PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Tun Tavern Brewing Company - Atlantic City, NJ
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
September 03, 2014 @ 02:56 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NJ > Atlantic City > Tun Tavern Brewing Company
Tun Tavern Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Tun Tavern Brewing Company
Overall: Great    Score: 73.5 / 100
2000 Kirkman Boulevard
at Sheraton Hotel
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
United States
(609) 347-7800
Listed Since: March 1998
Last Updated: September 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Atlantic City, NJ
Beer Guide for New Jersey

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Tun Tavern Brewing Company
62 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(5 within 5 miles)
1) Firewaters
(0 mile)

2) Back Bay Ale House
(0 mile)

3) Ri Ra Irish Pub and Restaurant
(0 mile)

4) Atlantic Brewing Company
(4 miles)

5) Rod and Reel Tavern
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Carisbrooke Inn
2) Dr Johnathan Pitney House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ATLANTIC PALACE SUITES
2) BALLYS ATLANTIC CITY
3) BALLYS PARK PLACE CASINO RESORT
4) BEST WESTERM ENVOY INN
5) BORGATA HOTEL CASINO & SPA
6) BRIGANTINE BEACH CLUB
7) CLARION BAYSIDE RESORT
8) COMFORT INN ATLANTIC CITY
9) COMFORT INN NORTH
10) COMFORT INN WEST
11) DAYS INN ABSECON
12) DR JONATHAN PITNEY HOUSE
13) ECONO LODGE BOARDWALK
14) FAIRFIELD INN ATLANTIC CITY N
15) FLAGSHIP ALL SUITE HOTEL
16) HAMPTON INN ABSECON
17) HAMPTON INN ATL CTY BAYSD
18) HARRAHS ATLANTIC CITY
19) HARRAHS SHOWBOAT
20) HILTON CASINO ATLANTIC CITY
21) HOLIDAY INN BOARDWALK
22) HOWARD JOHNSON ATLANTIC CITY
23) HOWARD JOHNSON DOWNTOWN
24) LA SAMMANA RESORT
25) QUALITY INN AND SUITES
26) QUALITY INN ATLANTIC CITY
27) QUALITY INN BEACH BLOCK
28) RAMADA LIMITED
29) RESORTS ATLANTIC CITY
30) RODEWAY INN
31) RODEWAY INN ABSECON
32) RODEWAY INN ATLANTIC CITY
33) ROYAL SUITES ATLANTIC PALACE
34) SHERATON ATLANTIC CITY
35) SUPER8 ATLANTIC CITY BRDWLK AR
36) TRAVEL LODGE ATLANTIC CITY NJ
37) TROPICANA CASINO RESORT
38) TRUMP MARINA CASINO
39) TRUMP PLAZA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Absecon Lighthouse
2) Babcock, Capt. Francis, House
3) Barclay Court
4) Doughty, John, House
5) Holmhurst Hotel
6) Madison Hotel
7) Morton Hotel
8) Pitney, Dr. Jonathan, House
9) Santa Rita Apartments
10) Segal Building
11) Shelburne Hotel
12) St. Nicholas of Tolentine Church
13) Ventnor City Hall
14) World War I Memorial
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 12 South
2) 3 Brothers From Italy
3) A C Pizza Palace
4) A C Popa Pizza
5) A J Daks Sports Bar & Grille
6) A J's Rotisserie Chicken
7) Abe Westside Soul Deli
8) Adam Good Crab Shack
9) Alfonso In The City
10) Alley Cafe
11) Amedeo's
12) Angelo's Fairmount Tavern
13) Angeloni's II Restaurant
14) Antone's Homemade Water Ice
15) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
16) Asian Spice
17) Athenian Gardens
18) Atlantic City Bar & Grill
19) Atlantic City Cyber Cafe
20) Atlantic City Deli
21) Atlantic City Souvenir
22) Atlantic Deli & Grocery
23) Atlantic Fiesta Pizza
24) Babajans Deli
25) Babalu Grill
26) Back Bay Ale House LLC
27) Bally's Park Place
28) Beachball Deli
29) Ben's Market
30) Beverly Hills Buffet
31) Bill's Gyro Souvalki
32) Black Forest Restaurant
33) Boardwalk Favorites LLC
34) Boardwalk Treats
35) Boston Pizza & Pasta
36) Boulevard's Cafe
37) Brass Rail
38) Breadsticks Cafe & Grill
39) Brighton Steakhouse
40) British Rags Mfg Co
41) Brittany Cafe
42) Bull Shots
43) Burger King
44) Cafe 2825
45) Camelot
46) Cancon Restaurant
47) Capriccio
48) Captain Youngs Seafood Emprm
49) Carlos Pizzeria & Restaurant
50) Carmine's Restaurant
51) Casablanca Pizza & Deli
52) Casbah Nightclub At Trump
53) Casino Pizza & Restaurant
54) Casino Pizza & Restaurant II
55) Castle Pizzeria & Restaurant
56) Cedars Cafe
57) Celebrity Corner
58) Celebrity Deli
59) Center City Delicatessen
60) Chef King
61) Chelsea Cafe
62) Chelsea Cafe
63) Chelsea Pizza
64) Chelsea Pizza II
65) Chelsea Pizza Iii
66) Cheung Hing Chinese Restaurant
67) China Cafe & Sushi Chef
68) China Inn
69) China One
70) China One
71) Chris Ruth's Steak House
72) Cityu Swirl
73) Club Tru
74) Coconutz
75) Com Tam Ninh Kieu
76) Conca D'oro Pizzeria
77) Constantino's Restaurant
78) Corbin's Chicken N Seafood
79) Cosimo's Cafe
80) Cosimo's Pizza
81) Cosimos Food Court
82) Country Kitchen
83) Cremcaffe
84) Cristines
85) Crown Fried Chicken
86) Crystal Ballroom
87) Cucina Rustica
88) Culmone's Bar
89) Cup & Saucer Luncheonette
90) Custard Cupboard
91) D & M Food Market
92) Dairy Queen
93) Danny's Pizzeria
94) De Feo's Lounge
95) De Marco's Market
96) Deja Vu
97) Deli Delite
98) Di Roma Pizza
99) Dock's Oyster House
100) Domino's Pizza
101) Double Rainbow Ice Cream
102) Duke Mack's Restaurant
103) Dunkin Donuts
104) Dynasty Restaurant At Trump
105) El Charro
106) El Coqui Cafe
107) El Nuevo Latino
108) El Piqueteadero Restaurant
109) El Taco
110) El Taco Loco
111) Evo Restaurant & Bar
112) Fast & Good Restaurant
113) Feeley's Restaurant & Bar
114) Fiesta Pizza
115) Fil-American Garden
116) Fish Heads
117) Fishheads
118) Flamingo Coffee Shop
119) Flanigan's Bar
120) Flying Cloud Cafe
121) Food Court Express
122) G & S Italian Supermarket
123) Garden Terrace Buffet
124) George's Hometown Tavern
125) Gilchrist Restaurant & Marina
126) Ginza
127) Girasole Ristorante
128) Golden Wok Chinese Restaurant
129) Goodies Restaurant
130) Gourmet Burger
131) Grabels Restaurant Lounge
132) Harbor Point
133) Harbor View Trump Marina
134) Hard Rock Cafe Intl
135) Herman's Place
136) Hms Host
137) Home Run Tavern
138) Hong Kong House
139) Hooters
140) Hooters
141) Hop Shing Chinese Take Out
142) Humidor
143) Hunan Chinese Seafood
144) Ice Berg
145) IHOP
146) Il Bon Gi Restaurant
147) Imperial Inn
148) Irish Pub & Inn
149) Irish's Grill House
150) Italian Bistro
151) Italian Market Restaurant
152) Jack's Deli
153) Java Plus II LLC
154) Java Plus LLC
155) Java Time Cafe
156) Johnathons On West End
157) Johnny Rockets
158) Johore Malaysian Restaurant
159) Jonuzi's Pizza
160) Juju's Deli
161) Knife & Fork Inn
162) L & L Wings & Things
163) LA Escondida 2 Mexican Rest
164) LA Placita
165) Laredo's Pizza Restaurant
166) Las Americas Enterprise
167) Latin Deli
168) Le Grand Fromage
169) Le Palais
170) Lefty's
171) Lenox Cafe
172) Little Pub
173) Little Siagon Restaurant
174) Lo Presti Pizza
175) Lo Presti's Pizza II
176) Los Amigos
177) Los Compadres Restaurant & Bar
178) Mama Mott's
179) Mario Bongiovanni & Sons
180) Marios Restaurant
181) Martini's
182) Mc Donald's
183) Mc Donald's
184) Mc Donald's
185) Mc Donald's
186) Mc Donald's
187) Mc Gettigan's
188) Mexico Lindo Restaurant
189) Mexico Restaurant
190) Mike's Pizza
191) Moe's Chicken III
192) Mortons The Steakhouse
193) Mr Nick's
194) Naldy's Restaurant
195) Naldy's Restaurant
196) New York Avenue Sub Shop
197) New York's Finest Grocery-Deli
198) Ocean Beef & Beer
199) Ocean Grill
200) Ocean Grille
201) Old Waterway Inn
202) Olympic Place Steak Sandwich
203) On The Blue
204) Opa Bar & Grille
205) Orient Delight
206) Original Philly's Steaks
207) Original Pizza & Deli Rstrnt
208) P F Chang's China Bistro
209) Palm Restaurant
210) Papa John's Pizza
211) Papa T's Famous Pizza & Grill
212) Pat's King Of Steaks
213) Perpetual Pancake Partners Inc
214) Perry's Cafe & Deli
215) Philadelphia Steaks
216) Pho Hoa An
217) Pho Hoa Cali
218) Pic-A-Lilli Pub
219) Pizza King
220) Planet Hollywood
221) Playground Lounge
222) Poseidon Restaurant
223) Proud Mary's Sports Bar-Grill
224) Punjab Palace
225) Rainforest Cafe
226) Redshoe's Jamaican & American
227) Rira Irish Restaurant & Pub
228) Rosa's Southern Dining To Go
229) Sabatini's Restaurant
230) Sabbaro Italian Eatery
231) Sally's Pizza
232) Sands Casino Hotel
233) Sbarro
234) Scannicchio's Restaurant
235) Schiff Enterprises
236) Scribbles Cafe
237) Sea Sure Seafood
238) Shoe Bar
239) Sidepocket Sandwich
240) Snackers
241) Spanky & Son Subs & Deli
242) Spice Restaurant
243) Stage Delicatessen
244) Starbucks
245) Starbucks
246) Starbucks
247) Stolfo Restaurant & Lounge
248) Subway At The Walk
249) Sunny's Market
250) TCBY
251) TCBY
252) Teddy's West End Lounge
253) Teik Lee Kitchen
254) Terminal Market & Deli
255) Tiffany
256) Togos
257) Tony's Baltimore Grille
258) Top Deck Steak House
259) Trump Taj Mahal Casino Resort
260) Tun Tavern
261) Tutto Fresco
262) Uptown Deli
263) Vaninas Ice Cream
264) Wave The-Trump Marina
265) Wellington's Steak & Seafood
266) White House Sub Shop
267) Wok-N-Roll
268) Wonder Bar
269) Zawid's Kosher Catering
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Lousy So So So So
Very disappointing. The place itself is fantastic and they could perform so much better as the only local microbrewery and with the convention centre on the doorstep. I had better beer in some of AC's street corner bars. The IPA was bitter in the extreme and difficult to drink. The rest of the stable were insipid and watery. I had the worst steak sandwich ever, and I can't understand why, if I want to sit outside, I have to go inside and find someone to allocate me another person to take me back outside.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sue Barker Sue Barker, Bury, XX
(06/30/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Lousy So So N/A Lousy Lousy
Beer here is pretty terrible. The red and the pale ale tasted like rusty nails and soap, and all of the brews were very watery. The IPA was way too bitter. The stout was the only beer that is worth half of the money spent on a pint. The selection is decent for a microbrewery, but they always seem to be out of a majority of beers. The bartenders could use more clothes and less attitude. I always get this feeling that the hostesses, bartenders, waitresses, waiters, and managers are too good to talk to you, almost as if you're below them. I don't know how this is considering they're all hostesses, bartenders, waitresses, waiters, and managers in a microbrewery that should serve the bay water on tap instead of the horrible beers they've got already. I've been here a couple of times, and every time I go back I wonder why I went in the first place. If you'd didn't get it from this review already, DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME GOING HERE.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Harkness Michael Harkness, Philadelphia, PA
(08/12/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A N/A N/A
I stopped in very briefly on November 9th to pick up a growler on the way home from AC and had a sampler while I waited. The beer menu advertises five 4oz beers. The sampler that was presented to me contained five tiny double shot glasses that couln't have contained more than maybe two and a half ounces. I was in a hurry to get home so I didn't really care, but then I noticed that a lady to my left asked for a sampler after I did and was presented with five tasting glasses that obviously twice the size. When I questioned the barmaid about this difference she replied that they were both the same size.Sure, and Dolly Parton looks just like Meg Ryan. I said don't be silly, anybody can see the difference, to which she then replied"Oh yeah! Those are the OLD ones and we only have one set of those left." I didn't bother to ask why the later order was filled with them rather the earlier. Also of the six beers that were available on tap, I wasn't offered a choice, but was given light, red, pale, brown and stout. My favorite style is IPA so I had the growler filled with that, but it would have been nice to have asked me which of the six I didn't want, or just upped the price and given me all six. This place makes fine beer, but DON'T order a sampler sight unseen.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(11/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Read other reviews and yes, everything is plastic in AC. Nice bar, server was very good knew the regulars and what they drank. If you ask for a room temperature glass, which they have available you can taste the beers. Their beer menu harped on the Devil Dog IPA, and their All American IPA, both were OK but, not hoppy enough for my taste. However, the Leather Neck Stout was among the best I have ever tried.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nate McDonald Nate McDonald, Harrisburg, PA
(09/10/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So So So Lousy So So
I am not sure what to think realy. A friend and I drove 45 minutes to get there. I had heard good things about the beer so we decided to make the drive.

We got the plastic smile from the hostess when we went in. She showed us to our table right next to the only other table that had people at it. She handed us our menus and left without saying a word.

In a few minutes our server arrived with our menus. She was a bit less plastic but not much. I ordered one of their beers, a pale ale if I remember correctly. My date ordered the Bloody Mary.

The beer was excellent but the Bloody Mary had so much horseradish in it that it was almost undrinkable.

We both ordered burgers... That was a BIG mistake. She ordered well done and I went with medium well just to be safe. We were lucky that the cows weren't mad because if you held the burger up to your ear you could almost hear it moo...

The waitress managed to glide by at one point, and we think we heard her say is everything ok?

Needless to say we spent the rest of our time wondering what we had done to deserve such treatment. We never saw the waitress at our table again. When we got to the register I attempted hand the bill and the money to the hostess. She said you have to give it to the waitress. Luckily the waitress was right behind us at this point. I handed it to her and she handed it to the hostess. I guess the hostess might explode if I handed it directly to her? This place was filled with mystery.

Needless to say we will never go there again. The beer was good but not THAT good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BH Watson BH Watson, Millville, NJ
(10/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
I only sampled the Stout and All American IPA and while they were served a little too cold, they had excellent flavor when allowed to warm a bit. The bartenders were very friendly and easy on the eyes too. Not sure why this place has so many bad reviews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Hugh Jass Hugh Jass, Manasquan, NJ
(08/24/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
MUST DISAGREE WITH PREVIOUS REVIEWERS. ON RECENT VISIT THEY WERE OUT OF IPA, STOUT, AND RED ALE. BEERS SERVED WAY TO COLD AND ITS PROBABLY A GOOD THING. THIS PLACE MUST THRIVE BASED ON ITS LOCATION ADJACENT TO THE CONVENTION CENTER.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(05/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Everytime I go to AC I stop here at least once... great place and prime location

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Marshall Moore Marshall Moore, Belmar, NJ
(05/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Never had a bad beer, menu item, service, etc. this place is a must stop when taking a break from the casinos.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from beertrekker beertrekker, baltimore, MD
(03/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy N/A Lousy So So
Although I have used PubCrawler as a great resource for many years, this is the first review I have chosen to post. I'm sorry to say that the Atlantic City Tun Tavern was a significant disappointment. To begin with, the two beers I, and I would guess many craft beer enthusiasts look forward to, pale ale and IPA, were out when we visited in October 2005. The remaining beers tasted via the sampler were moderately disappointing--watery and without any remarkable character. Even worse, one of the two young women bartenders was surprisingly rude, and gave the impression that she was going out of the way to serve us (too busy with personal cell phone calls, expecting immediate payment instead of offering a tab). My advice is to stick to the casinos and the boardwalk and look for great craft beer elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Alexandria, VA
(10/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
The All American IPA was my favorite here. The Irish Red and Golden were also very good. This place has a great menu as well. A great stop when in Atlantic City or South Jersey.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Santeramo Ed Santeramo, Orr's Island, ME
(09/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Tun is an absolute must when visiting AC. The atmosphere is fantastic with a great selection of beers. Well worth the trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steven Schroeder Steven Schroeder, Jacksonville, FL
(06/20/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great N/A
Tun has an interesting selection of beers that are fairly well done. They were a little light in flavor, but the Lager was quite meaty and tasty. The IPA was overly hopped, but very fresh and piney--dry-hopped I assume (the bartenders are too busy to discuss the beer, and it's not clear how much they know.) The Summer Weiss was a little sour; it may have started to turn.

We didn't try much food, but the atmosphere is pleasant enough, especially for Atlantic City!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Doug Seeley Doug Seeley, High Bridge, NJ
(05/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
I wasn't expecting much, but I was very suprised. Thee beer is a lot more serious than I had anticipated. Cool place too. Don't lose all of your money in A.C., save a hundo and have a few beers at Tun.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from bob bob, romeoville, IL
(03/09/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
I enjoy the Tun. Its wonderful to have something else in Atlantic City that is not attached to a casino. I find that many of the people at the Tun also work in AC. I've brough many people there and none have ever been disappointed. Convention center people seem to pass it by as the last show I went to at the Convention Center I found few if any people in there from the convention. Your loss!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Pete, Estell Manor, NJ
(01/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Good Good
A pretty decent brewpub located adjacent to the AC Convention Center/NJT Terminal. What makes this place a lifesaver is that it is located in a veritable beer wasteland (excluding "Firewaters.) A pleasant selection that included Devil Dog Pale Ale, All-American Pale Ale, Card Shark Red, Nut Brown, a Stout and the Tuninator Double Bock. I was in AC on business and visited twice. Supposedly, the original Tun Tavern was where Ben Franklin made one of his famous beer quotations. Anyway, if you are are a beer geek in search of a good pint, I heartily recomment the Tun Tavern.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jerry Boesen Jerry Boesen, Gaithersburg, MD
(08/17/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
If you're in A.C. and like good brew, stop here and load up before going out gambling. Nice spot, but the beers somtimes lack diversity in their flavors. This is still a good place and I know when I'm in A.C., you can bet I'll be stopping by.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So Good Good Good
I hate the service charge of 18%. I paid a premium for the beer, no problem. I'll pay my own tip which would have been 20% but I left it at their 18%. won't go out of my way to return and will advertise the negativity.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from gene gene, bloomsburg, PA
(01/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So So So
While the beer was decent, I have a real issue paying top dollar for mediocre food and having a service charge included when I am one of a party of two. Par for the course for Atlantic City I guess.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Steve, Hopewell, NJ
(08/31/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Lousy Good Good
Go to AC every year for the Classic Car Show and every year for the past four years we go to Tuns Tavern for dinner on Sunday and also go for a few beers on Thursday night. I must state that dinner was not up to par with the past few years. My steak was cold and uncooked (sent it back), the wings were frozen and uncooked (sent it back) and when I had sent my steak back they removed my mushrooms and onions and did not replace them???? However what really annoyed me was that when we went on Thursday night to the Tun Tavern they did not have any STOUT which I really look forward too. They said they would have some by Friday so when I went on Sunday they still did not have any and when I asked them if they had STOUT over the weekend they said no. Again the Tavern is a great place to eat dinner but I would rather enjoy a good CHEAP FILLING meal at the Irish Pub and afterwards the atmosphere is alot better.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pelham, NY
(02/23/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Awesome! Great
Some fine ales on at Tun Tavern, nice selection and as a former Marine I would have to say the atmosphere would be hard to beat. Well worth a stop.

Exceptional service from Alyssa... Thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian Derr Brian Derr, Trout Run, PA
(07/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The Tun is my local brewpub and we get there often. Ted has certainly hit his stride and is making great beer. Keep up the good work! The food, however, is not consistent. They have been through several chefs and it seems that it depends on what day you get there as to what they'll serve that's good. I haven't had an excellent meal(good, but not excellent) there since Jim left 2 years ago. But the trip is worth it for the beer alone. The IPA and the Brown are excellent, the Wheat and Hefe are refreshing and the stout bold and tasty. I trust that the cooking staff will catch up to the brewing staff and will be a complete brewpub again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Somers Point, NJ
(06/14/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good So So Great Good
First off, you need to realize that this place is in Atlantic City. Unless you're going there for a trade show/convention, don't bother to make a special trip here for this brewpub. Las Vegas is a million times better, and Connecticut with it's 2 new casinos are only a few hours away and much nicer. But... If you find yourself in A.C., make it a point to stop by this brew pub. It's located right across the street from the convention center. Maybe a 5 minute walk from the boardwalk at Caesar's. The beer was very good. All the ones I sampled were a good representation of the styles they were meant to be. I especially like the IPA they had. A little light on the nose, but a good, full, hopped body. The food... That's another story. I thought the selection was limited. I tried the hummus plate, and it seemed like it was scooped out of the refrigerator with an ice cream scoop. Very little flavor. The toasted pita slices and asparagus spears made it a little better. I heard better reviews of other items from people around me. To sum up. When in Atlantic City, come here, they have good beer. Why go to Atlantic City when not attending a trade show? That's up to you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beertraveler Beertraveler, Meriden, CT
(06/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Started a bachelor party here for dinner. Nice selection of beer. I had the Brown Ale and the English Pale Ale. Both were excellent. Food was terrific also. They set up a buffet for our party with a nice selection. My favorite was the tuna steaks served over linguine in a wasabi sauce. Tasty and spicy.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Stefanelli Steve Stefanelli, Howell, NJ
(04/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Lousy Lousy So So
The beer was excellent. I especially liked the "biere d'tun", a Belgian style ale. The service, however was abominable and was only slightly offset by the offer a free biere d'tun because of the exceptionally long wait to eat( over an hour). My wife ordered something that sounded great, Chicken Margate, which was supposed to be chicken fillets topped with crabmeat. Since it took almost an hour for this creation to arrive, I guess the reason the chicken was practically raw was because it must have taken an hour to find a chicken, and then, since they didn't wish to offer another gratis biere d'tun, they only had thirty seconds to cook it. The stuff on top tasted vaguely of crab but seemed to be mostly bread. My scallops tasted a little like Ajax. Seriously, the food was not good, the waiter was freindly and apologetic and the circumstances behind our long wait were not attributable to him. The atmosphere was loud and noisy. In all fairness, though, the biere d'tun was excellent! I've also had growlers brought home to me as gifts so I can say with authority that a Nut Brown, an IPA, and a stout were also memorable.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(09/05/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.362 seconds) 02:56:31 107.22.78.233, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS