PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Barbon's Tavern - Reading, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 07:47 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Reading > Barbon's Tavern
Barbon's Tavern Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Barbon's Tavern
Overall: Great    Score: 76.1 / 100
1006 New Holland Road
Route 625 (2 blocks from Route 222)
Reading, PA 19607
United States
(610) 775-4836
Listed Since: December 1997
Last Updated: April 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Reading, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
19 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) The Clubhouse
(0 mile)

2) Third and Spruce Cafe
(2 miles)

3) Trooper Thorn's Irish Beef House
(2 miles)

4) Legacy Brewing (was Neversink and was Fancy Pants)
(3 miles)

5) Canal Street Pub and Restaurant
(3 miles)

6) Brewery Inn
(3 miles)

7) Northeast Taproom
(5 miles)

8) The Brass Lantern
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) 9-Patch Bed & Breakfast
2) Adrienne's Inn At Centre Park
3) Alpenhof Restaurant
4) Overlook Mansion B & B
5) Stirling Guest Hotel
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COUNTRY INN SUITES WYOMISSING
2) DAYS INN READING SHILLINGTON
3) ECONO LODGE OUTLET VILLAGE
4) HAMPTON INN READNG WYOMSS
5) SHERATON READING HOTEL
6) THE INN AT READING
7) WELLESLEY INN READING
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Allegheny Aqueduct
2) Askew Bridge
3) Bethel A.M.E. Church
4) City Hall
5) Cotton and Maple Streets School
6) Foos, Charles S., Elementary School
7) Grimshaw Silk Mill
8) Hampden Firehouse
9) Hendel Brothers, Sons and Company Hat Factory
10) Keystone Hook and Ladder Company
11) Liberty Fire Company No. 5
12) Lindbergh Viaduct
13) Livingood House--Stryker Hospital
14) Log House, Hiester House, and Market Annex
15) Metropolitan Edison Building
16) Pagoda
17) Reading Hardware Company
18) Reading Hardware Company Butt Works
19) Reading Knitting Mills
20) Red Men Hall
21) Rieser Mill
22) Stirling
23) Trinity Lutheran Church
24) Wanner, Peter, Mansion
25) Wilhelm Mansion and Carriage House
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Alpenhof Restaurant
2) Barbon's Tavern
3) Big Cheese Pizza
4) Big Cheese Pizza
5) Buckwalters Deli
6) California Bar & Grill
7) Caron's Place
8) Cemetery Inn
9) Chapman's Deli
10) Classic Catering By Charlotte
11) Clubhouse
12) Corner House
13) Dairy Queen
14) Dempsey's American Kitchen
15) Dog House
16) Flying Hills Village Deli
17) Friendly's Restaurant
18) Golden Chopsticks Restaurant
19) Green Hills Inn
20) Haunt
21) J R's Pizzeria
22) Jade Garden Restaurant
23) Korner Cafe
24) Little Caesars Pizza
25) New China Restaurant
26) No 1 Chinese Restaurant
27) Pizza Hut
28) Quell's Millmont Hotel
29) Redner's Sandwich Shop
30) Rita's Italian Ice
31) Rosa's Place
32) Salino's Imports
33) Shillington Restaurant Ofc
34) Sunny's Sandwich Shop
35) Tomasso's Pizza
36) V & S Sandwich Shop
37) Wendy's
38) Wendy's
39) Windsor Inn At Shillington
40) Your Place Express Delivery
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I get to Barbon's about every other weekend with my girlfriends. We always have a blast. Great prices, super clean bathrooms, and nice guys to play with. Just love those cheese fries. Frank is always so polite and nice. I wish every bar was like this one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Judy Murphy Judy Murphy, Reading, PA
(08/18/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Good Awesome! Great Great
Barbon's is a great local bar. Very friendly place, workers and customers. Family owned, cozy environment. Congrat's to Frank for finally buying the bar from his parents... next generation. :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mel Mel, Reading, PA
(12/09/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I was just there on St. Patty's Day and had a great time. I went there with 2 of my girlfriends who hardly ever go out but the bartender, Fred made us feel welcome. He was nice but not too nice if you know what I mean. We met these really hot guys there and had so much fun. Thanks Fred! :)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jodi Roth Jodi Roth, Mohnton, PA
(03/22/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
Barbon's is a really nice corner pub. I don't drink too much because I have kids now but use to go in there alot. This guy Frankie was always the bartender. He was nice, polite and always a gentleman. I owe that man something I probably won't ever be able to repay. He introduced me to my husband who gave me 2 beautiful children. We still go there because we are close and always have a great time. I have been to other bars in the area but they just don't match up.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deb Cunningham Deb Cunningham, Reading, PA
(02/26/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I was there tonight. My friend use to work there as a bartender until recently and wanted myself and another friend to go to the Halloween thing tonight....Frank Barbon kept touching myself and the other friend that was with us even though we acted like we were uncomfortable with what he was doing. He even tried to put his hand up my one g/f's dress-I will never go back to this place after tonight. When my friend worked there and it was just her tending the bar and no owner I loved the place-now I can't stand it.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reading, PA
(10/31/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
barbon's is a cool spot. beer prices are decent, food is out of this world ( crab cakes dinner & poor mans lobster - i don't go for french fries or junk food )and the prices are good. there's always an interesting mixture of people in there - you never quite know what to expect. it's a smaller place but it tends to get wild when it gets packed and there's a pool table and always some skilled shooters hanging around. i don't know frank personally, but he's always been a cool friendly guy to me. and two of his barmaids are so hot i could go there just for them - a leggy, model type with long brown hair and a wild crazy chic with a superb rack. it's been awhile....i gotta head in there, lol.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from mikey mike is IT mikey mike is IT, reading, PA
(12/15/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Wow. Frank can be persistant but he has always treated me good when I went there. The beer is cold, there are cute girls that go there and there is a pool table. Its a cozy place to have a beer when hopping around the neighborhood.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Groff Mark Groff, Reading, PA
(11/27/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
Worst service in town, thanks to Frank's cocky personality (the bartender). Besides him being a shmuck, the food, beer and service is lousy. I think Frank is womanizer and retarded. Don't hang out there unless you want a bad time !!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nancy Nancy, Wyomissing, PA
(04/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Frank, the bartender, is very rude and ignorant. The amount of food you get is enough for a small child and isn't as good as they make it out to be. Prices are high for what you get. Bathrooms and "Locals" are scum. Don't waste your time or give them your money!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reading, PA
(06/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Great Great Great
I've always had great service and felt as if it was a friendy atmosphere. Family owned with lots of greatfood and fun! Thanks Frank!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tammy Casantini Tammy Casantini, Kenhorst, PA
(07/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Frank is the best. Always there when you need a friend. He was my first and will be my last!!!! He is not gay, He is a real honest man. Norristown, PA

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Susan Castor, Norristown, pa
(05/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Barbons Tavern has the best cook in the Tri-State Area (Terry)!!!!!!! And remember to bring beads for a good time!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Terry Lover, Shillington, PA
(05/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! N/A Awesome!
Frank is a GREAT bartender & is NOT concerned about the women!! He already has a bunch of hot women hanging out in his bar, especially the Kerns girls & their friends!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allison, Pottstown, PA
(05/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy Lousy So So Lousy
Frank is a fag! Well... maybe not literally, cause he's always hitting on underage chicks... but still... what an ass... I could go on and on. OH! GET THIS! HE WAS ON THE HIGHSCHOOL DIVING TEAM.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gavin McCloud Gavin McCloud, Barbonville, PA
(02/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
Frank the bartender isn't concerned about getting women. He has all the girls he can handle. But he let the right woman get away.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review media, PA
(01/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Great
Family own, open till 2am and great happy hr

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review NYC, NY
(11/15/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Great Awesome! Good
I've always had excellent and friendly service. Food served up till 2 a.m., would be "Great" with better beer selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(07/13/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
The bartender Frank is more concerned about getting women than serving drinks. Too small; it reminds me of my friend's basement that we used to hang out in until we got real lives!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Shillington, PA
(05/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Family owned and operated establishment, kitchen open until 2AM.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Reading, PA
(12/21/1997)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.577 seconds) 07:47:13 54.82.166.45, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS