PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Bloomfield Bridge Tavern - Pittsburgh , PA
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
April 21, 2014 @ 11:22 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > PA > Pittsburgh > Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
Bloomfield Bridge Tavern Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Beer Bar
Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
Overall: Great    Score: 79.3 / 100
4412 Liberty Avenue
Pittsburgh , PA 15224
United States
(412) 682-8611
Listed Since: May 1998
Last Updated: July 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Pittsburgh , PA
Beer Guide for Pennsylvania

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Bloomfield Bridge Tavern
17 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(72 within 5 miles)
1) Lot 17
(0 mile)

2) Brillobox
(0 mile)

3) Pittsburgh Brewing Company
(1 mile)

4) The Church Brew Works
(1 mile)

5) New Amsterdam
(1 mile)

6) Remedy was Ray's Marlin Beach Bar and Grill
(1 mile)

7) Pittsburgh Deli Company
(1 mile)

8) Bites and Brews
(1 mile)

9) Harris Grill
(1 mile)

10) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

11) India Garden
(2 miles)

12) Fuel and Fuddle
(2 miles)

13) Spice Cafe, Global Bar and Grill
(2 miles)

14) Casbah Mediterranean Kitchen and Wine Bar
(2 miles)

15) Sharp Edge Beer Emporium
(2 miles)

16) Point Brugge Cafe
(2 miles)

17) Kelly's Bar and Lounge
(2 miles)

18) Mad Mex
(2 miles)

19) Salt of the Earth
(2 miles)

20) Red Room Cafe and Lounge
(2 miles)

21) Eleven
(2 miles)

22) Gooski's
(2 miles)

23) Meat and Potatoes
(2 miles)

24) East End Brewing Company
(3 miles)

25) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Restaurant
(3 miles)

26) Bangkok Balcony
(3 miles)

27) Squirrel Hill Cafe aka The Cage
(3 miles)

28) Mullaney's Harp and Fiddle Irish Pub
(3 miles)

29) Cioppino
(3 miles)

30) Roland's Seafood Grill
(3 miles)

31) Kaya
(3 miles)

32) Six Penn Kitchen
(3 miles)

33) Grille On Seventh was Seventh Street Grille
(3 miles)

34) Market Street Ale House
(3 miles)

35) Gene's Last Chance
(3 miles)

36) Bella Sera Urban Trattoria
(3 miles)

37) Aspinwall Grille
(3 miles)

38) Hot Metal Grille
(3 miles)

39) Smokin' Joe's
(3 miles)

40) S Bar
(3 miles)

41) Cafe Allegro Restaurant and Espresso Bar
(3 miles)

42) The Smiling Moose
(3 miles)

43) Fat Head's South Shore Saloon
(3 miles)

44) Double Wide Grill
(3 miles)

45) Sidelines Bar and Grill
(3 miles)

46) UUBU6
(3 miles)

47) Z-Lounge was Zythos
(3 miles)

48) Hofbrauhaus Pittsburgh
(3 miles)

49) Piper's Pub
(3 miles)

50) Claddagh Irish Pub
(3 miles)

51) Dish Osteria and Bar
(3 miles)

52) Tiki Lounge
(3 miles)

53) Birmingham Bridge Tavern
(3 miles)

54) ScrapYard Brewing Company
(3 miles)

55) The Parlour
(3 miles)

56) Copper Kettle Brewing Company / Hough's
(3 miles)

57) Monterey Pub
(3 miles)

58) Frank and Jerry's Bier Haus
(3 miles)

59) Bru Lounge
(3 miles)

60) Pennsylvania Brewing Company aka Penn Brewery
(3 miles)

61) Max's Allegheny Tavern
(3 miles)

62) Finnigan's Wake
(3 miles)

63) D's Six Packs and Dogz
(4 miles)

64) The Map Room
(4 miles)

65) Grandview Saloon
(4 miles)

66) Packs and Dogs
(4 miles)

67) Trenta Cocktail Lounge
(5 miles)

68) Rock Bottom Brewery
(5 miles)

69) Blue Dust
(5 miles)

70) Burgatory Bar
(6 miles)

71) Amel's Restaurant
(6 miles)

72) Beer Nutz Bottle Shop
(6 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Appletree Bed & Breakfast
2) Inn on the Mexican War Streets
3) Le Domanine
4) Morning Glory Bed & Breakfast
5) Priory Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN UNIVERSITY CENTER
2) BRIDGESTREET LINCOLN NORTH SHOR
3) HILTON PITTSBURGH
4) MORNING GLORY INN
5) OMNI WILLIAM PENN
6) RAMADA PLAZA SUITES
7) RENAISSANCE PITTSBURGH HOTEL
8) RESIDENCE INN PITTSBURGH
9) SHERATON STATION SQUARE HOTEL
10) SUNNYLEDGE BOUTIQUE HOTEL
11) THE PRIORY HOTEL
12) THE WESTIN CONVENTION CENTER
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) 109--115 Wood Street
2) Allegheny County Courthouse and Jail
3) Allegheny High School
4) Allegheny Post Office
5) Allerdice, Taylor, High School
6) Alpha Terrace Historic District
7) Armstrong Tunnel
8) Armstrong Tunnel
9) Arsenal Junior High School
10) Baxter High School
11) Bayard School
12) Bedford School
13) Beltzhoover Elementary School
14) Bindley Hardware Company Building
15) Birmingham Public School
16) Boggs Avenue Elementary School
17) Bost Building
18) Buhl Building
19) Burke Building
20) Butler Street Gatehouse
21) Byers-Lyons House
22) Byrnes & Kiefer Building
23) Carnegie Free Library of Allegheny
24) Colfax Elementary School
25) Connelly, Clifford B., Trade School
26) Consolidated Ice Company Factory No. 2
27) Dilworth Elementary School
28) Dollar Savings Bank
29) East Liberty Market
30) Eberhardt and Ober Brewery
31) Evergreen Hamlet
32) Ewart Building
33) Fifth Avenue High School
34) Firstside Historic District
35) Fort Pitt Elementary School
36) Fortieth Street Bridge
37) Foster School
38) Frick Building and Annex
39) Frick, Henry Clay, Training School for Teachers
40) Fulton Building
41) Fulton Elementary School
42) Gardner-Bailey House
43) Greenfield Elementary School
44) Hartley-Rose Belting Company Building
45) Heathside Cottage
46) Henderson-Metz House
47) Highland Building
48) Highland Towers Apartments
49) Hoene-Werle House
50) Homestead High-Level Bridge
51) Homestead Pennsylvania Railroad Station
52) House at 200 West North Avenue
53) Hunt Armory
54) Kaufmann's Department Store Warehouse
55) Knoxville Junior High School
56) Larimer School
57) Latimer School
58) Lawrence Public School
59) Lemington Elementary School
60) Letsche Elementary School
61) Liberty Bridge
62) Liberty School No. 4, Friendship Building
63) Lincoln Elementary School
64) Linden Avenue School
65) Longfellow School
66) Madison Elementary School
67) Main Building, U.S. Bureau of Mines
68) McCleary Elementary School
69) Monongahela Incline
70) Moreland-Hoffstot House
71) Morse, Samuel F. B., School
72) Ninth Street Bridge
73) Oakland Public School
74) Old Heidelberg Apartments
75) Osterling, Frederick J., Office and Studio
76) Park Place School
77) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
78) Pennsylvania Railroad Bridge
79) Pennsylvania Railroad Station
80) Pennsylvania Railroad Station-Wilkinsburg
81) Phipps Conservatory
82) Phipps--McElveen Building
83) Pittsburgh & Lake Erie Railroad Station
84) Pittsburgh Athletic Association Building
85) Prospect Junior High and Elementary School
86) Reymer Brothers Candy Factory
87) Rodef Shalom Temple
88) Rotunda of the Pennsylvania Railroad Station
89) Schenley High School
90) Schiller Elementary School
91) Scott, James, House
92) Sellers House
93) Seventh Street Bridge
94) Shadyside Presbyterian Church
95) Singer, John F., House
96) Sixteenth Street Bridge
97) Sixth Street Bridge
98) Smithfield Street Bridge
99) Snyder, William Penn, House
100) Soldiers and Sailors Memorial Hall
101) South Side High School
102) South Side Market Building
103) South Tenth Street Bridge
104) Springfield Public School
105) St. Boniface Roman Catholic Church
106) St. John the Baptist Ukranian Catholic Church
107) St. Nicholas Croatian Church
108) St. Stanislaus Kostka Roman Catholic Church
109) Stanley Theater and Clark Building
110) Sterrett Sub-District School
111) Tuberculosis Hospital of Pittsburgh
112) Union Trust Building
113) US Post Office and Courthouse--Pittsburgh
114) Washington Vocational School
115) Westinghouse High School
116) Whitehill-- Gleason Motors
117) Wightman School
118) William Penn Hotel
119) Woods, John, House
120) Woolslair Elementary School
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) A J's Lounge
2) Abay Ethiopian Cuisine
3) Adrian's Pizza
4) Alexander's Pasta Express
5) Ali Baba Restaurant
6) Angelo's Pizzeria
7) Anna Misiaszek
8) Anthon's Restaurant & Bakery
9) Anthony's Lounge
10) Antoon Pizza
11) Arby's
12) Armand's Bar
13) Arsenal Public House
14) At The Park
15) Atria's Restaurant & Tavern
16) Attic
17) Atwood Cafe
18) Baba D's
19) Baja Fresh Mexican Grill
20) Bally's Restaurant
21) Barbs Country Kitchen
22) Baum Vivant
23) Bellini Mediterranean Cuisine
24) Bikki
25) Bill's Tavern
26) Bloomfield Distributing Co
27) Bloomfield Sandwich Shop
28) Bombay Grill
29) Bombay Rama
30) Boo's Inc
31) Boomerangs Bar & Grill
32) Bootleggers
33) Boston Market
34) Bottles Pub
35) Buffalo Blues
36) Burger King
37) Burger King
38) Burma Tokyo
39) Cafe Bellas
40) Cafe Sam
41) Cafe Soiree
42) Cafe Zinho
43) Cafe' II Valetto
44) Calabria's Italian Restaurant
45) Campus Deli
46) Candlelight Lounge Inc
47) Cappy's Cafe'
48) Capri Pizza
49) Casbah
50) Charlie's
51) Chief's Cafe
52) China House
53) China Inn
54) China Lin
55) China Palace Chinese Rstrnt
56) Cignas' Restaurant & Lounge
57) City Cafe
58) Club Havana
59) Coca Coffee Lounge
60) Coffee Tree Roasters
61) Coffee Tree Roasters
62) Coge Inc
63) Common Grounds Coffee House
64) Copper Pot Catering
65) Coyote Cafe
66) Cozumel
67) Craig Street Coffee
68) Crepes Parisiennes
69) Cump's Super Sub
70) Cumpies Restaurant & Lounge
71) Damico's Place
72) Dave & Andy's Homemade Ice Crm
73) Del's Bar & Restaurant
74) Dinette
75) Doc's Place
76) Domino's Pizza
77) Duranti's Park Plaza Rstrnt
78) Eat'n Park Restaurants
79) Eatza Pizza
80) El Dolce Cafe
81) Elbow Room
82) Enrico Biscotti Co
83) Fajita Grill
84) Fat Tommy's Pizzeria
85) Flora's Grill & Grocery
86) Flora's Restaurant & Catering
87) Food For Thought
88) Fox's Pizza Den
89) Frankie's Extra Long
90) Fuel & Fuddle
91) G M Dog'n Burger Shoppe
92) Gary's Deli
93) Gator's Saloon
94) Geno's Restaurant and Big Belly Deli
95) Ginza Korean & Japanese Rstrnt
96) Girasole
97) Girasole
98) Golden Palace Buffet
99) Grant Bar Inc
100) Graziano's Pizzeria
101) Grub Hut Restaurant
102) Gullifty's Restaurant
103) Hambone's
104) Happy Family Restaurant
105) Harris Grill
106) Hemingway's Cafe
107) Hermies Gyros
108) House Of Chiang
109) How Lee Chinese Restaurant
110) Hub's Pub
111) Il Valletto Cafe & Restaurant
112) India Garden
113) India Palace Cuisine
114) Italian Village Pizza
115) J Harris Grill
116) Jens Juice Joint
117) Jimmy John's Sandwich Shop
118) Jimmy Tsang's Chinese Rstrnt
119) Joe Mama's Italian Deluxe
120) Johnny's Coffee Shop
121) Johnny's Place
122) Kate & Allie's Cafe & Catering
123) Kelly's Bar & Lounge
124) Kfc
125) Kfc
126) Kfc
127) Khalil's Ii
128) Kim's Coffee Shop
129) Kim's Place
130) Kiva Han
131) Kiva Han
132) Kopec's
133) Korea Garden
134) La Feria
135) La Fiesta Restaurant
136) La Filipiniana Teody's
137) La Prima Espresso Co
138) Laforet
139) Lamarca Floral & Cappucino Emp
140) Larry's & Carol's Pizza
141) Le Perroquet
142) Lemongrass
143) Little Nipper's Pizza II
144) Lombardozzi Restaurant
145) Lorigan Street Bar
146) Lot 17 Bar & Grill
147) Lu Lu Noodles
148) Lucca
149) Luna Bar & Grill
150) Mad Mex
151) Mama Rosa
152) Mama Rosa & Daughter
153) Max & Erma's
154) Mc Donald's
155) Mc Donald's
156) Mc Donald's
157) Mediterranean Grill
158) Mezzanotte Cafe
159) Milano's Pizza II
160) Minutello's Restaurant
161) Mitchell's Tavern
162) Miyoshi Japanese Bistro
163) Moonlight Express
164) More' Restaurant
165) Morning Glory Coffeehouse
166) Murray Avenue Grill
167) My Thai Restaurant
168) Nellie's Sandwiches
169) New Way Gourmet
170) New York New York Inc
171) Nico's Recovery Room
172) Nied's Hotel
173) Nirvana Deli
174) Nooners
175) Nova Cafe
176) Oakland Cafe & Deli
177) Oakland Community Store
178) Oh Yeah! Ice Cream and Coffee Company
179) Oishii Bento
180) Om Shiva Hookah Lounge
181) Orient Kitchen
182) Oriental Wok
183) Original Hot Dog Shops Inc
184) Pamela's
185) Pamela's
186) Pamela's
187) Panda Village Chinese Rstrnt
188) Panera Bread
189) Panera Bread
190) Panera Bread
191) Panera Bread
192) Panther Hollow Inn
193) Pap's & Us
194) Papa John's Pizza
195) Partner's
196) Pasta Piatto
197) Paul Mazzota
198) Penn Main Cafe
199) Peoples Restaurant
200) Peppi's At The Park
201) Pesaro's Pizza
202) Pesaro's Pizza
203) Peter's Pub
204) Pho Minh
205) Pi Pizza By Vallozzi
206) Pita Garden
207) Pittsburg Cafe
208) Pittsburgh Deli Co
209) Pizza Bellagio
210) Pizza Hut
211) Pizza Hut
212) Pizza Italia
213) Pizza Prima
214) PIZZUTTI'S Restaurant
215) Pleasure Bar & Restaurant
216) Pop's Chicken & Rib Factory
217) Primanti Brothers
218) Prince Of India Restaurant
219) Pronto
220) Qdoba Mexican Grill
221) Quiznos Sub
222) Quiznos Sub
223) Quiznos Sub
224) Ray's Marlin Beach Bar & Grill
225) Reynold's on Bryant Restaurant
226) Rhodesia Bey Restaurant
227) Ritters Diner Inc
228) River Moon Cafe
229) Riverview Tastee Freez
230) Road To Karakesh
231) Rocky's Restaurant & Catering
232) Roger's Bar
233) Rose Room Restaurant
234) Rotelli The Water Works
235) Round Corner Cantina
236) Salac's Inc
237) Salad Co
238) Salim's Middle Eastern Food
239) Sammy's Famous Corned Beef
240) Sausalido
241) Say Cheese Pizza Co
242) Schlotzcky's Deli
243) Schwartz's Bagels
244) Sciulli's Pizza
245) Scoops Plus
246) Seven Cee's
247) Shady Grove
248) Shadyside Saloon
249) Sharp Edge Bar & Restaurant
250) Shogun Japanese Steak House
251) Si Senor Intl
252) Sichuan House Chinese Rstrnt
253) Silky's Pub
254) Silky's Saloon
255) Sinbad's Restaurant
256) Soba Lounge
257) Soiree Catering
258) Soltan's Restaurant
259) Sonny's Tavern Inc
260) Sorrento's Pizza
261) Spak Brothers
262) Spice Cafe
263) Spice Island Tea House
264) Star Of India
265) Starbucks
266) Starbucks
267) Starbucks
268) Starbucks
269) Starbucks
270) Starr's Lunch Counter
271) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
272) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
273) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
274) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
275) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
276) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
277) Sufak's Round Corner Hotel
278) Sunnyledge Boutique Hotel
279) Supreme Pizza
280) Sushi Boat
281) Sushi Too
282) Suzie's
283) Sweeney Irish Pub
284) Sweet Basil's Bar & Grill
285) Szechuan Express
286) Taco Bell
287) Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
288) Tandoor Indian Grill
289) Taste Of India
290) Tasty Chinese Restaurant
291) Tea Lightful LLC
292) Teabags
293) Tessaro's
294) Thai Cuisine
295) Thai Place Cafe
296) Thai Place Restaurant
297) The Quiet Storm
298) Thirsty's Restaurant & Saloon
299) Thunderbird Cafe
300) Toro's Ribs & Brew
301) Tram's Kitchen
302) Twisters Soft Serve Ice Cream
303) Umi Japanese Restaurant
304) Uncle Sam's Submarines
305) Uncle Sam's Submarines
306) Union Grill
307) Union Grill 2
308) University Pizza
309) Upstairs Saloon
310) Urban Fusion Cafe
311) Vento's Pizza
312) Villa Pizza
313) Village Pizza
314) Vince's Pizzeria
315) Vocelli Pizza
316) Vocelli Pizza
317) Vocelli Pizza
318) Walnut Grill
319) Walsh's Restaurant & Bar
320) Webster Hall Deli Inc
321) Wendy's
322) Wendy's
323) Wendy's
324) William Penn Tavern
325) Wing Pitt
326) Winner's Fast Food
327) Wyndham Gardens Hotels
328) Young Bin Kwan Restaurant
329) Your Inner Vagabond
330) Yumwok
331) Zarra's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Lousy Lousy Lousy
Owner is very mean & rude. Bloomfield Bridge Tavern has a strict NO FREE DRINKING WATER Policy. Under no circumstances can you order a glass of drinking water - not even with a meal. The only water available is bottled water for $4.50. Drinking water is a human right, not a privilege. It is absolutely despicable for a food and beverage establishment to refuse to serve drinking water.

Owner removed the beautiful and famous Bloomfield mural that was painted on the side of the building.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brews Chews Magazine Brews Chews Magazine, Pittsburgh, PA
(07/23/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So Good Good So So
The atmosphere of this place was swanky. I didn't expect, much but it was still a casual and friendly environment. I had the chance to try their famous Polish Platter. While I am a Huge favor of traditional Polish cuisine, the varietion of the Pierogies were not to my liking. I did enjoy the Kielbasa, Haluski, and Kaluski. I would have to agree with the last reviewer that their business practice has MUCH to be desired. I had initilly planned on coming to grab a beer and some food, but when I saw that poor selection to choose from, poor meaning fall beers from last year and other off names that were fillers inside their beer cooler just to create the appearance of a full cooler, I decided to grab some soda instead. BAD MISTAKE!!! After getting my bill and noticing that EACH soda (mind you.. full of ice and not even a full pint glasses worth of the liquid) were $2 EACH. HOW in the WORLD does someone get away with charging $2 each for soda and NO FREE REFILLS!!! Perhaps it was the fact that I had a bogo coupon for dinner, no one else in the restaurant had sodas to ask them how much they cost after finding that I had been ripped off, and no mention of prices for ANY drinks in their poorly designed menu. Overall, I wish that this would have been a better experience because I did enjoy the food and would have given the beer selection a better chance if it would have changed by the next time I would have visited, but... WHY would I want to come back here after all of these minor complaints. I DON'T.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Da Burgh, PA
(07/22/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
They are overtaxing their customers. Our total bill came to just under $23 and with tax we were charged nearly $27! When we pointed this out, the owner(?) became belligerent and the waitress questioned OUR math skills! 7% of $23 is $1.61, but they said their "machine" told them otherwise.

Not great customer service. We won't go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(06/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
The BBT was a regular stop of mine when I lived in Bloomfield. It seemed strange to walk in and not see Stan smiling from behind the bar. We would always look forward to see what "treats" he would be handing out to the customers, whether it be a ball point pen, Xmas gift labels, cassette tape, or whatever, one time even ladies' skirts! The bottled beers in the cold cases always had "free" gifts rubberbanded to them as well.

Anyway, I digress. We stopped in to see what was on tap and stayed for a pitcher. Our bartender was very friendly and chatted with us for awhile. The dining room was filling up and the Polish platters were being prepared right down the bar from us. A band was bringing their equipment in to set up. (There is always a wide variety of live entertainment at BBT.)

This is a true no-frills neighborhood bar, with very reasonable prices. It's worth a visit just for the homemade pierogies and an ice cold beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Janet Schryver Janet Schryver, Genoa, OH
(03/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Well with Stan's death I had to finally trek over to the BBT to see what this place was all about. Better late than never someone once said.

This place is an interesting worn in nook to say the least. Bathroom in the basement and fitting for just one. Caliope banner up in the middle of the stage - which relates to the Tuesday songwriter night that continues must it be 10-years running?

Big grill top and fryer pushing out the Polish perogies and other polish foods. Varied beer selection, including East End Brewing's Big Hop and Hoegaarden to name two we bought. Alright beer selection with a few in the cooler I swear must be Polish imports.

Live music pushed out a few covers of noteables like the Rolling Stones among others. Original songs too.

Friendly place with just a $3 cover for the donation to the singer songwriters. We will be back. Sorry it took so long to visit.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(11/08/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Awesome! Great Awesome!
I'm sure going to miss Stan. I only hope the atmosphere remains the same without him! Food is great!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mary Ann Mary Ann, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/28/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I'm sad to report another death in the beer community.

Stanley A. Frankowski / Owned Bloomfield Bridge Tavern Feb. 22, 1936-Oct. 19, 2005

Plant worker, union activist and Bloomfield Bridge Tavern owner Stanley A. Frankowski died Wednesday at 69 at his O'Hara home, following a long struggle with cancer.

Mr. Frankowski, "Stas" or "Sluggo" to his friends, was a union leader and bologna packer at Armour Meat Co. When the plant closed in the early 1980s, he launched a campaign to rally union members to collectively buy and manage it. After enlisting the help of a local political activist, now state Sen. Jim Ferlo, Mr. Frankowski cooked up a spicy way to get the attention of Pittsburgh City Council.

Rest of the article at http://www.post-gazette.com/pg/05295/593086.stm

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from paris lundis paris lundis, Pittsburgh, PA
(10/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A truly unique experience. Authentic Polish food that, alone, would bring me back. The service was great, and the staff was very friendly.

The draft selection was average, while the selection in bottles was above average. Beer prices were reasonable, but nothing special.

All told, I had a great time (thanks in part to the local band that was playing at the BBT). I will undoubtedly be going back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Great
The draft selection isn't large, but by the bottle, the choices are much better. Plus, several of the offerings (Eastern European) are unique to this bar from what I can tell about Pittsburgh - for those of you looking to add a few more titles to your beer list.

Food was inexpensive, tasty and filling. But I didn't really expect light fare when I ordered the Polish Platter.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Michael Padgett Michael Padgett, New York, NY
(10/25/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Awesome! Good Great
This is not a great beer place but it is a very good place to eat at reasonable prices. They have the ususal "roun of mine" draft beers and a big selection of bottled beers. You can't get in on the weekends but on weeknights seating is immediate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Gray Matt Gray, McCandless, PA
(12/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome!
the food was really good. the service was excellent, thanks to all the people there and Steve....you were very nice to my wife and I, and we will definitly visit again next time were in pittsburgh.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from dave rozelle dave rozelle, nashville, TN
(09/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A family owned establishment that succesfully combines excellent Polish food, a vast selection of fine beers, and owners who enjoy having a good time. This place is a great beer and shot bar, with live music in the middle of Pittsburgh's Bloomfield area. A good catch!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gator Gator, Fort Lauderdale, FL
(08/02/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Although the beer is a little too expensive, when combined with the greatest pierogies i've ever had, the BBT can't be beat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Awesome!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Pittsburgh, PA
(12/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
The BBT is like a superhero with a dual identity. Five days out of the week its a local watering hole with a great beer selection and tasty bar food, especially polish dishes. You'll be warned if your language gets too rough.

Then on Fri and saturday, the bands move in. All local, and you never know what you'll see on 'open mike'. Given the limited space, every seat is up close and personal when the bands play.

So pick your night based on whether you want quiet and calm or funky and loud, but defintitely go.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Greg H Greg H, the 'burgh, PA
(06/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Awesome! Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eddie Figas Eddie Figas, McKeesport, PA
(02/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Good
Less than a mile up Liberty Avenue from Church Brew Works and Pittsburgh Brewing Company is the Bloomfield Bridge Tavern. Bloomfield is one of the remaining ethnic pockets in what was once a very ethnic city. The Bloomfield Bridge Tavern includes Polish foods like golabki (stuffed cabbage) and pierogis in their menu along with burgers. We sat in the back room, which is up a few steps from the front bar area and felt like we were sitting on a stage. The man at the next table told us to wait and see how long it took for service. It turned out that he was the owner. "Go downstairs and pick out a skirt," he advised me, so I did. The waitress explained that he had bought the skirts at an auction and was giving them away. I had the sausage sandwich and, of course, a beer. The Bloomfield Bridge Tavern is small and somewhat lacking in atmosphere. I don't know anyplace else that seats customers on folding chairs. It has an unusual age range of clientele. I felt like I was at a reunion with the Polish side of the family along with Cousin John, Aunt Mary and even grandma. What The Bloomfield Bridge Tavern lacks in d├ęcor (I don't think I would eat off of their floor), it more than makes up for in friendly service, a warm, neighborhood atmosphere, and an extensive assortment of imported bottled beer. I enjoyed The Bloomfield Bridge Tavern, and will certainly go back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Nancy McAdams Nancy McAdams, Pittsburgh, PA
(05/16/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.272 seconds) 11:22:50 54.227.5.234, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS