PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Market Cross Pub - Carlisle, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 16, 2014 @ 06:29 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Carlisle > Market Cross Pub
Market Cross Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar Type: BrewPub
Market Cross Pub
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 83.5 / 100
113 North Hanover Street
Carlisle, PA 17013
United States
(717) 258-1234
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Carlisle, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Market Cross Pub
38 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(2 within 5 miles)
1) Alibis Eatery and Spirits
(0 mile)

2) Gingerbread Man
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Jacob's Resting Place
2) Village Farm Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES CARLISLE
2) DAYS INN CARLISLE
3) HOWARD JOHNSON INN
4) RAMADA LIMITED CARLISLE
5) SLEEP INN CARLISLE
6) SUPER 8CARLISLE SOUTH
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Given, James, Tavern
2) Hessian Powder Magazine
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 720 Cafe
2) Alfredo Pizza & Ristorante
3) Anthony's Pizza
4) Apple Dumpling Group
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Ashley's Pizza
7) B Warner's Catering
8) Bar B Que Tavern
9) Bar B-Q Corp
10) Blimpie Subs & Salads
11) Bonanza Steakhouse
12) Butcher Baker & Sandwich Maker
13) Carelli Subs & Pizza
14) Carlisle Diner
15) Carlisle Super Buffet Rstrnt
16) Cassa Mani Caffe
17) Chen's King Buffet
18) China Wok
19) City Park Diner
20) Country Crossing
21) Country Oven
22) Deli Creations
23) Domino's Pizza
24) Fast Eddie's Billiard Parlor
25) Fireside
26) Fox's Pizza
27) Fratelli's Pizza & Restaurant
28) Friendly's Restaurant
29) George's Sub & Pizza Shop
30) Great Wall
31) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
32) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
33) Green Cafe
34) Iron Skillet
35) M & M Catering
36) Marcello Pizza & Ristorante
37) Mario's Pizza LLC
38) Massey's Frozen Custard
39) Mc Donald's
40) Mc Donald's
41) Midway Inn
42) Miseno Pizza & Ristorante
43) Miseno Risto Pub
44) Mrs Stamm's Delicatessen
45) N S Deli Market
46) North Mountain Inn Inc
47) Panera Bread
48) Quiznos Sub
49) Rita's Italian Ice Of Carlisle
50) Spare Time Lounge
51) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
52) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
53) Trindle Inn
54) Two Bros Pizzeria & Restaurant
55) Valley Motel
56) Vocelli Pizza
57) WEIS Markets Deli
58) West End Cafe
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
The owners and personnel at Market Cross make up the most friendly staff around! When the Olde Yeller IPA (brewed on the premises) is on you can be assured of a good quality, hoppy IPA. Food is consistently good and there are usually a few tasty choices on tap as well. And did I mention that the staff is fantastic? A rare find in Carlisle PA!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beer Snob Beer Snob, Wernersville, PA
(04/21/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Good Great
I love the look and feel of this place-it's an actual pub, and not a wanna be brewpub/sports bar. Had lunch there during the day, and enjoyed a great turkey rueben sandwich. They had an impressive draft and bottle beer selection and 3 beers of their own on tap. I tried the Bessie's Brown ale. As a brown ale lover, I would have to rate this one in the bottom half of the brown ales I've have tried. It was very thin (a bit watery) with overly muted flavors. Brown ale should never taste like brown water. But they are about to tap a stout and a porter, which the bartender told me are both quite good. Interesting tidbit: the brew master is a school teacher. The beer here deserves another chance, and I will definitely return to hoist another pint. Cheers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason H. Jason H., State College, PA
(10/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Stopped in on our way to Virgina.Stopped in on our way back from Vagina.That should tell you how nice the place was.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jay Dertinger Jay Dertinger, Linden, NJ
(10/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great
The only place in town but they dont let that stop them from serving up some great beer at a fair price.

Appalachian BC has another location a few miles east of Carlisle.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertrekker Beertrekker, Ellicott City(Baltimore), MD
(08/15/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Great
The only place in town for great beer...literally.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, boston, MA
(07/23/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good N/A
Very nice place. Referred here by the folks at Troegs. Nice Red. reasonable food, some unusual bottle selections

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Romano Michael Romano, Morgantown, WV
(07/05/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
I travel way too much, almost all of it by car, so I rely on PubCrawler to help me find the kind of place I want. What do I want? Good beer, good food, and some kind of atmosphere, that means people in the restaurant and personality behind the bar.

After being on the road for 6 of the last 8 weeks, from Tampa to Manistique, MI, to Rumord, ME, and then back to Tampa, this was the best place I went to.

First off, the beer, I'm no expert, but I've visited the high-ranked beer pubs from PubCrawler on at least 14 days in the last 40. I had the IPA and the Red and both were very good. The IPA had the hop and the kick.

I had the white chili and a pastie and salad. Outstanding on both counts. I know more than a little about good chili and this was very good.

The atmoshpere was outstanding. The beer was good, the food was great, and well, as I said, the atmoshphere was great. Connie was my bartender and she was always there, (even with those food stains on her white shirt.)

The best sign I ever see, I saw here; When I walked in, I had to fight for a seat at the bar.

I will never go near this area without stopping in.

Thanks Connie, Joann, Jeff, Ashley, etc.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred White Fred White, Lutz, FL
(11/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Lousy Good So So
We ate at the Shippensburg location. I ordered chicken pot pie, it was awful, I was not able to force myself to eat it (my spouse agreed!). So, I then ordered a chicken breast sandwhich, which was average, but the chips were SO STALE. Overall, the worse experience with bad food that I have ever had in a restaurant. I would not return.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Shippensburg, PA
(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
At the Market Cross it is all about the beer. The restaurant offers a standard selection of pub fare and some occasional creative entrees. The soups are usually quite good. The brewery is providing consistently good selections with it's Tell Me Rye, a light summer favorite, at the top of the list followed by Old Yeller IPA and an award winning raspberry porter. I normally do not appreciate fruit in my beer, but the presence is subtle and seems right in the porter. You can't go wrong by asking for any cask offering which is often a consistently excellent Troegs selection. The Lionheart Lager is a recent and respectable addition and the stout is full a flavorful. There is always a grand selection of beer in the cooler while the taps have a good variety even if they don't change up very often. Yes, Yuengling is on tap, but that is probably more for the car show tourists who ask for it in the mistaken opinion that it is an exotic Pennsylvania brew. The owners, Jeff and Joanne Goss recently opened another Market Cross in nearby Shippensburg. It is bound to become a neighborhood favorite just like the Carlisle location has.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from George George, Carlisle, PA
(05/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
Lower marks than I would normally give to one of my favorites, but basically due to having only one of their house beers on tap--a rye ale. It wasn't any great shakes either; I usually expect a rye beer to be crisp, almost spicy, and refreshing. This one was just OK. Of course there are always many others to try on tap and in bottles, but I like to have a few of their beers, too. Crab dip good--disappeared quickly, though. Hoping to get back soon, will definitely call to see what their house beer situation is first!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great
This brewpub has a pub type atmosphere, which is a nice contrast to the Bennigan's/Applebee's atmopshere at so many brewpubs. The British style pub food is very good. My wife and I tried a sampler of their own beers and all 4 beers were good. The Old Yeller IPA is excellent, especially the cask conditioned version. They also have quite a few other taps and microbrewery beers in bottles. This brewpub is worth going out of the way to.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Stopped in to see Jeff and Kevin last week, and thoroughly enjoyed the house beers. Market Cross has always been good, and the house brewery is pushing that towards the next level. Jeff told me of plans for a second MCP in a nearby town, opening soon. Good news for some people. Food's quite good, service was prompt and cheerful, bathroom's clean, beer's good (both house taps and decent guest taps). An absolute oasis in Carlisle.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(08/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Lousy N/A N/A N/A
What a shock!! I go out of town for a couple of weeks, and what do I find? YUENGLING LAGER on tap!! Blah. I thought the Pub was about being different. Also, my favorite bartender, Jamie, is gone. Two strikes. I'm afraid to leave town again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carlisle, PA
(11/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
A great stop - Check it out!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(08/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the real deal! When you think "pub," this is what comes to mind. Many local regulars and an excellent staff make this a fun place to be. Best fish and chips around, and huge selection of beer, including house beers from the tiny brewery out back. Try the Olde Yeller IPA if you like a strong, hoppy ale, or a raspberry Pub Porter, if you want an interesting twist on a mild porter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carlisle, PA
(07/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
As always my favorite pub. Travel 5 hours to get here, wish I could stay.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Adrienne Knight, Schenectady, ny
(05/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Market Cross Pub in the center of downtown Carlisle was our favorite place for dinner and drinks when it was just a beer bar. Now that it is a full-fledged brewpub, what more could we ask for?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ron and Ruth Barrick Ron and Ruth Barrick, Newville, PA
(04/29/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Old Yeller IPA was relesaed in January and is now on cask as well. Look for a cask version of Market Cross Red. Recent Brewery improvments have made a large difference. Look for improved versions of all three beers: Market Cross Red, Pub Porter, adn Old Yeller IPA.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review JT, CArlisel, PA
(03/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
A couple changes have taken place since I was last at Marketcross. The choice of side salad isn't included with the sandwiches, which is disappointing. Also, Ace Pear cider hasn't been on tap, which is something that my friends and I look forward to during our trips back to MC!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Phoenixville, PA
(01/13/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
This bar can be either hit or miss. Sometimes they look brilliant with a tap selection that blows your mind and other times it's like they're low on cash with junk on tap (Rolling Rock). House brews are nothing to get excited about. Combine the food of the neighboring North Hanover Grille and a solid tap lineup and your sure to have a winner.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Carlisle, PA
(12/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
Had a chance to taste the Market Cross Red at the capitol city brewfest at Appalachian recently. Great beer!! Nice English Goldings hop aroma and flavor with a perfect rich malty body and mouth feel. I will have to make the trip to the pub for some of the porter in the near future.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, erie, PA
(09/18/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
I have been a student in Carlisle at Dickinson College for four years. I have been going to this pub for all fur but only drinking after I turned 21. The food was enough to keep me comng back despite not being able to indulge in their beers!!! Cozy atmosphere; great mixture of a British local pub and nice restaurant. Bartenders are great and wait staff is always good for a laugh. BRewery Should be producing Market Cross Red and Pub Porter by the middle of July. Kevin Spicer the brewmaster is an accomplished homebrewer and will be crafting excellant ales based on the original Whitetail recipies. Worth the trip. Late lunch is nice as its not too crowded and weekends are often packed. Website is www.marketcrosspub.com

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JT JT, Carlsile, PA
(06/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by recently while attending a conference is the area. I found a wonderful English pub atmosphere, right down to bangers and mash. The selection of bottled beers was fantastic, including several I haven't seen in the States. I spent a couple of hours here and the service was always efficient and friendly, though the place was packed on a Friday evening. If you want a table at dinnertime be sure to make a reservation, as many folks come just for the food. Otherwise wait for a seat at the bar as I did. I was very impressed and expect the Market Cross will become a regular stop on my travels through eastern Pennsylvania.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Stoffan Mark Stoffan, Asheville, NC
(07/22/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I've been going to Market Cross since March of 1997. It's the best place in the country that I've found that supplies an excellent variety of beer, and has a wonderful atmosphere. I still haven't found anything in my travels that compares to the quality of service and selection that you will find at Market Cross!! It is a definite stop for any traveler passing by that wants to enjoy a true English Style Pub!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gregory Henry Gregory Henry, Canon City, CO
(12/05/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
How awesome is the Market Cross Pub? I think nothing of driving three hours from New Jersey to spend a couple of hours here. Beer selection is phenomenal. Been here dozens of times and never had anything less than outstanding service from Jamie at the bar or any of the waitresses and the food is always outstanding. While you're there, try to beat my record of downing a yard of John Courage in under 6 minutes, 10 seconds. Better yet, relax and enjoy the great beer and atmosphere here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gurn Gurn, Maple Shade, NJ
(10/11/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.45 seconds) 06:29:22 54.211.157.103, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS