PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Ellicottville Brewing Company - Ellicottville, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 22, 2014 @ 01:08 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Ellicottville > Ellicottville Brewing Company
Ellicottville Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Ellicottville Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 80.3 / 100
28A Monroe Street
Ellicottville, NY 14731
United States
(716) 699-2537
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: February 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Ellicottville, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
33 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) The Gin Mill
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ilex Inn
2) Jefferson Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Ellicottville Town Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Balloons Restaurant & Night
2) Barn Restaurant & Lounge
3) Bradley's Restaurant
4) Burger King
5) Burger King
6) Cadillac Jack's
7) Coolings Ice Cream Cafe
8) D J's Restaurant
9) Dina's
10) Dina's At Holimont
11) Double Diamond Bar & Grill
12) Ellicottville Brewing Co
13) Ellicottville Depot Restaurant
14) Ellicottville Inn Inc
15) Ellicottville Pizzeria
16) Foster's Pub
17) Gin Mill
18) Hearth Restaurant
19) Hoagie's
20) Holiday Valley Realty
21) Madigan's
22) Monroe Street Tap Room
23) Schemers Seafood & Night Club
24) Silver Fox
25) Whole Hog
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Found this brewery through PubCrawler, a great find. We traveled four hours for a work event, so we try to find a local brewpub, to savor different brews. This was a great find. The service was fantastic, Melissa was very knowledgeable about the beers and the food selection. I had the fish and chips and the white fish was delicious. My wife had the steak sandwich which was done to perfection. We started off with the Octoberfest, it was a delighful brew. We had a couple of free samples of the Hopocity and the Nut Brown. So then we had to have a couple of pints. My favorite was the Nut Brown. It had a great smooth taste. I was disappointed that they were out of the Porter. Don't know why. Ended up buying three growlers of the brews and a couple of glasses for the home collection. The town is very nice and this brewery adds a lot to the atmoshphere. I did hear that the local police are tough, but you gotta be smart, when drinking out of town. Overall, this brewery was one of the best that we have found while traversing the country. keep up the good work and we are looking for your brews to make it to the Pittsburgh region... Go Steelers....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Woodruff John Woodruff, Waltersburg, PA
(10/19/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
I am a local living only 12 miles away from the brewery, I've been enjoying Two Brother Pale for years now and fill up my gallon jug now and again when I go by. Now they also sell Two brother bottled, but it is named American Pale Ale - every time I go there to eat I get a sampler ski (this is a skiing town) filled with samples and a two-brother. Their food is priced somewhat higher than average, I recommend staying with the lower cost lunch items like burgers and such. In the summer they have a nice outside area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Thomas Stokkeland Jon Thomas Stokkeland, Salamanca, NY
(04/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
This place became a beacon of hope for me when I returned to the east coast after 6 years in Alaska. Alaska is a Micro-brew haven; you can get all the great micros from the great northwest there, not to mention their own homegrown award winning micros from the Alaskan brewing company, Midnight Sun Brewing, Glacier Brewing, etc... Then I came back east and bupkus! Nothing! Nada! Just about everyone here in rural western NY and north Central PA drinks Bud, Coors or some other watered down macro brew. Then I heard about this place and presto! Back into the groove. They have some really great beer at this place. The atmosphere is super and the food is good too, but a little over priced. There's no doubt that the owners of the EBC are simply trying to "make hay while the sun shines" as I've hear so often in this area. Meaning, the tourist season is short and they need to make as much money as they can, as fast as they can. But don't get me wrong, the quality of the food and beer does not suffer. They have a passion for brewing and it shows. I love seeing all the brewing equipment out in the open, as though it were a part of the overall atmosphere because, well, it is really. The smell of freshly brewed beer is the best. The aroma of hops and malted barely...I love being there when they're actively brewing a batch of beer. Best Micro Brewery in the southern tier area without a doubt.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Dedik Jim Dedik, Portville, NY
(11/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
All right folks... I grew up in Holland and East Aurora, New York. I moved three years ago to colorado and we have awesome micro-breweries here. I was jsut back in Buffalo and friends told me to try the E'ville breweries beer, so instead of buying a sixer I drove to E'ville and went to the brewery. The aroma when you walk in from the vats and the moisture in the air was compelling. I tried their oktoberfest and IPA and EPA. These beers were awesome!!!! E'ville brewery can stand up against and beat all microbreweries Ive been too(and ive been to over 37 of them). Great job guys and ill be seein ya next mionth when i come back for business.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Adam malys Adam malys, Leadville, CO
(11/05/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
Went on a Saturday evening during Ski season. Waited an hour to be seated, would have been 40 minutes if their pager system was working. Beer tasted flat, tried the Doubld Deuce, Blueberry Wheat and Oatmeal stout - all tasted flat - perhaps need to clean lines or rinse glasses better. The food was really average for the price, the meat was tough, and the octoberfest platter could be put together from stuff you buy at a supermarket (and would taset better). The french onion soup was very good though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Kotarski Dan Kotarski, Niagara Falls, NY
(02/13/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We were in route from Cleveland to Maine and opted for the Southern Tier Route I86 instead of I90 just to stop and try this place. Worked out about the same distance wise if you are considering this option (plus no tolls). Late dark Sunday night in off season, really made this place feel really remote, but it's only about 10 miles off the highway and is nestled in a nice little town. Food was unique and outstanding. Service was excellent and even though the bartender John (?) was a Steelers fan he still knew his stuff about the beers and was very willing to talk and offer samples. The d├ęcor was really spectacular and comfortable including a unique eastern European Mashtun and brew kettle. The bar was 19th century brought in from Chicago and garnished with gray/white marble.

All of the beers were well made from well-designed recipes. The flavor profiles were just as complex as regional beers but a lot more balanced and cleaner. Highlights include the Chocolate Porter on Nitro that had a really well tuned gas mixture giving a phenomenal texture tangled with rich but mild chocolate malt flavor. Both the Pale Ale and the Imperial Pale Ale had wonderful aroma but managed to avoid the grassy undertones on the tongue that seem common to the region. Of the eleven breweries/beerbars/brewpubs on the trip this was by far the best brewpub and in the top three overall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Sean, Lyman, ME
(12/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Awesome! Great
Stopped for lunch and some beers on 7/2/04. The 2 Brothers Pale Ale rocks! The food was good but portions were small and price was high. Not really a good value for what we paid. Love the atmosphere of this place. The bartender was super friendly and knew his stuff. Will be back when in the area again. Beware: Parking can be tough. You may have to circle the streets to find an open parking spot.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.S. J.S., Wayland, NY
(07/14/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
The Pale Ale is one of the best that I have had. Truly top 3 material. It is unique in it's taste, Ryan is right, like a grapefruit. Colter Bay on Delaware has EPA on tap for $2.75 on Sat. I have actually bought this beer in Syracuse instead of Middle Ages IMPaled. A little slice of heaven. I need to get off my butt and drive down to EVille to "sample" their line. I'm positive that I won't be driving home after that.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Black & Tans Black & Tans, Syracuse, NY
(03/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I love the pale ale. After the first sip I though that it was DIFFERENT, to say the least. To be honest, I thought that it tasted like grapefuit. Nevertheless, after the second sip I was hooked. If I go to a bar that has EPA, I will order it all night. Overall, I felt that this was the most distinctive pale ale and yet the best pale ale that I have ever tasted. Thank you Ellicottville for a truly excellent beverage.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ryan Ryan, Buffalo, NY
(08/08/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Absolutely worth the trip. Food is always great. Staff is right on top of things, whether I'm just there to pick up a growler or have lunch. Coolest looking bar I've ever seen.The Brown and the Porter are to die for. And the drive is in the most beautiful area of Western New York. Shut the computer down and drive there now.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Marty, Alden, ny
(03/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Great Great
the pale ale continues to be great and there are many other good beers

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review karen, pgh, pa
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
I tried your IPA when I was up visiting my Dad in Williamsville / Cheektowaga and thought it was one of the best I ever had. Highly reminiscent of the one put out by Flying Dog Brewery in CO. My only question was What's with that guy from Philadelphia? His review was out of character with the rest of the entries. Hope to visit your brew pub on my next trip up, assuming I do not have to drive through big snow drifts. Since moving to the south, I have become a total wimp with regard to snow.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kenneth W GEORGE Kenneth W GEORGE, Raleigh, NC
(11/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy Lousy
sucks

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Philadelphia, PA
(10/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I was with the below reviewer and really enjoyed myself at this pub. Andy, the brewmaster, was great and does an excellent job with the beers served here. The Pale Ale is their best seller and is very good. I also enjoyed the stout and nut brown. Stop by if you get the chance!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Paynter Eric Paynter, Richmond, VA
(06/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
The brewery is closed on Memorial Day, but they allowed my two buddies and I to come in anyway and try out their beers. I am so glad they did! The IPA, Nutbrown and Stout were really great and will drop in again next Memorial Day to see if they will truly be open, since a whole bunch of people came in after us. A definite stop if your traveling thru this part of the country.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Scheele Eric Scheele, Montpelier, VA
(05/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Stopped by with the family (kids (5,7,8)) , close to 8 PM. Kids complained that the music was too loud, but we were near that time of the night. $65 for 3 kids meals and 2 adults, 2 pints, brewski. The Winter Helles had a hint of Anchor XMAS with Nutmeg, excellent seasonal. IPA was very good. Stout and Nut Brown were roasted and good, but seemed a little thin at the end. Light Lager was good for its class. Very Good overall brewpub and I look forward to visiting after a hard day on the slopes. I've never seen a slab of fish as big as the one they brought me for my fish and chips. That thing lasted two full meals.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bown Bill Bown, State College, PA
(02/04/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
The Nut Brown and The Black Jack Dry Stout were exceptional brews and the brewpub was real cozy. Also loved the burger. Would definitely return the next time I drive thru E'ville.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Scheele Eric Scheele, Richmond, VA
(08/08/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Great brewery in a great little town. We have E-ville's beers on tap at our local on a regular basis. The brewery itself is a great place to hang out. We attended two of their summer brewfests in July of '97 and again in '99. What an awesome time! No festival in 2000 though :( All their beers are excellent, my personal fave is the pale ale.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Rochester, NY
(05/14/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I had the stout, chinook porter and the nut brown. All beers were exceptional, but the nut brown was just killer.It had a roasty hazelnut/chocolate nose and a rich creamy body with a nutty finish. food was great too. This was my second time here after an afternoon of mountain biking at Holiday valley. Octoberfest is scheduled for 10/7 and 8/00. Can't wait!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from matt zaccheo matt zaccheo, erie, PA
(09/18/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Their seasonal was a tasty Maibock, they had a terrific roasty Porter and thier Stout was perfect and their wheat was just fine. Great atmosphere, inside and out (in their Beer Garden)Great little ski town , too. Be sure to visit if you are ever near by! (I know I will be back when the snow comes)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brett Hollern Brett Hollern, Windber, PA
(08/22/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Great
GREAT STOUT! I was very impressed with this beer. I also tried the Porter. This beer was definitely the most unquie tasting Porter I have ever had. Seemed to have an interesting citris taste to it. I was bursting with flavor! I liked it. The bar is set in this quaint little town. I was even impressed with the detail of the woodwork in the bar and the marble rail along the bar. They have an outside beer garden if you prefer to enjoy the weather. I will definitely be coming back. Even the car ride to get here is awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Burdman Burdman, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/09/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Great Nutbrown,IPA & Porter. Food is good, worth the visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mangan Mike Mangan, Buffalo, NY
(04/17/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
There is more to Ellicottville than skiing. This place is great! Worth a side trip off Highway 17. The Pale ale is one of the best I've had. All others are equally as good. The food and service are great. I found their prices to be quite good---I wonder what the people ordered for lunch that brought their bill to $70 before tip(maybe bottles of wine???). Luckily other places in Western NY are starting to carry EBC beers. Manhattan West in Alfred, NY has the Pale ale and the nut brown--both great--and Thursday nights both are only $2.00 a pint.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Alfred, NY
(07/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bret Marvin Bret Marvin, Olean, NY
(11/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Not only is the food and beer selection outstanding, but check out the classic Victorian bar. Beautiful black walnut. Make sure to ask them where the bullet hole is!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J. Phillippi J. Phillippi, Bemus Point, NY
(09/14/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I was a bit disappointed. I was expecting one of the great ones. The beer was very good, the hamburgers were great. But lunch for 4 came out to $70, before tip, which I thought was a bit steep.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Passaic, NJ
(08/24/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
I thought the beer selection paired well with the menu items. Nut brown was slightly bitter w/ chocolaty finish; Porter had hoppy aroma w/ malty flavor. If you decide to eat, don't pass up the E'ville Nachos or the BBQ ribs!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David A. Rodgers David A. Rodgers, Reedsville, PA
(07/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Good Great
Hooray for the local Brewery!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Joe Joe, Otto, NY
(06/20/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Dorn Dan Dorn, Waukesha, WI
(04/07/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great N/A N/A N/A N/A
I received Ellicotille's Nut Brown in my last Beer of the month shipment and found it to be a very nice Brown Ale. Not very nutty, but I considered that a plus. Very pleasantly surpised by this brew: heartily recomended.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tony Plank Tony Plank, Elkins Park, PA
(02/27/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Buffalo, NY
(01/31/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Springville, NY
(01/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Olean, NY
(12/30/1997)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.33 seconds) 01:08:55 54.89.10.19, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS