PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company - Lodi, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 01, 2014 @ 01:24 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Lodi > Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company
Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Wagner Vineyards and Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 81.2 / 100
9322 State Route 414
Lodi, NY 14860
United States
(866) 924-6378
Listed Since: April 1998
Last Updated: April 2005
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lodi, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
16 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun 12:00PM - 50:0PM
Mon 10:00AM - 50:0PM
Tue 10:00AM - 50:0PM
Wed 10:00AM - 50:0PM
Thu 10:00AM - 50:0PM
Fri 10:00AM - 50:0PM
Sat 10:00AM - 50:0PM

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Maxsom's Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Lodi Methodist Church
2) Queen's Castle
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Eagle Hotel
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Good Good Good
I drove over to Lodi for lunch one day near the end of June. I sat on the deck of the restaurant and enjoyed the view while enjoying lunch and a sampler of Wagner Valley beer. 6 4-oz. samples will set you back only $7. I had the hefe, maple porter, IPA, oatmeal stout, dopple bock, and lager. The IPA was by far the best--but then I am a bit partial to hops. the dopple bock has won several awards--not my favorite style but it wasn't as sweet as I remember. The lager tasted a lot like the dopple. The maple porter was more smoky than anything else--I liked that. I was concerned that it would be sweet, but it wasn't.

This place is worth the stop--a beautiful drive from anywhere-and you can also hit Rooster Fish in Watkins Glenn, and Market Street in Corning--an nice pub crawl for a summer day or an autumn afternoon.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Laubert Bill Laubert, Hornell, NY
(07/23/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
There is a restaurant next to the brewery/winery that serves their product. The wine was better then the beer but what I had winewise vs. the other 15 wineries I got to on my trip, Wagner falls towards the lower in quality. The beer all seemed bland and off and not impressive at all. The food was cheap within the $7 and up range for a sandwhich and fries. Definately stop in there and try the beer and wine and target it for lunch and get the view in.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(07/20/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Awesome! N/A Good Good
This was another of our stops in the summer of 2006. My wife went on the wine tour and I went to the beer sampling. Lots of beers. Actually to many because most lack a distinctive favor for the type. they were good, but would have been better if they had comcentrated on maybe 9 instead of the 15. I will say that it was a beautiful view from the winery. Would reccommend a visit in your in the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from David Cramer David Cramer, Boalsburg, PA
(08/04/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great N/A Great Great
Took a nice scenic drive to Wagner Brewing--quite possibly the most beautiful place to sample a beer I've been to in quite a while. The views of the lake are worth a trip. $1 to sample 5 beers; a friend and I each got five and traded for a 10 beer tasting--very respectable. Some of their products are pretty ho-hum: Honey Wheat, Amber Lager, Finger Lakes Lager (really for the mass appeal Bud drinker). Some are average: Wit, Hefe, IPA (seemed more like a pale ale). Some were pretty good: Doublebock, smooth caramel and molasses, Trippelbock, warming (11%) and dangerous. My favorite was the Oatmeal Stout; it had lots of flavors which worked nicely together to make it creamy and drinkable. Lots of beer, wine and souvenirs in the gift shop to purchase.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(09/22/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Great
The beers were excellant. I marked them down a little on their operating hours. They close at 5 PM, no matter what season. Last tatsing is at 4:30 but they will sell pints or 10 oz up to 5 PM. In the time I was there they turned away 8 people and another 8 arrived while I was sitting in the parking lot getting ready to leave. Also, the restaurant was closed prior to 4:30 on a sunny summer afternoon. The only day they are open late is Fridays. Now back to the beers. The IPA, Doppelbock and Stout were excellant. I bought a mixed 6 -pack to go. Trippelbock, which is really close to a Barleywine was excellant, but you have to ask for a taste specifically. This is one of the only places that I've found that will fill a growler (for the appropriate price)with the Trippel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Morseburg Bob Morseburg, Seattle, WA
(08/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Recently stopped by Wagner for the first time. Its spectacular setting overlooking Seneca Lake is done justice by the quality of beer (and wine) they produce. The sampling fee at the brewery was nominal (either $2 or $3) for 6 or 7 beers including their doppel and trippel bocks - which were excellent). Beers are available by the pint, growler, 6 pack and case after you find the one you like. I settled for the Amber and IPA which were tasty, hoppy, and very fresh. The Ginny Lee restaurant was closed when I visited, but was opening for spring and summer soon. They were also starting their Friday night concert series on their deck which sounds like a blast. The service in the brewery for samples and pints was excellent. After the beer tasting, I sampled the wine as well - which was similarly excellent. Great gift shop to. Can't wait to get back over the summer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hansen Mark Hansen, Norristown, PA
(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Recently stopped by Wagner for the first time. Its spectacular setting overlooking Seneca Lake is done justice by the quality of beer (and wine) they produce. The sampling fee at the brewery was nominal (either $2 or $3) for 6 or 7 beers including their doppel and trippel bocks - which were excellent). Beers are available by the pint, growler, 6 pack and case after you find the one you like. I settled for the Amber and IPA which were tasty, hoppy, and very fresh. The Ginny Lee restaurant was closed when I visited, but was opening for spring and summer soon. They were also starting their Friday night concert series on their deck which sounds like a blast. The service in the brewery for samples and pints was excellent. After the beer tasting, I sampled the wine as well - which was similarly excellent. Great gift shop to. Can't wait to get back over the summer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Hansen Mark Hansen, Norristown, PA
(03/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Small charge for tasteing but well worth it. Tried all 7 or so that they had on tap and all were great.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo.  Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Awesome!
This is a winery that started brewing beer as well. It is just northeast of Watkins Glen on Seneca Lake. They have a nice restaurant with a patio and a spectactular view of Seneca Lake and the hills on the other side. The beer is great, too. My wife and I tried the sampler and the beers were all good, especially the pale ale and IPA. If you don't want to eat, you can get small samples for free or pay for pints at the tasting room, which is inside the large gift shop next door to the restaurant. The brewery tasting room has picnic tables outside with the same great view of the lake. You can buy their beer to go in bottles (though only 2 kinds were available when we were there) or get a growler to go. They were out of growlers at the time but they filled one I had in the car from another brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg Jenson Greg Jenson, Chicago, IL
(10/27/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Good Great
Situated on Seneca Lake in Wagner Winery. It's a tasting room with a great selection of very good beer. It's a great stop

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
The pub is really a tasting room.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review J T, Middletwon, NY
(05/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
If you don't want the resturant and only want to sample beer go to the building on your right as you drive in. We had free samples (sometime they charge according to the signs) and they have a nice selcection of beer to go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(02/28/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Beautiful drive up the east side of Seneca lake to Wagner. The microbrewery makes a wide variety of beers, including the basic nondescript American wheat and lager. Better were a nicely hopped Czech-style pilsner, the ESB (Goldings, I believe) with a surprisingly full malty backbone, a nice wine-y Oatmeal stout, and an outstanding doppelbock (Sled Dog), which is year-round due to popular demand. Inexpensive to bring some home too.

Heard from the bar-tender that they'll have a Belgian tripel-style out this winter, hopefully, in 75cl corked bottles. Looking forward to a Christmas visit now!

Food at the little restaurant on the grounds was your standard inexpensive American fare. Nothing to write home about, but it hits the spot after an hour of smapling beer and wine. And of course the view can't be beat!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Witzel Dave Witzel, New York, NY
(09/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Sat on the deck and enjoyed the sampler of their six beers. The pale ale and oatmeal stout were outstanding. The pilsner was smooth and spicy and one of the best I've ever had. The setting definitely enhances the experience. Vineyards sloping into Seneca Lake. The Finger Lakes at their best!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John Kuster John Kuster, Murrysville, PA
(10/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
Excellent beer, most very true to style and a wide range, doppelbock, stout, hefeweizen, summer wheat, esb, pilsner. Good to see both lagers and ales. Very nice location, good view of Seneca Lake

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Courtney Renegar Courtney Renegar, Netcong, NJ
(07/03/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Great Great Great
Very nice winery tour. Goldfish pond on site with picnic grounds. First beers produced lacked definition but had no other flaws. Follow-on batches promised to be more distinctive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bob Edwards Bob Edwards, Binghamton, NY
(04/26/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.379 seconds) 13:24:12 54.197.3.233, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS