PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company - Appleton, WI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 25, 2014 @ 05:05 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > WI > Appleton > Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company
Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 76.1 / 100
1004 South Olde Oneida Street
Appleton, WI 54915
United States
(920) 735-0507
Listed Since: January 1998
Last Updated: December 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Appleton, WI
Beer Guide for Wisconsin

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Stone Cellar Brewpub / Appleton Brewing Company
36 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Fox River Brewing Company and Restaurant
(0 mile)

2) Union Jack
(0 mile)

3) Bazil's Pub and Provisions
(4 miles)

4) Pat's Tap
(4 miles)

5) Maritime Sports Bar
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Ann Queen Bed & Breakfast
2) Gathering Place A Bed & Brksft
3) Inn At River Crossing
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN MIDWAY HOTEL
2) BUDGETEL INN APPLETON
3) COMFORT SUITES COMFORT DOME
4) COPPERLEAF HOTEL
5) COUNTRY INN SUITES APPLETON
6) EXEL INN OF APPLETON
7) EXTENDEDSTAY FOX CITIES
8) FAIRFIELD APPLETON
9) HAMPTON INN APPLETON
10) MICROTEL INN & SUITES APPLETON
11) RADISSON PAPER VALLEY HOTEL
12) SUPER 8 APPLETON WI
13) WOODFIELD SUITES APPLETON
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Appleton Lock 4 Historic District
2) Courtney, J. B., Woolen Mills
3) Fox River Paper Company Historic District
4) Hearthstone
5) Main Hall, Lawrence University
6) Masonic Temple
7) Schuetter, Henry House
8) Temple Zion and School
9) Tompkins, James, House
10) Washington School
11) Whorton, John Hart, House
12) Zion Lutheran Church
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Arby's
2) Atlanta Bread Co
3) Bela Bakery & Cafe
4) Big Shang Hi Buffet
5) Buffalo Wild Wings Grill & Bar
6) Carol's The Place To Be
7) Checkered Flag Sportsbar
8) Cold Stone Creamery
9) El Azteca
10) Figaro's Pizza
11) Friends & Neighbors
12) Goosebumps
13) Grazies Pasta Co
14) Grillin Steak House & Lounge
15) Hank & Karen's Tavern
16) Jimmy John's
17) LA Fiesta Mexican Restaurant
18) Little Caesars Pizza
19) Los Compadres
20) Pancheros Mexican Grill
21) Papa Murphy's Take 'N' Bake
22) Pizza King-Subs
23) Quiznos Sub
24) Real American Pizza
25) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
26) Seven Angels
27) Silver Spur Saloon
28) Skyline Comedy Cafe
29) Starbucks
30) U Prep It
31) Union Jack
32) Vegas Lounge & Restaurant
33) Wishing Well
34) Zone
35) Zugie's Pub
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped here on a Sunday afternoon passing through town. As a former brewery over a hundred years old this is the perfect setting for a modern brewpub. Sampled a perfect kolsch, malty and delicious octoberfest and pumpkin spice. They offer growlers and pick a six of their beers pre bottled as well. They also sell a dazzling array of glassware and produce two beer mustards of their own for sale! The food is chef quality and far above the bar for brewpub grub. Cheese curds were unique and delicious above any I've tried in at least ten other places! All food is locally sourced and the menu options are staggering. I also met the marketing director who deserves kudos for the success of this brewpub and expansion of tap sales. He was knowledgeable of marketing and what makes beer good. I wholeheartedly support this establishment and wish them all the best in future endeavors!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard Richard, Antioch, IL
(10/28/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Awesome! Good Good Good
I've tasted a dozen of Stone Cellar/Appleton's beers over the past decade. In reviewing my tasting notes, in general it is apparent that most of their beers are mediocre in quality -- none are particularly excellent, and none particularly horrible. The only really noteworthy ones for me were the Winter Ale, which was spicy and unique; the Barleywine, which was about the best beer I've had from them; and the Light, which had a nice grainy character. The rest, not worth much discussion -- they're all fine, but not the best I've had. When I visited the pub about 6 months ago, I must admit I was very impressed by the large selection of beers available, I think they had like 10 beers on tap at the time. The food was alright, but unmemorable. All in all, I think it's an alright place, nothing to write home about, but might be worth a visit if you're in the area and can appreciate a good selection of halfway decent beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David M. Taylor David M. Taylor, Two Rivers, WI
(01/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Great
Two beers really stick out in my mind. The vanilla stout is to be avoided. It tastes almost like unsweetened vanilla from the bottle. Blech. The IPA had a very hoppy flavor, but no floral taste to accompany it. So/So there. The Porter and the Red were very good. Food was good and service was great. Would I go again? Yep.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Oak Creek, WI
(02/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped in for food and drinks. But kitchen was closed. But a girl sitting at the bar took the time to call and find a place for us to get something to eat. Got a growler of Stone Cellar Stout and Mastepiece Porter and they where great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from james Horton james Horton, cambridge spirngs, PA
(11/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Great
Last time I was in, I tried the vanilla stout. It was decent, although the vanilla tasted like a sweetened extract as opposed to a vanilla bean infusion. My friend commented that it had a "fake" taste to it. I picked up the Masterpiece Porter which tasted similar to the Sprecher Black Bavarian, although a touch less bitter (very good, but not a masterpiece); the Red Light, which was exceptionally refreshing (all the red flavor but with a satisfying aftertaste, well worth a visit to the brewery); and the Pub Pale Ale, which was so hoppy I thought I was drinking an IPA (a bit disappointing). The pizza is decent, although, the food in general is not a major draw. The service is solid!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Cory Cory, Appleton, WI
(07/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is the "old Alder Brau Brewery". I hope they made a few changes.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Oak Creek, WI
(05/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
A great stop in an historic brewery building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(05/07/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Ownership of this brewery has changed hands. According to the Great Lakes Brewing News that the former owner John Junger has retired. He sold out to Steve and Tom Lonsway. They also own the Homebrew Market in Appleton.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ken Ken, Oak Creek, WI
(03/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Tried three brews on a below zero chilly night. The basement atmosphere with all the old stone is a great setting. Too bad all the breweriana is an afterthought being only in the long hall to the restroom. Place could use some renovation and maybe the new owner will make the effort. The beers I tasted were all fantastic - the classic porter, the oatmeal stout, and the vanilla stout. Great place to go if you are sick of all the corporate brewpubs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Denver, CO
(12/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy Great N/A Good So So
Beers gave me a TERRIBLE hangover. I didn't have many beers. The place was also very dirty. The breweriana that people were talking about was all located in this dark dingy hallway and in a room down the hall. It looked as if I had walked into some "pack rats" garage or something. They had a sign that stated all things are for sale. I like to collect pint glasses and other things so I looked around.....the glases we all used.....DISGUSTING!!!! It was at that point I decided to leave and not to drink any more beers at this place. I figured if this is how dirty the place is out in the open...I can only imagine what the brewing area looks like...which could explain how terrible I felt after 2 pints. Would never go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Pesa Paul Pesa, Maple Grove, MN
(09/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good So So So So So So
All the beers were SoSo. I always try all the beers. We ordered the Fajitas special. It was not very good...my partner was especially upset and complained, which she never does. The place was busy but most people seemed to be having pizza and ice tea for dinner before going to the comic club, upstairs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Seven Nike Seven Nike, St. Louis, MO
(09/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Great Great
Great cellar location for the bar, thick stone walls, enough breweriana for a museum. 12 beers available on visit. All were good to very good. Also have Lite and Bud Light on tap but with the selection, everybody could find something they like. A definite musty odor in the place I believe was caused by recent flooding. Go there!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jimbo jimbo, frankentrost, MI
(06/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I wish that I had more time on my visit to Adler Brau. I could have spent several hours in the bar. What a great atmosphere. I tried a sampler of only 3 of their beers and found them to be good - not great - tasting. "Good" is good enough for me to come back to this awesome place as many times as I can.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Grant T. Averill Grant T. Averill, Louisville, KY
(02/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This is the best brewpub I have been to so far. I think it is so cool that the restaurant and pub are in the basement. The selection of beer is unbelievable and the quality is fantastic. The waitress that served us very friendly and helpful. Especially with the German part of the menu. I think anybody who is looking for a good time and some good beer will enjoy this establishment. I will definitely visit it again when I'm in Wisconsin.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Poirier Mark Poirier, Concord, CA
(11/14/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good So So Good
My first question is where is the guy with the unique name i think it was chaz. One of the best chefs ever there...he used to give tours of the kitchen and explain all the foods. Always was checking the dining room and coming to our table. The staff this visit and my last visit wernt knowledgable, food was so so and owner was grouchy, they need that manager back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from michael michael, kenosha, WI
(10/24/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
We recently enjoyed a wonderful, economically priced meal at Alder Brau. The beers we sampled were great. The people were great and we even got to see the brewing operations.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Linda, Milwaukee, WI
(04/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
I have loved this place since I first tried it! My favorite beers are ales, so this place is right up my alley. The porter has great lfavor, though it is a bit thin.

I like Mexican, and this place does it well...surprising for a brewpub with a German name!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Green Bay, WI
(02/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Good Beer, excellent food, cozy atmosphere. I have never brought anyone to Adler Brau who wasn't pleasantly suprised. It is the restaurant of choice for my wife & I every Valentine's Day.

Mexican is great! Put out the fire with a brew!! And after all, Wisconsinites know BEER!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Bill, Green Bay, O
(02/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Lousy So So So So
The owner is kind of a kook. I've been here a couple times. Once he was in a good mood and the second time he was drunk and wicked. Very strange...

I especially dislike the menu and the décor. I can cook better food than this, and that's not a good sign. Mexican on the menu is an immediate turn-off. A brewery this far north of the equator shouldn't be trying anything other than nachos as an appetizer! Regarding the décor---depressing! Dirty! This place could look old in a tasteful way if it tried, but it seems as if this place hasn't had a good cleaning since the carpet was put in. This river location has so much potential, but it's wasted.

The beer is just okay, but I've got a rather cultured beer palate so others might disagree.

Overall, I give Adler Brau the finger!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Big City Expat Big City Expat, Chicago, IL
(01/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
Interesting building and decor---but, the beer was not up to expectations. May try again on another trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Cedar Rapids, IA
(10/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Good So So So So
Mediocre food in a mediocre restaurant with mediocre service. THis place used to be something special. The beer has won awards in the past but over the last few years its taken a dive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Appleton, WI
(08/06/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
Some good points regarding this establishment are the diverse (for WI) menu, free chips & salsa or pretzels, good prices, and interesting atmosphere. The building and brewery are quite old and the history makes for a nice place for dinner or just drinking. It is kind of dark and looks like an honest basement (a friend called it "dungeon"). Nevertheless, this contributes to the ambiance, in my opinion. The food was usually pretty good. The beer is ok, though not overly agressive. Being in a basement may make it a challenge for people with access problems....there is an elevator in the building but I don't know if it goes to the basement....probably does. Worth a visit. Free parking, comedy club upstairs.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jtk jtk, savannah, GA
(05/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
Very unique atmosphere and friendly surrounding. A good variety of food and a fantastic variety of great tasting beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Kading John Kading, Appleton, WI
(10/17/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MICHAEL REINERT MICHAEL REINERT, TIGERTON, WI
(10/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
I've been to a few brew-pubs in recent years and this is probably the best!!! Not as commercialized as the "other one in town," but that's a good thing. Very relaxed atmosphere and reasonably priced everything. But the best thing that Adler Brau has going is their beer and LOTS of it. Excellent all the way around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Menasha, WI
(09/29/1999)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.71 seconds) 17:05:46 54.226.7.15, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS