PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Great Adirondack Brewing Company - Lake Placid, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
December 18, 2014 @ 03:13 PM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Lake Placid > Great Adirondack Brewing Company
Great Adirondack Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Great Adirondack Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.6 / 100
34 Main Street
Lake Placid, NY 12946
United States
(518) 523-1629
Listed Since: September 1998
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lake Placid, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Great Adirondack Brewing Company
61 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adirondack Loj
2) Blackberry Inn
3) Interlaken Lodge & Restaurant
4) MT Van Hoevenberg B & B
5) South Meadow Farm & Lodge
6) Spruce Lodge Bed & Breakfast
7) Stagecoach Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN ARROW HTL
2) COMFORT INN LAKE PLACID
3) ECONO LODGE LAKE PLACID
4) HILTON LAKE PLACID RESORT
5) LAKE PLACID CLUB LODGE
6) LAKE PLACID LODGE
7) MIRROR LAKE INN
8) RAMADA INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) US Post Office--Lake Placid
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aki Sushi Japanese Restuara
2) Aniello's
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Brown Dog Deli & Wine Bar
5) Caffe Rustica
6) Centerplate
7) Chair 6
8) Downtown Diner
9) Gaddy's
10) Gourmet Village Rstrnt Dlvry
11) Grill 211
12) Handlebar Hideaway
13) Ismeta Upstairs
14) Jack Frost
15) Jubin Browning Bar
16) KANE Restaurant Group
17) Lisa G's
18) Luna Loca
19) Nicola's Restaurant
20) Players Sports Bar
21) Richard's Freeystyle Cuisine
22) Roomers
23) Saranac Sourdough
24) Tyler's Lunch Box
25) Wiseguys Nightclub
26) Zigzags
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Good Great
Located in the middle of town. This is primarily a restuarant with the bar tucked away in the back corner. The bar area is cozy but not quite the brewpub feel you would expect. There is also a patio with a nice view of Main St.We found seats in the bar area and had a choice of about 7-8 beers on tap. The bartender seems quite knowledgeable about the brews on tap. I started with the Ausable Wulff Red Ale which complimented my meal. I then switched to the John Brown Pale Ale which really hit the spot, and had a couple of these.Depending on the season they are open for Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner with a menu tailored to that time of day. Menu has a good variety. Prices a bit above average but considering your in Lake Placid they are quite reasonable. Worth a visit if passing through the area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bif Bif, St Peters, MO
(11/11/2010)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The law of averages: A brew pub puts out seven beers. One is superb, five are OK, and one you pour on the floor akin to pawning off your Brussels Sprouts to Fido when you were a tyke. Well averages be damned at Great Adirondack - seven beers on tap and all seven deserving of a gold medal.

Consistency and quality are the operative words here. As always I jumped head-first into the Red Ale (Ausable Wulff). My eyes were as wide as saucers right about the time Hutch wandered in from the brew house. I was having a hard time getting the words out but I do recall saying it was the best one I’ve ever had. Finally a red ale that’s not too dry, sweet but not sickening. The six varieties of English specialty malt is probably the key, combined with an absolute perfect balance of East Kent Goldings and Target hops.

I then ordered the sampler so I could better identify and choose my next “victim.” The Haystack Blonde was most intriguing as I cannot put my finger on the nose except to say “clean and crisp.” Now I glance at the beer menu and lo and behold that’s how they describe it – “clean and crisp!” This would be a delight out on the veranda on a hot sunny Adirondack afternoon or at the ballgame. This is also the perfect beer to introduce to the stoic BL, CL, ML crowd to break them gently from that ugly rut and awaken them to the world of fine craft-brewed ales.

The John Brown Pale had just a hint of hops in the nose with a very slight but clean malt kicker. The taste was exceptionally clean and was a delight across the palate. The Adirondack Abbey Ale I wrote down “sweet sweet sweet” describing both the nose and the palate. The Adirondack Gold Cream had a most atypical nose (in a good way) and was smooth as silk. The Cloudsplitter Barleywine was like your favorite candy as a kid. The menu concurs saying, “…with pronounced fruity notes.” The Skyward Stout had a wonderful nose and the flavor I wrote down as, “mild but full.” It had all the superlatives a stout is supposed to have.

I forgot how close Lake Placid is – I hadn’t been in a while. I guess the 75 (er, 65) mile per hour speed limit on the Northway did it. This is a town where you park your car at the hotel and leave it, and walk on up Main Street for some serious quaffing at Great Adirondack. Bar-keep Jim was a gentleman and exquisite host, and it was a special treat for Master Brewer Hutch to come in and have a chat as well. This place is worth a drive from anywhere. If I said this is one of the top two or three brewpubs for beer in the US and beyond, I wouldn’t be lying. Finally, other half ate an appetizer of four shrimp, each the size of a Volkswagon, baked in a breading of light and fluffy cornbread. It was reported to have been excellent. I just stick to the beer. I always have peanuts back at the hotel…

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Timothy J. O'Connor Timothy J. O'Connor, Troy, NY
(03/24/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A N/A
SILVER MEDAL for Adirondack Abbey Ale at the Great American Beer Festival, Sept. 30 in Denver, CO. Congrats to our Brewmaster---Great job Hutch!!!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Kane Fred Kane, Myrtle Beach, SC
(10/27/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
We stopped here for lunch passing thru Lake Placid. I had the Ausable Wulff Red (very tasty and balanced). My traveling companion had the 10-4,Over& Stout( I can't believe that they had a contest to name this beer and this name won)The beer however is very good. Food was good and so was the service. If we are in town again we will definitely stop back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jobob Jobob, Hinesburg, VT
(06/10/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
2006 World Beer Cup Silver Medal for Adirondack Abbey Ale!!! Way to go Hutch!! Another award, another reason to stop in and sample our ales...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Kane Fred Kane, Myrtle Beach, SC
(06/03/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
this was the first time i was there and like the 4th for my friend. i got a sampler and had a great variety of beers. i enjoyed all the beers from the red to the porter. the barleywine was tasty treat also. they make their own root beer but i didnt try it. they have a series of pint glasses and if you buy a beer your glass is 3.50 and you get to choose from a set. i got the bobsled glass.

the place is family owned and opperated. the owner and his wife were hanging out at the bar. the place was very welcoming and the bartender went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our lunch. its a bit pricey but the food is divine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from thomas sup thomas sup, schnecksville, PA
(03/23/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
My one and only visit was made on 9/3/05. Had 2 pints of the Avalanche IPA which I believe was a seasonal. Had a big kick to it which made me think that it was in the double IPA category. Also had a taste of the Ausable Wulff Red which was to my liking. Found the indoor bartender to be a bit of a dick as he had a major 'tude working but it seemed to be directed at the staff rather than any customers. Requested a tour of the brewhouse which was granted. Brewmaster Hutch was very gracious about letting my party of 3 have a look-see. Very nice guy. Well worth a stop for a beer or 2. Did not eat here but had a look at the menu......very expensive.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jim S. Jim S., Wayland, NY
(10/14/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
Cool outdoor seating, raw bar, beers primo, The "Boss" from Asbury Park having dinner at a nearby table.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Louie D Louie D, Red Bank, NJ
(07/11/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
A group of 16 of us went in at 6:00 p.m. on a Saturday night without a reservation. We expected an extended wait to be seated but they were great about setting up a big table for us. Absolutely everyone raved about the food. The beer drinkers were very pleased with their choices. Excellent wait staff as well.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al, Oshawa, ON
(06/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
Consistent quality over time shows a dedication to quality. Great beers, IPA is excellent. that 46 Ounce Prime Rib Deal is a trip to watch! Thanks.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, High Bridge, NJ
(03/05/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Great Great Great Great
My wife and I went for dinner on February 19th and an absolutely wonderful experience. The beers were excellent. I especially liked the Abbey Ale and the Haystack Blonde. The Scotch Ale was excellent also. The smoked porter was coffeeish with little smokiness. I tasted a couple of different versions of Alaskan Smoked Porter this past summer and this example of the style is not up to that caliber. But so what? Everything else was great, especially watching the snow fly during dinner. An absolute MUST stop on your visit to Lake Placid!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan Hodge Dan Hodge, Union, NJ
(02/23/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Great Good Great
Just as good as 3 years ago. Beers real good bartender a little busy-get him some help! Food good too.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ann Noir Ann Noir, West Chester, PA
(12/04/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
My second visit and didn't disappoint. Beers well brewed, food and service great. Thanks for a Nice Turkey Day Holiday!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P. Murray P. Murray, Doylestown, PA
(12/03/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Lousy So So Good So So
Very disapointing. Sat at the bar for 2 hours hoping for a good beer. I tried them all and could only drink the Pale Ale. Even the "celebrity beers" were poor quality. This might be a good place for a "coors light" dringker but not if your looking for a good beer with flavro. Tourist style beers for a tourist town. Food was pricey and limited selection. I left the place dry (without filling my growler) because none of the beers were worth carrying back to my car.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Keith Bailey Keith Bailey, Buffalo, NY
(08/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A Good Good
They had standard American ales, which were good. It's great to be able to travel and find good beer so many places, although nothing was really notable here. I did not try the food, but they seem to be a restaurant first, brewery second. They had opened an outdoor bar in the summer of '04, and that was a nice place to sit and watch the scenery and people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd McComb Todd McComb, Mountain View, CA
(08/21/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Good Great
very good beer and food.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Kevin, Oswego, NY
(08/07/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
A must visit if your near

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Don, Cincinnati, OH
(07/15/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A N/A
Had the Ausable Wulff Red Ale at recent TAP NY. An awesome ale in an American style. American hops can be rough and sharp in contrast to the soft English hops. This ale has the spicy floral and citrus characteristics of American hops, but without the sharpness. Have been to the BP in Lk Placid,look forward to it this summer. Great experience in all respects. A great place to fuel up before and relax after fishing the Ausable River. the Ausable River. (

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JT JT, Middletown, NY
(05/26/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
Checked you out at TAP NY Fest. Loved the Gold Medal Winner Wee Heavy. Other brews good too. Came to brewery in early May, good tour. Restaurant with good food, but not a "brew pub". Congrats. Will be back for pints on patio.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from J.T.  Gillen J.T. Gillen, Flanders, NJ
(05/23/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Good Good Good Good
My first visit in a couple of years; clam chowder & fries very good, and everything I saw while greedily eyeing others' tables looked good. Prompt, friendly service, nice Northwoods atmosphere, but the beer alas is just OK. The Wee Heavy & Smoked Porter were decent, but very by-the-numbers, and everything else was mediocre. Still worth visiting in summer, sitting on the patio & taking in the people.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from muzzlehatch muzzlehatch, Burlington, VT
(04/13/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Good Great
Stopped in at Christmas time. Busy, busy place. Belgian Triple made me feel like I was, well, in Belgium. Other beers (had sampler) very good. Neat Pint Glasses. Food real good and plentiful, service good. Wish we had this place in Richmond.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lt. Col. H. Lt. Col. H., Richmond, VA
(01/08/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
I travel occasionally to Lake Placid for business trips and sometimes farther north. I always make it a point to stop in to Great Adirondack to at least have an Abbey's before the day is out...I must say the Prime Rib is an excellent choice too...

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brian G. Brian G., Ballston Lake, NY
(09/09/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Good Great
Attended The Lake Placid Horse Show on Sunday and made an inaugural visit to the GABC for dinner with my family. The John Brown Pale was superb, no question about it. My highest compliments to the brewer. As far as dinner is concerned, I will not be back. Portions were small, and prices were extreme. It was a day of firsts for me as I paid $9.00 for a children's menu order of macaroni and cheese! Who says NYC isn't close? I will return in the future to partake of more of the excellent beer (at the bar, ofcourse), and will opt to send my wife and children to the Ben and Jerry's down the street for a snack in the interim.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Steak Knife Steak Knife, Clifton Park, NY
(07/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Came up to hike last weekend. Checked out renovations post-fire. Lokks the same. Beer excellant!! Jim the Bar man great, food always the same: great. Neat patio setup on the street.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from I. Minhiding I. Minhiding, Great Meadows, NJ
(06/10/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Opening day arrived Sunday the 26th of May (had to make a baseball analagy...the Red Sox are up a game and a half on the despised Evil Empire!) and the restaurant looks absolutely beautiful. I will take this time to acknowledge a small crew of 9 individuals who labored through 4 months of construction rebuilding the Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood/ Brewing Company. As owner and CEO Joan Kane stated, the 9 men "bonded" over the 4 harsh months of this past winter. We worked through the bitter cold (50 below!), snow, freezing rain and Bobby the Bruce's mouth spewing out his many stories (I'm still trying to figure out how you met Babe Ruth, Joe DiMaggio, Shoeless Joe and many other deceased baseball legends at Yankee Stadium on 9/11/02) . In no particular order here are the names: Rob and Ed Kane, Eric "Hutch" Kugeman, Dave Recchio, Tom Sharlow, Jamie Dupree, Bobby Bruce, Jim Luce and myself (I suppose Joe McKeogh gets an honarable mention). Fellas, it looks like we are back to our original occupations--brewing, cooking, bartending and waiting--but we did something that most never will. We built the kitchen we cook out of, the bar we serve drinks on, and the dining room in which we present the food--individual parts that create a much larger, unspoken whole. I would encourage anyone who has ever enjoyed food and/or beverage at the Great Adirondack Steak and Seafood to come try us once again. I think you will be happy you did!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Davis Robert Davis, Lake Placid, ny
(05/25/2003)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(1.129 seconds) 15:13:24 54.211.230.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS