PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Great Adirondack Brewing Company - Lake Placid, NY
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 31, 2014 @ 02:50 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > NY > Lake Placid > Great Adirondack Brewing Company
Great Adirondack Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery Type: BrewPub
Great Adirondack Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.6 / 100
34 Main Street
Lake Placid, NY 12946
United States
(518) 523-1629
Listed Since: September 1998
Last Updated: April 2002
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Lake Placid, NY
Beer Guide for New York

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Great Adirondack Brewing Company
61 Reviews / 4 Photos
hours of operation
Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat

alternatives
(1 within 5 miles)
1) Lake Placid Pub and Brewery
(0 mile)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Adirondack Loj
2) Blackberry Inn
3) Interlaken Lodge & Restaurant
4) MT Van Hoevenberg B & B
5) South Meadow Farm & Lodge
6) Spruce Lodge Bed & Breakfast
7) Stagecoach Inn
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) BEST WESTERN GOLDEN ARROW HTL
2) COMFORT INN LAKE PLACID
3) ECONO LODGE LAKE PLACID
4) HILTON LAKE PLACID RESORT
5) LAKE PLACID CLUB LODGE
6) LAKE PLACID LODGE
7) MIRROR LAKE INN
8) RAMADA INN
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) US Post Office--Lake Placid
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) Aki Sushi Japanese Restuara
2) Aniello's
3) Ben & Jerry's
4) Brown Dog Deli & Wine Bar
5) Caffe Rustica
6) Centerplate
7) Chair 6
8) Downtown Diner
9) Gaddy's
10) Gourmet Village Rstrnt Dlvry
11) Grill 211
12) Handlebar Hideaway
13) Ismeta Upstairs
14) Jack Frost
15) Jubin Browning Bar
16) KANE Restaurant Group
17) Lisa G's
18) Luna Loca
19) Nicola's Restaurant
20) Players Sports Bar
21) Richard's Freeystyle Cuisine
22) Roomers
23) Saranac Sourdough
24) Tyler's Lunch Box
25) Wiseguys Nightclub
26) Zigzags
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Great Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Some general good news to note. We will be running beer lines from bright tank straight to the taps. This will allow us, the brewers, much more creativity in both styles and rotation.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Robert Davis Robert Davis, Lake Placid, ny
(03/01/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We are closed temporarily for renovations. We should be open by April 1, 2003. If you have any questions please call our offices at 518-523-4654.

Fred Kane, Owner

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Kane Fred Kane, Lake Placid, NY
(02/05/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Up for the BIG Holidays and had to get a Pale Ale. Kids loved the root beer and I also tried the new Scotch ALE. Wow 8+% ABV!!! Waited for a table but food and service was worth waiting. They do breakfast, so you can even have beer and eggs!!! A busy place, no reservations so go early. They showcase their awards a little loudly, but they are deserving.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from R. Tanney R. Tanney, The 'CUSE, NY
(12/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Great Smoked Porter and Pale Ale. Food and service very good for a busy Thanksgiving Weekend. Neat Fireplace outside.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tommy Flynn Tommy Flynn, King of Prussia, PA
(12/06/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Interesting, innovative beers: smoked porter and their new seasonal potato ale. Really good root beer too! Had lunch-nice menu variety, well prepared. Service good for a busy place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from P Murray P Murray, Doylestown, PA
(10/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Awesome! Great
Very high grades for this top of the line brewpub. Staff was super friendly and went out of there way to tell me about their brewpub when I told them about my web site that recommends brewpubs. Be prepared to wait, but it's worth it. Would go back again and again.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bart Fellin Bart Fellin, Flemington, NJ
(08/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Awesome! Great Great
Had dinner here with the family last night. Promised an hour-long wait, it was only 25 minutes, and we were served fast. Beer was great, but the smoked porter was not quite as good as I've had it in the past. John Brown was excellent. The food was tremendous, even my son's kid's menu burger was awesome, and my own seafood casserole...if I could cook scallops that well every time I tried, I'd be one happy SOB. A fantastic stop for food and beer in the North Country.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Langhorne, PA
(08/17/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
This place just keeps getting better and better. A free beer tasting tent?!?! Weekend seafood/calm bakes! Awesome, just frickin' awesome. Oh the BEER. Can't go wrong with any of the selections. The Johnny Brown is a no-brainer! Better than any APA in the country in my opinion. The Abby Ale is simply outstanding. The smoked porter was a well thought out zymergist delight. My only regret is: I don't live closer :(((( Make this a must stop.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sandy Sandy, Cleveland, OH
(06/26/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
My wife and I were in Lake Placid and we had to have dinner here. The service was outstanding, considering how busy it was for a Saturday night. Peter, our server was excellent. The beer is some of the best I've had. I was disappointed they no longer brew the stout, but the smoked porter is an awesome replacement. The seasonal they had was an ESB and it is an excellent representation of the style. The food was tremendous. Can't wait to go again next year

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jason Carpenter Jason Carpenter, Stillwater, NY
(06/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
I would like to say that the beer selection is simply outstanding. The beer is hand crafted by Robert Davis who takes all the care in the world in preparation and brewing. The John Brown Ale is one of my favorites and one that we drive over 100 miles to savor. The Abbey Ale also a favorite of mine has been a great choice on one of those cool misty Adirondack Days. The beer selection is really nice but the hand made glass holders are really cool. The family that owns this establishment takes alot of pride in their food and the beer compliments it. I was really impressed when I found out that this place won the Vasser Cup? in Hunter. If you want good beer, like misty cool weather and a family business atmosphere, try this place. The John Brown Ale is great!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Edward Leroux Edward Leroux, Saratoga Springs, NY
(05/13/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To Mr.Smith (that is your name, right?) I felt the need to respond, not defend (choice of words, Mr. Smith, after all, are crucial in conveying your purpose in writing; I hope that you look at this as a discussion and not an argument, also) to your posting on this web site. Since this is a public forum, I feel that I have the right to counter anything you choose to publish here regarding my beer and personal actions. With that in mind, I will freely respond to certian points you took the liberty in bringing up in your last review. What exactly is your point regarding TAP N.Y? Personally, I would like to clear up this whole "award" issue allowing our readers, and ourselves, the opportunity to move on to other more meaningful things. Are you saying that the John Brown Pale Ale was judged in error and should not have won a medal (after all, there are a "hundred" better beers in the state)? I will take the liberty to read between your unclear lines and deduce that was the point you were trying to make (I am not a "pro" within the school of rhetoric nor logic, so I hope that you will grant me the liberty to do such). If that is true, then you also must believe that the other awards--besides of course--the ones garnished by Wagner and John Harvards (for you feel these worthy),must also be "unworthy" of awards. As far as I know, a panel of judges can not be a 1/3 wrong or a 1/3 right in choosing which beers are better then others during a blind tasting--it's a all or nothing thing. So Mr.Smith, you are either yea or nay for TAP N.Y, which is it? Regarding the issue of me personally self-proclaiming myself to be the brewmaster for the Great Adirondack Brewing Co. What is the title giving to the person who creates all recipes for all the beer and conducts daily, the general operations of a sucsessful brewhouse? Please inform me of a better title for my proffesional job. Was I drinking a John Brown Pale Ale when I wrote my review of the Suds factory? Actually I was drinking a cup of coffee. Why did I wait so long to "bash" (readers, please read my review, I think "bash" is a harsh word...I will agree that it was not positive) the brewery. I just happened to see that someone posted a review from the pubcrawlers homepage, clicked on the link and read the responses. In a spur of the moment whim I wrote my review from a hotel lobby sitting over a cup of coffe, Mr. Smith (that is your name, right?) Accusing me of "just sitting around one day,drinking a John Brown Pale ale, looking at your TAP N.Y awards, thinking of breweries or brewpubs to bash" allthough comical, is completly untrue. Gross exaggeration has its time and place, but not when you are trying to explain to people the parameters of "rudeness" and "distaste". Please, adhere to your "iota of class" policy. I must go to work now, Mr.Smith--"Squeking" out beer out of my kettle unfortunately has limited my time with you. Sincerely, with an email address, Rob

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Davis Rob Davis, Lake Placid, NY
(05/10/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Comments posted by a "critic" who doesn't leave an email address are worthless. Seems to me you have an axe to grind, perhaps you haven't won any awards? Why don't you have the guts to post your name and email address like Rob Davis did? Post your email address and I'll buy you dinner and your favorite John Brown Pale Ale!! We'll even let you see the Matthew Vassar Cup. Be a man and stand up, have the guts to reveal your self--or are you pretending to be just a "critic" and not a jealous/self serving competitor? Call me any time...Fred Kane, Owner, Gt. Adk. Brewing Co.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Fred Kane Fred Kane, Lake Placid, NY
(05/09/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Well, Mr. Davis it seems you felt as if you had to defend yourself. Not only to me, but to the Suds Factory as well. I read you "apology" you posted to them and I must tell you it poses some questions.....If you have not sampled their beer in over six months, why did you feel compelled to write a reveiw in the first place? Were you just sitting around one day, drinking a John Brown Pale Ale, looking at your Tap NY award, thinking of breweries or brewpubs to bash? At first I thought your reveiw of Suds was tastless, but now after you admit to not having their beer in more then six months it is downright rude and uncalled for. With all that beer to brew you MUST have something better to do with your time, Mr. Davis. You seem to have compleatly missed my point, which doesn't suprise me. Even though you consider yourself a "pubcrawler", you are still a pro in the industry, a self proclaimed "brewmaster". Lets leave the judging of other brewers to the consumer, not the pros. Some people live by making beer, and when you attack their livleyhood, it becomes personal. I would also like to clear up my comment about your TapNY awards being meaningless. In no way was I lessening the quality of the breweries you mentioned, or any other good brewery in NY state. In fact, by you mentioning those breweries, you in a way prove my point. Most of those breweries brew a much better brew than what you manage to squeak out of your brew kettle Mr. Davis. That is what makes the awards meaningless. Not to take away from Wagner Valley, both beers they won with are superb. Worthy of their medals. John Harvards as well. But John Brown Pale Ale???? There are hundreds on NY beers better than that!!! Cheers!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boston, MA
(05/08/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
To Mr.Smith (for you did not leave an email address). I am sorry that you think it "distastefull" of me to give my honest opinion about the beers that I have tasted over the years at the Syracuse Suds Factory, but I still hold the opinion and think that it should be known to anyone who might be interested in going there. From what I can conclude, these postings should exist in hope that brewpubs will be forced to do a better job at producing their namesake, their heart and soul--beer! If I find a brewpub that I feel does not do a par job--and my judgement really is made from my two feet, not a "high horse"--then I believe that the people who are in control of the business should consider making changes. The reason for this specific response stems not from an isolated account but from 4 years of consistent sampling. I do understand that being in the business might not give me the right to publicly announce my opinion, but I do consider myself to be a pubcrawler and enjoy beer greatly. It is one thing to write completly false things about a place, but honesty should be this industries main objective, and this websites general mode of operation. I'm also sorry that you are discrediting most of New York States breweries with your comment about "meaningless awards". Considering the quality of Broklyn, Big House, Wagner, Ommegang, Gilded Otter, C.J Evans Pump House, John Harvards, and many others, I feel proud and lucky to have been awarded the medals that I have garnished. Again, Mr. Smith, I am sorry that I have offended you adn the Syracuse Suds Factory. It was truely nothing personal. Rob

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob rob, Lake Placid, NY
(05/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
This is a comment for "brewmaster" Rob Davis. I read your reveiw on Syracuse Suds Factory and thought is was very distatsteful. Did you really need to put in your two cents even after all the bad reveiews that are already on there? Brewers should not bad mouth other brewers, no matter how truthful you may be. This is tacky and makes you look like a mean spirited person. Just because you happen to have won a few meaningless awards at Tap NY doesn't mean your oppinion is the be all and end all in the brewing world. I happen to have tried most of your beers, and allthough they are clean, they are nothing to write home about, pretty bland actually. So get off your high horse, and see if you can find an iota of class somewhere within you.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Boston, MA
(05/03/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
Just wanted to congratulate Rob and his staff for winning the Matthew Vassar Cup over the weekend at the TAP New York Fest in Hunter Mountain (great fest, BTW, worth a trip next year). The Vassar Cup is for the best brewery in the Hudson Valley as judged at the Fest. I also just happened to overhear that Rob & co. just missed winning both the Vassar Cup AND the F.X. Matt Cup for best brewer in New York State by only one point in the judging. Awesome, guys! (Kudos also go to the John Harvard's on Long Island, which DID win the Matt Cup: who said chain brewpubs were boring? Way to go!)

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(04/29/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good Great Great Great
Rob Davis Makes Good Beer. Trademark it, guys. I tried them last Friday, and the least of them was pretty good, the best were outstanding. Rob and Kyle brew up the beers in a garage out back of the restaurant. The whole gist of the grist, as it were, is revealed in the first taste of Rob's lightest beer, the Haystack Blonde: it is brewed with a big helping of rye and Saaz hops, and it is one of the tastiest blonde/golden ales I've had in a while, light yet spicy, a really crisp and interesting beer. The John Brown PA is clean and bitter, yet shows a half-ton of hop flavor and aroma. The Smoked Porter (Rob smokes the malts himself, this batch over pecan, wild cherry and maple woods) had a fantastic smoky smell, coupled with a mild but firm smoky flavor in what would be a really good porter even without the smoke. Food, even though all I had was a roast beef club, was great: it was the VERY BEST roast beef sandwich I've ever had, and the steak strips on my wife's bistro salad...well, many restaurants skimp on the steak for salad. Not here, this was prime stuff. Service was right on top of things but not overly intrusive. A great place, right on the main drag in Lake Placid, and (with Lake Placid Pub & Brewery) really one of only two places worth going to in town just for the beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Lew Bryson Lew Bryson, Newtown, PA
(03/11/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Great Awesome!
Was up for dinner again last week. Not a bad beer in the place. Actually all of their Beers are Top Notch. In my opinion this is some of the best beer in the United States. The APA is loaded with hops (nice balance of Cascades and Perle), and has a really nice mouth. The Beligum has Chimay written all over it. The Smoked Porter is one of the most interesting Beers I've ever had the pleasure of tasting! This place is a MUST stop on any trip to the Adirondacks. Super Job guys!!!! Whatever your doing.... don't change a thing. Can't wait to get back.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Randall Randall, Albany, NY
(03/07/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Awesome!
Stopped by to see what Rob Davis is up to at Great Adirondack Brewing.I was pleasantly surprised to have lucked into TWO seasonal's.The first i tried was a big & chewy scotch ale that weighted in at about 8%abv.Good stuff!The next was a wonderful smoked porter--very smooth with a nice chocolatey flavor.Rob really hit it with this one!Can't wait to get back to the north country next year!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from joe meloney joe meloney, honeybrook, PA
(02/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
The food, beverage, and service are great. We have been there many times and found that this is our favorite place to dine in Lake Placid. The food is consistently excellent, along with the service and staff. I would recommend it to everyone.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Gina Rotzler Gina Rotzler, Hancock, NY
(02/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good Great Great Good
Beer: I had the Whiteface Black Diamond Stout and Adirondack Abbey Ale, both decent interpretations of the styles, but nothing really special. Food on the other hand was excellent; I had a sort of wrap with shrimp, bacon and veggies that was outstanding, and my companions' food was good as well. Though I wasn't super-impressed with the beer, the food, service and ambience make a return visit likely.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Barry Goetsch Barry Goetsch, Burlington, VT
(12/17/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
These beers are awesome, Pale Ale excellant and the new Scotch Ale kicks butt! Food and the servers are excellant and the guy at the door was calm and funny despite the storm of customers. Ask for Fred, he's one of the owners. Brewmaster Rob is one great dude who gives good tour!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from T. Jefferson T. Jefferson, Brooklyn, NY
(11/16/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Great Great
Very nice beer selection, very good qaulity brews, true to style. Smoked porter excellant. When we went we had dinner & lunch on the patio. Service was very nice, competent and knew menu and beers quite well. Family run, well organized and clean. NOt a brew pub, but a restaurant w/brewery. Had lunch and dinner over 2 days, inventive lunch menu and good specials and varied dinner menu.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ann Noir Ann Noir, West Chester, PA
(09/24/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
First enjoyed the food and brews on our first trip to Lake Placid and this year we looked forward to dining here on our return trip. The stout is just outstanding. The food, service, and atmosphere were a wonderful experience. The best is yet to come when we retire in Lake Placid and we won't have to travel as far. See you next August!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Jack & Lyn Stearns Jack & Lyn Stearns, Lexington, MA
(09/07/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
A consistent winner for the past 5 years. Great value on wonderful food and specials ( pray that the High Bridge Hot Hog is being offered that night )! Some of the best beer in the Northeast is being made in the brewery out back. I especialy love the service and humor of the owner Fred. He makes what can be a long wait on weekend nights enjoyable ( and what great establishment doesn't have a wait!) Do yourself a favor and put this one on the top of your must dining experiences when visiting the Lake Placid region.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from rob walther rob walther, High Bridge, NJ
(08/08/2001)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.764 seconds) 02:50:36 54.167.185.110, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS