PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bethlehem Brew Works - Bethlehem, PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 20, 2014 @ 11:28 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Bethlehem > Bethlehem Brew Works
Bethlehem Brew Works Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: BrewPub
Bethlehem Brew Works
Overall: Great    Score: 78.3 / 100
569 Main Street
Bethlehem, PA 18018
United States
(610) 882-1300
Listed Since: April 1998
Last Updated: August 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Bethlehem, PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bethlehem Brew Works
146 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(3 within 5 miles)
1) Steelgaarden
(0 mile)

2) J.P. MacGrady's Pub
(3 miles)

3) Bookstore Speakeasy
(4 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bethlehem Inn
2) Morningstar Inn
3) The Sayre Mansion Inn
4) Wydnor Hall Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) COMFORT INN BETHLEHEM
2) COMFORT SUITES UNIVERSITY
3) COURTYARD ALLENTOWN BETHLEHEM
4) EXTENDEDSTAY BETHLEHEM
5) FOUR POINTS HTL STE ALLENTOWN
6) HLTN GRDN INN ALLENTOWN ARPT
7) MCINTOSH INN OF ALLENTOWN INC
8) MICROTEL INN
9) QUALITY INN ALLENTOWN
10) RADISSON HOTEL BETHLEHEM
11) RED ROOF ALLENTOWN BETHLEHEM
12) RESIDENCE INN BETHLEHEM
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Bethlehem Armory
2) Burnside Plantation
3) Ehrhart's Mill Historic District
4) Gauff-Roth House
5) Gemeinhaus-Lewis David De Schweinitz Residence
6) Gristmiller's House
7) High German Evangelical Reformed Church
8) Hotel Sterling
9) Lehigh Valley Railroad Headquarters Building
10) Lehigh Valley Silk Mills
11) Moravian Sun Inn
12) Old Lehigh County Courthouse
13) Packer Memorial Chapel
14) Tannery, The
15) Taylor, George, House
16) Trout Hall
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Abe's Six Pack & Deli
2) Anna Mia Restaurant
3) Apollo Grill Inc
4) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
5) Applebee's Neighborhood Grill
6) Becky's Corner Deli
7) Beef Baron
8) Benner Street Restaurant & Bar
9) Bethlehem Brew Works
10) Bethlehem Dairy Store
11) Billy's Steaks & Shakes
12) Black Forest Deli
13) Blue Anchor Restaurant
14) Bocelli's Restaurant
15) Broad Street Market & Deli
16) Broadway Tavern
17) Brooklyn Bagels & Deli
18) Burger King
19) Burger King
20) Burger King
21) Cafe
22) Cafe Havana
23) Campus Pizza
24) Carl's Corner
25) Carlos's Spanish & American
26) Carribean Paradise Restaurant
27) Carte Blanche Catering Co
28) Carvalhence
29) Carvel Ice Cream Bakery
30) Celebrations Bar & Restaurant
31) China Buffet
32) China King Restaurant
33) Club House Restaurant
34) Collins Restaurant
35) Colonnade
36) Colonnade Steakhouse
37) Confetti Cafe
38) Cove Inn
39) Dad's Hot Dogs
40) Dairy Delight
41) Dancing Fish Co
42) Darto's Restaurant
43) Deja Food Deli & Gourmet To Go
44) Dempsey's American Kitchen
45) Dennis
46) Diamondz
47) Domino's Pizza
48) Dough Boys Pizza & Restaurant
49) Edge Restaurant
50) Emeril's Chop House
51) Ezra D Groman Bakeries Inc
52) Friendly's Restaurant
53) G's Steaks & Subs
54) Gallo Loco
55) George's Light Lunch
56) Green Cafe
57) Grotto
58) Hack's
59) Hawthorne House
60) Huckleberries Cafe & Bakery
61) Hunan Inn
62) Italia Mia
63) Jack Creek Steakhouse
64) Jerry's Restaurant & Deli
65) Joe's Tavern
66) KFC
67) Kimchee Xpress
68) Krista's At The Holiday Inn
69) La Fontana Italian Ristorante
70) Lehigh Pizza
71) Leon's Restaurant
72) Linden Deli
73) Lok Yuan
74) Long John Silver's
75) Lucky Village
76) Luigi's Caffe 2000 Breakfast
77) Lump's Center Street Deli
78) Mach's Gute
79) Main Street Depot Restaurant
80) Mamma Lisa's Cafe & Catering
81) Mario's Cyber Cafe
82) Mario's Pizza Cafe
83) Martellucci Pizza
84) Matey's Famous Steaks & Pizza
85) Mayflower Lunch
86) Mexico Lindo Deli Restaurant
87) Nawab Indian Restaurant
88) New China Star Restaurant
89) New Street Bridge Works
90) New Street Pub
91) Nick's Pizza Restaurant
92) Niko's Drive In
93) Nuckle Ronnie's Steaks & Subs
94) Nuts About Ice Cream
95) O'leary's Bar
96) Old Brewery Tavern
97) Olive Branch Cafe & Restaurant
98) Our Beer Bellys
99) Pane'e Vino Restaurant
100) Papa John's Pizza
101) Penn Pizza
102) Perkins Family Restaurant
103) Perkins Family Restaurant
104) Pete's Hot Dog Shop
105) Picasso Pizza
106) Pizza House
107) Pizza Hut
108) Pizza Hut
109) Plaza Deli
110) Pomodoro's Pizza
111) Potts' Doggie Shop
112) Professional Building Coffee
113) Ray's Pizza Inc
114) Retro Deli & Catering
115) Ripper's Pub
116) Rosanna's Restaurant
117) Roseanna's Restaurant
118) Sara's Steak Shop
119) St. James Gate Irish Pub and Carvery
120) Star City Restaurant
121) Star Fish Brasserle
122) Steak & Ale Restaurant
123) Steak & Egg Nook
124) Steak & Eggs
125) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
126) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
127) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
128) Sun Inn
129) Tally-Ho Tavern
130) Thai Kitchen
131) Third Street's Chicken & Ribs
132) Tomino's Deli
133) Tortilla Flat
134) Victory 1 Pizza
135) Vineyard Restaurant
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
Got the sampler, everything was good but not great. I preferred the beer at Allentown Brew works compared to Bethlehem. Location here is better then the Allentown one.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Patrick Fines Patrick Fines, Temple Hills, MD
(06/02/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great So So Great
Our second visit to this delightful, busy place. Love to see adaptive reuse, and this is a great example. Chili is to die for. Beer was as good as before, but service was trying. Too many excuses for slow service, and bad ones at that. Probably better to go here when it's not the Christmas Season!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(01/05/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So Good Good
I have visited this establishment several times and have always been impressed by the large selection of beer styles. However, the mastery of brewing has always been lacking. Food was above average for the local area and place has consistently appeared popular (i.e. teflon)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from tom abell tom abell, allentown, PA
(12/13/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Good hoppy IPA, nice ESB. Good food, and lots of fun pub events (trivia, mug clubs, etc). I will be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from eve the great eve the great, oak park, IL
(11/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great So So So So So So
My first impressions was is was a bar not a restaurant. It was fairly noisy, I could barely hear my wife talk while we were sitting at are table. The service was ok, Heidi was are server, she was ok, but it was a busy Saturday night. Our food was under seasoned, warm and sounded better on the menu than tasted on our plates. Now the beer, I have traveled to several microbreweries in the area, and this one was one of the most disappointing beer tastings. Out of my sampler I tried, Belguim white, was well- balanced, ard I enjoyed, The ESB was a good ale, and was slighty bitter, couldn't drink a pint of it. The Oatmeal stout was smooth, flavorful and had a wonderful aroma. I could drink this one all night long. The Summit IPA was not very pale, and lack flavor. The pumkin ale tasted like watered down cloves, no hint of pumkin found in this sample. The scotch ale was ok, nice color and it was smooth. I won't be trying the Allentown Brew Works anytime soon after this lousy food and a ok sampling of their beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Lasher Tom Lasher, Fleetwood, PA
(10/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Good
Stopped in while Musikfest (a blast) was going on, and tried a very affordable beer sampler. I thought the Wingnut was an incredible porter, but I didn't care for their oatmeal stout, ESB, IPA, or lager at all. I had a seasonal wheat that was pretty good. I split the largest plate of nachos ever assembled and enjoyed every bite. The service was great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. Troutman T. Troutman, Lancaster, PA
(08/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Good
I visited on Sunday June 10th. I started with the sampler. $8 for 6, 5 1/2 oz. samples is a good deal. I had the Golden, Hefe, Berlinerweise, Framboise, ESP, Imperial Stout and Oatmeal stout. I had a pint of the HopExplosion. The HopExplosion, Oatmeal Stout and ESB were my favorites--in that order. The Framboise tasted like raspberry vinegar.

Had the Brew Melter sandwich--it was good. All in all a nice experience. Probably wouldn't go out of my way to go back but if I were in the neck of the woods, I'd stop in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(06/14/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! So So Great
travelling for business, some of the other gentlemen suggested the brew pub down the street...

i started with the beer sampler, and decided that my favorite was the rude elf reserve. I had a few more of those. For dinner i had the sesame tuna done medium rare. the entire dish was heavenly! The service was not so good because our waiter seemed distracted and in a big hurry to be done with his shift. After he left, the waitress who took over for him was fine.

All in all, i had a very good experience there, and hope to bring my husband there someday :-)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from catherine barnes catherine barnes, Baldwinsville, NY
(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
Went with a group and had fun. Ordered the sampler. The Golden lacked flavor but the rest were good. The Imperial Stout was brewed and tasted very good. Nice Job. Sent the kids off to the mini-mall while we finished off with the Rude Elf's Reserve. Cool building and nice atmosphere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gail Klewsaat Gail Klewsaat, Neshanic Station, NJ
(04/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
Stopped primarily for dinner, but knew there was microbrews avaialble as well. I only had the Rockwell Red, which was very tasty. The food was terrific! I had a sausage and pasta dish that was enough for my hearty appetite. Most people at our table took food home. The service and atmosphere the highlights for me. Bustling and casual, with very attentive and efficient service. be sure to use the call ahead seating if you'll be visiting at prime time. The wait was over an hour at 6:00 on Saturday evening. Great experience!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Scott Schminky Scott Schminky, Mechanicsburg, PA
(01/28/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
What a day it was... we stopped at the Irish teahouse for breakfast and we were visited by Father Christmas. The kids LOVED that. Then we headed over to the Christkindlmarkt where my daughter tripped and got hurt. We spent several hours over at St. Lukes Hospital and after that, at about 330pm we headed over to have some early dinner. The hostess gave us a pager and told us it was going to be a 45 minute wait however we only waited about twenty. We sat down and Joel, our excellent server came to get olur drink order. I decided on the sampler... any six of the eight brews offered. each sample served in a 5 1/2 oz glass. I decided on the Valley Golden, CH47 Pale Ale, Rude Elf's Reserve, Fegley's ESB, Elongator Doppelbock, and, of course, the Steelworker's Oatmeal Stout...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Hansell Todd Hansell, Roslyn, PA
(12/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
I'm sorry Tom is so bitter from his poor mug club experience, too bad for him, more beer for us. I don't get here much considering since I moved out of the Lehigh Valley (go Pards!) and now live about 100+ miles away. BUT, I have always had GREAT BEER and GREAT SERVICE at the Beth-lum Brew Works. My wife and I came to town for Musicfest this week. We stopped and had some snacks and beer before the concert. The ESB was very nice and probably my favorite, I also tried the IPA, but was disappointed as I was expecting MORE hops. Also, tried the Lambic, it's not the Belgian you might be used to but definitely interesting. We also had the Summer, which was also a good offering. But if you want something slightly different, I must say they did a very nice job with their beer-tini. Try it if your in town. Thanks to our bartender-ess, but I forgot her name. If you go during Musicfest get your 22 oz. Musikfest mug and have it filled here!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JAS JAS, York, PA
(08/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A Lousy
Been patronizing this place since 1999 and a Mug Club Member since 2001. Apparantly, I didn't spend enough money this past year so they kicked me out of the Club. There was never any notice of this policy communicated to the members, they just decided to throw me out. Unfortunately, simple things like working and paying my bills came in the way of my usual regular trips to Brew Works this past year so I couldn't get there that much, however a quick look in their computer system would have showed that I have spent a few thousand dollars there in the few years leading up this one. This is how they treat the people who supported their restaurant when it was in it's infancy, right??? Imagine what they do to the casual diner who just comes in for a beer or a quick dinner. My days as a Brew Works customer are OVER. I would strongly recomend to anyone interested in checking this place out to think twice before walking through the doors. I will admit that the food is good and the beer is decent (it has somewhat declined over the past couple of years though) so, if all you want is a decent meal, and your not really concerned on how the management treats people, go ahead and try it. As far as I'm concerned, Bethlehem Brew Works will never get another penny from me.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Smith Tom Smith, Northampton, PA
(06/26/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Great
Didin't get to try everything. The Stout was the best of the beers that I sampled. The atmosphere alone is worth the visit, plus it's right in the heart of town. The best discovery was the home brew supply store in the lower level of the mall.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Greg, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
New Brewer Beau has out did himself with his first creation. An Imperial Stoudt that's smooooth and not heavy and very easy to drink even at 8.9%. Stop by and try out the new beers!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dawn#9 aka brewmistress Dawn#9 aka brewmistress, Bethehem, PA
(02/14/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A bunch of us visited a few days after Christmas to take our 89-year-old patriarch there for his birthday. The place was humming, even on a Tuesday, but then it was the Christmas Season and we were in Bethlehem...PA. We'll never forget how this old guy of ours enjoyed a place with so much activity coming from folks nearly a third his age! Anyhow, the CH47, ESB, Stout were wonderful. Especially the CH47. The disappointment was the Pumpkin Ale served in a bottle, but then why would you want beer to taste like pumpkins anyhow? Food was wonderful, too. Great adaptive reuse of a former department store. Good job, Fegley's!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review BR, State College, PA
(01/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great Awesome! Awesome! Good
its right down the street from me and its the worst beer i ever had at a brewpub. there belgium was missing something. there ESB is poor, golden watery, the scottish tasted like feet, and so on. there oatmeal is ok, i can drink the blastberry, there machine shop hop is ok, there CH47 was good, the pumpkin is not too bad, and there peche is not bad either. sometimes when i go there i get a water instead. its atmosphere and food is A+, best food around. they hold a firken thursday which they pull some beer off the big tanks and dump a few things in it, technically not a true firken. Lewis is the brewer and he needs to learn how to brew. there beer has been gradually getting better due to non-lewis recipes. how this place won any awards gets me. the steelgarden downstairs offers other crafted brews, so i recomend them first. i think the problem is they brew and tap around 30 days apart. who makes a 30 day belgium or barleywine? such beautiful equipment wasted. oh and you dont have to put coriander in everything. like i said go for the food and try up some samples, but dont get disappointed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(11/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Great Great
I was disappointed there was no IPA on tap, but I did end up having a few pints of Oktoberfest, fisnished with an oatmeal stoudt. The burger was great, the Oktoberfest great, the Stout a little bland, but it was oatmeal and not an imperial. Good job all around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Mark, Laredo, TX
(11/12/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
I just tasted BBW's new Peche Lambic at the Lehigh Valley Fest in Easton: wow. Tart, funky, a whining buzz of peach flavor, a pseudo-lambic with some real guts to it. They were nice enough to pur me small samples of some older bottled efforts, a framboise and a kriek: the framboise was thin on fruit flavor but had that excellent Boon-ish character, the kriek came through with sharp cherries to boot. Great work at BBW, and a lot of effort and passion in these beers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Philadelphia, PA
(10/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Great So So
VERY DISAPPOINTED IN THE QUALITY OF BEER! VERY COOL BUILDING WITH MANY SHOPS INSIDE THE COMPLEX AND A HOMEBREW SHOP ON THE LOWER FLOOR. WOULD NOT TRAVEL OUT OF MY WAY TO TRY THE BEER BUT IF IN THE AREA STOP IN THE HOMEBREW SHOP AND CHAT WITH THE OWNER AND CHECK OUT THE COMPLEX.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(10/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good So So So So Good
Upscale. Almost got the feeling the brews were incendental to the food. Half hour wait for food and worse yet - a young lady at the bar with a beeradvocate tee shirt. The bagpiper's brew scotch ale was better than average. I would recommend one visit. The town is beautiful though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Ryerson Mark Ryerson, Tonawanda, NY
(10/10/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Great
Had a very tasty hard cider on tap in the sampler...which my wife hoarded, and the selection was a little low as I was told there was jsut a big music festival, and they were still in the middle of brewing new batches. Anyway, the food was delicious, and the beer was still good as well. Will definitely stop by next time I am passing through.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Johnson Dave Johnson, Sharpsville, PA
(09/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
Wish I could give a better rating and review. For the area, the place is great, partly because there is just not much else there for the beer drinker. But overall, the beers were OK. Nothing outstanding. The Pale was a little bland, the ESB was , OK, bland, and the Stout, flavorful but not full flavored. The place is very nice, very comfortable and full of locals. I believe that the food is usually good. I had a special that was not. But I would go again to try something else. I did not get a chance to venture into the Steelgarden... After reading other reviews now I wish I had. But I will go back here and try again... that says alot because there are many other places where I just won't go back if the local beer is not good. Theirs is good enough for this area... sorry if you live there and don't mean to insult - just not much to choose from (that I found).

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Porter Robert Porter, Castle Rock, CO
(06/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Great Great
I grew up in the Bethlehem Area and every visit back I try to make it to the Brew Works. If you can, stop buy over the winter holidays or during Musikfest. The beers I love! And the food is hard to match.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Alwan Chris Alwan, Jacobus, PA
(04/02/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Great
Do yourself a favor and stop here if you can. Besides the tasty brews and the good food(including a delicious beer and cheese soup),they have an all Belgian beer bar downstairs called the Steelgaarden. The beer menu will blow your mind. The downstairs bar doesn't open till 4pm. Have a late lunch upstairs and head downstairs for "dessert", before the crowd shuffles in. P.S. I included the Steelgaarden's beer selection when I gave an "Awesome" rating for this establishment.To the best of my knowledge, you must go downstairs to try the Belgian selection.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Oakhurst, NJ
(07/30/2004)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ 4 ] [ 5 ] [ 6 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.45 seconds) 11:28:33 54.82.122.194, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS