PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Founders Brewing Company - Grand Rapids, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
August 31, 2014 @ 01:17 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Rapids > Founders Brewing Company
Founders Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Founders Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.2 / 100
648 Monroe Avenue NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
United States
(616) 776-1195
Listed Since: September 1998
Last Updated: June 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Rapids, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Founders Brewing Company
56 Reviews / 7 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 03:00PM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

Recent News
Tasting Notes: Founders Cerise

Beer and music come to Grand Rapids


alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Bob's House of Brews aka B.O.B.'s House of Brews
(0 mile)

2) Taps Sports Bar
(0 mile)

3) Logan's Alley
(0 mile)

4) HopCat
(0 mile)

5) Brewery Vivant
(3 miles)

6) O'Toole's Public House
(3 miles)

7) Hideout Brewing Company
(4 miles)

8) Graydon's Crossing
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Grand Rapids
2) Fountain Hill Bed & Breakfast
3) Madison Street Inn
4) Peaches Bed & Breakfast Ltd
5) Tobermory Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERIHOST INN GRAND RAPIDS N.
2) AMWAY GRAND PLAZA
3) BAYMONT INN & SUITES NORTH
4) COURTYARD GRAND RPDS DTWN
5) DAYS INN GRAND RAPIDS DOWNTOWN
6) GRAND INN & CONFERENCE CENTER
7) GRAND RAPIDS GRR
8) HOWARD JOHNSON PLAZA
9) RADISSON HOTEL GRAND RAPIDS N.
10) RADISSON HTL GRAND RAPIDS EAST
11) RAMADA LTD GRAND RAPIDS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aldrich Building
2) Aldrich, Godfrey, and White Block
3) Berkey and Gay Furniture Company Factory
4) Blodgett, John W., Estate
5) Business Route M-21--Plaster Creek Bridge
6) Division Avenue--Plaster Creek Bridge
7) Fine Arts Building
8) First (Park) Congregational Church
9) Ford, President Gerald R., Jr., Boyhood Home
10) Goodspeed Brothers Building
11) Grand Rapids Savings Bank Building
12) Ladies' Literary Club
13) Ledyard Block Historic District
14) Loraine Building
15) Medical Arts Building
16) Michigan Trust Company Building
17) Monroe Avenue Water Filtration Plant
18) Paddock, Augustus, House
19) Peck Block
20) Pike, Abram W., House
21) Sixth Street Bridge
22) St. Cecilia Society Building
23) Third Reformed Church
24) Turner House
25) U.S. Post Office
26) Villa Maria
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1913 Room
2) 48 West
3) Acapulco Restaurant
4) Adobe Mexican Restaurant
5) Alex Rock Organic
6) Alma Latina Restaurant & Bar
7) Apartment Lounge
8) Arby's
9) B P & T Fish Fry
10) B P & T's Fish Fry Take-Out
11) B P & T's Southern Fish Fry
12) Back Yard Grill Masters Catrer
13) Bagel Beanery
14) Bar Divani
15) Beijing Kitchen
16) Bentham's Riverfront Rstrnt
17) Bill's Family Restaurant
18) Birch Lodge
19) Bistro Bella Vita
20) Bite
21) Bite Bar & Restaurant
22) Black Rose Irish Pub
23) Blakes Turkey Sandwich Shoppe
24) Blimpie Subs & Salads
25) Bluff Banquet & Conference Ctr
26) Bob's Big Boy
27) Bob's House Of Brews
28) Bob's Sports Bar
29) Bobarino's At The Bob
30) Bombay Cuisine
31) Bono's Italian Restaurant
32) Boston House Family Restaurant
33) Brandywine Restaurant
34) Brann's Steakhouse
35) Brick House
36) Brittany Cafee
37) Bull's Head Tavern
38) Burger King
39) Burger King
40) Burger King
41) Burger King
42) Burger King
43) Buth-Joppe's Ice Cream Co
44) C C Cafe
45) Cafe Solace
46) Caffee Leonardo
47) Cambridge House Inc
48) Campau Concessions
49) Canal Street Grill
50) Captain Lou's
51) Casey's Restaurant
52) Catering Co
53) Charley's Crab
54) Checkers Drive In Restaurant
55) Cherie Inn
56) Chicken Coop Inc
57) China Town Chinese Restaurant
58) Choo Choo Grill
59) Chop House Of Grand Rapids
60) Church's Chicken
61) Club North
62) Common Ground Coffee Shop
63) Cone Shop
64) Conference Centers WMU
65) Cornucopia
66) Cottage Bar
67) Courtyard By Marriott
68) Cousins Tasty Chicken
69) Cygnus
70) Dairy Queen
71) Discussions
72) Diversions Video Bar & Grill
73) Dog Pit
74) Domino's Pizza
75) Donotas Pizza
76) Drink Lounge
77) Dukes Bar
78) Eastown Deli
79) Eastown Deli
80) El Azteca
81) El Azteca Restaurant
82) El Burrito Gigante
83) El Rey
84) El Sombrero Restaurant & Shop
85) Elbow Room Bar & Grill
86) Esoteric Edibles
87) Faro's Italian Pizza
88) Flanagan's Irish Pub
89) Food Quest Group
90) Four Friends Coffee House
91) Front Street Cafe
92) G P Sports
93) Gaia Cafe
94) Gibson's Restaurant
95) Gill's Fish House
96) Gilmore Collection
97) Gino's Pizza
98) Grand River Saloon
99) Grand River Tea & Spice
100) Grandy Coney
101) Harri's Brooklyn Pizza Co
102) Hava Java Deli
103) Heritage Restaurant
104) Hong Kong Inn Restaurant
105) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
106) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
107) Innkeepers Management Co
108) Intersection Booking & Prmtn
109) Intersection Lounge
110) Isaac's Restaurant
111) J Gardella's Tavern
112) J J Town Fried Chicken
113) James Sandwiches
114) Judson's Steakhouse
115) Julian's Bar & Restaurant
116) Kava House
117) Kfc
118) KFC
119) Kim Kim Restaurant
120) Kurly's Korner
121) Lannings' Restaurant
122) Lea's Family Barbaque
123) Lenox Room
124) Leo's
125) Liquid Cargo
126) Little Mexico Restaurant
127) Logan's Alley LLC
128) Louis Benton Steak House
129) M V Beverage Catering
130) Maggie's Kitchen
131) Marado Sushi
132) Margarita Grill
133) Mc Donald's
134) Mc Donald's
135) Mc Donald's
136) Mister Pizza
137) Mister Pizza
138) Mojo's Dueling Pianos Bar
139) Moka's
140) Monroe Cafe
141) Morningstar 75 Coffehouse
142) New Beginnings Corporate Ofc
143) New Beginnings Restaurant
144) New Beginnings Restaurant
145) New China Carry Out
146) New Roosevelt Bar
147) Nineteen-Thirteen Room
148) Off The Hook Fish Fry
149) Olive Express
150) One Trick Pony
151) Opus 1894
152) Ottawa Cafe
153) Palermo's Incredible Edible
154) Pat's Bar & Grill
155) Peppino's Pizza
156) Pita House
157) Pizza Hut
158) Platinum Funding Group
159) Prasad Cafe
160) Quiznos Sub
161) Raggs To Riches
162) Red Geranium Cafe
163) Red Lion Family Restaurant
164) Red Lion Family Restaurant
165) Red Lion Ltd
166) Rembrandt's At Bridgewater
167) Rhythm Kitchen Cafe
168) Rico's Cafe Americain
169) Rinaldi Pizza & Sub Shop
170) River Front Restaurant'e
171) Roly Poly Sandwiches
172) Root Beer Stand
173) Rumors Night Club
174) Russo's Pizza & Sub Shoppe
175) S-Curve Deli
176) San Chez A Tapas Bistro
177) Sandmann's
178) Schnitz Delicatessen
179) Schnitzelbank Restaurant
180) Season's
181) Seven Seas Fishfry
182) Sierra Room
183) Simple Suppers
184) Skelletones
185) Ski's Sub Shop
186) Smoke-N Sweet Shop
187) So So's
188) Stockbridge
189) Stooges
190) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
191) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
192) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
193) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
194) Sully's Restaurant & Lounge
195) Sundance Grill
196) Superior Catering
197) Sweet Wallace's Bbq
198) Szechuan Garden
199) Taco Bell
200) Taco Bell
201) Taco Bell
202) Tamale Man
203) Tap's Sports Bar
204) Tcby
205) Teazer's Bar & Grill
206) Tequila Night Club Inc
207) Tgi Friday's
208) Three Crowns Bistro
209) Tillman's Dining & Cocktails
210) Tim Brasseur Restaurant
211) Tini Bikini's Bar & Grill
212) Tre Cugini
213) Tre Cugini
214) Two Choppers Inc
215) Uno Of Southwest Michigan
216) Urban Mill Cafe
217) Vitale's Pizza
218) Vitale's Sports Bar & Grill
219) Vitale's Sports Bar & Grill
220) Water Works
221) Wendy's
222) West Coast Coffee
223) Wing On Lau Restaurant
224) Wolfgang's Restaurant
225) Xebron Corp
226) Yen Ching
227) Z's Restaurant & Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
One of the top breweries around. Great beers, huge beers! Had the Devil Dancer from 2003 and 2004. Huge! Also enjoyed the Centennial IPA, and Double Dirty Bastard which was like a barleywine style Ale. This is a must on any southern Michigan brew pub crawl. They don't mess around with wimpy brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(12/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Very, very good brewery, on the verge of excellent. They had many choices at the brewery not available to me in bottles at my local specialty beer store. Devil dancer, a triple IPA (200 IBU), available from this years batch along with the '03 version. The'03 & '04 were definitely different from each other, but both excellent, and very drinkable considering the bitterness level. They also offered brewery only beer , a variation of their Dirty Bastard, called Double Ditry, HUGE! Their Centennial IPA is very good, just slightly rated beneath the elite IPAs such as Stone or Dogfish Head 60 min.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Founder's is definitely among my top ten favorite brewpubs in the country. I grew up in GR and if I still lived there I would make this place my second home. The beers are awsome with the best selection of big (high ABV) beers I've seen anywhere. I't would be nice if they served food in the evening though. Can't wait until their distribution reaches the NE Ohio area. I've seen it on tap at a couple of places but no bottles in stores as of yet. Keep up the great work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Huber Matt Huber, Suffield, OH
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Great Place. Favorite place to hang out and drink a cold one! Constantly changing menu and many beers that they only serve @ their tap room are just incredible. Wish they would bottle them!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Teis Rob Teis, Grand Rapids, MI
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Wow! The first time visiting a place, I try to keep my expectations low. So, I was completely blown away by the selection and the quality of their brews. When I began sampling, I told the server to let me try 3 or 4 of their lighter beers. One of those was the red rye, which might have been the best of all 12! The Devil Dancer was incredible and the Breakfast Stout was very flavorful. If I lived here, this would be my regular haunt. This is a top-10 establishment for me; it kind of gives me a reason to plan another trip to Michigan!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Founder's has incredible beers and very good entertainment. My favorite beer is the Double IPA. What a treat, a true sippin' beer and only for serious hopheads. I also enjoy the Centennial IPA (if the double is not available). Fouders also brings in some very talented bands to play so check them out if you have time. The only thing I would add would be food service and a lighting rig for the bands.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Kuitula Don Kuitula, Grand Rapids, MI
(03/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I travel all over the country and this is by far my favorite brewpub (tap room)! The atmosphere is fantastic, the beer is second to none (Breakfast Stout is the best I've ever had). This place is a must if you love good beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad The Brewery Guy Chad The Brewery Guy, Houston, TX
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Good
They have a some really great beers! My favorites are the IPA and the Black & Tan made with the Oatmeat Stout & the Imperial IPA!! Would really like to spend time here more often but the smoke is overwhelming the majority of the time for us non smokers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(01/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Things change and sometimes for the best as it has here. Its a good thing I use the 3 strike rule or I would have never seen the changes. Great staff, representation of beer was right on selection outstanding (Vanilla Stout, Oatmeal and Coffee) along with around 10 other beers on my last visit. Boy its a good thing I dont live any closer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Tomlinson James Tomlinson, portage, MI
(12/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
good beer relaxed atmosphere... keep pumping out the stout!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(11/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
A favorite hangout of mine when I did my undergrad in Grand Rapids.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johnathan Borsodi Johnathan Borsodi, Nashville, TN
(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is a great place to go and hang out with some friends, or to meet new ones that are interested in good quality micro beers. The staff is very friendly, kind of like being at Cheers where everybody knows your name. The prices are excellent for the Grand Rapids area. There is a excellent selection of deli sandwiches during the lunch hours Monday-Friday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Winter Ed Winter, Lakeview, MI
(09/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
at least 14 beers on tap- food: just a lunch menu with soup & sandwiches. service: one waitress for the whole place working the bar too, but she did a good job. warning- I got locked in the men's room, hopefully they get the door fixed. Anyways just knock real loud and someone will let you out

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Huge selection of good beers .You never know what you'll find on tap .Last week they put on a Pepper beer (interesting flavor but only for one beer). At lunch they have Huge deli sandwiches and soup .Also many high alchohol selections.A fun place with peanut shells on the floor and a good cross section of people . I look forward to every visit !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jerry Bromley, Ludington, MI
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great
Very cool place to sit and drink some fine beers. Luckily, no smoke when I was there. They are now open at 11am on Saturdays. It is clear that these folks really care about the beer. All styles tried were really good, but they were temporarily out of some favorites. Again, great place, but everytime I've been there it's been a challenge to get served - they have been understaffed at critical times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We walked in and got overwhelmed with smoke and had to leave before we got a chance to try any of the beers. They need a non-smoking area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ferndale, MI
(12/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Great place, cool building, very friendly staff, and the beers are good. They had 3 IPA's on when we were here, in imperial, a chilli pepper spiced, and their usual. Another favorite amongst our group was a Hazelnut Ale which if I remember correctly was on Nitro, good times had by all

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Adkins Kevin Adkins, Redford, MI
(12/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
One of the finest places in the free world to drink a great beer. Thanks Kara!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Grand Rapids, MI
(12/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Great beer... wish they sold it at The Carousel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(08/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Awesome!
Good music, watch for specials like St. Patties day, Halloween, etc. Excellent Stout when available and IPA. You may be dissappointed if you buy their beer bottled in a gas station. Beer and peanuts, can't beat that combo!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Gee Brad Gee, Caledonia, MI
(03/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
My brothers and I were the St.Pats band in this pub last spring and brought a huge contigent along - evryone had a great time and drank the hell out of their pale, which is exceptional. Their other beers are decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Henne Sean Henne, Waterford, MI
(02/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
I've stopped in a few times over the years. Beers are Great now. Used to be weak. Great service, Great tunes. Beers are HUGE w/ flavor and HOPS. IPA best in MI, Same w/ Stout

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lowell, MI
(02/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
They are working towards Michigans 2nd largest Micro. Their beer is on tap all over. Their Porter has won some awards. Good beer. Nice place to drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Holland, MI
(03/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
They have a long way to go with Bell's in Kalamazoo to compare with. Few choices, no suprises, just the usual selections of craft brews, 1 porter(seasonal?),1 stout(very seasonal), 1 I.P.A., 1 lager, ect... All brews are forced carbonated, a little tooo bright for me. A nice brewpub with lots of potential, although overall I felt like it was more of a entrepenerial business oppotunity than a love of the brew that is paramount here. They also brew a line of craft sodas as well

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/15/2000)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.224 seconds) 01:17:51 204.236.254.124, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS