PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Back Road Brewery - La Porte, IN
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 31, 2014 @ 12:55 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > IN > La Porte > Back Road Brewery
Back Road Brewery Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Back Road Brewery
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 86.7 / 100
1315 Michigan Avenue
La Porte, IN 46350
United States
(219) 362-7623
Listed Since: June 1998
Last Updated: December 2003
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for La Porte, IN
Beer Guide for Indiana

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Back Road Brewery
17 Reviews / 2 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Arbor Hill Inn
2) On the Wings of Angels
3) Pottinger House
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST VALUE INN AND SUITESLA POR
2) SUPER 8 LA PORTE IN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Morrison, Francis H., House
2) Orr, William, House
3) Pinehurst Hall
4) Ridgeway, Marion, Polygonal Barn
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 4 Friends Bar & Grill
2) A & W Family Restaurant
3) A & W Family Restaurant
4) Albano's Villa
5) Arby's
6) Arby's
7) Archie's Inc
8) Archie's Restaurant
9) Aurelio's Pizza
10) Avenue Bar
11) B & J's American Cafe
12) B & J's American Cafe
13) Beacon Hills Banquet Hall
14) Bruceski's
15) Bruno Enterprises Inc
16) Bubba's Jersey Sub's
17) Buck's Workingmans Pub
18) Burger King
19) Burger King
20) Burger King
21) Cafe L'Amour
22) Cafe L'amour
23) Cater Aid
24) Cheers/Banquet Hall
25) Christo's Family Dining
26) Christo's Family Dining
27) Colima
28) Colimo
29) Dairy Queen
30) Dairy Queen
31) Dick's Bar
32) East King Buffet
33) Edson Neon Moon Saloon
34) Fraternal Order Of Police
35) Gina Marie's Pizza
36) Great Wall Restaurant
37) Great Wall Restaurant
38) Heston Bar
39) Heston Hills Banquet Ctr
40) Hilltop Bar
41) Holy Macaroni Cafe Pizzaria
42) Hot Stuff Pizza/Smash Hit Subs
43) I Street Bar
44) Indiana Deli & Catering Co
45) Julie's
46) Kabo Enterprises Inc
47) Kfc
48) KFC
49) King Gyros
50) King Gyros
51) L&L Restaurant
52) La Nortena
53) LA Porte County Fair Assn
54) Last Roundup
55) Lenard's
56) Lenard's
57) Little Caesars Pizza
58) Little Tavern
59) Long John Silver's
60) Long John Silver's
61) Los Coyotes Bar Club
62) Louie's Cafe
63) Louie's Cafe
64) Luigi's Pizza
65) Ma Z's Pizza
66) Make & Take Pizza
67) Mama Teresa's Pizza
68) Manor House Catering
69) Maple City Games
70) Mc Donald's
71) Mc Donald's
72) Mc Donald's
73) Mc Falls Restaurant & Pub
74) Mickey's Inc
75) Mom's Home Cafe
76) Mom's Home Cafe
77) Morelia
78) Morelia
79) Night Caps
80) Ogle's Inn
81) Papa John's Pizza
82) Papa John's Pizza
83) Peak Inn
84) Pine Grove Banquet Hall
85) Pizza Hut
86) Pizza Hut
87) Ponderosa Steak House
88) Ponderosa Steakhouse
89) Portofino Grill
90) PPM Enterprises Inc
91) Quiznos Sub
92) Rally's Hamburgers
93) Red Rose Restaurant & Lounge
94) Reeds's State Street Pub
95) Reeds's State Street Pub
96) Rib Crib Grill & Bar
97) Rib Crib Grill & Bar
98) Ridin' Iron
99) Roc-N-Rog's & Co
100) Rodeo Bar & Grill
101) Roskoe's
102) Round The Clock Restaurant
103) Round The Clock Restaurant
104) Samuel Mancino's Italian
105) Samuel Mancino's Italian
106) San Julian Restaurant
107) Saute
108) Shooters Bar & Grill
109) Shooters Bar & Grill
110) Silver Palace
111) Sloane's Tastee Cream
112) Smutzer's Club Tavern
113) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
114) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
115) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
116) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
117) Taco Bell
118) Taco Bell
119) Tap-It
120) Town Tavern
121) Trattoria Enzo
122) Trattoria Enzo
123) Wah Mei Chinese Restaurant
124) Wah Mei Chinese Restaurant
125) Waterford Inn
126) Watkins Take Home Restaurant
127) Wendy's
128) Wendy's
129) West Mountain Catering
130) Western Inn
131) Western Inn
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great ? Awesome! Awesome!
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Nice brewery with tours on Saturdays. Can get Testers, full glasses, growlers, party pigs and kegs. Great atmosphere freindly people. Local meeting place. They have picnic benches out front bring some food buy some beer and sit in the sun and enjoy their fantastic brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mark Kelly Mark Kelly, Frankfort, il
(05/25/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Back Road is a very appropriate name for this place. It is a small, old warehouse on the other side of the tracks. Definitely off the beaten path but well worth the trip. The brewer is a real self-starter. He is friendly, energetic and passionate about his work. We sampled each of the beers, I enjoyed them all. Great place to road trip.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(03/16/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Awesome! Great
First, the address listed here, is the mailing address and is not where the brewery is. To find the brewery,(from 80/94)take 35 south. Continue through LaPorte. Just before you go over the large bridge (slight curve to your left), take the road that goes straight. A hospital is directly in front of you. When you get to the stop sign, turn right and continue to the back of the building on your left. Parking is in the back of the building. If you get to the next street, you are too far. Now for the beer. Pale ale - very good. Stout - lighter version, but very good American Ale, quite light & refreshing Wit - was a little tart, but was pretty good too. Doing a good job, keep it up!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Conrad, Sears, MI
(07/20/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Chuck is the master. While this is not a brewpub, it is a nice place to go and sample the freshest of beers. The #9 is a must, at ~$50/cs it's a little steep, but it is well worth it. It is not easy to find, located in the back of an old warehouse, and the it is unremarkable both inside and out, but you're not coming here to admire the exterior!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from cliff hunt cliff hunt, Russiatucky, IN
(10/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A Great
Back Road Brewery is the smallest microbreweries I've ever been in, but it's character more than makes up for it's size. This character is reflected in the beer. There is no attached pub so don't go looking for food there. On Saturdays they give tours, and samples, from 1-4 at the brewery location at 309 Perry St (the address above is incorrect). I sampled 4 of their beers currently on tap, all of which were very good. The American Pale Ale, an American version of IPA, was pleasantly hopped with cascades and well worth a try if you don't generally like IPA's. The hefeweizen was quite yummy with just a hint of banana and no clove, reminiscent of Paulaner. My favorite was the Millennium lager, which had good character, and I took home a growler. You can also buy sixes, and kegs from them. I can hardly wait to go back to try the barley wine and doppelbock when they're on tap.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Beerhound Dave Beerhound, South Bend, IN
(08/17/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
I traveled 90m. to find this place with not much to go on but the address and reviews from pub crawler. Boy was i in for a let down. the brewery is no where near the address listed in pub crawler.It took me an hour to find the brewery. They do not have a retail store or a pub of any kind. I could not find a bar in the area that sold their beer.With that said, i will not be going back to La Porte again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Deano Deano, Mishawaka, IN
(07/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A Awesome!
Charles is a visionary. He is to beer what Pete Townshend is to Marshall amps. Back Road "smashes" all other beers with unbelievable flavor, brewing mastery and a brewery tour that is indescribable! I love the N0. 9 Barley Wine! My dad's car doesn't, though! We love the labels, too!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from PETEZ PETEZ, BOSTON, MA
(01/07/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Back Road Beer is: quality and taste. The christmas ales are always something to look foward too. The Stout is awesome, I sent a friend in Lancaster PA. some Belle Gunness Stout, he said it was some of the best he's ever tasted. Keep Up the good work.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C Lofton C Lofton, LaPorte, IN
(10/28/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
If you're the type that likes to sample and talk beer, this is the place to do it. Brewer Chuck is more than hospitable and gives a great tour. Definitely seek out the seasonals- the barleywine and dopplebock are beers that shouldn't be missed.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Rich Jason Rich, Warsaw, IN
(01/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A N/A Awesome!
My family had a chance to visit this intimate brewery while in La Porte. The owner/brewmaster was one of the most hospitable young men that I have met---he was very knowledgeable about his craft and it shows in his beer. My kids (10 and 12) received a great education in microbiology, agriculture and chemistry just listening to the brewmaster. The IPA is made in accordance to the original definition (lots of hops). The pale ale is crisp, drinkable and has a noticeable hop finish. The greatest test we have for a good brewmaster is the ability to brew beers from the lightest wheat beer all the way to an IPA, that are significantly distinct according to the traditional definitions----this brewmaster does a very good job. Unfortunately, their are a lot of "bud light" drinkers out there and too many so called microbreweries that brew to those poor mislead people. Keep up the good work Chuck.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kelley Towsley Kelley Towsley, Corydon, IN
(08/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I live in LaPorte so I have to say it is great to have a brewery where you can go to get FRESH beer right out of the bright tanks! The IPA is great (can you say HOPSMACK?). The seasonal beers are also what I look forward to drinking. Old Number Nine Barley Wine is suberb. I also like the Belgin Whit which should be ready in a few weeks (end of June). Chuck is a very friendly brewer who will take as much time as you want to answer your questions about brewing, his beers, or any other subjects relating to brews. Don't go expecting to see a shiny, efficient assembly line; very "mom and pop" feel with super beers. I have to agree with the other reviewers that it is disappointing that there is not much local support in terms of taverns carrying Backroad on draft. I guess if you don't like Coors Light the taverns don't want you around.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from prankasaur prankasaur, LaPorte, IN
(05/26/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
The brewer was very friendly and accomodating. This was the first chance I had to stop by a small brewery, and I was given a great education on how the little guys operate. Stop by and support a brewer who is genuinely passionate about his craft. He is also one of the nicest people I've ever met. The beer is excellent, especially the lager. It is unfortunate that many people can only try beer from microbreweries after it has been sitting on a liquor store shelf for months.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from C Todd C Todd, Elgin, IL
(02/23/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
A Must Stop for craft beer lovers! Brewmaster Chuck Krcilek is extra hospitable and will treat you right. His beers are true to style and sure to please. Don't forget to sample the lager! Call ahead for directions, Pubcrawler lists the wrong address.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Cornils Pete Cornils, Elkhart, IN
(02/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A N/A N/A
Back Road is a great micro. All the beers are made very well. The brewmaster takes real pride in his craft and it shows if you show up on Saturday for a tour of his establishment. It was disappointing to note that some of the local restaurants do not carry his brand. They do not know what they are missing.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Thomas Koziara Thomas Koziara, Ann Arbor, MI
(01/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
Located in an out-of-the-way old warehouse off the beaten track and having limited distribution, Back Road Brewery flies almost under the radar. The brewery is small and something of a labor of love for owner/brewer Chick Krcilek. He offers several very good beers that are worth trying if you happen to find them. The IPA is quite hoppy and assertive, and a seasonal Belgian wit was refreshing and nicely spiced.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bill Pierce Bill Pierce, Des Moines, IA
(06/28/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Just a little comment on the Christmas Ale FANTASTIC! BackRoad changes this every year and as usual its a winner. Keep up the good work BREW ON

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Arndt Tom Arndt, Michigan City, IN
(11/27/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A N/A N/A
The ale is one of my favorites and the IPA is the hoppiest I've found. Also some of thier small batch seasonal beers are great but in short supply. Thumbs up to Back Road Brew

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Arndt Tom Arndt, Michigan City, IN
(10/02/1999)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.259 seconds) 12:55:42 54.204.142.143, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS