order it again. Enjoyed a filling bowl of clam chowder with the ESB. Tried the Puget Sound Porter which seemed a little weak. The best part of the visit was watching a rookie waitress carrying a tray of water-filled glasses around the premises. Sure enough, the whole tray went flying. Well worth the price of admission.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. King J. King, Campbell, CA
(04/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Good Good Good
I use to frequent this brew pub when they first opened. And the beer was great. They have really changed there recipes on there beer since then. They are over hopping the all there beers. They seem to be in such a hurry to get the beer out be for it is ready to drank. If you like the taste of green hops that leaves a bitter oily texture in the back of your throat than this place is for you. I won't try it again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jack jack, Tacoma, WA
(04/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
I visited the Harmon on a Saturday afternoon. Buisness was brisk, but my party of three was seated almost immediately. We had salads and sandwiches, all pretty good (if a tad pricey). I tried the five beer sampler and found all five to be very good examples of their respective styles... the Extra Special Bitter is particularly good. The place is a brewpub; it would appeal most to those who like good beer and want to try different types, styles and recipes. And the beer does not look "nasty" in the pitcher.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from B. A. Maverick B. A. Maverick, Tacoma, WA
(02/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
The Scotch, IPA and Double Porter were great. I always enjoys the beers. The food is a different story. I have to learn not to order east coast food (Philly Cheese Steak) on the west coast, they just don't get it. All-in-all I enjoy the place. Server is attentive (almost to a fault) in spite of being very busy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(01/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I loved this place. It could be just my infatuation with the NW but the space is so cool and the beer, food, and service were great. Be sure to check out the Chihuly glass display at the Union Station down the street. On tap the day I was there: Plae ale, brown's point bitter, puget sound porter, Wollochet (sp?) bay wheat, and one that I can't read in my notes. The bitter had abit of a sweet note to it but there was a bitter aftertaste--intereseting. The porter was delicious! There was a coffee/malt flavor that was very nice. The pale ale was indeed pale-not too bitter--a good way to start. This place does a lot for it's patrons--organizes all sorts of trips, hikes, etc. If I lived in the area, I would be a regular.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, North Hornell, NY
(08/01/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
The beer is OK. I am not sure why some here did not like it, but I guess it is like art. I did not order food, so I can't really rate it. I thought the atmosphere was very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kerry Kerry, Clearfield, UT
(07/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So So So Lousy So So
I liked the food here but the amount of calamari you receive was sad. I dont drink but the beer looked nasty in the pitcher. No one at our table liked it, thats bad. The service left alot to be desired especially when our tip was figured at 18% into the bill. I should add 3 of the people who ate the fish were sick the next morning. I had the hamburger. I definitely wouldnt go to again or recommend this place to anyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carrie Carrie, Savannah, GA
(06/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
If you like beer or food stay clear of Harmon's. I have never in my life tasted such nasty beer. the food {Fish} was some of the worst I have ever tasted, actually it had no taste. The pitcher of water we ordered was the highlight of the evening.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Bob, St. Joseph, MO
(06/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Awesome! So So Great
The food is great! We stopped in on a Thursday night, and they had AMAZING live music. This guy, Steve, is there every Thurs. around 8:30 til closing, and he just blew us away. We'll definitely be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ajohnson ajohnson, Tacoma, WA
(04/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I love this pub, its my favorite place to go have a beer. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to have a few beers. The calamari is the best in town and my favorite brew is the Browns Point ESB... of course!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Catherine Hatfield Catherine Hatfield, Tacoma, WA
(01/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is my favorite place to go have a beer, I love the Harmon and recommend it to everyone looking to have a few beers. My fav brew is the Browns Point ESB, of course!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Catherine Hatfield Catherine Hatfield, Tacoma, WA
(01/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy So So
Don't waste your time eating here! Good beer, poor service. They only offer a limited number of hours for filling personal kegs. Isn't that their business?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ROB KLINE ROB KLINE, AUBURN, WA
(09/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So So So Lousy So So
Weel I love Bud light and it was over priced and all the men are straight however they are still hot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Aaron Aaron, Anchorage, AK
(12/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Awesome! Great
We pop in here once every couple of weeks for a Mushroom Gorgonzola Burger and a pitcher of the Point Defiance IPA. This is a wonderful hoppy brew with a great floral nose. We've strayed on the menu a couple of times with mixed results...have the gorgonzola burger! The staff is always friendly and pretty attentive as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Calnan John Calnan, Auburn, WA
(02/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Good
Large brewpub with very a laid back atmosphere. There's a pool table in the big back room and a very long bar. Very friendly wait staff. The IPA was excellent and the porter was good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from South Side Sully South Side Sully, chicago, IL
(08/20/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Loved the McKillip's Scotch Ale....but then, I would. Brother's winning recipe.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick McKillip Patrick McKillip, puyallup, WA
(03/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ZAM ZAM, Lakewood, CO
(01/21/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I was pleasantly suprised to find this brewpub right next to an equally great museum. The Puget Sound Porter and Pinnacle Peak Pale Ale were very refreshing and clean. I'll definitely be returning in the future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Anderson Steve Anderson, Fountain Valley, CA
(08/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This place has become the premier place to drink and eat in Tacoma. Located along redeveloped Pacific Avenue, Harmons is nearby the State Historical Museum, University of Washington- Tacoma and the US courthouse. The building was an old furniture factory that now has condos and commercial activities. I found that the beer was outstanding with particular note to brewer, Mike Davis's "White River" Rye and Mountian Mild. The beers names are using the Mount Rainier theme celebrating 100 years of the national park. The food (especially the spicy dishes)provides an excellent complement to the various styles offered on a seasonal basis. This is one place I keep coming back to. The beers change but the quality is still very high. These guys also contribute to the community which is nice.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bud Battles Bud Battles, Renton, WA
(07/23/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So So So Good So So
Been there once about six months ago...not particularly impressive place. Pretty good beer, but very bland food. I hated the set-up of the place...someplaces reminded me of the same set-up of a fast food restaurant.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C Kramer C Kramer, Anchorage, AK
(03/28/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Lousy Good
A great place to listen to local jazz if you can get past the lousy service, bland beer, and mediocre food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tacoma, WA
(10/23/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Neither the scotch ale nor the wheat beer were at all distinctive. Food was not particularly interesting either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review NY, NY
(03/26/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.452 seconds) 22:14:21 54.87.123.99, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS