PubCrawler.com logo
PubCrawler is a leading travel focused search engine. We feature breweries, brewpubs and beer bars as well as most restaurants. Numerous lodging options - hotels and bed and breakfasts are available for booking reservations. We also list nearby attractions such as historic landmarks.


Founders Brewing Company - Grand Rapids, MI
Reviews - PubCrawler.com


 
October 22, 2014 @ 08:10 AM EDT
Member Login | Join | Contact Us
Blog | News | Events rss | Links | Videos | Store 
PubCrawler.com Android App PubCrawler.com now AVAILABLE on your Android!
In the Android Market or at SlideME.
** News ** September 21, 2010 - Now AVAILABLE, PubCrawler.com Android App. See and buy the app >here or here.
NAVIGATION: Home > Beer Place Search > MI > Grand Rapids > Founders Brewing Company
Founders Brewing Company Logo
Upload Another Logo!
Type: Brewery
Founders Brewing Company
Overall: Awesome!    Score: 82.2 / 100
648 Monroe Avenue NW
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
United States
(616) 776-1195
Listed Since: September 1998
Last Updated: June 2006
X
Upload Another Menu


also see:
nearby alternative beer places

nearby bed & breakfasts
nearby hotels (w/reservations online)
nearby historic landmarks
nearby restaurants

Beer Guide for Grand Rapids, MI
Beer Guide for Michigan

User Actions
Add Review Add Review
Add Review Get Directions
Mail to a Friend Mail a Friend
Join Our Mailing List Join our List
Upload Photo Upload Photo
Update this Place Update this Place
Add Event Add an Event
Do you own or manage this establishment?

Random User Photo
Photograph of Founders Brewing Company
56 Reviews / 7 Photos
hours of operation
Sun 03:00PM - 02:00AM
Mon 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Tue 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Wed 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Thu 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Fri 11:00AM - 02:00AM
Sat 11:00AM - 02:00AM

Recent News
Tasting Notes: Founders Cerise

Beer and music come to Grand Rapids


alternatives
(8 within 5 miles)
1) Bob's House of Brews aka B.O.B.'s House of Brews
(0 mile)

2) Taps Sports Bar
(0 mile)

3) Logan's Alley
(0 mile)

4) HopCat
(0 mile)

5) Brewery Vivant
(3 miles)

6) O'Toole's Public House
(3 miles)

7) Hideout Brewing Company
(4 miles)

8) Graydon's Crossing
(5 miles)

bed & breakfasts
within 5 miles
1) Bed & Breakfast-Grand Rapids
2) Fountain Hill Bed & Breakfast
3) Madison Street Inn
4) Peaches Bed & Breakfast Ltd
5) Tobermory Bed & Breakfast
nearby hotels
w/ online reservations
1) AMERIHOST INN GRAND RAPIDS N.
2) AMWAY GRAND PLAZA
3) BAYMONT INN & SUITES NORTH
4) COURTYARD GRAND RPDS DTWN
5) DAYS INN GRAND RAPIDS DOWNTOWN
6) GRAND INN & CONFERENCE CENTER
7) GRAND RAPIDS GRR
8) HOWARD JOHNSON PLAZA
9) RADISSON HOTEL GRAND RAPIDS N.
10) RADISSON HTL GRAND RAPIDS EAST
11) RAMADA LTD GRAND RAPIDS
(historic places)
within 5 miles
1) Aldrich Building
2) Aldrich, Godfrey, and White Block
3) Berkey and Gay Furniture Company Factory
4) Blodgett, John W., Estate
5) Business Route M-21--Plaster Creek Bridge
6) Division Avenue--Plaster Creek Bridge
7) Fine Arts Building
8) First (Park) Congregational Church
9) Ford, President Gerald R., Jr., Boyhood Home
10) Goodspeed Brothers Building
11) Grand Rapids Savings Bank Building
12) Ladies' Literary Club
13) Ledyard Block Historic District
14) Loraine Building
15) Medical Arts Building
16) Michigan Trust Company Building
17) Monroe Avenue Water Filtration Plant
18) Paddock, Augustus, House
19) Peck Block
20) Pike, Abram W., House
21) Sixth Street Bridge
22) St. Cecilia Society Building
23) Third Reformed Church
24) Turner House
25) U.S. Post Office
26) Villa Maria
nearby
restaurants

(within 2 miles)
1) 1913 Room
2) 48 West
3) Acapulco Restaurant
4) Adobe Mexican Restaurant
5) Alex Rock Organic
6) Alma Latina Restaurant & Bar
7) Apartment Lounge
8) Arby's
9) B P & T Fish Fry
10) B P & T's Fish Fry Take-Out
11) B P & T's Southern Fish Fry
12) Back Yard Grill Masters Catrer
13) Bagel Beanery
14) Bar Divani
15) Beijing Kitchen
16) Bentham's Riverfront Rstrnt
17) Bill's Family Restaurant
18) Birch Lodge
19) Bistro Bella Vita
20) Bite
21) Bite Bar & Restaurant
22) Black Rose Irish Pub
23) Blakes Turkey Sandwich Shoppe
24) Blimpie Subs & Salads
25) Bluff Banquet & Conference Ctr
26) Bob's Big Boy
27) Bob's House Of Brews
28) Bob's Sports Bar
29) Bobarino's At The Bob
30) Bombay Cuisine
31) Bono's Italian Restaurant
32) Boston House Family Restaurant
33) Brandywine Restaurant
34) Brann's Steakhouse
35) Brick House
36) Brittany Cafee
37) Bull's Head Tavern
38) Burger King
39) Burger King
40) Burger King
41) Burger King
42) Burger King
43) Buth-Joppe's Ice Cream Co
44) C C Cafe
45) Cafe Solace
46) Caffee Leonardo
47) Cambridge House Inc
48) Campau Concessions
49) Canal Street Grill
50) Captain Lou's
51) Casey's Restaurant
52) Catering Co
53) Charley's Crab
54) Checkers Drive In Restaurant
55) Cherie Inn
56) Chicken Coop Inc
57) China Town Chinese Restaurant
58) Choo Choo Grill
59) Chop House Of Grand Rapids
60) Church's Chicken
61) Club North
62) Common Ground Coffee Shop
63) Cone Shop
64) Conference Centers WMU
65) Cornucopia
66) Cottage Bar
67) Courtyard By Marriott
68) Cousins Tasty Chicken
69) Cygnus
70) Dairy Queen
71) Discussions
72) Diversions Video Bar & Grill
73) Dog Pit
74) Domino's Pizza
75) Donotas Pizza
76) Drink Lounge
77) Dukes Bar
78) Eastown Deli
79) Eastown Deli
80) El Azteca
81) El Azteca Restaurant
82) El Burrito Gigante
83) El Rey
84) El Sombrero Restaurant & Shop
85) Elbow Room Bar & Grill
86) Esoteric Edibles
87) Faro's Italian Pizza
88) Flanagan's Irish Pub
89) Food Quest Group
90) Four Friends Coffee House
91) Front Street Cafe
92) G P Sports
93) Gaia Cafe
94) Gibson's Restaurant
95) Gill's Fish House
96) Gilmore Collection
97) Gino's Pizza
98) Grand River Saloon
99) Grand River Tea & Spice
100) Grandy Coney
101) Harri's Brooklyn Pizza Co
102) Hava Java Deli
103) Heritage Restaurant
104) Hong Kong Inn Restaurant
105) Hot 'n Now Hamburgers
106) Hunan Chinese Restaurant
107) Innkeepers Management Co
108) Intersection Booking & Prmtn
109) Intersection Lounge
110) Isaac's Restaurant
111) J Gardella's Tavern
112) J J Town Fried Chicken
113) James Sandwiches
114) Judson's Steakhouse
115) Julian's Bar & Restaurant
116) Kava House
117) Kfc
118) KFC
119) Kim Kim Restaurant
120) Kurly's Korner
121) Lannings' Restaurant
122) Lea's Family Barbaque
123) Lenox Room
124) Leo's
125) Liquid Cargo
126) Little Mexico Restaurant
127) Logan's Alley LLC
128) Louis Benton Steak House
129) M V Beverage Catering
130) Maggie's Kitchen
131) Marado Sushi
132) Margarita Grill
133) Mc Donald's
134) Mc Donald's
135) Mc Donald's
136) Mister Pizza
137) Mister Pizza
138) Mojo's Dueling Pianos Bar
139) Moka's
140) Monroe Cafe
141) Morningstar 75 Coffehouse
142) New Beginnings Corporate Ofc
143) New Beginnings Restaurant
144) New Beginnings Restaurant
145) New China Carry Out
146) New Roosevelt Bar
147) Nineteen-Thirteen Room
148) Off The Hook Fish Fry
149) Olive Express
150) One Trick Pony
151) Opus 1894
152) Ottawa Cafe
153) Palermo's Incredible Edible
154) Pat's Bar & Grill
155) Peppino's Pizza
156) Pita House
157) Pizza Hut
158) Platinum Funding Group
159) Prasad Cafe
160) Quiznos Sub
161) Raggs To Riches
162) Red Geranium Cafe
163) Red Lion Family Restaurant
164) Red Lion Family Restaurant
165) Red Lion Ltd
166) Rembrandt's At Bridgewater
167) Rhythm Kitchen Cafe
168) Rico's Cafe Americain
169) Rinaldi Pizza & Sub Shop
170) River Front Restaurant'e
171) Roly Poly Sandwiches
172) Root Beer Stand
173) Rumors Night Club
174) Russo's Pizza & Sub Shoppe
175) S-Curve Deli
176) San Chez A Tapas Bistro
177) Sandmann's
178) Schnitz Delicatessen
179) Schnitzelbank Restaurant
180) Season's
181) Seven Seas Fishfry
182) Sierra Room
183) Simple Suppers
184) Skelletones
185) Ski's Sub Shop
186) Smoke-N Sweet Shop
187) So So's
188) Stockbridge
189) Stooges
190) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
191) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
192) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
193) Subway Sandwiches & Salads
194) Sully's Restaurant & Lounge
195) Sundance Grill
196) Superior Catering
197) Sweet Wallace's Bbq
198) Szechuan Garden
199) Taco Bell
200) Taco Bell
201) Taco Bell
202) Tamale Man
203) Tap's Sports Bar
204) Tcby
205) Teazer's Bar & Grill
206) Tequila Night Club Inc
207) Tgi Friday's
208) Three Crowns Bistro
209) Tillman's Dining & Cocktails
210) Tim Brasseur Restaurant
211) Tini Bikini's Bar & Grill
212) Tre Cugini
213) Tre Cugini
214) Two Choppers Inc
215) Uno Of Southwest Michigan
216) Urban Mill Cafe
217) Vitale's Pizza
218) Vitale's Sports Bar & Grill
219) Vitale's Sports Bar & Grill
220) Water Works
221) Wendy's
222) West Coast Coffee
223) Wing On Lau Restaurant
224) Wolfgang's Restaurant
225) Xebron Corp
226) Yen Ching
227) Z's Restaurant & Bar
nearby stuff

attractions
classifieds
coupons
DUI lawyer
DWI lawyer
events
gift certificates
homes for sale
houses for rent
insurance
ISP
jobs
local bands
neighborhood
nightlife
recipes
restaurants
transportation
web hosting
work

Overall Average User Rating
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Great
PubCrawler Tee Shirts

Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ] [ ALL ]
Individual User Reviews
Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
OK, so this is a Mecca stop, like Stone, Great Lakes, etc. Had the Breakfast Stout on tap and was not disappointed. Plenty of brews to choose from. Food was sandwiches which were nothing special. #2 in town to HopCat.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from MARK MARK, palm harbor, , FL
(09/30/2012)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
My wife and I were in the Grand Rapids/Holland area for the weekend, it was Tulip Fest in Holland. We made it to most of the brew pubs in the area and we had the best time May 2 at Founders. Not only did we enjoy great beer and food (Porter for me and Red for my wife) The Blue Moon Blues Band played that night and it was a full night of great beer and great music. We were a little surprised that not many people were there for the band, but oh well their loss and our great time (more room on the dance floor) Of course after a fun night of partying a safe taxi ride back to the hotel!!

Ed and Pam Greenwood MI

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed and Pam Ed and Pam, Greenwood , MI
(12/10/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great So So Awesome! Great
Whenever my wife and I travel we try to stop at as many brew pubs/microbrewies as we can. The beer here was excellent. They didn't have any wheat beers, but the other 16 beers on tap were of very high quality. I have found that the best time to visit ANY brew pubn is on a Saturday between 11 and 2.[I hate to give this secret away] They are never crowded, not much smoke, and the staff is available to answer any of your questions. This was the case here. we thoroughly enjoyed the beers and the friendly staff.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Larry Kelly Larry Kelly, Marion, OH
(05/17/2009)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
I've gotta agree--I like the new place, especially the fact you can actually breathe air that you can't already see. Beer my last visit was strictly barrel-aged. Red's, Backwoods Bastard and Porter. Really liked the Porter, even stopped a few hours after I had left for a nightcap. As busy as this new, bigger place gets, I wonder where they fit all the people at the old location?

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
SO THEY'VE MOVED DOWN THE STREET AND INTO A BRAND NEW BUILDING. SEEMS SORT OF STERILE AND LACKING THE CLASSIC BREWPUB ATMOSPHERE BUT THE PLACE GREW ON ME. AT LEAST YOU CAN BREATHE IN THIS PLACE (SMOKING OUTSIDE ONLY). SIMPLY PUT.....THE BEST FRUIT BEER I'VE EVER HAD....CHERRY ALE. SAME RECIPE AS THE RUBACEUS BUT WITH CHERRIES INSTEAD OF RASPBERRIES. THIS WILL REPLACE THE RUBACEUS IN THE FUTURE DUE TO THE SKYROCKETING COST OF RASPBERRIES. GRAND RAPIDS IS A MUST STOP FOR ANY BEER TREKKER.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from JIMBO JIMBO, SPRINGFIELD, OH
(08/16/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Good Great Awesome!
How can West Michigan have so many outstanding breweries? It's not fair for the rest of the country! I'd never been to Founders before, but plan to make it a regular stop whenever I'm within a hundred miles. The location is convenient, parking plentiful, and the dining area spacious. The sandwiches are fine; cleverly named, if a bit pricey. But the beers are worth the visit. I had an oatmeal stout and then a porter, since I wasn't driving, and both were outstanding. I'd got a six-pack of the Arrogant Bastard, so knew how good that was. Well worth the visit, and I'll be back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from DreamFielder DreamFielder, Dyersville, IA
(07/21/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
I'd also put Founder's in my list of top ten favorite brewers. It's a special treat to have their beers on tap within 15 feet of where they're made. While we were in Grand Rapids for two days, we somehow managed to get to Founder's on both. Go figure. Both visits were mid-afternoon weekdays, so they weren't too busy. Customers (regulars) were friendly, but I'd like to have had more of a challenge on the pool table. Oh, well, it let me concentrate more on the beer. I'm sure we had some kind of food, and it was probably good, but I was there for the beer and the place. I made sure to have at least one of each of the seasonals which, at least in the Chicago area, weren't available in bottles, except for the wheat and fruit stuff. I know a lot of people like those, and they probably do a very good job with them, I'm just more of an ale/stout/porter kind of guy, and theirs are among the best.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Bruce Bruce, Palatine, IL
(07/10/2008)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
In my review from last summer, I put Founder's in my Top 10; maybe that should be my Top 5. If I lived in the GR area, I definitely would have (even more)problems, but boy, what great beer! Started with a Red's Rye, and if didn't get any better than that, this trip still would have been great. But finally, I got to savor Kentucky Breakfast Stout on tap. No descriptions, no flavor profile, just this--it's the best beer I've had in a few years. And I've got 2 4-packs at home! Devil Dancer was as good as ever, a big, sneaky punch in the mouth. Tried their Braggot, which was OK, not my cup of tea this visit. Throw in an entire wedding party that stopped for one on the way to the reception, some pretzels and peanuts, and pretty soon you're talking about a full day. These guys cold double their production and still have more orders than they can fill. Kudos to Founder's and all you do!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/30/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good Good N/A So So Good
I know that Founders is an institution in Michigan brewing and I was very excited to visit during a recent pub crawl in Grand Rapids. I'm a lager kind of guy and they only had ales the evening of my visit. Even more, almost all of there ales that night had a IBU rating of 60 plus. This was a Friday night and the place was packed with college student-aged customers who were all smoking and listening to the Rolling Stones played at the volume of 11. We had one beer and quickly left. If you like hoppy ales, loud music and smoke, then Founders is your kind of place. Not mine.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rich Rich, Grosse Pointe Farms, MI
(07/08/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Great
Beer, selection, service all excellent. Pull up a stool, talk to the locals and throw the peanuts on the floor kinda place. No food to speak of except pretzels and chips but after a couple of IPA's who's still hungry? I will make sure to visit any time I'm near GR.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chris Brewer Chris Brewer, Mount Clemens, MI
(02/16/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Ya know, despite my awesome ratings I must give you the truth on the bottled Centennial IPA. Yuck! I am in dismay. I enjoyed several beers at this place and did not have a bad one. But, my god, I bought the IPA in bottles and something was horribly wrong. I poured the beer very carefully, but I got an instant and massive head, but not in a good way. I can only guess that some kind of secondary fermentation had occured. The taste had extreme promise, but what the hell? None of the beers served on premise tasted this bad. Again, this beer must have been left out in the sun or something. Barf, I want my ten bucks back!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Rob, romeoville, IL
(02/02/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great So So N/A Great Great
Great Atmosphere! Both pale ales were good, The IPA was better though.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Downers Grove, IL
(01/12/2007)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
I'm a proud regular of this establishment. The beer's good and you gotta love any place you can eat peanuts and throw the shells on the floor! Too cool.

Calling all HOP HEADS - It would be a sin to pass through Grand Rapids without trying a Red's Rye off the tap at Founder's. Yum. Yum. Yum.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(10/18/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So So So
Not sure if their growing notoriety isn't going to their heads a bit as they seem to always be having some private event going on when I visit their facility. As a result, my visits are always short-lived as I have to take beer to go. However, their beers tend to be big and very well made. They're not afraid to make big a "Breakfast Stout" that will have you passed out at your desk by noon. Their "Dirty Bastard" Ale is also one of my favorites from this place and is not one to miss. Seems to have a very experimental brewer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Augustine Iacopelli Augustine Iacopelli, Wichita, KS
(10/16/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good N/A Great So So
I've been a fan of Founder's for years and enjoyed their variety of styles, but they are making it difficult and annoying to go there....Cover charge on Tuesday nights?!!! Sunday was a "Harvest Fest" but you had to spend $7.00 on a pint glass to get a $3.50 beer. Our party left and went elsewhere.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Al Al, Mount Clemens, MI
(10/09/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Good Awesome! Awesome!
my favorite michigan brewer by far - the only negative would be a pretty smokey atmosphere during the busy hours - this has recently been improved with better exhaust - but still a bit annoying for those of us who hate going home smelling like smoke. Everything else about this establishment is amazingly perfect - the right choiuce of eclectic entertainment - just a bit of food, an astounding variety of beers (belgian quad is my favorite) and great, personable staff who remember your name and face after just a few visits. The blueprint of a small microbrewery and brewpub.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Mike Mike, Grand Rapids, MI
(09/12/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A Good N/A N/A
Visiting Grand Rapids for a week, I was able to stop in at least three times. Tried a representative range of the beers over that time - Pale Ale, IPA, Rubaeus (a raspberry-flavored IPA), and, best of all, their Kentucky Breakfast Stout. This is their version of a strong coffee stout (which they call their Breakfast Stout), then age it in old bourbon casks, which imparts a complex, caramel, vanilla sweetness to the product. It clocks in a 10+ ABV, so they only sell it in snifters. But it is well worth trying - perhaps one of the best of its style I have ever tried. Food here is an afterthought - they only sell sandwiches and soup at lunchtime (it is BYO after 2 p.m.). The cheese sandwich I had was too much bread and no enough cheese, but other sandwiches I saw looked better in retrospect.

I've been watching Founders since they were "born" in 1997 and I had my doubts in the early days. But these guys really seem to have figured it out. They are truly helping set the bar for Michigan micros ever higher.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from jonspar10 jonspar10, Washington, DC
(08/11/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! So So Great Awesome!
I had the Red Rye, Imperial Stout, Old Ale, and Devil Dancer (triple IPA). All of them were outstanding! Great place! It's very much a bar atmosphere, so not a great place for kids.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from TJ TJ, Cincinnati, OH
(08/07/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome! Awesome!
Founders is now firmly embedded in my Top 10 brewpubs and climbing fast! Was there on a Sunday, and all were worshipping the great brews. Tried a bunch that were new to me and wasn't disappointed. Black Sunshine was a dunkleweiss which reminded me more of a schwarzbier, but very good no matter. The porter was smooth, with vanilla and coffee notes, super! Scalawag Old Ale made me think about Southern Comfort's sweetness; it's big (9.5%) with the malt (and alcohol) very prominent. Not the biggest thing on tap, though. Devil Dancer was 13%--basically malt with hops added. Good luck with it, the alcohol didn't seem to be as noticable as the old ale. Two Guys IPA brought Dreadnaught from 3 Floyds to mind. That beer is one of my favorites, so I loved this as well. Red's Rye continues to be the Founders beer I favor over all others; it's a perfect blend of malt, hops and the crispness of rye. Blushing Monk was a huge surprise. Most fruit beers don't balance out well to my palate. This one? They nailed it! It's framboise that knows someone (10.3%) with a great balancing act from the fruit, the tart and the sweet. I was attended to by a super friendly and accomodating staff. They attract a wide range of patrons here, all who enjoy the spectrum of brews. Founders has it's own vibe, and it's a good one! Went back for lunch the next day and the deli sandwiches were as good as advertised. One negative, though. I missed Kentucky Breakfast on tap by 20 hours!! Maybe next time.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/15/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great

Founders comes highly recommended by me: I stop there whenever I'm travelling through GR. It's very laidback and informal, the beer is very good indeed.

I'm an IPA man, and one time I was there they had three examples of it on tap! But my companion, whose beer taste sometimes runs elsewhere than triple ipa, had a variety of beers that she very much enjoyed as well.

Some of the weirder beers are . . . weird, but that's what you'd expect. The IPA is justw hat it ought to be, as is the pale. The breakfast stout is also definitely worth a try.

This is a serious contender for best brewery in Michigan, IMHO.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Eric Hines Eric Hines, Traverse City, MI
(02/28/2006)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So Great N/A Great Good
During this trip to GR, I stopped by a third brewery; Founders. A wide variety of brews. I sampled the DRS Porter and the Oatmeal Stout. I had to stomach both. Honestly, I haven't been much of a fan of Founders beers over the years. Some things never change I guess.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pesci Pesci, Petoskey, MI
(12/15/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
good beer good people great jukebox 1.50 off beers for restaraunt employees on sundays

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from shaun shaun, Grand Rapids, MI
(11/22/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Good Good
Good selection of home brews although they were out of their ‘Dirty Bastard’ which I was hoping to try. I opted for their ‘Imperial Belgian Razz’, why I don’t know… This brew had good flavor, and I remarked to the bar tender that I bet my wife would like it as it had a very raspberry taste. When I inquired about getting a Growler of the Razz I was told that a growler of the Razz runs $40, WOW... Needless to say I decided on a take home of a different beer.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review West Bend, WI
(10/31/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A So So Good
Walked into this establishment with high hopes because I drink their beer all the time. The beer, both selection and quality is one of the best I've had. I was dissappointed in the service. It wasn't that busy and the wife and I felt as if we were bothering the bartender with our orders. I will continue to buy their beer in six packs, but I probably won't return to the place.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Allen Burt Allen Burt, Ann Arbor, MI
(09/17/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is one of the top places for great beer that I have encountered. With very little exception, you can't go wrong here. Red Rye, Dirty Bastard, Breakfast Stout; they've all become some of my favorites--problem is, I don't live where you can get them! Tried some new brews this trip as well. Imperial Brown reminded me of a barleywine, but without the alcohol funk you often get. Robaeus (raspberry ale) was nice, even with fruity beers not among my favorites. Grand Rapids, you're so lucky to have this place in your city, please take pity on those of us less fortunate.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(08/03/2005)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Good Awesome!
One of the top breweries around. Great beers, huge beers! Had the Devil Dancer from 2003 and 2004. Huge! Also enjoyed the Centennial IPA, and Double Dirty Bastard which was like a barleywine style Ale. This is a must on any southern Michigan brew pub crawl. They don't mess around with wimpy brews.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Tom Madigan Tom Madigan, Kettering, OH
(12/06/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Great Great
Very, very good brewery, on the verge of excellent. They had many choices at the brewery not available to me in bottles at my local specialty beer store. Devil dancer, a triple IPA (200 IBU), available from this years batch along with the '03 version. The'03 & '04 were definitely different from each other, but both excellent, and very drinkable considering the bitterness level. They also offered brewery only beer , a variation of their Dirty Bastard, called Double Ditry, HUGE! Their Centennial IPA is very good, just slightly rated beneath the elite IPAs such as Stone or Dogfish Head 60 min.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Todd Clingman Todd Clingman, Centerville, OH
(11/28/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Founder's is definitely among my top ten favorite brewpubs in the country. I grew up in GR and if I still lived there I would make this place my second home. The beers are awsome with the best selection of big (high ABV) beers I've seen anywhere. I't would be nice if they served food in the evening though. Can't wait until their distribution reaches the NE Ohio area. I've seen it on tap at a couple of places but no bottles in stores as of yet. Keep up the great work!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Matt Huber Matt Huber, Suffield, OH
(08/09/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Awesome!
Great Place. Favorite place to hang out and drink a cold one! Constantly changing menu and many beers that they only serve @ their tap room are just incredible. Wish they would bottle them!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Rob Teis Rob Teis, Grand Rapids, MI
(08/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Wow! The first time visiting a place, I try to keep my expectations low. So, I was completely blown away by the selection and the quality of their brews. When I began sampling, I told the server to let me try 3 or 4 of their lighter beers. One of those was the red rye, which might have been the best of all 12! The Devil Dancer was incredible and the Breakfast Stout was very flavorful. If I lived here, this would be my regular haunt. This is a top-10 establishment for me; it kind of gives me a reason to plan another trip to Michigan!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Beav Beav, York, PA
(07/05/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Geo. Miller Geo. Miller, Plymouth, CT
(06/30/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Great Great
Founder's has incredible beers and very good entertainment. My favorite beer is the Double IPA. What a treat, a true sippin' beer and only for serious hopheads. I also enjoy the Centennial IPA (if the double is not available). Fouders also brings in some very talented bands to play so check them out if you have time. The only thing I would add would be food service and a lighting rig for the bands.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Don Kuitula Don Kuitula, Grand Rapids, MI
(03/31/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
I travel all over the country and this is by far my favorite brewpub (tap room)! The atmosphere is fantastic, the beer is second to none (Breakfast Stout is the best I've ever had). This place is a must if you love good beer!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Chad The Brewery Guy Chad The Brewery Guy, Houston, TX
(02/16/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Awesome! N/A Good Good
They have a some really great beers! My favorites are the IPA and the Black & Tan made with the Oatmeat Stout & the Imperial IPA!! Would really like to spend time here more often but the smoke is overwhelming the majority of the time for us non smokers.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(01/24/2004)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Things change and sometimes for the best as it has here. Its a good thing I use the 3 strike rule or I would have never seen the changes. Great staff, representation of beer was right on selection outstanding (Vanilla Stout, Oatmeal and Coffee) along with around 10 other beers on my last visit. Boy its a good thing I dont live any closer

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Tomlinson James Tomlinson, portage, MI
(12/16/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
good beer relaxed atmosphere... keep pumping out the stout!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(11/03/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Awesome! Awesome! Great
A favorite hangout of mine when I did my undergrad in Grand Rapids.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Johnathan Borsodi Johnathan Borsodi, Nashville, TN
(10/20/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
This is a great place to go and hang out with some friends, or to meet new ones that are interested in good quality micro beers. The staff is very friendly, kind of like being at Cheers where everybody knows your name. The prices are excellent for the Grand Rapids area. There is a excellent selection of deli sandwiches during the lunch hours Monday-Friday.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Winter Ed Winter, Lakeview, MI
(09/30/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good Great Great
at least 14 beers on tap- food: just a lunch menu with soup & sandwiches. service: one waitress for the whole place working the bar too, but she did a good job. warning- I got locked in the men's room, hopefully they get the door fixed. Anyways just knock real loud and someone will let you out

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dan VanderKooi Dan VanderKooi, Muskegon, MI
(09/19/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! Great Great Awesome!
Huge selection of good beers .You never know what you'll find on tap .Last week they put on a Pepper beer (interesting flavor but only for one beer). At lunch they have Huge deli sandwiches and soup .Also many high alchohol selections.A fun place with peanut shells on the floor and a good cross section of people . I look forward to every visit !

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Jerry Bromley, Ludington, MI
(02/22/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A So So Great
Very cool place to sit and drink some fine beers. Luckily, no smoke when I was there. They are now open at 11am on Saturdays. It is clear that these folks really care about the beer. All styles tried were really good, but they were temporarily out of some favorites. Again, great place, but everytime I've been there it's been a challenge to get served - they have been understaffed at critical times.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Pat Cornils Pat Cornils, Dexter, MI
(01/06/2003)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
N/A N/A N/A N/A N/A
We walked in and got overwhelmed with smoke and had to leave before we got a chance to try any of the beers. They need a non-smoking area.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Ferndale, MI
(12/30/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great N/A Great Great
Great place, cool building, very friendly staff, and the beers are good. They had 3 IPA's on when we were here, in imperial, a chilli pepper spiced, and their usual. Another favorite amongst our group was a Hazelnut Ale which if I remember correctly was on Nitro, good times had by all

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Kevin Adkins Kevin Adkins, Redford, MI
(12/15/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Awesome! N/A Awesome! Awesome!
One of the finest places in the free world to drink a great beer. Thanks Kara!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from John John, Grand Rapids, MI
(12/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great Great Awesome! Great
Great beer... wish they sold it at The Carousel.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(08/24/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Good N/A Great Awesome!
Good music, watch for specials like St. Patties day, Halloween, etc. Excellent Stout when available and IPA. You may be dissappointed if you buy their beer bottled in a gas station. Beer and peanuts, can't beat that combo!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Brad Gee Brad Gee, Caledonia, MI
(03/12/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Great Good So So Good
My brothers and I were the St.Pats band in this pub last spring and brought a huge contigent along - evryone had a great time and drank the hell out of their pale, which is exceptional. Their other beers are decent.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Sean Henne Sean Henne, Waterford, MI
(02/23/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Awesome!
I've stopped in a few times over the years. Beers are Great now. Used to be weak. Great service, Great tunes. Beers are HUGE w/ flavor and HOPS. IPA best in MI, Same w/ Stout

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Lowell, MI
(02/19/2002)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Great Good Good Good Good
They are working towards Michigans 2nd largest Micro. Their beer is on tap all over. Their Porter has won some awards. Good beer. Nice place to drink.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Ed Weller Ed Weller, Holland, MI
(03/11/2001)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Good So So N/A Good Good
They have a long way to go with Bell's in Kalamazoo to compare with. Few choices, no suprises, just the usual selections of craft brews, 1 porter(seasonal?),1 stout(very seasonal), 1 I.P.A., 1 lager, ect... All brews are forced carbonated, a little tooo bright for me. A nice brewpub with lots of potential, although overall I felt like it was more of a entrepenerial business oppotunity than a love of the brew that is paramount here. They also brew a line of craft sodas as well

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Dave Dave, Kalamazoo, MI
(04/15/2000)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
Good overall brews with an excellent porter. Upscale atmosphere, the owners and bartenders were great- even offering a tour while they were slow. Best place in town.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Leesburg, VA
(10/18/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
So So So So N/A So So So So
As is normal here - bad service and beer - no surprise here. When are they going to start brewing beer w/flavor???

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from James Tomlinson James Tomlinson, Portage, MI
(05/06/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Great Great
The beer is definitely GREAT! The atmosphere is more low-key than what you find at the other places in the heart of downtown. I kinda like it that way.

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Paul Hulka Paul Hulka, Muskegon, MI
(02/13/1999)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A Awesome! Awesome!
Best beer in town!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review See more reviews from Richard E. Dew Richard E. Dew, Grand Rapids, MI
(09/28/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! Great N/A N/A Awesome!
Great Porter!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(09/08/1998)

Beer Quality Beer Selection Food Service Overall
Awesome! N/A N/A N/A Awesome!
You can find these beers all around town!!!

Write Your Review Reply to this Review Report Review Grand Rapids, MI
(09/03/1998)

 
Review Page: [ 1 ] [ 2 ] [ 3 ]




Didn't find what you were looking for?
Custom Search










(0.928 seconds) 08:10:56 54.167.171.186, 208.67.5.202


  MISCELLANEOUS



   BUSINESS