PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ellicott Mills Brewing Company - Ellicott City, MD
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 21, 2014 @ 12:21 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MD > Ellicott City > Ellicott Mills Brewing Company
Ellicott Mills Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Ellicott Mills Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 79.5 / 100
8308 Main Street
Ellicott City, MD 21043
United States
(410) 313-8141
Listed Since: December 1997
Last Updated: May 2004
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Ellicott City, MD
Beer Guide for Maryland

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Ellicott Mills Brewing Company
121 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Mon 11:30AM - 12:00PM
Tue 11:30AM - 01:30AM
Wed 11:30AM - 01:30AM
Thu 11:30AM - 01:30AM
Fri 11:30AM - 01:30AM
Sat 11:30AM - 01:30AM

alternatives
(7 within 5 miles)
1) Phoenix Emporium
(0 mile)

2) Judges Bench Pub
(0 mile)

3) Mad Hop Brews
(1 mile)

4) Iamperri's
(3 miles)

5) Frisco Grille and Cantina (was Frisco Burritos)
(4 miles)

6) Victoria Gastro Pub
(4 miles)

7) Pub Dog Pizza and Drafthouse
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Wayside Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN CATONSVILLE
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Brick House on the Pike
2) Dorsey Hall
3) Ellicott City Station
4) Hilton
5) Old Catonsville High School
6) Old Salem Church and Cemetery
7) Patterson Viaduct Ruins
8) Summit
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) An Elegant Epicure
2) Asia Garden & Restaurant
3) Bella Mia Pizza
4) Bippy's Pub
5) Bombay Grill Inc
6) Cacao Lane Restaurant
7) Carrabba's Italian Grill
8) Chick-Fil-A
9) China Village
10) Dauville Restaurant
11) Dimitri's Greek Restaurant
12) Duchess Variety Store
13) Eggspectation
14) El Porton Mexican Imports
15) Ellicott Mills Brewing Co
16) Feel's Cafe
17) Fuku Sushi
18) Giovanni's Restaurant
19) Golden Bar & Grill
20) Great Wall United Trading Inc
21) Hansung Restaurant
22) Hinkle Albert Enterprises Inc
23) House Of Asia
24) Hunan East Restaurant
25) Ikkyu
26) Il Giardino Ristorante
27) Johnny Star Rib Co
28) Jordan's Steakhouse
29) Judge's Bench
30) Kelsey's Restaurant
31) Kfc
32) La Palapa Grill & Cantina
33) Manley's Bistro
34) Mc Donald's
35) Mc Donald's
36) Mi Casa Mexican Restaurant
37) Mirocjo
38) New Beijing Garden
39) Niko Japanese Restaurant
40) Outback Steakhouse
41) Panda Buffet
42) Papa John's Pizza
43) Pasta Bliz Of Columbia
44) Phoenix Emporium
45) Pizza Hut
46) Pizza Hut
47) Pizzeria Uno
48) Quiznos Sub
49) Sarah & Desmonds Gourmet Bkry
50) Sidestreets Restaurant
51) Soeul Soondae Restaurant
52) Sorrento's Main Street Station
53) Starbucks
54) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
55) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
56) Tea On The Tiber
57) Tersiguel's
58) Tiber River Tavern
59) Trolley Stop
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
Food was very good. Beer was average and mild. The two or three we tried tasted very similar and slightly watery. It was a nice place, but could use some work on the beer recipes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dick Poynter Dick Poynter, Springfield, IL
(12/25/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Beer was great. Lunch was so-so. Can't even remember what I ate. Server was fantastic.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(09/02/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place has something happening just about every day of the week. Sunday and Monday half off appetizers in the dining room. Tuesday half off bottles of wine. Thursday is prime rib night. The bar has specials just about every night as well. I try to go there at least 3 times a week.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dwayne Dwayne, owings mills, MD
(02/06/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
just to let everyone know...u can't smoke in HoCo anymore, but to let Gregg know there was always the option to smoke in the rath since the day they opened. It is just that when u have a full bar and 7 tables full or 20+ people down there, it gets cramped...so if you had planned to smoke something like a stinky cigar,it mightv'e offended someone...also the BLANTANT cigar box at the end of the bar against the wall,shouldv'e been a key.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from victor m thompson victor m thompson, ellicott city, MD
(12/09/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
First of all, Ellicott City is a hidden gem! The city was founded in the late 1700's and it still looks of that era. You must visit and see the old schoolhouses buildings. Overall the brewery was exciting and had many seasonal and specialty brews to compliment the mainstays. I was particularly fond of the pumpkin beer. Our meal was above average, large portions, and came with friendly service. The brewery oozes with charm and comfort and is a must visit if you're only in the Baltimore area for a short while. Bring change for the parking meters.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Patterson James Patterson, Bolingbrook, IL
(12/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The atmosphere of the ellicott mills brewing company was relaxing and low key. The woodwork and lighting is amazing. I wish there were pictures of the interior somewhere on the web! (hint, hint)

My boyfriend and I were in town visiting family & looking for a nice break from all the craziness. We found exactly what we were looking for! The beer & food were up to par and we're picky. We both got the angus burger and it was quite tasty.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patricia Patricia, Columbus, OH
(10/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
great old building...great basement tavern. the freak behind the bar is hysterical down there...will go back soon even if my wings were a little dry. great big screen...marzen was exceptional, weizen as well...dunkleweizen a bit weak...malt liquor interesting and a bit fruity...service was amazing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review bawlmer, hon, MD
(09/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good Awesome! Good
Been drinking/eating here since they opened. I really miss the best brewer they ever had, Darell. Frank, last guy, sucked but some of the bad beer was due to some HVAC/equipment problems the brewery had. He is gone and the new guys are great. Beer is back on track and Im happy to go there as much as I can. Never went for the food, but the service has always been above par.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City(Baltimore), MD
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
So you paid nothing and got nothing. I love people who complain about bad service, how someone should run there biz, and expect something for nothing. The place has good beer, ok food but no one gets a free lunch. I guess your Mommy and Daddy spoiled you. Go for the Marzen and avoid 10 people expecting a free dinner yet did not confirm anything, new no one to ask for etc...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Todd, Sykesville, MD
(07/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
me and my friends go here atleast once a week, dont sit on the dining floor, we always go to the 'batskeller' downstairs. the bartender 'Batman' is AWESOME! always has good conversation, on time with drinks from the second you walk in the door an makes sure your food is good and your take'n care of.. we go on tuesdays for the lobster special (whole lobster, fries and mixed vegies for 11.99 AND $3 jack daniels all night) and weds is 35cent wings which are AMAZING, honistly best wings in howard county plus the $3 makers mark cant hurt...

honsitly this place is great, never had a bad experience..drinks are always on point, food is fast an good, i have no idea what these other people are talking about.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lark Lark, Laurel, MD
(07/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So Lousy Lousy
The Brew Co has an advertisement for a free lunch for 10 of your friends. My husband won this free lunch and we show up with 10 of our friends, and they don't have a reservation for us. They basically called us liars because we couldn't prove we had won the free lunch. We asked to talk to the manager to see what he could do and he was very rude and walked away in the middle of our conversation. We called the owner and he was very rude on the phone conversation. We told him we would never come back and he said we were threatening him. The owner was in the restaurant the entire time and never came out to talk to us in person. It seemed like a good place to go but we will never go back to such crappy service ever again. Do not believe anything advertised there because it must be a scam. Maybe Ellicott Mills could become a better restaurant if they got a new owner or took some classes on good business skills.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Columbia, MD
(06/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
My husband and I had been going to the Brewery for several years now, and have noticed a steady decline in the restaurant. We actually went there for a family dinner, with a party of 13 of us. For parties over 6, they automatically include 18% for the tip - and therefore our waitress was awful, the service was unattentive, and the food was worse than the last time we went. They did not bring us any rolls, we pretty much received only one round of drinks as we would ask for more drinks, but never received them, and everyone received the wrong meal they had ordered. They were out of about 3 of their seasonal beers, and the food was awful. This place used to be quite nice, however, the food and especially the service was ridiculously awful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review catonsville, MD
(02/18/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Good So So
Based on an unpleasant experience at Ellicott Mills about a year ago, I thought I'd wait a while and see if things had improved. So we checked them out tonight and I'm sad to say that there is still much room for improvement. Let's get straight to the beer. First I tried the seasonal XO that is supposed to be a triple of some sort. It was definitely not a Belgian triple as it lacked any of spicy and earthy characteristics of a Belgian. Likewise, it did not exhibit the rich maltiness and deep color one would expect of a German triple bock. So, ignoring categorization, I tried to find something to like in this beer, but came up short. I expect a triple of any style to knock me over with something like malt aroma and flavor, a warming sense of the presence of alcohol, or the funkiness of the Belgian yeasts. But, this beer just didn't have much going on. One can easily find beers of lesser strength with more character. Next I tried the doppelbock. During Ellicott Mills' early years, the German beers, notably the bocks were quite good. The dopplebock tonight exhibited a rich deep redish brown color suggesting more interesting things to come. But, it was just a suggestion. The body was too light for a doppelbock, the malt aroma and flavor was minimal, and the hop bitterness was excessive - quite disappointing. Next I tried the Marzen. Again, during their early years this was an excellent beer, comparable to that made at the venerable and now gone Baltimore Brewing Company. But, once again I was disappointed. The impression of this beer to me was first hop bitterness, followed by astringency, and finally some small amount of toasty malt presence came through. Finally, I sampled the strong ale. This was the best of the bunch, but not by much. The balance was towards the hops with subdued carmel and minimal fruity notes. Not quite to style, but drinkable. The food at Ellicott Mills has never been very good in my opinion, and things have not changed there either. I'll leave it at that. It's sad that a place with such charm and character falls so short of its potential. Ellicott City deserves better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Humes David Humes, Baltimore, MD
(12/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The beer selection was wonderful! Too bad my only companion was my 11 year old son, he couldn't be my designated driver so I couldn't sample more!

The food is OK, but really uneven. We had dinner, so perhaps the "bar fare" would have been a better fit.

Already planning the after church outing on the way home in the next few weeks!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Helme Brian Helme, Ellicott City, MD
(10/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy So So Good
We have been visiting Ellicott Mills Brewing Co. for a couple of years now, and we've learned that it's a great place for beer, but not such a great place for food. We've also gotten kegs for our last three parties from them. The kegs we finally ended up with each time were great, but hardly worth the hassle because twice we've ordered them in advance only to find out that no one at Ellicott Mills had any record of our order when we went to pick them up. And twice we've gotten the keg home to discover that the beer had gone bad and then been told that they didn't have any more of that kind of keg in stock when we returned it. This is the last thing we want to have to deal with before a big party, especially when we had ordered something like a Marzen in advance for Oktoberfest and ended up having to settle for something completely different.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Columbia, MD
(10/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Tried the brews I had not tasted before during my last visit. VooDoo Alt was malty and creamy-sweet. Penny Dee Pale resembled the alt but with a few more hops. Otay Dunkleweizen didn't fit the style at all, again very malty. (Server made some sort of comment to another customer about brewer had "only certain things available" for some of the brews on tap. Sure seemed to me like the same malt was in most that I tasted) Weizenheimer was just plain nasty--sour. The salad sampler was excellent. It's three different salads (tuna, chicken, shrimp) over a bed of greens. It's also more than one person could ever hope to eat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
happened upon this place by accident as I am not a beer drinker but loved this place. A little bit for everyone. Basement bar is great. Tatooed surfer dude bartender is a lot of fun, will be back next time i am in that area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ronny deeeeeeee ronny deeeeeeee, washington, DC
(08/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The Dunkel and the Alt were fantastic, as were the food. They were out of the bock, but the first two made up for it! Food was great, service was great, atmosphere was pleasant, as is the setting.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geoff Geoff, Morris Plains, NJ
(07/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! So So Great
The beer is great, especially the Marzen. I always get the steak and crabcake meal. The steak has always been cooked perfectly medium and the crabcakes are insanely good. The bartender in the basement seems to fluctuate, if he wants to be, he can be awesome... but i've been there days when it seems like he wants nothing to do with you if he doesn't know you. overall i really like the place and reccommend stopping in for the food and the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Elkridge, MD
(01/30/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy Good So So
I have been coming here for years and have never seen so much fluxauation of quality in an establishment. There was a time that the food was really great (about 7 years ago), so then I stopped eating there and stuck with the beer. For a while the beer was nice German style lagers, then it went a mess. I know that there has been a lot of change in the brewers and it seems to really effect the quality. Last year the Triple Bock was Excellent as was the Double, I stopped in the other day to grab the lovely Triple Bock and to my supprise it was waaaaay off from previous years (thin and lacking in flavor). I had a sample of thier "Scotch" Ale and had no Idea why it was called so. I agree with the below statement about the current food and really hope something is done to bring back the quality because I really like the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jeff Jeff, Baltimore, MD
(01/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Great Good
We come here probably about once a month, and honestly, we come for the beer and eat at the Mexican place across the street. I like the beer, especially the triple and double bocks, but the food is consistently bad. I’ve never had anything grilled that wasn’t way over-cooked. The appetizers are small and nothing to speak of – except the tiny plate of calamari we got one time that was around $9 for a salad plate of boxed, over-breaded, deep-fried garbage. The sandwiches are usually edible, but grilled fish is always like a brick. A friend of mine recently got the crabcake sandwich ($9.95), and it was so small they had to smash it wafer thin to almost cover the bottom of a Kaiser roll. He suggested that they simply charge more and offer a sandwich-sized portion. At the opposite end of the spectrum, entrees are for the most part in the $20+ range, and NOT WORTH IT. I am always disappointed, and at those prices, I am not willing to order them. I don’t know if the prices are because of location, but they are obviously not because of a skilled chef. I’ve always hoped they would do something about the food, because the beer, location, and atmosphere deserve better, and so do the patrons.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lisa Lisa, Columbia, MD
(12/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
went on tuesday afternoon liked the bat bock and mf malt liquor yum had lunch special $5 sandwich good deal!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jim jim, b-more, MD
(11/18/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Not one to quible over a review in this forum, the last reviewer was way off his mark on this establishment's beers. I've been an off & on regular for seven years and their beers are the best in this region. The Kolsch, though good, is a beer for those who drink the Big Boy swills. As far as the comparasions on the Marzen, having spent years in Germany, it's the only one around the comes even close to and surpasses some of the German born Marzens.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Roger Martin Roger Martin, Elkridge, MD
(07/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Great So So
We went to the Ellicott Mills Brewing Company for the first time on Saturday, 7/9/05. Ellicott City is pretty neat - historical and touristy - and virtually any wife is likely to approve. The brewpub is in an old, brick building that really has some character. We had lunch, but noted that there were some some interesting dinner entrees, including one of venison, that we did not try. A woman named Merri served our party of six in the upstairs dining room, and she was good: knowledgeable on the menu and the beers, prompt, efficient, and with a nice personality. Overall, the food and appetizers were good. On draft they had a Marzen, a summer bock with 6.8% abv, an IPA, some kind of English (?) ale, an Australian-style beer, a Kolsch, a hefeweizen, and maybe one or two other kinds. They don't fill "walk-in" growlers-- instead, they have their own growlers ala the Baltimore Brewing Company. The beers were not that good, unfortunately. Their best seller is a Marzen, and in my view it totally missed the mark: it had none of the malty taste one expects from a Marzen. It was uninspired and not even close to the quality of the draft Marzen that the Baltimore Brewing Company made in its heyday, nor is it as good as Clipper City MarzHon in bottles. The Kolsch was good, the summer bock was fair, but both the IPA and the English ale were dogs. We didn't try the hefeweizen. As nice as the setting is, I might go there again, but the beers really were a disappointment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Schultz Steven Schultz, Abingdon, MD
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Greg, we have a basement bar that sell cigars an allows or any tobacco product!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from timothy kendzierski timothy kendzierski, Baltimore, MD
(06/29/2005)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.38 seconds) 00:21:02 54.198.36.179, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS