PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Clock Tower Brew Pub - Ottawa, ON
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 22, 2014 @ 09:00 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > ON > Ottawa > Clock Tower Brew Pub
No logo - please upload one (logo placeholder)
Type: BrewPub
Clock Tower Brew Pub
Overall: Great    Score: 73.7 / 100
575 Bank Street
Ottawa, ON K1S 5L7
Canada
(613) 233-7849
Listed Since: August 1998
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants


Beer Guide for Ontario

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Clock Tower Brew Pub
19 Reviews / 1 Photo
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(12 within 5 miles)
1) Arrow and The Loon
(0 mile)

2) Barley Mow Pub
(0 mile)

3) Mad Cow Pub
(0 mile)

4) Pub Italia
(0 mile)

5) Duke of Somerset Pub
(2 miles)

6) Manx Pub
(2 miles)

7) Elephant and Castle
(2 miles)

8) Black Tomato
(3 miles)

9) Royal Oak
(3 miles)

10) Heart and Crown
(3 miles)

11) Minglewoods All Canadian Sports Bar
(3 miles)

12) Patty Boland's Irish Pub and Carvery
(3 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Inn on Somerset B&B
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) ALBERT AT BAY SUITE HOTEL
2) ARC THE HOTEL
3) ARISTOCRAT SUITE HOTEL
4) B W VICTORIA PARK SUITES
5) BEST WESTERN JACQUES CARTIER
6) BOSTONIAN EXECUTIVE SUITES
7) BW MACIES HOTEL
8) CAPITAL HILL HOTEL AND SUITES
9) CARMICHAEL INN AND SPA
10) CARTIER PLACE SUITE HOTEL
11) CHIMO HOTEL
12) COMFORT INN DOWNTOWN OTTAWA
13) COMFORT INN EAST
14) COMFORT INN OTTAWA WEST
15) COURTYARD OTTAWA
16) DAYS INN DOWNTOWN OTTAWA
17) DELTA OTTAWA HOTEL AND SUITES
18) ECONO LODGE DOWNTOWN OTTAWA
19) EMBASSY HOTEL & SUITES
20) EMBASSY WEST HOTEL
21) FAIRMONT CHATEAU LAURIER
22) LES SUITES HOTEL OTTAWA
23) LORD ELGIN HOTEL
24) MINTO PLACE SUITE HOTEL
25) MONTEREY RESORT OTTAWA AIRPORT
26) NOVOTEL OTTAWA
27) OTTAWA MARRIOTT
28) QUALITY HOTEL OTTAWA DOWNTOWN
29) RADISSON OTTAWA PARLIAMENT
30) RAMADA PLAZA MANOIR DU CASINO
31) RICHMOND PLAZA MOTEL
32) SHERATON OTTAWA HOTEL
33) SOUTHWAY INN OF OTTAWA
34) THE BUSINESS INN
35) THE WESTIN OTTAWA
36) TRAVELODGE HOTEL OTTAWA WEST
37) TRAVELODGE OTTAWA EAST
38) WELCOMINNS
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1 For 1 Pizza
2) 2 For 1 Pizza Pie
3) A & M Confectionary
4) Albert At Bay Suite Hotel
5) Allegro Ristorante
6) Anatolian Pita &b Deli Garden
7) Anthony's On Elgin
8) Aroma Meze Small Plates & Wine
9) Aroma Meze Small Plates and Wine
10) Arosa Suites Hotel
11) Barbarella's
12) Barrymore`s Music Hall
13) Bay Street Bistro
14) Bell Pastry & Delicatessen
15) Blockbuster Video
16) Blockbuster Video
17) Bostonian Executive Suites
18) C A Paradis Inc
19) C'est Japon a Suisha
20) Cafe La Grotta
21) Canal Ritz
22) Carmello's Catering
23) Carmello's Italian Restaurant Limited
24) Cathay Restaurants
25) Ceylonta Restaurant
26) Cheezy Pizza And Pasta
27) Chez Nam
28) Ciccio Caffé
29) Clock Tower Brew Pub The
30) Colonnade Pizza & Restaurant
31) Coriander Thai Cuisine
32) Da Sergio
33) Dunlop D R & Associates Inc
34) E T Cafe
35) Elgan Video
36) Elgin Square Convenience Store
37) Embassy Hotel & Suites
38) European Cuisine
39) Fairmont Chateau Laurier
40) Fox & Feather Pub & Swagman Jack's
41) Friday's Roast Beef House & Piano Parlour
42) Georgie's Pizzeria
43) Glebe Meat Market Ltd
44) Glebe Video International
45) Green Papaya Restaurant
46) Heart & Crown Preston St
47) Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites
48) Ichibei Japanese Cuisine
49) Igo Cyber House
50) Invisible Cinema The
51) Isabella Pizzeria
52) Italian Gift Shop
53) Jane St Pub
54) Japanese Village Maison De Steak Teppan & Fruits De Mer
55) Japanese Village Teppan Steak & Seafood House
56) Johnny Farina Restaurant
57) La Dolce Vita
58) La Favorita Ristorante
59) La Roma Restaurant
60) La Siembra Co-Operative Inc
61) La Strada Restaurant
62) Lago Bar & Grill View
63) Le Bac à Frites
64) Le Café
65) Le Kim Chi
66) Le Spa
67) Light of India Restaurant Inc
68) Lord Elgin Hotel
69) LX & LZ Variety
70) Malone's Lakeside Bar & Grill
71) Mamma Teresa Ristorante
72) Mex's Fresh Cantina
73) Mezzaluna Cafe
74) Mimi`s Express Jose Market
75) Minto Suite Hotel
76) Moni Mahal Buffet
77) Morala Trading
78) Mulligans Florist
79) New Pho Bo Ga La
80) One In Ten
81) Ottawa Curling Club
82) Ottawa St-Anthony Italia Soccer Club Inc
83) Paradis C A Inc
84) Pastry & Bakery La Brioche
85) Persian Cuisine Express
86) Pho Thu Do
87) Pho-Bo-Ga La Restaurant
88) Pizza S & I 3 For 1 Pizza
89) Prinzo Fine Catering
90) Quinn's Ale House
91) Rôtisserie St-Hubert
92) Royal Oak
93) Sala San Marco Banquet Hall
94) Sala Thai Cuisine
95) Sheraton Ottawa Hotel
96) Siam Kitchen
97) Sir John A Pub
98) So 1
99) So Good Restaurant Inc
100) So-Go Asian Take Out
101) Soora Restaurant
102) Sparks St Parlour Bar & Grill
103) St Honaire Bakery & Restaurant
104) St Louis Bar & Grill
105) St-Hubert BBQ
106) Sweet Basil Restaurant
107) Taj-Mahal
108) The Clock Tower
109) Trattoria Caffe Italia
110) Tundra Moving Pictures
111) V J's
112) Video Flash
113) Westin Catering
114) Wilde's
115) Yang Sheng Restaurant
116) Yang Sheng Restaurant Chinois
117) Yangtze
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Good Good
PubCrawler Tee Shirts
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Lousy Good So So
The food is really hit-and-miss. I've had some of the worst restaurant food in my life here. Other food offerings average. Service is friendly, beer's good.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from spyke spyke, ottawa, ON
(08/18/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Lousy Lousy Good
Food was mediocre. Service was slow and inattentive. The only thing that was acceptable at this establishment was the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ottawa, ON
(04/14/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good So So Good
Their brewed stuff was average; better than one of those chain-brewpubs, but not by much. Their selection of other beers was good. Food was pretty tasty, but not cheap. Service was not stellar, but not terrible either.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Annandale, VA
(11/19/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Lousy
Went to the Clocktower to watch the Sens game, as soon as the game ended the manager approached us and rudely told us we were to move to another table or leave so they could accomodate more people, my friend friend asked why and he blew up at her, he started swearing at her insulting her and really making a scene. We had not caused any trouble or been any hassle to any of the staff. He hadn't said a word to us before threatening and insulting her. Good beer HORRIBLE management.

Nov 07'

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from kyle kyle, ottawa, ON
(11/07/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Awesome! Great
I travel to Ottawa at least twice a year and the Clocktower is on my must go list. I've always had a great time and the service is wonderful.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jon Jon, Cantonment, FL
(01/21/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Great Good Good
None of their beers were available the night we went there. It was a Sunday night and apparently they ran out at a festival they had on Friday and Saturday?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Pritchard Ed Pritchard, Knoxville, TN
(10/31/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Lousy So So Good Good
The only beer available was the Bitter

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from BOB BOB, YOUNGSTOWN, OH
(08/20/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
The staff must have been retrained, as they are now quite good. Note to Carly. Give them another try. The beer selection varies because they only brew in small batches. My favourite is the Bytown Brown and any of the cask conditioned. Cheap wings on Tuesdays. The review from Colin is accurate. -Conrad, the Ottawa Beer Guy

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Conrad Laplante Conrad Laplante, Ottawa, ON
(10/19/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Lousy
Great beer, great atmosphere but attrocious and offensive service. I have been to this pub on several occasions and have been mistreated by the serving staff more than once. At this establishment, the customer does not come first. Incompetent management and a rude serving staff makes this pub unworthy of patronage.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Carly Carly, Ottawa, ON
(10/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Upon our arrival in Ottawa, my colleague and I were informed that there were no establishments within city limits which brewed their own beer. The next night on a walk up Bank street from downtown (on our way to Patty's Pub), we were extremely surprised to run into the Clocktower, by chance. I was even more astonished to find real ale offerings. The cask bitter (the big "W") fit me just right. Needless to say, we never made it to Patty's. The waitstaff was very friendly and I liked the overall ambiance of the place. Prices were very reasonable when compared to the other parts of Ottawa we had visited, especially for 20 oz pints of real ale! The menu offered plenty of variety, as we brought our wives the next evening for dinner, and it was excellent as well. I will certainly return on my next visit. The Clocktower needs to advertise itself more!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Atlas Shrugged Atlas Shrugged, Clifton Park, NY
(06/29/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Lousy Good

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review ottawa, ON
(06/04/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Good Good
I also really like the Clocktower and think it is a high quality pub. They have excellent afterwork specials on apps and beer. I must say it is unfortunate that their patio is on the corner of Bank and the 417, as it's a bit noisy and fumey from the traffic. The service is good and friendly, but I have not had a stellar experience as it seems others have (although I have never had a bad one either, which seems rare these days). Overall, a good place to meet up with friends and try new brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beth Beth, Ottawa, ON
(08/05/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Good Great Good
The cast Bitter was tasty but a bit thin. The Red was quite nice and hoppy. But it was the service that really came through.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Draper Dave Draper, Whitby, ON
(07/02/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Awesome! Great
Only three of their own brews were on tap when I visited, but several commercial offerings were available as well. A full bar is also available.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Curt Brewer Curt Brewer, Camarillo, CA
(03/30/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
The Clocktower Brew Pub is an oyster in the ocean of Ottawa area gathering spots.

A number of things set this brew pub apart from its peers.

The staff are composed of a team of people who truly enjoy being a part of the Clocktower culture. That culture is informal, and welcoming, with the requisite degree of professionalism. In an industry where apathy prevails, the Clocktower manages to field a staff who seem to genuinely enjoy the people, the hustle and bustle, the laughs, and the commaraderie that are part of the pub experience.

Whether you are chatting over a game of pool in the downstairs Rec Room, or enjoying a meal in the main level dining room, you will be greeted by staff who will make you feel at home.

The Clocktower offers a fine line of home crafted beers, that rotates with availabilty, as well as with seasonal offerings (lighter wheat beers for summer, sturdier ales in Winter). All are excellent, and your server will provide tasters if you are uncertain about your choice.

The menu includes tradional pub fare, complimented by offerings of daily pizzas, pastas, stirfries, or steak and fish, for those desiring more upscale eating.

The building is an art piece. Rich cabinetry, copper bartops, and stone accents, provide a warm and inviting atmosphere. Brew tanks are visible from both levels of the pub, and add authetic character.

Two levels offer two different Clocktower experiences. The upper level features a bar, a dining area, and weather permitting a patio. The lower level offers a Rec Room atmosphere complete with fireplace, pool tables, dart boards, and collection of board games.

Situated close to downtown, with parking available, the Clocktower is an ideal after-work spot, meal on the weekend spot, or hanging out all evening with friends spot.

The eclectic collection of Ottawa's downtown characters, neighborhood regulars, and tourists, round out the vibrancy that is the Clocktower Brew Pub.

I drop in now and then.

This is NOT a paid announcent!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Colin Colin, Ottawa, ON
(02/22/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Of all the brew pubs I've ever been to, I must say this place has the best eye candy anywhere, even before the booze kicks in! The beer is excellent, the food is great. The brewmaster "really knows his stuff" but seriously folks, it is a worthwhile experience, one I will repeat

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Ottawa, ON
(02/19/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Awesome!
This brewpub/restaurant is an absolute must... of all the brewpubs I've been to, this is second only to the Vermont Pub and Brewery... beers all true to style and reasonably priced... service sometimes good; sometimes giddy, ValleyGirl indifferent...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pete Frazer Pete Frazer, Gananoque, ON
(01/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Great Awesome!
In response to the other post about "jawboning", I have to say that I frequent The Clock Tower and I've never yet experienced anything be top-notch service. The staff is very friendly, very responsive, and very eager to introduce you to John the brewmaster, if you ask.

They have about 10 beers, 4 to 8 of which are on tap at any given time. Their Koelsch-Style is one of the few I've tasted outside of Cologne (where I lived for 2 years) which is very true-to-style. I also enjoy a number of the other beers they serve.

A number of beers are served both filtered and "Cask Conditioned", which is unfiltered and at a slightly higher temperature.

Located at Bank and Highway 417, this is without question an absolute must for anyone visiting Ottawa. I have no affiliation with them, except that I go there a lot because I simply love the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Alan McKay Alan McKay, Ottawa, ON
(01/02/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So Good So So So So
Staff spend too much time on the phone and jawboning.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ottawa, ON
(08/25/1998)





Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.814 seconds) 09:00:10 54.145.209.42, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS