PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Idle Hour - Geneseo, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
July 25, 2014 @ 06:35 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Geneseo > Idle Hour
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: Beer Bar
Idle Hour
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82 / 100
5 Center Street
Geneseo, NY 14454
United States
(716) 243-5931
Listed Since: July 1998
Last Updated: August 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Geneseo, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

No photos available. Photo frame message.
6 Reviews / No photos! Upload one today!
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Big Tree Inn
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Macphail House Bed & Breakfast
2) Some Place Else
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) DAYS INN GENESEO
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Williamsburg Cemetery
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Burger King
2) Destiny's Door
3) In Between
4) Leon's Pizza
5) Mama Mia's Pizza
6) Mc Donald's
7) Miceli's Main Street Deli
8) Pizza Hut
9) Pizza Paul's
10) Ponderosa Steak House
11) Starbucks
12) Statesmen
13) Subway Geneseo
14) Uptown Lounge
15) Wendy's
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I have to agree w/ THE MURPH ( see below..) anyplace that can endear itself to generations of ex reprobates like ourselves can only be credited with catering to their core audience and fostering an inclusive environment. I have drank, ate , drank, played music and God knows what else in these hallowed halls, and I look forward to attending the BIG ANNIVERSARY PARTY on 7/29/06 w/ my old friend Kevin Senft. We will, in fact, be revisiting the recipe for Frankies Hankies ( named in homage to longtime proprietor and keeper of the bartabs, Frank Avery, dec.) the execution of which is as follows;into a shaker glass full of ice, delicately strained through a USED bar rag, 4 parts Black Label beer ( Franks favorite...he didn,t like us drinking it...) to 1 part Midori Liqueor, stirred and served as a shot. Needless to say, this cocktail set a tone for behavior best forgotten, and dalliances vigorously denied. We will submit a new review after we delve once more into this Temple of Indescretion, and I welcome an open discourse in pursuit of filling in the blank spots.....

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Edward Sheridan Edward Sheridan, Rutland, MA
(07/21/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Awesome!
This place is as near and dear to my heart as my own Mother. We LIVED in this place during college, and I can still see Little Susie Collins typing out a paper on her electric typewriter plugged in at the bar!

"Be quiet out back or neighbors will call police!"

Can't wait to see you all again sometime for some Frankies Hankies!!

Murph

PS "Jeff: PHONE!!"

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kaye (Murphy) Boling Kaye (Murphy) Boling, libertyville, IL
(06/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Dive bar? The restrooms I admit could have a few more amenities. Unfortunately the students have a way of destroying these things, however in a small town like Geneseo I am forced to rely on their business. The bathrooms have been recently painted, there is hand sanitizer on the wall and has always been there and I'll even put a new toilet seat on for you Jim. As far as towels and tissue are concened, you can get each from the bar staff if needed. The dispensers for the towels have been replaced countless times over the 40 years we have been in business. I might add that we did infact serve food for over ten years and we have never had 1 health code violation. I appreciate your comments on my beer selection, but feel the rest of your review was a bit harsh. By the way our beer selection has improved even more since October.

Craig Chiara Owner

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Craig Chiara Craig Chiara, Geneseo, NY
(12/06/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Good
College dive bar that just happens to have a kick ass selection of beer. 13 taps with just 3 or 4 clunkers. Was thrilled to find Lost Coast Indica IPA on tap. Pitcher price was $13.00 so you will not find any bargains here. Also appeared to have a nice bottle selection with many Brooklyn bottles available. Very impressive for the area. What I did not like was the condition of the rest rooms. No toilet seat, no soap, no tissue, no hand towel. If this place served food it would be shut down in a hearbeat! Worth a stop for a beer or 2 but avoid the restrooms.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chuck Keenan Chuck Keenan, Groveland, NY
(02/07/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great Great
Established in 1966,the Idle Hour's clientle is an interesting mix of college students and older locals.They have 6 rotating microbrew draughts and a variety of bottled craft beer. A variety of cigars are also available from a custom made humidor. It's the only quality beer bar between Rochester and Corning,NY.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Steve Tuttle, Geneseo, NY
(07/16/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.292 seconds) 06:35:40 23.23.28.23, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS