PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


J.P. O'Malley's Pub - Allentown, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 23, 2014 @ 09:14 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Allentown > J.P. O'Malley's Pub
J.P. O'Malley's Pub Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
J.P. O'Malley's Pub
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.4 / 100
1528 West Union Street
Allentown, PA 18102
United States
(610) 821-5556
Listed Since: March 1998
Last Updated: June 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Allentown, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
25 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(11 within 5 miles)
1) Allentown Brew Works
(0 mile)

2) Bookstore Speakeasy
(1 mile)

3) Strange Brew Tavern
(3 miles)

4) Stahley's Cellarette
(3 miles)

5) The Brew Works
(4 miles)

6) Stooges Bar and Grill
(4 miles)

7) The Liberty Street Tavern
(4 miles)

8) Jack Callaghan's Ale House
(4 miles)

9) Grille at the Fairgrounds
(4 miles)

10) Dunderbak's Market Cafe
(4 miles)

11) Madison's on Main
(5 miles)

nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT SUITES ALLENTOWN
2) COURTYARD ALLENTOWN BETHLEHEM
3) CROWNE PLAZA ALLENTOWN
4) DAYS INN ALLENTOWN PA
5) DAYS INN CONFERENCE CENTER
6) ECONO LODGE ALLENTOWN
7) EXTENDEDSTAY BETHLEHEM
8) FOUR POINTS HTL STE ALLENTOWN
9) HLTN GRDN INN ALLENTOWN ARPT
10) HOWARD JOHNSON INN AND SUITES
11) MCINTOSH INN OF ALLENTOWN INC
12) MICROTEL INN
13) QUALITY INN ALLENTOWN
14) RAMADA INN ALLENTOWN AREA
15) RED ROOF ALLENTOWN BETHLEHEM
16) RESIDENCE INN BETHLEHEM
17) WINGATE INN ALLENTOWN PA
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Americus Hotel
2) Bogert Covered Bridge
3) Dent Hardware Company Factory Complex
4) Dime Savings and Trust Company
5) Dorneyville Crossroad Settlement
6) Gauff-Roth House
7) Haines Mill
8) Helfrich's Springs Grist Mill
9) Helfrich's Springs Grist Mill (Boundary Increase)
10) High German Evangelical Reformed Church
11) Hotel Sterling
12) Kemmerer House
13) Meyers, Albertus L., Bridge
14) Old Lehigh County Courthouse
15) Taylor, George, House
16) Trout Hall
17) Troxell-Steckel House
18) Wehr Covered Bridge
19) Zollinger-Harned Company Building
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 9th Street Loop Cafe
2) A J's Bar & Grill
3) AAA National Catering Co
4) Aidas Y Melos Cuchifrito
5) Al Dente Italian Restaurant
6) Aladdin Restaurant
7) Alan's Rib House
8) Alreif Restaurant
9) Amazon Cafe
10) Amigo Mio Cafe
11) Anastasi's Pizza
12) Annette's Gourmet Cafe
13) Anylise's Hava Java
14) Arby's
15) Arby's
16) Arby's
17) Arby's
18) Atlantic Pizza & Steak Shop
19) Bain's Deli
20) Banana Joe's
21) Barristers Club
22) Bellissimo Restaurant
23) Big Woody's Pizza & Beer
24) Blimpie Subs & Salads
25) Boston Market
26) BPM Club
27) Brisas Delcaribe
28) Brothers Fried Chicken
29) Bruno's Dinette
30) Buca Di Beppo
31) Bull & Bear Inn
32) Burger King
33) Burger King
34) C J's Market & Deli
35) Cafe In The Park
36) Candida
37) Cannon's
38) Carribian Delight
39) Casa Creolla
40) Casa Latina Restaurant
41) Catering By Karen Hunter
42) Cathy's Creative Catering
43) Chan's Chinese Restaurant
44) Charles Pizza
45) Chi-Chi's Mexican Restaurant
46) Chick-Fil-A
47) Chili's Grill & Bar
48) China Garden
49) China House
50) China King Of Allentown Inc
51) China Moon Restaurant
52) China Wok
53) Christopher's At The Columbian
54) Chuck E Cheese's
55) Churros Cafe
56) Cookies Inn
57) Cossie Snyder's Corner
58) CRH Catering Co
59) Crocodile Rock Cafe
60) Damascus Restaurant
61) Damon's Grill
62) Dan's Bar-B-Qued Chickens
63) Delicioso Gourmet Pizza & Subs
64) Dina's Diner
65) Dogstarr Cafe
66) Dominguez Food Market
67) Domino's Pizza
68) Donna's Carlisle Grill
69) Down Low Night Club
70) Downtown Cafe
71) Dragon Palace
72) Dunderbak's Market Cafe
73) Eagles Pizzeria
74) Eat At Chinese & American
75) El Malecom
76) Elbarrio Restaurant
77) Erv's BYOB Club
78) Espicpal House Restaurant
79) Freddie's Bar & Grille
80) Friendly's Restaurant
81) Gate 7
82) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
83) Great Wall Chinese Restaurant
84) Grille At The Fairgrounds
85) Ground Round
86) Gyros Queen
87) Hamburger Stand
88) Hamilton Family Restaurant
89) Happy Garden Chinese Rstrnt
90) Hartland Foods
91) Hary's Restaurant & Cocktail
92) Henry's Salt Of The Sea
93) Hoffbrau Haus
94) Home Store LA Tejana General
95) Hondo's Bar
96) Hop Po
97) Hotel Grand
98) House Of Chen Restaurant
99) Hunan Garden
100) Hungarian Mexican Market
101) Ichiban Japanese Steakhouse
102) Indulge Restaurant & Nightclub
103) International House-Pancakes
104) J P O'Malley's Pub
105) Jack's Pizza
106) Jacob's Platter
107) Java LTD T A Filterfresh
108) Jimmy's
109) Kenny's Chinese Restaurant
110) Kern's Restaurant
111) Keyser Tavern
112) Keyser's Town Tavern
113) Kfc
114) Kfc
115) Kids Castle
116) Kocher's Deli
117) KOW Thai Take Out
118) La Mexicana Grill
119) La Plasita Mexico Deli
120) LA Pollada Restaurant
121) Lafiesta Coffee Shop
122) Last Stop
123) Lehigh Valley Diner
124) Liberty Lunch
125) Little John's Pizza
126) Lo Baido's Cafe & Gelateria
127) Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon
128) Louie's
129) Louie's Catering
130) Lounge 448
131) Lupo's Beef & Ale
132) Madison Inn
133) Mancino's Pizza Restaurant
134) Mc Donald's
135) Mc Donald's
136) Mc Donald's
137) Mc Donald's
138) Mediterranean Restaurant
139) Mi Bandrea Restaurant
140) Mia's Pizzeria
141) Michael's Bar & Restaurant
142) Mocha Mike's Cafe & Cuisine
143) Motown Cafe
144) Musashi Japanese Restaurant
145) Nassry Zahry
146) New China Buffet
147) New China Buffet
148) New City View Diner
149) New Look Steak Shop
150) Nick's Diner
151) Nikitas
152) Nino's Restaurant & Pizzeria
153) Old Country Buffet
154) Olive Garden
155) Oliver Shakewell's
156) Orange Julius
157) Palumbo Pizza & Subs
158) Papa John's Pizza
159) Pasta Bella
160) Pastaficio
161) Paul's Gyros
162) Perkins Family Restaurant
163) Philly's Steaks & Subs
164) Philosopher's Stone
165) Pizza Hut
166) Pizza Hut
167) Pizza Mart
168) Pizzariffic
169) Planet Hoagie
170) R J Gator's
171) Raad's Pizzeria & Grill
172) Raj Palace Restaurant
173) Red Lobster Restaurant
174) Red Robin Gourmet Burgers
175) Retro 3000 & Illuminations
176) Ringer's Roost
177) Rita's Italian Ice
178) Ritz Barbecue
179) Robata Of Tokyo
180) Rock Around The Clock Cafe
181) Romeo's Delicatessen
182) Rookie's Restaurant & Sports
183) Round House
184) Ruby Tuesday
185) Safires Bar & Grill
186) Sandwich Stop
187) Sandwichera El Punto
188) Saylor's Restaurant
189) Scottish Rite Ctr
190) Shanty Restaurant
191) Silver Star Restaurant
192) Simply Smooth Catering
193) Sin City
194) Sisters Country Kitchen
195) Skybox
196) Solido Deli
197) Solido Restaurant
198) Sona Restaurant
199) St Nicholas Beneficial Society
200) Sterling Hotel
201) Stonewall Bar
202) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
203) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
204) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
205) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
206) Sunrise Diner
207) Sycamore Deli
208) T K's Corral
209) Taco Bell
210) Taste Of India
211) Taste Of Italy Ristorante
212) Teapot Family Restaurant
213) Theodore's Restaurant
214) Trinkle's Cafe
215) TU Casa Restaurant
216) Unit 37 Inc
217) Vesuvio's Restaurant & Pizza
218) Villa Rosa Pizzeria & Rstrnt
219) Waffle House
220) Washington Grille
221) Wendy's
222) Wert's Cafe
223) West End Hotel
224) Willy-Joe's Steak Shop
225) Woody's Deli
226) Woody's Pizza & Sports Bar Inc
227) Wun Wu Chinese Kitchen
228) Yocco's Hot Dog King
229) Yocco's Hot Dog King
230) Yocco's Hot Dog King
231) Youell's Oyster House
232) Zandy's Steak Shop
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
I've visiting this place many times of the years while living in the Lehigh Valley. 40+ microbeers on tap. Staff who will give you a taste of anything. Service-I've been there on weekends when is is completely packed. This place is sooo good that even the staff who finished their shift hang around AND volunteer to deliver your food. The food is good standard, and 1/2 price appetizers are a bargain. This is every beer lovers dream in a corner bar.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Karen Hill Karen Hill, Coopersburg, PA
(08/03/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Great
Always an excellent beer selection. This place is well known for cheap wings and appetizers at happy hour (5-7). Can't say I've had a bad meal or service.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Stephen Hamm Stephen Hamm, Kempton, PA
(05/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Lousy So So
Bad service and bad seating arrangements. Food is either really good or absolutely terrible. Good beer selection, good specials and wings. Overall 1/2 way decent, could use a lot of work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Allentown, PA
(12/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
The selection of beer is wonderful in this corner pub setting. The food specials are great, very cheap wings! The place is always hopping. They generally have about 30 or so beers on tap and a lot more in bottles. They definitely support the microbrew community in the USA - in particular the local ones. It's very rare that I've had a sour microbrew at this place - something that can't be said for a lot of other pubs of this type. The atmosphere is very corner bar like, which is the greatest thing. You can go into JP's, have a great microbrew and not have to deal with snotty people!

PS: I forgot the mention the Belgian beers. I'm a BJCP certified judge and I go to JP's to try new beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David A Lowe David A Lowe, Allentown, PA
(07/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great So So So So So So
I wanted to let someone know that my opinion of your establishment has changed for the worst. I have always enjoyed spending time in your pub. I'm not one for big dance clubs, I enjoy sitting with friends and drinkjing a nice brew. Your pub has always offered a nice environment for that. My friends and I have spent each of our birthdays many a time there. And spent a lot of money there I might add. I consider myself a very good customer. Well recently my best friend was in a crippling accident that paralyzed her from the waist down. We still decided that we would go out and celebrate mutual friends' birthdays @ your bar. Obviosly if my handicapped friend would need a seat so she could try and still enjoy a normal night out with friends. To my surprise and sadness you were very unaccomodating. I personally along with many other good paying customers were very turned off by that. Not only did you not grant our request but the management was very rude. We decided to take our business elsewhere and will not be returning. It is very disturbing to know that such a well known establishment would be so unappreciative of there customers and unaccomidating to the handicapped community.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lindsay Palmer Lindsay Palmer, Bethlehem, PA
(02/10/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
Well having been the doorman here for 3 yrs in the late 90's, I must say that the service is great for me. Tuesday nights is the wings and pitcher specials. Chris the owner has done an exellent job with this pub. Actually I must admit I will miss the selection of beers, even here in Beantown it is tough to find a place like this. Chuck the bartender will answer your questions. All I can say is take off on a Wensday so you can drink, drink, and drink some more on Tuesday nights.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from greg greg, Quincy, MA
(01/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I love this place... The wings are amazing and the prices are hard to beat! Plus the girls are hot! ;o)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Frank, State College, PA
(05/25/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Awesome!
So many beers on tap!!! How do they stay open in this Bud-loving town? I don't know, but thank the Lord! They usually have a nice selection of local micros on tap mixed in with some micros from across the country. Lots of exotica in bottles. Tasty chomps, too. I drag my wife there every time I am in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Tom, Burlington, NJ
(04/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I would consider myself a "wing connoisseur" having eaten wings at dozens and dozens of wing places all over the east coast. Without a doubt...these are the finest wings I have ever had the privelage to taste. Here's to the Wing Capital, may you always be there for us!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Peck Fred Peck, Stroudsburg, PA
(12/16/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Good Great
Great bar, the selection is unmatched especially in this part of the state. Service has only been compromised in a way because of the overcrowding as of recently by people that on the whole don't even take advantage of the variety of beer. Still the wings are top-notch, the music is always right, and it's a great place for my colleagues and I to meet up with our friends and throw a few back at the end of the day. A+!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Simmons Mark Simmons, Allentown, PA
(10/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin DeWitt Kevin DeWitt, Coopersburg, PA
(06/20/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
This is one of the great Allentown pubs. Unique atmosphere complete with shuffleboard table, something I have never come across at any other pub. Fantastic food, great selection of entrees and appetizers. Free popcorn, jukebox (that could use some better music), plenty of pictures of ball fields, brew emblems and Irish sayings litter the walls. Many different sized rooms add to d├ęcor. A must visit!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Bethlehem, PA
(06/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I love this bar!! It's a great place to pick up drunk IT guys who work down the street and drive northern European cars!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bigcans Ho Bigcans Ho, Bethlehem, PA
(05/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Home of the PPL Drinking Buddies Club! This place rocks!! They have shuffleboard, pool... the only thing missing is FOOSBALL! I know this guy who gets drunk and smokes cigarettes - LOL!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PPL PPL, Allentown, PA
(05/21/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So So So Good
There is no question this place has an incredible beer selection on tap. My only gripe is that the service is extremely unpredictable, and they overcook their steaks on Steak Night (Friday).

Highly recc. the buffalo chicken sandwich.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from The Mongolian Stomper The Mongolian Stomper, Allentown, PA
(03/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
I like a bar where I do not recognize all the taps at first glance.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Will Will, Denver, CO
(07/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
A friend of mine and I were steered here for lunch while on a buying trip to Shangy's from Connecticut. The food was good, as was the service, but even more remarkable was the beer selection. As we had a bit of driving to face afterward, I settled for an Anderson Valley Solstice and a Jamaica Red on tap. We hated to leave, but were satisfied that our day was made by our experience here.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kent S. Kent S., Redding, CT
(01/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Great Awesome!
O'Malley's is the quintessential beer enthusiast's bar. With a minimum of 50-60 rotating beers on draft, ranging from micro to near-macro, and local to national, O'Malley's provides even the most discrminating beer-drinker with a host of unique beverages to choose from. Couple that with their fine foods to accompany outstanding beer, and you have the best beer bar in the Lehigh Valley. Be sure to check out its sister bar in Bethlehem, JP McGuillicudy's (sp?) for an even wider selection of draft beer. Recommended beers: 3 Floyd's Alpha King, Otter Creek Pale Ale, any Weyerbacher product (especially Hop Infusion!!), Seisson.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steve Kehnel Steve Kehnel, Allentown, PA
(07/11/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Good Lousy Good
O'Malley's doesn't come close to its cousin McGillicuddy's. ROCK ON DUDE

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from ERIC ERIC, Allentown, PA
(12/10/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
O'malley's is just hearty Allentown PA. Great food, Outstanding beer selection, visit this bar before the Brew Works in Bethlehem. Eat hearty!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Andrew Herber Andrew Herber, Allentown, PA
(03/25/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Food and service is great. Wings are the best in the Lehigh Valley. My only complaint is that the beer is not always the coldest!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Graham Ed Graham, Northampton, PA
(03/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
J.P. O'Malley's Pub features a great deal on Tuesdays: From 8-12 P.M. you can get an order of wings for $1.50 and a pitcher of microbrew for $6. Also, I much prefer the intimate pub atmosphere here over the circus found at J.P. O'Malley's "cousin" over in Bethlehem.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Catasauqua, PA
(09/11/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Excellent range of beers, some fairly obscure in this area. Food was good and reasonably priced. Better beer and food than the upscale new brewpub in Bethelehem!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lynn Hughes Lynn Hughes, Quakertown, PA
(09/02/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Good Great Great
Travelling through A.Town I found this spot on pubcrawler, and thought 35 taps worthy of checking out. I wasn't disappointed. Some very interesting micros, good food, and a pleasant atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob P. Rob P., Gettysburg, PA
(08/06/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
This is an excellent little place that serves great food and has a very beer friendly staff. I was told that they have 35 beers on tap & 75-80 bottled beers as a standard. The beer selection itself is VERY good!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Peters Mike Peters, Harrisburg, PA
(03/20/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.36 seconds) 09:14:26 54.196.189.229, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS