PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Rock Bottom (formerly Cougan's) - Glendale, AZ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 03:51 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > AZ > Glendale > Rock Bottom (formerly Cougan's)
Rock Bottom (formerly Cougan's) Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Rock Bottom (formerly Cougan's)
Overall: Great    Score: 78.3 / 100
7640 West Bell Road
Glendale, AZ 85308
United States
(623) 878-8822
Listed Since: March 1998
Last Updated: February 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Glendale, AZ
Beer Guide for Arizona

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Rock Bottom (formerly Cougan's)
18 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Old Chicago
(0 mile)

2) Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

3) Oggi's Pizza and Brewing Company
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Old Town Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN BELL HOTEL
2) COMFORT STES PEORIA SPORTS COMP
3) DAYS INN NORTH PHOENIX AZ
4) EMBASSY SUITES PHOENIX NORTH
5) FAIRFIELD INN PHOENIX NORTH
6) HAMPTON INN GLENDLE PEOR
7) LA QUINTA INN PHOENIX NORTH
8) LA QUINTA INN/STES PHX PEORIA
9) QUALITY INN & SUITES AT TALAVI
10) RAMADA LIMITED ARROWHEAD MALL
11) RAMADA PLAZA HOTEL PHOENIX
12) RED ROOF PHOENIX BELL ROAD
13) SLEEP INN PHOENIX NORTH
14) STUDIO 6 PHOENIX DEER VALLEY
15) WINDSOR PALMS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Central School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Catering
2) Abacus Inn Chinese
3) Ah-So
4) AJO Al's Mexican Cafe Arrwhd
5) Arby's
6) Avina Restaurant
7) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
8) Barn Comedy Theater
9) Barro's Pizza
10) Barro's Pizza
11) Baskin-Robbins
12) Ben & Jerry's
13) Bill Johnson's Big Apple
14) Boston Market
15) Bourbon Streen Grill Arrowhead
16) Burger King
17) Cactus Willy's Bar & Grill
18) Caramba Mexican Food
19) Carlin's Grog Shop
20) Carrabba's Italian Grill
21) Cheers
22) China Moon
23) Cinnabon
24) Cold Stone Creamery
25) Cold Stone Creamery
26) Cucina Tagliani
27) Dairy Queen
28) Dairy Queen
29) Domino's Pizza
30) Domino's Pizza
31) Dragon Inn
32) El Alamo Inc
33) Famous Sam's
34) Fazoli's
35) Garcia's Mexican Restaurant
36) Great Wall Buffet
37) Grimaldi's Pizzeria
38) Home Beverage Delivery Inc
39) Hoot Owl
40) Hungry Howie's Pizza & Subs
41) Il Primo Pizza & Wings
42) Iron Works Restaurant
43) Island Teriyaki
44) It's A Grind Coffee House
45) Jack In The Box
46) Javelina Springs
47) Jb's Restaurants Inc
48) Jug 'n Barrel Wine Shop
49) Kaneya Sushi Express
50) Kfc
51) Kokopelli Mexican Grille
52) Lalo's At The Ranch
53) Little Vito's
54) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
55) Luby's Cafeteria
56) Luna Pizza & Restaurant
57) Macayo's Mexican Kitchen
58) Majerle's Sports Grill
59) Marie Callender's
60) Mc Donald's
61) Mc Donald's
62) Mc Donald's
63) Mike & Ronda's
64) Mixteca Mexican Food
65) My Corner Restaurant
66) Off The Grill
67) Old Chicago Pasta & Pizza
68) Outback Steakhouse
69) Padre Murphy's
70) Panda Express
71) Papa John's Pizza
72) Papa John's Pizza
73) Papa's Perks
74) Parrot Bay Cafe
75) Parrot Bay Cafe
76) Pei Wei Asian Diner
77) Perkins Family Restaurant
78) Pick Up Stix
79) Pizza Hut
80) Pizza Hut
81) Portofino Ristorante
82) Quiznos Sub
83) Quiznos Sub
84) Ramiro's Taco Shop
85) Rosati's Pizza
86) Round Table Pizza
87) Rubio's Baja Grill
88) Sakana Restaurant
89) Sam's Pizza
90) Samurai Sam's Teriyaki Grill
91) Samurai Sam's Teriyaki Grill
92) Schlotzsky's Deli
93) Streets Of New York Inc
94) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
95) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
96) Sushi
97) Taco Bell
98) Taco Cabana Inc
99) Tgi Friday's
100) Thee Pitts Again
101) Timber Lodge Steakhouse
102) Wendy's
103) Whataburger
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
What a lively place, lots of people having a great time. Also have outdoor seating off the bar. The Desert trail pale ale and the double I.P.A. were the best. Good steak for the price.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Leo de Leon Leo de Leon, Redlands, CA
(03/17/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
This is my favorite Rock Bottom. Food is consistantly good, and the beer at this location is particularly awesome! They used to have the Single Track Copper Ale (which I believe they sold to the company that makes Fat Tire) I miss it terribly. But their Stout here is very good as is the red. The service staff here is outstanding.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mandy Mandy, Westlake Village, CA
(02/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Awesome! Great
The beer was way better when it was Coogans.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Glendale, AZ
(02/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I hate the word awesome, but it is the best rating available, which Rock Bottom deserves. The happy hour here is the best deal in town, and the Mug Club makes it even better. The stout is great and so is the staff. There is a very nice menu with items to satisfy the picky eater, like me, from hamburgers to an entrée you might expect at a fine dining establishment.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Harley Harley, Phoenix, AZ
(01/25/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Beers were alright, nothing extra special, The light lager ( why don't the just say pilsner?) had a nice Saaz hops flavor with good malt balance. The Raptor Red had a nice spicyness from the addition of rye. The stout was a bit thin, the IPA could have used a bit more dry hops (but thats just me) I wish I could stay for the roll out of thier special on the 28th Perpetual Burn 2 is ourporte to be a 100 IBU 7.4 ABV Double IPA "now thats extra special"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Hendricks Robert Hendricks, Sacramento, CA
(10/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Great
Went there twice, cause I liked it the first time. Good beer. Fun bartenders. Talked with the Brewmaster, (Charlie) great guy. Didn't eat the food. Wasn't hungry. If you're in the area, give it a try.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review East Coast, FL
(06/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
raelly enjoyed most of the beer, was dissapointed they were out of the gila pale ale. the IPA, and skateland were very good. thought the stout was a bit weak.food good loking forward to returning. the guys at the bar were quite helpful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dennis rader dennis rader, phoenix, AZ
(08/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
in my opinion - an improvement over Cougan's. went one night for happy hour before a spring training game at the Peoria sports center. good food (seared ahi tuna & chicken caesar salad) & drink at great happy hour prices. went to lunch later (good burger with fried bell peppers). only tasted red/amber/pale ales, liked them all. Rock Bottom also serves food and ale at the ballpark.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Garcia Jim Garcia, El Toro, CA
(05/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
Not a bad place at all, too bad they will become a Rock Bottom. (Although some Rock Bottoms, such as the one in Minneapolis, are actually quite good.) The Gold (which was an APA) had a light body but a nice hop-malt balance. The amber was decent, typical of the style. One major complaint of this and many establishments in this area is the inistence on serving beer in frosty glasses. I know it's hot down there, but good beer should NEVER be served in a frosty mug. The only reason beer is served ice-cold is to prevent you from tasting it, so why do it? Also, the address is 7640 not 7764.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matthew L. Buteyn Matthew L. Buteyn, New Berlin, WI
(07/09/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Excellent IPA, pale ale, and stout. Excellent food and absolutely top-notch, accommodating service. Sadly, Rock Bottom has bought this place, and it will be a McBottom Brewery as of 7/3/01.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rick W. Rick W., Philadelphia, PA
(06/21/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Actually met the brewer (Greg) at the Hops in Scottsdale (same owners)and he invited me over for a few pints...EXCELLENT...the best beer out of the 5 BPs I did that week!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nick-Baltimore Beer Trekker Nick-Baltimore Beer Trekker, Baltimore, MD
(11/20/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
IPA was awesome. Dry Stout is the best I've had in years. I had the meat loaf and it was great. Pure comfort food! The bartender told me that a 16 month old barleywine is coming up! Can't wait.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pacific Palisades, CA
(04/12/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Excellent Pale Ale and Wheat Beer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Fitzsimmons Don Fitzsimmons, Peoria, AZ
(04/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
The IPA is great and the prime rib sandwich is pretty good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Surprise, AZ
(12/04/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hampton D. Wolfe Hampton D. Wolfe, Avondale, AZ
(11/22/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
Not the greatest selection on the menu, but what they do have is pretty tasty (for the most part). My wife and I have no complaints on the service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JSM JSM, Glendale, AZ
(07/31/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
Actually, it's Cougan's at Arrowhead, way out on Bell & 7? something. Ordered the Amber, the Golden & the IPA. Tab said 2 Ambers & 1 IPA. I thought that Golden looked dark. Amber & IPA both pretty good. Pasta wasn't anything I'd order again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim Garcia Jim Garcia, El Toro, CA
(04/13/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
The food is great, especially the appetizers. Great lunch menu, dinner is a little pricey. New establishment in the last year, so they are still learning. Beer is top notch. Always.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review R.F. Renning, Glendale, AZ
(03/09/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.405 seconds) 15:51:30 54.234.244.98, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS