PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Arcadia Brewing Company - Battle Creek, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 28, 2014 @ 01:29 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Battle Creek > Arcadia Brewing Company
Arcadia Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Arcadia Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 78.6 / 100
103 West Michigan Avenue
Battle Creek, MI 49017
United States
(269) 963-9520
Listed Since: December 1997
Last Updated: October 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Battle Creek, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Arcadia Brewing Company
47 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Griffin Grill and Pub
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Greencrest Manor
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN BATTLE CREEK
2) DAYS INN BATTLE CREEK MI
3) KNIGHTS INN BATTLE CREEK MI
4) MCCAMLY PLAZA HOTEL
5) RAMADA INN BATTLE CREEK MI
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Kellogg, W.K., House
2) Penn Central Railway Station
3) Roosevelt Community House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 17 West Inc
2) Addington Hills Cafe
3) All-American Pizzeria
4) Apple Core Cafe
5) Apple Core II
6) Arby's
7) Arcadia Brewing Co
8) B C Burgers
9) Bailey Park Grille
10) Barney's Bedford Bar
11) Bedford Area Lions
12) Bedford Steakhouse
13) Bici Bistro's
14) Blimpie Subs & Salads
15) Brownstone
16) Burger King
17) Burger King
18) Burnham Brook Ctr
19) C-Stores
20) Carson's Northside Convenience
21) Chop Suey Express
22) Clara's Business Office
23) Clara's On The River
24) Cool Mama's Ice Cream
25) Cool Mamma's Ice Cream
26) Dippidy Doo
27) Drumstick
28) Ellery's Studio Cafe
29) Golden Dragon Restaurant
30) Great Wall
31) Griffins Grill & Pub
32) Heritage Dome Ctr
33) Idle Hour Tavern
34) Irish Pub
35) J W Barleycorn
36) Jack's Bar & Grill
37) KFC
38) Lake's Sunrise Cafe
39) Little Caesars Pizza
40) Market LA Mexicana
41) Mc Donald's
42) Mc Donald's
43) Mike & Jeanne's Pizza
44) Ot's Up N Smoke Bbq
45) Pablo's
46) Papa John's Pizza
47) PAR Four
48) Partners Bar
49) Penn Station
50) Pennfield Pizza
51) Pizza Hut
52) Pizza Hut
53) Pizza Parlor
54) Porter's
55) Ritzee Hamburgers
56) Schlotzsky's Deli
57) Shranks Cafeteria & Catering
58) Sir Pizza
59) Sodexho
60) Spanky's Sandwich & Ice Cream
61) Speed's Cross Town Cafe
62) Speedy Chick
63) Sports Page
64) Steve's Pizza
65) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
66) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
67) Taco Bell
68) Tony's Chop Suey
69) Walt's Sr Catfish & Bbq & Ribs
70) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Lousy So So
A real cluster of a visit, and not in a slightly good way. While the beer selection remains as ever, the incredibly poor service had us stay for only a beer or two, and then bolt from the place. We sat at the bar, as the only other customers (employees/friends were there occupying the servers attention) for 5 minutes or so until a bus person told the bartender we wanted a beer. Started pouring the wrong cask beer, poured it out, and then filled the same glass with what was ordered. At one time there were 8 employees at or behind the bar, ostensibly doing nothing. Hats on backwards, underwear showing, eating, conversing, but certainly not waiting on anyone. Luckily, an (expectant mommy) employee showed up and helped us to decide upon a final beer or we would have gone immediately. Uncertain if we'll return in the future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The IPA is my standard at Arcadia, have had a lot of different IPAs but always look forward going back to Arcadia for one of theirs. The staff is always ready to make your visit a pleasant one. Ask for Tracy she is one of our favorites.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Allen Tom Allen, Battle Creek, MI
(09/06/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
although not the best of micigan...a great brewery...the ipa (british style) was relativley hoppy and enjoyable...the double ipa was more my style, really hoppy though a bit stronger...the also had a beligum wheat, a scottish and a stout which i did not try....the pizzas were quite good and the service at the bar was excellent!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from miki shear miki shear, park forest, IL
(08/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Great
The brewer for Arcadia made a visit to Dilly Deli in Cincinnati for a special roll out of their beers here. I've had Arcadia beers at their brew pub and also on tap at various places here in Cincinnati, and their IPA is good (though I tend not to prefer the British style IPAs). To the event at Dilly Deli, they brought several beers. Their Hopmouth Double IPA was excellent, and their barleywine was quite good. But their Scotch Ale was horrible--it had a very sour taste and was nothing like what a true scotch ale should be. I'm not sure if it was a bad batch or what, but it was very insulting that the head brewer tried to make it seem as though those who didn't like it just didn't like scotch ales in general. Come on, you don't go to an event to introduce your beers to the most discriminating beer drinkers in Cincinnati, serve them a horrible scotch ale, and then act as if they don't know what they are talking about when they tell you it is not good! Just admit that you brewed a bad batch and move on!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(11/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Great
This was the first time I have been disappointed at Arcadia. We arrived on a Saturday evening in late September around 7pm and the place was amost empty - a bad sign. The only cask beer on tap (usually two on a Saturday in my experience) was the Whitsun - a bit late for an early summer style beer and definitely not the best style for cask conditioned service. I settled for a draft London Porter which was nothing special but served way too cold. My partner had the Anglers which was notably tasteless and flavorless. The food was quiet and the first two items we asked about were not available (bad sign also early on a Saturday), so we settled for a pizza which was well below their usual standard. The server was a bit of a dipstick - knew little about the food or beer and was more concerned with his appearance than anything else.

To me this is an indication of an establishment on the slide. I hope not. What was most worrysome was the lack of concern about feedback by either the server or bar staff. Not what I am accustomed to at Arcadia. Please put it right!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Little Nick Little, Pierson, MI
(10/01/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
I had the opportunity to stop in twice this week while working in BC. First trip brought a Whitsun, hand pulled IPA and then the Scotch ale. The Barbecue combo plate was fantastic, with brisket, pork, sausage, beans and cornbread. The second trip was 3 Whitsun's and the sun-dried tomato hummus with toasted pita slices. I may begin calling this place my western office.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(07/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I've enjoyed Arcadia beers in the past, but never really went wild over them. I'm still not to that point, but I did enjoy them quite a bit recently. Two casks to try--IPA was slightly fruity at the finish, while the scotch ale was malty and syrupy, almost too much so. Blackheart Ale is a dark ale, effervescent, not really beefy, but drinkable nonetheless. The London Porter is the best of the lot, just a good brew that holds its own throughout. A local patron (and investor?) was nearby and began chatting about the beers and got a bottle of the Imperial IPA to share. Way, way, too drinkable! Not a chore like some big IPAs. I returned the favor with a bottle of Shipwreck Barrel Aged Porter. Also a good choice; vanilla, oak, maybe even some fruit (cherry?), a nice end of the evening beer. Service was very good, and my salad and soup were just perfect for the night. Good things are happening in Battle Creek!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The whole family went to Arcadia. The beer and everything was great. We will go back. However, the bag piping was a little annoying. My ribs were outstanding. The pizza was very good. Have the beer sampler. great price and variety.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Moran John Moran, Charlotte, MI
(04/08/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
Got to taste 8 beers on tap and 1 hand pull. Liked the IPA, Columbus, dry-hopped, the London Porter had a nice chocolate finish, and the Scotch Ale although it was a bit seet for my tastes. British styled beers overall were well balanced. Brewery/bottling line directly behind the bar. Server at bar not well versed on lots of things--to her defense, unning the bar and covering many of the dining room tables is unfair. Irish music was nice. Relief person for my server was generally useless. I waited 10-15 minutes just to get my check as he was more interested in changing CDs than helping a customer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Lousy So So
We had very poor service, felt a little rushed through the brew tour. The beers were ok, the ones I enjoyed were the ESB, the Scottish was decent, the Stout was ok, they did'nt have the porter. There were two cask ales, the Anglers Pale Ale and the IPA, the IPA was alright. Food was pretty good, they have a very cool oven. All and all I probably won't return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Tom, South Bend, IN
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So N/A N/A Good So So
When it comes to rating an establishment such as this, it's all about the beer. Food is rarely different, it's all good. The beer, however, at Arcadia was a big disappointment. They were small, weak, light-bodied and watery. Other than that they were tasty. British style is not supposed to mean lame, there is a difference. I've been to England.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(12/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Awesome! So So
They were very friendly and knowledgeable, and the place was very nice, but the beer was OK at best. All of their beers seemed "soft". I know that they are a British style brewpub, but offer something with some hops please! I had their oatmalt stout, it made Guiness seem like a barleywine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Awesome!
Looking forward to going back when I am in the area.I wish they had a sample tray available.I can only get through about different 4 pints before I have to call it quits.Glad I am not driving.The Porter is the best.It does not get any better that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beer  drinking mike beer drinking mike, lagrange, OH
(10/18/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Good
I only rated it good this time becouse I have been there several times since my list review an the IPA is not what it used to be. Little to no hop aroma or flavor. They said that the fining they have been using mask the hop flavor. I hope they either change the fining soon or add more hops. but this is still one my favorite places.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Pfeiffer Don Pfeiffer, Toledo, OH
(06/22/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is one of the best places in Michigan, top 3 and in the top 90% nation wide. Every beer I have ever had has been great. The service is outstanding and food is very good also while not fancy.... It is worth going out of your way to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Pfeiffer Don Pfeiffer, Toledo, OH
(02/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Visited late afternoon one Thursday and found London Porter on handpump - very smooth and a good example of a porter as I have found this side of the 'pond'. ESB was also good. They had the porter in bottles, so I had to buy a case because it is hard to find.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Little Nick Little, Lansing, MI
(01/19/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
For someone "hooked" on Red Hook moving to the area, I've found solice in Arcadia's ESB!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Kzoo, MI
(12/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I LOVE THIS PLACE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Caleb Cronk Caleb Cronk, Fort Worth, TX
(11/18/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Great Good
Nice place. All of the beers are good for their styles. The Scotch Ale and ESB are both very good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Holland, MI
(08/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So Good
Go for the beer, as the quality and selection are very good. Unfortuately, the food selection is limited (pizza, salads, and sandwiches). We tried the 'daily special' which was cornish hen. It was dry and flavorless for $10.99. When we were asked the obligatory question "How's everying?", We told the waitress that we did not like our meal. She pretty much blew us off..."Oh, sorry." and offered nothing else, no replacement or someelse. Our son has a pizza, which did not reheat very well the next day. The crust was so 'machine-rolled' thin that it lifeless when fresh, and a pile of mush the next day. Just go for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John, Clinton Twp., MI
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Pardon my spelling errors on the review. I'll be more careful next time. I forgot to add that I ordered a chips and salsa appetizer. While the small cup of salsa was very good, they served it with a very low quality, highly salted tortilla chip...and tons of them. You know, the 2 lb. bag for a $1.99 kind! Get your act together Arcadia.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review John, Clinton Twp., MI
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
A big city brew pub in a small town! Great food wood fire pizza- very good. They have a scotch ale that is the best. Their porter is also very good. Battle Creek is a small town that has trouble supporting this "Grade A" establishment check it out if you get a chance

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from erb erb, bc, MI
(09/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
After visiting alot of so-so microbrews in my travels this summer, it's nice to get back home and say some nice things about a truly great brew. Arcadia is doing it right. It's about the only reason I can think of going to Battle Creek, but it's worth the trip. Starboard Stout is my personal favorite, a nice dry Irish stout. I order it by the half barrel and when I run out, there's a panic in the house until I get it replaced. Tim and staff have always been very good about filling my orders at the last minute (even though you are supposed to call ahead a week.) I'll be in in a few weeks to resupply. Don't worry, I'll call first.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian T Brian T, Sturgis, MI
(08/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Great Great
Only the second mildly disappointing visit out of about 30. Beers seemed to all have same fruity yeasty taste that I remember from Belgian real lambics - could be a contamination problem, but the staff assured me they had completely cleaned everything dow (so someone else must have notices something wrong?) I had a cask conditioned pint of their IPA at the Griffin down the road and it was awesome, yet in the brewery it was borderline acceptable. Also, selection and choice was depleted ... reason given was that my visit was just following their "birthday" party! Beware. I sure hope they get back to their normal level of excellence very soon. I will keep checking.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick Little Nick Little, Charlotte, MI
(07/01/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Awesome! Great
Great place to stop for a cask conditioned ale.Good food,great service.Dont miss Arcadia if you are in Battle Creek or making a I-94 micro run.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack Everett Jack Everett, Ft Wayne, IN
(02/04/2002)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.412 seconds) 13:29:22 54.83.233.11, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS